Empire: Total War, Multiplayer Campaign Beta Available Now

TimKen
post Mar 9 2009, 11:35 AM

398 posts

i think there are still some missing feature in the naval battle,
for instance, if the enemy have some troops station in the port/harbor, when you use your naval fleet to attack the enemy's port/harbor it just go into blockade mode, instead of letting you choose
wether to blockade or to attack the port
Gormaz
post Mar 9 2009, 12:29 PM

Space Dwarf
576 posts

Yar, I noticed that, you have to send land troop to take back the port and "flush out" the ships that were inside. Not sure if it's totally intended or not.

And I got 2 crashes to desktop when attacking or during the battle results just now. Seems I am also getting the issue Aoshi was getting. Kinda sucks but I save very often anyway.

Added on March 9, 2009, 4:34 pmGah, now I cant attack the last Huron zone in North West US, I get a crash to desktop each time I ry... and my army has no more movement points and during their turn the Hurons try to attack me.... which cause also a crash...

Seems a lot of people are also getting these crashes at random place in the game >_<
And my save might be unusable right now since I saved right before the end of turn.

This post has been edited by Gormaz: Mar 9 2009, 04:42 PM
TimKen
post Mar 9 2009, 09:15 PM

398 posts

yesterday i also got a crash to desktop when initializing a battle, i think it's occasional and random luckily for me is before the battle start if after battle victory and crash then...... cry.gif vmad.gif
Gormaz
post Mar 9 2009, 09:26 PM

Space Dwarf
576 posts

Well, my UK campain is now kinda bugged as any of my saves it crashes during the Huron's turn.... mad.gif

Now that sucks a lot to end up struck like that after 6-7 hours into the campain (India was about to be conquered etc.)
From looking at the forums lots of people are getting these crashes and very few actually manage to go through a whole long campain without ending with their saves bugged >_<

I do hope they patch that pretty quick because it kinda kill the whole interest of the game for me
iceman31
post Mar 9 2009, 09:53 PM

Mewtwotwotwotwo
2,631 posts

u guys use ci7 play dis game??

see the trailer also woooow...

wats the min req btw...

oh yeah 1 more question... wats the diffrent normal n special force?? only the units?? wich one u guys use...

TSfrags
post Mar 9 2009, 10:59 PM

The Wizard
1,640 posts

QUOTE(Gormaz @ Mar 9 2009, 09:26 PM)
Well, my UK campain is now kinda bugged as any of my saves it crashes during the Huron's turn....  mad.gif

Now that sucks a lot to end up struck like that after 6-7 hours into the campain (India was about to be conquered etc.)
From looking at the forums lots of people are getting these crashes and very few actually manage to go through a whole long campain without ending with their saves bugged >_<

I do hope they patch that pretty quick because it kinda kill the whole interest of the game for me
ZOMG everyone playing the game already!!!! tongue.gif I haven't got mine yet...will get it tomorrow(unless they betray me lol!)

Gormaz...I know previous Total Wars the chances of corrupting your save file was higher if you saved VERY often. It did happen so it doesn't surprised me
Aoshi_88
post Mar 9 2009, 10:59 PM

Talking isn't difficult. Speaking is.
4,670 posts

QUOTE(Gormaz @ Mar 9 2009, 12:29 PM)
Yar, I noticed that, you have to send land troop to take back the port and "flush out" the ships that were inside. Not sure if it's totally intended or not.

And I got 2 crashes to desktop when attacking or during the battle results just now. Seems I am also getting the issue Aoshi was getting. Kinda sucks but I save very often anyway.

Added on March 9, 2009, 4:34 pmGah, now I cant attack the last Huron zone in North West US, I get a crash to desktop each time I ry... and my army has no more movement points and during their turn the Hurons try to attack me.... which cause also a crash...

Seems a lot of people are also getting these crashes at random place in the game >_<
And my save might be unusable right now since I saved right before the end of turn.
When the Hurons attack you, withdraw, then go after them the next turn. It cured my problem in the Road to Independence campaign which i was b****ing about earlier.
Gormaz
post Mar 9 2009, 11:09 PM

Space Dwarf
576 posts

Yar, that's what I did but it did not help. I manage to get another save earlier and pulled back my army.

