8 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 >Bottom

Shoppee account being hacked! Lost RM 8k...

whyamiblack
post Jan 13 2021, 05:13 PM

70 posts

Huh? Something is wrong. All my purchase require OTP. Just to login the acc on another device also need OTP.
calvin_ng
post Jan 13 2021, 06:06 PM

TeamCity | HCC | Insighters
1,583 posts

QUOTE(NB01 @ Jan 13 2021, 10:24 AM)
If me, farked the scammer straight liao. No need to be polite.
well the problem is I dont know is scammer or my friend behind it so be polite lor
SUSNB01
post Jan 13 2021, 06:07 PM

280 posts

QUOTE(calvin_ng @ Jan 13 2021, 06:06 PM)
well the problem is I dont know is scammer or my friend behind it so be polite lor
If friends, fark harder.
calvin_ng
post Jan 13 2021, 06:18 PM

TeamCity | HCC | Insighters
1,583 posts

QUOTE(NB01 @ Jan 13 2021, 06:07 PM)
If friends, fark harder.
hahahaha
let it beeeeee if hacker you fark fark also no useeeee cause they just dont care.... else they dont scam laaaaa
marukopi
post Jan 13 2021, 06:19 PM

174 posts

Raise dispute at CC
TiF
post Jan 13 2021, 06:25 PM

1,192 posts

QUOTE(moon yuen @ Jan 12 2021, 07:25 PM)
My shopee account was being hacked...

The account is link with credit card. The cheater spend Rm8k in 3 transactions buying games card etc。

Any solution or advice? I don't earn much. Rm8k is big amount to me.
wow, if i lost 1/3 of my salary like that, i would be pissed too.

report polis, call bank.
zuozi
post Jan 13 2021, 08:24 PM

1,267 posts

QUOTE(subdroid @ Jan 13 2021, 11:07 AM)
eh that's weird, yes I know it is saved, but it will always asked for OTP before proceed. So, question is, how did he managed to use the card without need OTP?
I guess not all required otp, from my experience if I buy something from steam or game like guildwars 2 only CVV needed

My guess depends merchant and seller origin

Safer way get another bank account only debit for online purchase

This post has been edited by zuozi: Jan 13 2021, 08:28 PM
MGM
post Jan 13 2021, 08:51 PM

18,478 posts

Is it a good idea n safer to use cards like BIGPAY which allows account frozen via app when not in use?
kkkw80
post Jan 13 2021, 08:53 PM

Tan Sri Member
1,015 posts

QUOTE(TiF @ Jan 13 2021, 06:25 PM)
wow, if i lost 1/3 of my salary like that, i would be pissed too.

report polis, call bank.
I would be pissed too loosing 1/4 of my salary like this
aspartame
post Jan 13 2021, 09:01 PM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(gumshoe101 @ Jan 13 2021, 09:08 AM)
It's OTP to reset your email password. Once you give the email reset OTP to your "FB friend", he will take over your email account.

Having access to your email account opens up countless possibility to reset other passwords from other services.
Why would any sane person give their email reset OTP even if a friend????
aspartame
post Jan 13 2021, 09:02 PM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(gumshoe101 @ Jan 13 2021, 09:15 AM)
You would give the email reset OTP to your "FB friend" because he won't specifically ask for OTP. He would ask something like...

(This is the actual hacker's message:)

"Shopee has a special campaign for the 4th year, if I get 5 votes, I'll win a gift voucher with you. I'll send you a message send me message copy ?"

Many people will fall for it if the message came from their FB friend.

Again, having access to your email account opens up countless possibility to reset other passwords from other services including lazada, shopee and facebook.

If the service allows, setting up
2-factor Authentication is the best way to prevent people hacking into your accounts
Those ppl are plain dumb
aspartame
post Jan 13 2021, 09:07 PM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(Ginny88 @ Jan 13 2021, 11:40 AM)
Logging out does not protect you. Once you have logged in successfully to a new device and then logged out the next login will not require any OTP and the browser usually saves your password.

So never make any purchase from a device which is not your own.
Browser save passwords ? That’s dangerous..Mine never save wor...
coolman82
post Jan 13 2021, 10:08 PM

1,518 posts

QUOTE(ReWeR @ Jan 13 2021, 03:01 AM)
iTune purchase doesn't require OTP. the hacker is using that loop hole.
No wonder!
Ginny88
post Jan 13 2021, 10:09 PM

1,032 posts

QUOTE(aspartame @ Jan 13 2021, 09:07 PM)
Browser save passwords ? That’s dangerous..Mine never save wor...
Really? Try logging out of your email and logging in again. Chances are that you won't need to type in your password.

pakmulau
post Jan 13 2021, 10:29 PM

589 posts

QUOTE(coolman82 @ Jan 13 2021, 01:50 AM)
When the hacker hacked they don’t require any otp ady.
Last year on a night I suddenly received 4 consecutive sms saying my amb cc was charged usdxxx for purchased of iTunes gift card. And the fifth sms came in said the 5th transaction not successful coz too many similar transaction performed at the same time.

That time I did not even getting any otp from the bank. I immediately called the bank to check and they said those are genuine transactions and immediately I get them to block my card.

I told d bank it was not my authorised transactions and I didn’t even receive any sms otp. But they told me I can only submit dispute form which it might take 3-6 mths to investigate and come out the result.

I think that was too long so I immediately called apple helpline and informed them on my situation. After further checking they agreed to refund back the money to my credit card which was charged earlier.

So yeah when they hacked into ur cc they won’t need the otp for their spending or not sure now they bypass it
your case same like mine. i kena 2 times maybank amex and visa. once for itunes 100usd and once for eurotrain 400euro. this is fraud case and maybank refund both transaction and cancel the card.

but this case ts claimed shopee account got hacked and cc been used unauthorized. this case quite hard for bank to refund unless got solid proof.
red streak
post Jan 13 2021, 10:40 PM

Doto 2 Pinoy Slayer
1,595 posts

QUOTE(kkkw80 @ Jan 13 2021, 08:53 PM)
I would be pissed too loosing 1/4 of my salary  like this
Same, losing 1/5 of my salary is no joke sial.
aspartame
post Jan 13 2021, 11:13 PM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(Ginny88 @ Jan 13 2021, 10:09 PM)
Really? Try logging out of your email and logging in again. Chances are that you won't need to type in your password.
I do that few times everyday .. definitely require passwords cause I log out everytime and unclick save passwords
kezsz
post Jan 13 2021, 11:16 PM

168 posts

That's why I use prepaid credit card for all online transaction, can't trust anywhere these days
kkkw80
post Jan 13 2021, 11:32 PM

Tan Sri Member
1,015 posts

QUOTE(red streak @ Jan 13 2021, 10:40 PM)
Same, losing 1/5 of my salary is no joke sial.
🤣🤣🤣
Ylow123
post Jan 14 2021, 12:02 AM

68 posts

All joke aside. I always change CC limit to RM0 or RM1k when I need to spend.

TS don't get your hope up bank probably act dumb. Now just cancel all CC and use Online banking / Cash should always get OTP

8 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 >Top

0.0411sec    1.10    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 08:13 PM