4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Solar Panel for House, Have you install?

bee88
post May 8 2023, 02:13 PM

303 posts

I have installed solar panel and I have studied their efficiency. Every system has different efficiency. If you plan to install, make sure to study the specification. Lots of time the companies are hiding something from their customers. Can pm me if you need any advice based on my usage experience.
bee88
post May 8 2023, 02:17 PM

303 posts

QUOTE(Oltromen Ripot @ May 8 2023, 01:28 PM)
oh pkay; rolling 12mth.
dah macam loyalty card pulak 😅
Actually is good. My saving is around 600 per month after installation. Most important is to get the correct system and not based on what the company advertise.
bee88
post May 8 2023, 02:18 PM

303 posts

QUOTE(blacktubi @ May 8 2023, 02:17 PM)
Will the investment gonna be worth it over paying for TNB's tariff for residential property throughout it's entire useful life including the panels and the inverters?

Weather is getting bloody hot these days.
Yes.

Roi is nearly 20% pa

It’s like rolling Tnb bill money to pay for system that can generate free electricity for 10 years

First 5 years money pay to Tnb become money pay for solar.

Next 5 years free electricity.
bee88
post May 8 2023, 02:22 PM

303 posts

QUOTE(Oltromen Ripot @ May 8 2023, 12:58 PM)
somebody mentioned 1-phase can only up to 4kW.
I regret that my wife didn't consult me before signing up TNB supply; else I would have advised to go 3-phase right from start.

anyway, if solar can chip off a portion of bill, that is already welcomed. the bill is variable, so to cover with preset target like must wipe 100% is over-optimistic and wasting if eventually the usage ended up below what I am generating.
Can go up to 6.06kwp.
bee88
post May 8 2023, 02:26 PM

303 posts

QUOTE(billyboy @ May 8 2023, 02:24 PM)
sounds decent equipment. make sure they don't undersize the inverter....sometimes installer say 8kw solar panel, but inverter 6kw cukup due to peak load spreading.

sure ok until warranty over, then sure the inverter kaput before due date to over-load.

up to you if want to take risk  cool2.gif
This is one problem. Not only that they don’t tell you how the production can be affected by several factors.
bee88
post May 8 2023, 02:28 PM

303 posts

QUOTE(Jingle91 @ May 8 2023, 12:39 PM)
Thanks mate, you are right, SMA cost 20% more, and I ask ERS to give me jinko board plus Goodwe.
They agreed this morning.
Actually , from my understanding, this looks like string inverter. For me it’s bad news.
bee88
post May 8 2023, 02:36 PM

303 posts

QUOTE(billyboy @ May 8 2023, 02:36 PM)
why ? you thinking of micro-inverter ? cool2.gif
Yes. Same price with string but more efficient.
bee88
post May 8 2023, 03:04 PM

303 posts

QUOTE(etan26 @ May 8 2023, 02:48 PM)
Mine also from ERS, almost 2y2m installed already save me RM19.6k. My cost was RM38k back then, extended warranty on my inverter too. Good buy I totally agreed for heavy users.
Wah. How much is your bill before and after on average. How many kwp installed?
bee88
post Oct 1 2023, 11:58 PM

303 posts

QUOTE(merchant9 @ Sep 15 2023, 12:40 PM)
https://soyacincau.com/2023/06/27/higher-el...ll%20of%20RM708
No idea on the additional cost actually. Price not competitive enough.
Max 24 panels. Solis inverter, any comment? Got a new offer for 14.16kWp for RM43k.
Why not try micro inverter? Am using it and really feel it’s way better and safer.
bee88
post Oct 2 2023, 05:06 PM

303 posts

QUOTE(aerotec @ Oct 2 2023, 04:25 PM)
I was offered 
Company A
5.88kWp Jinko panels qty 10
4kWp HUAWEI inverter
60months EPP
Rm19900

Company B
6.11 TW panels qty 11
7.5k SAJ inverter
36 months EPP
Rm17180

Same warranty
Solar panels 12 years product
Inverter 10 years

What other  should be considered?

With  the Budget 2024 announcement on the 13th Oct, care to share if u think the terms will be better that NEM 3.0?  TQ
To be honest, better go for micro inverter. Price also in between or lower than what you are quoting with similar kwp.

bee88
post Oct 2 2023, 05:26 PM

303 posts

QUOTE(billyboy @ Oct 2 2023, 05:22 PM)
inverters die about 8 to 12 years. big box inverter can repair. micro-inverter - i heard - just replace.

pros and cons.

which micro-inverter brand are you using ?
Yes. String inverter lifespan is around there.

Micro inverter is 25 years.

So I expect hassle free within 25 years for the micro. But by chance if it breaks, I think the probability also very low.

Yes. Just replace.