But even like this now each time it's the Huron's turn during the AI phase I get a crash to Desktop (without them attacking me or anything), I just see their flag popping up in the list and BAM.

And my previous saves are just way earlier so I guess it's the end for this campain. Kinda sucks seriously.

I tried again the scenario 3 of the US, I am pwning the British but I am not sure I will have enough time to finish it in time (I played around in the north regions first tongue.gif )

I do hope they fix these bugs very soon (many people are reporting the same on the official forums) since it's kinda "big" issues for such a long game, having 6-7+ hours of game ending like that is really meh.

Oh, and one last bad thing about the game is the manual which is really way too small and does not explain many many things. First time you arrive on the main campain map after Bunker Hill it's a bit overwhelming. And even now some of the mechanisms are still not clear

For my saves I have an old "habbit" of multiple saves that I use in sequence (beginning of turn, end of turn + others for strategic moves) that I have been using since I started TW with RTW and it's the first time I am "struck" with a really unplayable campain. sad.gif

This post has been edited by Gormaz: Mar 9 2009, 11:11 PM
Aoshi_88
post Mar 10 2009, 11:47 AM

4,670 posts

Some things i wish was in the game.

The ability to deploy artillery behind caissons.

The ability to choose between rank fire and group fire.

This post has been edited by Aoshi_88: Mar 10 2009, 11:48 AM
Gormaz
post Mar 10 2009, 11:53 AM

Space Dwarf
576 posts

Am I the only one to find that artillery does not do "that" much damage against infantry?

I mean, from history artillery used to totally mow down infantry packs but in the game I can see cannon balls dropping right on a unti and at best they loose 3-4 guys.

I have not yet played with high tech cannons but for now it's a bit "meh"

About caissons you mean what exactly?

Because when you are defending you do have the option to put your artillery and infantry behind trenches.

And about rank fires did you check on the related techs? There is rank fire and then platoon fire
Zapherces
post Mar 10 2009, 12:56 PM

79 posts

how anybody face text defect problems? for example, for at times during the campaign map, i often experience text which are missing? is this got to do with the graphic settings?
Aoshi_88
post Mar 10 2009, 01:42 PM

4,670 posts

QUOTE(Gormaz @ Mar 10 2009, 11:53 AM)
Am I the only one to find that artillery does not do "that" much damage against infantry?

I mean, from history artillery used to totally mow down infantry packs but in the game I can see cannon balls dropping right on a unti and at best they loose 3-4 guys.

I have not yet played with high tech cannons but for now it's a bit "meh"

About caissons you mean what exactly?

Because when you are defending you do have the option to put your artillery and infantry behind trenches.

And about rank fires did you check on the related techs? There is rank fire and then platoon fire
http://www.wtj.com/articles/napart/

The use of artillery depends on the type of ground you're battling on. And yes, ETW's artillery tends to miss a lot when firing. Which is why i still prefer howitzers with explosive shells or percussion shells if i can get them.

And it's not caissons, i meant GABION fortification. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gabion

I want to choose between rank AND platoon. Not just one or the other.

PS - Shrapnel shots are a bloody waste of time.

This post has been edited by Aoshi_88: Mar 10 2009, 01:47 PM
Gormaz
post Mar 10 2009, 01:51 PM

Space Dwarf
576 posts

Yar, I had something like this for my artillery when I was defending. It's pretty good to protect your artillery from rifles fire but it also lock them in a fix arc of fire (ie: they cannot rotate anymore) so it's a real double edged sword, and the AI will know it and try to come from the side of it.

From what I read on forums your army need to not move for at least 2 turns (you will wodden "spikes" around your army on the campain map) for these fortifications to be an option during the deployment phase. Infantry can also be hidden behind trenches etc.

And yar, from what I read after posting seems you really need to tech you your artillery for it to become anything good. For now I find it mostly useful against cavalry for some reason, it totally own horses even at long range.

About platoon fire and co I have not managed to tech that much yet (my UK campain is now unusable....) but people are asking for a way to decide if you want to use rank and fire or platoon etc. Hopefully they had this option (but they have really lots of bugs to fix...)

