[2020] MacBook Pro with M1 Discussion Thread

andrewtho
post Nov 29 2020, 10:04 AM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

QUOTE(Ziet Inv @ Nov 27 2020, 09:30 PM)
M1 issue or Big Sur issue?

Most of the issues highlighted is software related.

FCP might have been ‘updated’, but it will still require more time to be fully optimized to the M1 chip.
andrewtho
post Nov 30 2020, 01:01 PM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

Looking forward to get my hands on the 13 inch Pro M1.

Was contemplating between Air and Pro, but the fan-less design led me to lean towards the Pro instead. Switching from 16 Pro to 13 due to portability.

Hopefully we’ll get it by early/mid Dec.
andrewtho
post Nov 30 2020, 04:03 PM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

QUOTE(Pat89 @ Nov 30 2020, 01:08 PM)
Or you can wait for next year mid 2021....they will release with whole new design
I think it will only be for the 14 inch and 16 inch kot.
andrewtho
post Dec 2 2020, 09:58 PM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

QUOTE(apowerfulskill @ Dec 2 2020, 06:42 PM)
Hahah. Yeah I dropped by and he said "Within the month". Can be anytime between now and 30 days from now.  biggrin.gif
Within the month.. we’re still at the beginning of the month 🤣
andrewtho
post Dec 4 2020, 09:39 AM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

I find it odd that Apple themselves are not opening pre-order, straight sell outright on release date. Question is.. when
andrewtho
post Dec 10 2020, 09:55 AM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

5-7 days for delivery. Sounds good!
andrewtho
post Dec 10 2020, 03:35 PM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

QUOTE(NubPro @ Dec 10 2020, 03:12 PM)
What will be your use for 4 thunderbolt?

I rarely find myself needing more than 2.  hmm.gif
Yup. If you have a USB C PD monitor, one port is all you need to charge and project.
andrewtho
post Dec 11 2020, 09:51 AM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

QUOTE(Ziet Inv @ Dec 10 2020, 10:23 PM)
Alamak bodohnya today I walk in Switch, they say CTO order (customized order) not yet available. (padahal the Switch Facebook in charge replied confirm got)

What a miscommunication on their end zz
ah don’t worry. Switch on Facebook and at the store level never sync one, kena many many times already. I just stop buying from them anymore.
andrewtho
post Dec 17 2020, 03:21 PM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

Anywhere ada ready stock for walk in? In Klang Valley area.
andrewtho
post Dec 17 2020, 06:45 PM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

Walked to Switch and Machines Pyramid just now, only available in 256GB variant. No sight of 512GB as of now.

Update- Screw it, buy from Apple Online.

This post has been edited by andrewtho: Dec 17 2020, 07:37 PM
andrewtho
post Dec 18 2020, 11:55 AM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

I’d suggest to skin it via Dbrand than to put on a bulky casing.

Personal preference.
andrewtho
post Dec 18 2020, 06:10 PM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

QUOTE(Ziet Inv @ Dec 18 2020, 04:49 PM)
Does Dbrand skin protect from side bumps?
It covers the whole body actually.

Just don’t drop it.
andrewtho
post Dec 20 2020, 12:04 AM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

QUOTE(lilac @ Dec 19 2020, 04:45 PM)

Looking at some of the BTO Air and MacMini being received already. Starting to feel sad that the Pros are moving slower 😭 Feels so jelly seeing other people's Mac arrive.
Don’t worry man. My wait is much longer than yours.

andrewtho
post Dec 20 2020, 10:03 AM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

QUOTE(prime27 @ Dec 20 2020, 09:19 AM)
My wait is much much longer than yours. Sad 😢
BTO unit eh?

QUOTE(lilac @ Dec 20 2020, 09:36 AM)
Whoa.. when did you guys order? Did you guys upgrade your mac?

Booked mine on the 10th 9.15am and upgraded it to 16gb and now it's 10 days in line waiting! hahaha

Tho- it's interesting tho the days gap -
Mine is 22-30th Dec - 8 Days
Andrewtho - 31th Dec -5th Jan- 4 Days
Prime27 - 12th Jan - 19th Jan - 6 Days

Wonder what's up with that.
I guess it only factors in business days, like some falls on weekend / PH so perhaps the dates were extended.

I am guessing that Apple’s waiting for the next batch to be shipped, hence the longer wait times - probably stock shortage at the moment.
andrewtho
post Dec 21 2020, 08:36 AM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

QUOTE(homeboytomato @ Dec 20 2020, 11:29 PM)
My expected delivery range is 11-18 Jan. Ordered 13 Dec late night. Now still processing. I increase the storage to 1TB but the ram remains at 8Gb (coz not heavy user)
Actually storage usually not really an issue, can always opt for external ssd.

RAM on the other hand, abit subjective. 8GB should be enough to get by I guess.
andrewtho
post Dec 21 2020, 11:23 PM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

QUOTE(underscore_lee @ Dec 21 2020, 10:05 PM)
Hey guys, is the 8GB RAM enough for simple tasks like;
- watching videos (YouTube, Netflix, 4K ones)
- multi tasking between Microsoft apps (Excel, PPT, Word)
- some design editing (Photoshop, Illustrator)
- simple video editing

Not all at once of course. Looking at the 16GB RAM for extra RM800 feels very expensive and lame, haha. Coming from PC.
One thing you should note, the RAM is a unified memory, unlike your standard RAM.

It is more efficient in managing workflow memory consumption vs standard RAM. Based on your usage, 8GB should suffice.

But feel free to get the 16GB if you have doubts. I don’t believe in ‘future-proofing’ because at this day of age, we change our devices ever so often until it don’t even get a chance to live its usefulness lifespan.
andrewtho
post Dec 23 2020, 07:23 AM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

Cancelled my Apple order - (Original Ship Date: 31/12 - 5/1) and ordered from Lazada instead (Delivery today - same day delivery).
andrewtho
post Dec 23 2020, 08:48 AM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

QUOTE(lilac @ Dec 23 2020, 08:29 AM)
Base model?
Yup with 512GB storage.

Same day delivery, why I so silly wait for 2 weeks from Apple 🤦🏻‍♂️
andrewtho
post Dec 23 2020, 11:01 AM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

QUOTE(lilac @ Dec 23 2020, 08:53 AM)
Yea! Base model better just get straight from shop, but Lazada need to check if it's Hong Kong set, and might have warranty start earlier in November tho.

I think few shops around like TMT already have stock.
Its official Apple Malaysia unit actually because LazMall is also an AAP dealer in Malaysia, like Machines and Switch.
andrewtho
post Dec 24 2020, 12:25 AM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

Okay got my M1 MacBook and damn this thing is blazing quick!

Didn't get much time to spend with it due to pre-Xmas eve season etc but hopefully tomorrow will be able to test this beast out.

0.0552sec    0.92    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 01:34 AM