The SSD Thread V7, SLC, MLC, TLC, QLC, PLC, and 3D XPoint

ben3003
post Mar 9 2022, 04:17 PM

10,859 posts

Hi guys, i use the crucial clone disk to change my 500gb secondary drive to crucial mx500 1tb ssd. After finish the clone, they assign my drive to e:, my previous drive is d: .. then now problem come, cos that drive is where i install my games and like link those spotify songs etc, now not working because they assign diff drive number. how to fix? i tried use disk management, but it say parameter is incorrect sad.gif
ben3003
post Mar 10 2022, 10:45 AM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Mar 9 2022, 04:43 PM)
Got screenshot?

All about settings. Only if the app allows. You will have to install or download again if there is none of the options. People cannot tell you when there is not enough details.
QUOTE(horns @ Mar 9 2022, 08:09 PM)
i think you can also reassign your drives. yes, these are just software settings. worst comes to worst, just reinstall, and reconfigure.
Thanks guys for the reply. I just found out the root cause, because windows automatically assign virtual memory to my drive, hence unable to switch the drive letter. After i turn off that, then ok already. BUt it already fuk up my windows xbox gamepass game folder lol.. should be in WindowsApps this folder, but cannot open in, cannot delete also. Dont know how to delete it now.
ben3003
post Mar 18 2022, 07:34 AM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(Oyaji @ Mar 18 2022, 12:58 AM)
Can you guys suggest a good 1tb SSD below RM500? I will use this as boot drive.
I was thinking of getting a WD blue SN550 but any suggestions are welcome. Thanks in advance.

This is my rig spec:
Processor:AMD Ryzen 2600X
Motherboard: ASUS ROG Strix B450F
Graphic Card:Asus GTX 950
PSU:EVGA G1+ 800W
RAM:16gb GSkill Flare-X 3200 MHz C14CPU
cooler:Scythe Mugen 5 Rev. B
SSD:Intel 540s 240GB
Nvme or sata ssd?
ben3003
post Mar 18 2022, 08:01 AM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(Oyaji @ Mar 18 2022, 07:37 AM)
I wanted to try Nvme but if the motherboard doesnt support/ perform worse than sata then I will go sata. I am familiar with sata ssd but nvme is kinda new to me.
can check, cos price diff ada beza. if sata i owes trust crucial mx500, bought 2 1tb drive already, latest buy 425 from shopee. 1tb nvme price can be vary from cheap 400-500ish to expensive 1k+ because the speed range is very huge diff.

tats y is see u wan buy nvme or sata. apparently a quick check that ur mobo support nvme pcie 3.0 ssd. NVME less choice below rm500 1tb for good drive, better invest abit more for non-dramless drive if boot drive.

i dont have any recommendation for 1tb nvme drive below rm500, if me die die must below 500, i will get 500gb instead and get a faster drive, than a dramless drive. samsung 980, corsaid mp510 should be okay to use. Would love to recommend adata sx8200pro 1tb but then, they changed the controller crippled the drive that used to be 1 of the better price/performance drive.
ben3003
post Mar 18 2022, 02:02 PM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Mar 18 2022, 08:33 AM)
Transcend MTE220S 1TB at RM525. Unbeatable price for PCIE 3.0 M.2 . Same controller as Corsair MP510 and PNY CS3030.
ah, thanks for sharing, Transcend brand never came across my mind lol
ben3003
post Mar 18 2022, 03:03 PM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(zack.gap @ Mar 18 2022, 02:55 PM)
Kinda unavoidable since all the major players do it these days (samsung, kingston, wd etc). Hopefully sn570 won't go down the same path so soon since it's newly launched..
could have changed chip and informing, also update what is affected. like sx8200pro, everything become slower, lower TBW lagik.. but silently.
ben3003
post Mar 21 2022, 04:55 PM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Mar 20 2022, 09:35 PM)
Samsung SSD? Overpriced like hell. Just look for these.

PNY CS3030
Corsair MP510
Transcend MTE220S

PCIE 4.0:
Kingston KC3000
Corsair MP600 Pro XT

Good DRAMless SSD is auto ignored. I don't like it using my RAM.
Boss, if 1tb pcie4.0 budget around rm700+-, if corsair MP600 non pro version ok?
ben3003
post Mar 21 2022, 05:22 PM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Mar 21 2022, 05:09 PM)
Ignore that. Kingston KC3000 1TB at RM719.99 at Shopee.
ah didnt see this price, let me look around. saw the official store 825, felt like over budget, 700+ still ok. thanks!
ben3003
post Apr 8 2022, 08:18 PM

10,859 posts

Just some sharing, my jonsbo heatsink arrived, installed it on my kc3000 1tb and the temp diff is day and night, before install, it was like 40+c at idle temp, 64-70c when i ran crystalmark. now it was like 30c idle, then 35c during read test, 44c during write test.