@Zapherces: You are using a laptop or desktop? I read some people having this type of bugs on laptop, personall I am using a Dell laptopt (inspiron 9400) but never faced it. Not much I can help there, try to look around on the forums to see if someone has a solution. sad.gif

This post has been edited by Gormaz: Mar 10 2009, 01:52 PM
Goneraz
post Mar 10 2009, 05:35 PM

432 posts

hey guys... is there any different between the ori version and AHEM AHEM version? The ori is all out of stock, maybe wil buy the ahem ahem first them but the special edition later. The save game can be tranfered right? Will buy ori to get the patch
TSfrags
post Mar 10 2009, 05:47 PM

The Wizard
1,640 posts

QUOTE(Goneraz @ Mar 10 2009, 05:35 PM)
hey guys... is there any different between the ori version and AHEM AHEM version? The ori is all out of stock, maybe wil buy the ahem ahem first them but the special edition later. The save game can be tranfered right? Will buy ori to get the patch
It's not as simple as that. Empire is a Steam game...Tried pirated L4D? Definitely works...but not worth the hassle and many complications.

The pirated versions are missing sound files... The full game is near 15GB...

And my god the install time is epic...nearly 2 hours for me...and the manual is crap...no fun reading it while waiting also...
alwizbthere
post Mar 10 2009, 05:51 PM

10,222 posts

dun know mate, most ppl here uses ori. and it's protected by steam, so u might have problem with ur pirated version when u switch to original
btw, if u used pirated, dun think u can get the zero day patch

wat i read was the only pirated version released so far has problems, which might have been fixes in the original copy with the zero-day patch.
the file size is also big, so if u buy pirated, you be looking at 3 dvds i think. which cos bout rm30-rm45, y dun save this money first and wait for restock?

of course, there's still bug here and there, though i'm lucky i din really experience any major 1 yet with my copy

Gormaz
post Mar 10 2009, 05:54 PM

Space Dwarf
576 posts

Yar, the manual is really crap and was a bit of a slap in the face for me. Lots and lots of stuff that are not in it and that SHOULD have been.

And for me I am facing quite a few bugs making it impossible to continue the grand campain, after a while my saves get corrupted. I am using original obviously. CA announced they have a patch incoming for this week but nothing out yet about the content of the patch itself.

If they can fix the Crashes to Desktop shit then I will be fine, until then I am not sure I am gonna bother with the game much, playing 6-7 hours of grand campain to have the game bugging out is pretty crap.

Edit: I did not time how long it took to be able to access the main menu of the game (ie: whole install etc.) but I think it was a bit more than an hour or something for the whole install. Pretty long

For someone who did not have a Steam account and Steam installed yet, I can see it takes a buttload of time with the Steam upgrades and stuff

This post has been edited by Gormaz: Mar 10 2009, 06:34 PM
Aoshi_88
post Mar 10 2009, 06:29 PM

4,670 posts

QUOTE(frags @ Mar 10 2009, 05:47 PM)
It's not as simple as that. Empire is a Steam game...Tried pirated L4D? Definitely works...but not worth the hassle and many complications.

The pirated versions are missing sound files... The full game is near 15GB...

And my god the install time is epic...nearly 2 hours for me...and the manual is crap...no fun reading it while waiting also...
Two hours?! blink.gif It took around 30mins on my laptop!
Goneraz
post Mar 10 2009, 07:03 PM

432 posts

hehehehe yay.. just went to sg wang and grab mea copy. RM175..bargain till the uncle wanna slap me.. in the end he gave me rm4 discount.. cheap chinaman. So gonna go boot up and play tonight... I wanted to get the special edition. But have to wait for a week. Hence the stupid idea of buy pirated first. I have all the total war series... Original that is... ever since i bought my ps3 all my stuff are ori... cept for my OS. Refuse to pay that stupid blood sucking microsoft for something that is broken.
TSfrags
post Mar 10 2009, 07:04 PM

The Wizard
1,640 posts

QUOTE(Aoshi_88 @ Mar 10 2009, 06:29 PM)
Two hours?!  blink.gif  It took around 30mins on my laptop!
It could be because of compression, install time could depend on CPU power...My CPU is really olde...

57 Pages « < 25 26 27 28 29 > » Top

0.0198sec    0.80    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 10:07 PM