DIR-868L to ASUS RT-AC66U with AiMesh, Latest DIR-868L Migration Options

jonsalam P
post Mar 3 2021, 02:45 PM

Probation

QUOTE(misk94 @ Mar 3 2021, 07:34 AM)
Dear All,

Just would like to share my successful firmware migration from Asus to Merlin firmware last night.  :hyper:

I manually updated the AiMesh node first. Followed by main router. It is best to manually reboot both once you completed your migration.

It's Asuswrt-Merlin RT-AC68U 386.1_2 firmware. Release date 12 Feb 2021. I think it is similar to current ASUS firmware.

You can download it here. https://sourceforge.net/projects/asuswrt-me...-AC68U/Release/

Bonus. Temperature readings inside the Administration menu.

So far, performance wise comparable to stock ASUS firmware, maybe a bit better.

Let's see how stable it is compared to stock ASUS firmware.

Regards,

Updated 3 March 2021.
Tq for firmware and guide. Been looking for long time. I managed to convert to Asus firmware and the results its awesome. Far better from stock firmware. Im looking forward the result from you using Merlin firmware. TQ

jonsalam P
post Mar 4 2021, 06:40 AM

Probation

QUOTE(sgpdsmss @ Feb 15 2021, 05:07 PM)
i follow your step to migrate to asus 66 firmware ..but after done ...the lan connection max 100mbps and 2.4g wifi at 30mbps ...
Same situation here and i did some digging and found the solution.2.4GHz wifi Channel bandwidth 20MHz and Control Channel 6. If not working try change to channel 1 or 11 depends on wifi interference around you.
jonsalam P
post Mar 5 2021, 12:14 PM

Probation

QUOTE(misk94 @ Mar 4 2021, 10:45 AM)
Good morning All,

Anyone looking to buy DIR-868L router can try at Carousell Malaysia. ( No. I am not getting any commission from Carousell ).

https://www.carousell.com.my/search/DIR-868L?

DIR-868L is currently a bit expensive at Lazada or Shopee.

Maybe they know people are looking for DIR-868L to create an inexpensive AiMesh cluster using ASUS firmware.  nod.gif

More choices in Carousell Singapore https://www.carousell.sg/q/electronics-7/dlink-router-868l/?

But then need to cross border and shipping cost. doh.gif

Regards

This is my current setup. I plan to replace my AP. Since DIR-868L hard to find can i use with any asus router or asus router with aimesh featured?
jonsalam P
post Mar 5 2021, 03:15 PM

Probation

QUOTE(gary_cheah85 @ Mar 5 2021, 01:53 PM)
Just make sure the AiMesh router and AiMesh node is running on latest firmware. AiMesh ver2.0 on latest firmware for better compatibility
So they need to be features with Aimesh right? Almost buy used RT-AC55UHP. Thanks
jonsalam P
post Mar 7 2021, 05:10 PM

Probation

QUOTE(misk94 @ Mar 5 2021, 06:56 PM)
Dear jonsalam,

I have a suggestion to make.

Considering you already have a DIR-868L migrated to ASUSwrt, why not invest in new or used ASUS router?

Use it as AiMesh router and DIR-868L as AiMesh node.

ASUS RT-AC55X AX1800. Entry into WiFi 6. Cost RM329. 

ASUS RT-AC68U RM488.

Yes. I must admit both of them a bit on expensive side. New ASUS routers are not cheap!

Alternatively, you can try Tenda AC23 or Dlink DIR-2150 as repeater. You get get either of them less than RM170 in Shopee.

Also you can use AC1200 class routers such as Tenda AC6 if your budget is around RM100.

Any of them should be better than your old Streamyx repeater.

Which one? Subject to your budget. biggrin.gif.

If you managed to get a used ASUS router in good condition (with AiMesh), perhaps better than the above suggestions.

Regards

P/S: My apologies if I offended anyone, especially the Seniors and Sifus here.
      I just wanted to help a fellow member to see different options available.
Exactly. That what I'm trying to do. And you just answer my question with edited post. Tq. Sorry for late reply due to acc probation. 😂
jonsalam P
post Mar 7 2021, 09:04 PM

Probation

QUOTE(hdd-corrupted @ Mar 7 2021, 08:54 PM)
how to check temperature?
Scroll up. He already state from previous post. Temp reading under administration menu.
jonsalam P
post Apr 20 2021, 02:15 PM

Probation

So after fix 2.4ghz wifi how fast or max speed you guys reach?

0.0266sec    0.68    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 12:42 AM