i cant login steam =\
Mar 22 2009, 06:18 PM
198 posts Joined: Aug 2006 |
Anyword on the upcoming patch? For some reason I played the final Road to Independence, the end turn lag is horrible have to wait almost a full minute to continue. Didn't encounter this problem in the grand campaign.
Mar 22 2009, 07:36 PM
576 posts Joined: May 2008 From: Not here |
More info about next patch is supposed to come "early this week" from what CA said, but well... right now I won't believe any date they say anymore.
I also could play the 4th chapter of RTI well but I also had a bloody lag during AI turn (much longer than the normal Grand Campain), I am not sure why. I felt like some memory leak was there since the whole game was slower than during a normal Campain, it was weird. |
Mar 23 2009, 09:48 AM
1,972 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Klang Valley |
I felt a ridiculous (and once white screen CTD) lag about 5~8 seconds when selecting a fleet with large amount of ships in it.
Now I got a question for TW sifu: How do you capture a region which belongs to your ally without breaking the alliance ? Diplomacy region swap won't work because the region I wanted is not in the list (nation's capital region?). I'm playing GB long campaign and I need to capture one of Maratha's region and for some reason, I love Maratha so much I don't feel like fighting them. |
Mar 23 2009, 09:56 AM
QUOTE(tanghm @ Mar 23 2009, 09:48 AM) I felt a ridiculous (and once white screen CTD) lag about 5~8 seconds when selecting a fleet with large amount of ships in it. You can't if it's their capital region (which as you suspected is why it does not show in the list in the diplomacy menu). A quick "war -> conquest of the region -> sue for peace" can work usually, but do not expect them to love you or do a trade agreement after that Now I got a question for TW sifu: How do you capture a region which belongs to your ally without breaking the alliance ? Diplomacy region swap won't work because the region I wanted is not in the list (nation's capital region?). I'm playing GB long campaign and I need to capture one of Maratha's region and for some reason, I love Maratha so much I don't feel like fighting them. Or you could try to wait to see if another country manage to conquer it (and then declare war on this faction), but it's highly unlikely, the Marathas usually dominate India totally if nobody come bother them This post has been edited by Gormaz: Mar 23 2009, 09:57 AM |
Mar 23 2009, 10:03 AM
Marathas is rather weak before I come kacau with GB, they have to fight a 2 front war with Mysore and Mughal. Once I come and eradicate Mysore, they become so strong now holding 6 regions in western India while I manage to most of eastern India.
What about "war -> grab region -> exchange other region and sue for peace" ? Another region that I must take from my friend Ottoman Empire is Egypt but I can leave that for the last as it is still early now (1751). |
Mar 23 2009, 10:09 AM
I noticed that usually with big nations like Marathas you can do:
- position an army at one turn from the region you want to conquer (either ask for military access or post it on your territory near the border) - Declare War - Conquer the city in the same turn - In the same turn again, ask them for Peace In lots of situation the AI will accept as when you start taking their regions they are more willing to accept peace (they kinda get intimidated) You won't be able to exchange region with them for this specific region since its their capital (from what you said before) |
Mar 23 2009, 10:26 AM
QUOTE(Gormaz @ Mar 23 2009, 10:09 AM) I noticed that usually with big nations like Marathas you can do: Alright, shall do that. On top of asking for peace, I'll add 200k as compensation (too much money dunno what to do with it now, and I don't wanna start a European war) - position an army at one turn from the region you want to conquer (either ask for military access or post it on your territory near the border) - Declare War - Conquer the city in the same turn - In the same turn again, ask them for Peace In lots of situation the AI will accept as when you start taking their regions they are more willing to accept peace (they kinda get intimidated) You won't be able to exchange region with them for this specific region since its their capital (from what you said before) Thanks mate. |
Mar 23 2009, 10:37 AM
No problemo, but better make a save or something before doing that though, it usually works for me for big countries but sometimes the AI get stupidly stubborn and refuse to make peace no matter what.
Like yesterday I was finishing Chapter 4 of the RTI campain and I ended up at war with UK (no surprise there) and all their allies joined in, including Marathas, Prussia, Hannover, Portugal and a couple of others. I managed to make peace with every single one of them, including UK (!) and Prussia... but hannover (and Portugal) absolutely refused to make peace with me until the end of the campain no matter how much money or gift I was giving them. It sucked because they were raiding my trade lines in Europe and actually making me loose quite a lot of money every turn. I even considered making a navy (I did not bother with navy research/construction since I did not plan to make one) and drop a stack on Hannover to get rid of them. Hannover.... seriously... Small countries and US Natives are tough cookies and go kamikaze style very often |
Mar 23 2009, 04:30 PM
4,060 posts Joined: Dec 2007 From: クアラルンプール > 日本 |
After playing this game for some times....i just figure out Empire War Most unless Unit....1st is Cannon 2nd is Pikeman 3rd is Sword Cavarly.I Dun even spent any money to build this 3 unit. On Cavarly side only Dragoon Are good only
Mar 23 2009, 04:36 PM
Which type of cannon are you talking about? All?
I do agree with pikeman, they seems pretty broken to me and the pikes do not seems to do much actually, even against Cavalry Sword cavalry can be "okey", they have lower charge bonus than lancers but higher normal melee skill so it kinda even out (having 1 unit of lancer with 1 unit of sword works pretty well for me actually). I do agree I prefer lancer or light dragoons (who can fire the carabins while moving) |
Mar 23 2009, 04:45 PM
For me ALL Cannon Are useless except naval Cannon LOL.