Using hoymiles.

bee88
post Oct 2 2023, 05:44 PM

303 posts

QUOTE(adam71 @ Oct 2 2023, 05:38 PM)
How much is monthly TNB bill only viable to install  company A?  My current TNB bill is RM110 per month
If rm110 bill, there is little temptation to install. Because you are in the range of subsidize rate. However, subsidize rate could be removed anytime.

So if you insist on installing, a small kwp system around 13-15k will be sufficient.

The roi isn’t great but u don’t lose anything.
bee88
post Oct 11 2023, 06:17 PM

303 posts

QUOTE(alen_wong38 @ Oct 5 2023, 11:33 AM)
Hi sifus,

I was offered the following quotations:

Supplier A:

6.6kWp
Longi Solar (Tier AAA) 550Wp Monocrystalline PV module x 12 (warranty 12 years)
Hoymiles Micro-inverter HMS-1600 x 3 (warranty 12 years)
Price RM23k (48 months EPP from credit card)

Supplier B:
Option 1
6kWp
Canadian Solar CS6.1-72TB-600 x 10 (warranty 15 years)
Hoymiles Micro-inverter HMS1800 x2 (warranty 12 years)
Hoymiles Micro-inverter HMS1000 x1 (warranty 12 years)
Price RM24k (60 months EPP from credit card)
Option 2
6.9kWp
Longi Solar (Tier AAA) LR5-72HGD-575M x 12 (warranty 15 years)
Hoymiles Micro-inverter HMS1800 x3 (warranty 12 years)
Price RM27k (60 months EPP from credit card)

Can you please advise which one is the better deal?

Many thanks in advance.
I feel this is not a good system pairing. Overloading the inverter will kill the inverter quickly.
bee88
post Nov 22 2023, 07:46 AM

303 posts

QUOTE(Kentona @ Nov 20 2023, 02:48 PM)
Anyone know which company that tie up with maybank for 60 months installment?
Quite a few actualy
bee88
post Nov 22 2023, 07:47 AM

303 posts

QUOTE(narf03 @ Nov 20 2023, 03:03 PM)
Usually after 10 years u have to replace this and that already
By then already untung double kaw kaw dy.

But replacement is just a remote possibility. Panel not going to be replaced. Most likely inverter if it’s broken after warranty period.
bee88
post Nov 22 2023, 08:08 AM

303 posts

QUOTE(narf03 @ Nov 22 2023, 08:04 AM)
it really depends on what rate u are paying.

this is my bill

the 1st 200 unit is at RM0.218 per KW, its very very cheap

the next 100 unit at RM0.334 per KW, sudden 50%+ increment over the 1st 200 unit

then the next 300 unit at RM0.516 per KW, which is 2.36x compare to the 1st 200 unit

i believe there are 2 more category after the 0.516, the max should be very close to RM0.6 per KW, which is about 3  times over the 1st 200 units
now talking about is it worth it or not, depends on how much u are paying for the last category, the RM0.6 per KW, lets say you use alot of power, like 2000 kw, more than 1000KW is from that RM0.6 per KW category, you would like your solar to completely cover that 0.6 category plus maybe the last 2 category.

but if you are only paying first 2 category (<300kW per month), then its NOT WORTH IT, 100% conQlanfirm.
Yes. Currently it’s very worth it if you hit the last two bracket like me.

However, the first two brackets aren’t going to be the same rate throughout. There would be adjustment, removal of subsidies and increment depending on govt policy 10 years down the road.

bee88
post Nov 22 2023, 08:46 AM

303 posts

QUOTE(narf03 @ Nov 22 2023, 08:16 AM)
well if the gov remove subsidy, you can expect sudden spike in solar panel installation and alot of promotion, technically price of installation will also greatly reduced when market kaboom, i would wait for that moment =p
Only one problem, NEM is over by then. No more offset 1:1 by Tnb.
bee88
post Nov 22 2023, 08:49 AM

303 posts

QUOTE(DarkNite @ Nov 22 2023, 08:12 AM)
How many kwh is your average monthly usage?

10 yrs down the road?
By then, solar panels technology would have improved & cost lower? hmm.gif
Mine is about 1200-1400kwh usage monthly.
Right now , for me , these 10 years is crucial to get the system for free first. By 10 th year, my battery should be free too, covered by the savings from 5th year onwards.
bee88
post Dec 6 2023, 08:00 PM

303 posts

QUOTE(Jo_da48 @ Dec 6 2023, 07:44 PM)
You installed with battery?
No. There isn’t a battery to worry about. It’s under NEM, so Tnb will take the excess generated and give back 1:1 offset at night.
bee88
post Dec 7 2023, 07:41 AM

303 posts

QUOTE(sihamsedap @ Dec 5 2023, 08:40 AM)
mine install in sept from 700/month to 20 per month.. and mostly is fees and taxes in that.. real usage probably less than 10

but november macam haram, everyday rain.. so bill is around 90.. kns
Mine still nice. Even November only rm1.90. What’s your system setup?

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0323sec    0.23    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 09:17 AM