really make a diff.
ben3003
post Apr 11 2022, 08:36 AM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(John Chaser @ Apr 10 2022, 03:51 AM)
Is this the one with RGB?
nope the normal one.

https://shopee.com.my/-READY-STOCK--Jonsbo-...kkaAsw1EALw_wcB
ben3003
post Apr 26 2022, 03:11 PM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(shinjite @ Apr 25 2022, 07:41 PM)
I would say not to worry. The new MX500 comes with an updated package with the most up to date firmware. I have been running my MX500 for years too without issues.
can vouch for mx500 too. my to go sata drive, nowadays also not too expensive. Unless use as external storage device, maybe can use cheaper dramless one.
ben3003
post Jun 28 2022, 09:04 AM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Jun 28 2022, 08:56 AM)
this i agreed. before got heatsink, the nvme kc3000 when benchmark around 70c if not mistaken, then i get jonsbo heatsink, after install, at load the temp around 50c only.
ben3003
post Aug 7 2022, 04:26 PM

10,859 posts

Above 80c will have thermal throttle already lo i believe. At least this is the case for kc3000. This is the nvram temperature ya
ben3003
post Sep 21 2022, 10:22 AM

10,859 posts

Hi all, can recommend any nvme sata drive that is just to use as a portable drive? those dramless should be fine right? since it is bottlenecked by USB speed.
ben3003
post Sep 21 2022, 12:59 PM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(1024kbps @ Sep 21 2022, 11:33 AM)
USB thumb drive probably does not comes with DRAM either, so portable DRAMless SSD is just another big thumbdrive then.
DRAM in SSD is just to improve read/write performance and prolong the life span of the ssd.
okay so any nvme will be fine right? i dont think portable drive will have alot write read also. just wan to change my portable hdd to a more compact form. my buffalo rugged one 500gb already 10years still alive and kicking lol. too bad they no longer bring in much buffalo stuff. really like the built in cable also, it is quite tough, makes everything slim. but nowadays macam no ppl do like tat already.

This post has been edited by ben3003: Sep 21 2022, 01:02 PM
ben3003
post Sep 21 2022, 01:49 PM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(Rainings @ Sep 21 2022, 01:15 PM)
why not just get a portable SSD instead of getting separately? You need sata drive and ssd enclosure.
No AES encryption, and the overall size is bulky
And the SSD enclosure are all build differently, unstable voltage could shorten the drive lifespan.
f*ck yeah!, My 500GB buffalo still kicking, that drive is just so tough maybe because it's Made in Japan.
local distributor no longer carry buffalo, you can only get it from oversea like Jpn, you still can find buffalo hard drive from lazada.
They ship from japan, but the price is higher compare to WD and Seagate.

Last year I did created a post about buffalo hdd.
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=5205942&hl=
cos i see drive like kingston nv2 is so cheap at amazon sg lol, 1tb rm360 only.. then enclosure maybe 100 like tat? i think nvme one not too bulky also. seems like the samsung t7 those quite big size like normal portable hdd size? which one actually is recommended? i see sandisk one quite rugged, just that the cable need owes bring lol.

yeah right? the buffalo hdd really good lol. too bad they are too expensive to buy now la.

This post has been edited by ben3003: Sep 21 2022, 01:49 PM
ben3003
post Sep 21 2022, 05:10 PM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(Rainings @ Sep 21 2022, 02:15 PM)
T7 is not thumb drive size, but it's small, the size is your ATM card.
Just keep an eye during the event. I got mine at 9.9 at RM490.8 for 1TB.
1. USB 3.2 gen2
2. 3 years warranty
3. AES encryption.
4. By looking at the spec, I believe it has better cooling.

I compared both buying enclosure and others brand like WD and Sandisk, T7 is still the cheapest.
Ah ok, i saw the sandisk got 1 budget version e30 1tb around 380, this fits my budget tho. Just as backup drive i dont really think i need 1GB/s read write tho.
ben3003
post Sep 21 2022, 06:17 PM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(Rainings @ Sep 21 2022, 05:17 PM)
Too bad, samsung official store no longer carry T5, else I think it fits your budget.
By comparing WD and Sandisk, samsung offers  better build and best cooling.
don't forget, heat will also shorten the drive lifespan. icon_idea.gif
yeah but i prefer sandisk size haha and the rugged exterior, because i tends to just throw my hdd inside my laptop bag sweat.gif

thats y i also surprise my buffalo hdd can survive, i bring offshore with me and go anywhere, the hdd is for work tho. bought it because it has the mil spec and tough.

This post has been edited by ben3003: Sep 21 2022, 06:18 PM
ben3003
post Jan 4 2024, 12:17 PM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(adamtayy @ Jan 4 2024, 12:01 PM)
Hdd??

Sata / ide??
Ssd price up due to memory module
ben3003
post Mar 3 2024, 05:27 AM

10,859 posts

Kc3000 2tb 657 at thundermatch shopee now.

0.0323sec    0.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 06:25 AM