Cannon accuracy are so worst and so useless. Cavalry always kill Cannon in fast way. When I got Cannon my cannon 90% sure all die becasue enermy cavarly always sneak through my line and attk the cannon on the back. When i attk back enermy Cannon my Dragoon cavarly also using same way like computer sneak through to behind of enermy front line then attk the cannon squard. Just need 3 minute gurantee cannon all surrender run away. SO what is the meaning of cannon in Total war so freaking useless The meaning same as World In Conflict Arty user...so damm freaking useless and noob This post has been edited by RegentCid: Mar 23 2009, 04:46 PM |
Mar 23 2009, 04:51 PM
1,640 posts Joined: Oct 2006 |
QUOTE(RegentCid @ Mar 23 2009, 04:45 PM) For me ALL Cannon Are useless except naval Cannon LOL. haha...actually i started using a new strategy in battles...I call it the modified square...I march my army in formation and place cannon in the center. This way when i reach the enemy position I move the front infantry rank to the side to give LOS for the cannons...and then KABOOM...canister shots...= massive pawnage.Cannon accuracy are so worst and so useless. Cavalry always kill Cannon in fast way. When I got Cannon my cannon 90% sure all die becasue enermy cavarly always sneak through my line and attk the cannon on the back. When i attk back enermy Cannon my Dragoon cavarly also using same way like computer sneak through to behind of enermy front line then attk the cannon squard. Just need 3 minute gurantee cannon all surrender run away. SO what is the meaning of cannon in Total war so freaking useless The meaning same as World In Conflict Arty user...so damm freaking useless and noob There is also another type of shot that is a canister shot that is longer range(forgot whats it called)...the canister basically break later after it has left the barrel. Similar to like how a TOW misille works. I agree round shots are mixed...only use them to take out entrench units in buildings. Cannons work great when you use these abilities and give them protection. PS : Try to think of new ways of deploying them...don't think of them as the long range cannons that pawn units from far distance. This is the 18th century after all This post has been edited by frags: Mar 23 2009, 04:55 PM |
Mar 23 2009, 05:04 PM
It's Shrapnel shot if I remember well, it does works well.
I do agree round shot are not that great (the only thing I find them useful for is against buildings and cavalry, they pwn cavalry pretty bad actually) But canister shots are pretty awesome and for me more than half the value of the cannons. Same for Mortar, the round shots are really meh, but explosive shells are really pretty good I do agree that the stationary cannons are pretty meh, but the ones you can move around are pretty good, you just need to make them follow your lines and not leave them behind. It's a choice, I think an army without cannons can do well as well, at least the ennemy will not know exactly where to attack. |
Mar 23 2009, 05:05 PM
After i playing sometiems i also found out one LOL stuff. Because British is so big so when you playing Dutch , France , Spain , Sweden and ETC more sure need take one of the British land as Victory Condition mean you will needed fight british. If you fight British mean Portugal also will join war because british and portugal are best friend.
IF war stated if your allied is Spain...LOL Spain will help you eliminated Portugal (under 5 years mean 10 Turn ) ....LOL my play so many times grand campaine portugal sure die so many tiems This post has been edited by RegentCid: Mar 23 2009, 05:06 PM |
Mar 23 2009, 05:23 PM
9 posts Joined: Oct 2006 |
QUOTE(RegentCid @ Mar 23 2009, 04:45 PM) For me ALL Cannon Are useless except naval Cannon LOL. I Believe they purposely nerd the Cannon, which i feel it is for the better of the game. In reality, ofcoz Cannon is way powerful and probably will kill 20+ people in one volley if it is a direct hit at an infantry. But, in this game, u can only bring 1000-1500 men to war... and if ur enemy has 4-5 units of cannon, i guess before your unit even march near enemies for gun fight, ur armies will probably be reduced to half, which will reap away the real fun. In the previous TW series, many are banning Cannon/Artilery unit to be brought to battlefield during M/P games coz its too powerful.Cannon accuracy are so worst and so useless. Cavalry always kill Cannon in fast way. When I got Cannon my cannon 90% sure all die becasue enermy cavarly always sneak through my line and attk the cannon on the back. When i attk back enermy Cannon my Dragoon cavarly also using same way like computer sneak through to behind of enermy front line then attk the cannon squard. Just need 3 minute gurantee cannon all surrender run away. SO what is the meaning of cannon in Total war so freaking useless The meaning same as World In Conflict Arty user...so damm freaking useless and noob This post has been edited by akin: Mar 23 2009, 05:25 PM |
Mar 25 2009, 12:21 PM
Update on the incoming patch:
Hi guys, As many of you have asked what will be contained in our next update, here is a list of some of the fixes that are currently being worked on: - Load time detection on trade routes to fix pathfinding crash in campaign (this fixes a crash to desktop) - Some General Sound balancing improvements (this fixes some unit sound problems) - Fixed UI Chat hang when spectator leaves unranked match with 3+ players (this fixes a multiplayer problem) - Addressed several code issues causing crash to desktop - Fixed several save or load issues - Corrected campaign map agents behaviour (this fixes a crash to desktop) - Fix to animation glitch causing repetitive sounds when battle is launched. A full list of fixes will be published with the update. Thanks, Mark O'Connell (aka SenseiTW) ETW Forum At least good to read they fix lots of CTDs I hope the final list is a bit bigger though (like fixing naval invasion for AI) This post has been edited by Gormaz: Mar 25 2009, 12:26 PM |
Mar 25 2009, 03:33 PM
belive it in half half first....later update already still crash then i really nth to say.
Mar 25 2009, 03:44 PM
Yar, I will wait to see if they fixed all of the CTDs before rejoincing too much.
I also except to have more than this fixed because for the last patch was 2 weeks ago (and did not fix much), they promised some heavy support for the game and so far it's not the case. Lots of people on the forum are expecting lots from this patch so I hope CA deliver. Some AI balancing would be great to be honest. |
| Change to: | 0.0299sec
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 06:21 AM |