4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Solar Panel for House, Have you install?

bee88
post Dec 7 2023, 07:48 AM

303 posts

QUOTE(kkkw80 @ Dec 5 2023, 08:56 AM)
I've a friend who is certified ASHRAE and Energy Manager, he advise its not worth it now to get solar installed. Earlier yes.

I've calculated mine, ROI 7 years is just not worth it.
As long as under nem, it is okay. With ROI 7 years , you still get free electricity for 3 years. And not to mention, u have a system fully paid for using Tnb money. Imagin if you don’t go solar and pay 7 years of electricity to Tnb just to get electricity. Why not double up the value paid, get electricity and system.
bee88
post Dec 7 2023, 07:54 AM

303 posts

QUOTE(johnnycp @ Dec 7 2023, 07:51 AM)
Problem is gomen not giving enough incentive to go for RE, that's why most people don't bother it
Actually incentive is going to be less. Not going to be more.

Look at nem3.0 in California, now they have to pay for battery solution already.

Right now the incentive still there. Electricity is something we will use anyway. So grab it before it’s too late.

Next time, when u want to adopt solar, price of the pnel could drop, but battery solution is still going to make the whole system price going up again.

My current plan is get the system for free first, then next time, only invest on battery. Or sell back , whichever is better deal.
bee88
post Dec 7 2023, 08:36 AM

303 posts

QUOTE(sihamsedap @ Dec 7 2023, 08:31 AM)
11kw
Ic.

If your bill consistently rm700, should have gotten a little higher. Like 13kwp or higher. Maybe can tambah two more panels? Haha.
bee88
post Dec 7 2023, 10:20 AM

303 posts

QUOTE(hjh87 @ Dec 7 2023, 09:44 AM)
Not entirely correct, my neighbor is one of the early adopters of solar use with the FiT scheme. Till today, after 5 years, the ROI still has a long way to go.
They needed more. Correct. 9 years if considered fast. Their contract is 21 years iinm.
bee88
post Dec 7 2023, 10:44 AM

303 posts

QUOTE(etan26 @ Dec 7 2023, 10:41 AM)
I also wanted more Kw, at that time the max is 11.7Kw cause my bill can go up to 1k monthly.
Actually can top up ma. But depend on your system lo. If micro easier. If string, gg
bee88
post Dec 7 2023, 10:51 AM

303 posts

QUOTE(etan26 @ Dec 7 2023, 10:48 AM)
At that time I applied the T&C stated max for residential is 11.7kw only .... but good enough for now  ....
Kwac or dc?

Coz if dc, can go higher. If 11.7kwac, then can install 14kwp dc.
bee88
post Dec 7 2023, 11:05 AM

303 posts

QUOTE(etan26 @ Dec 7 2023, 10:58 AM)
Where to see this infor?
Check your seda cert.
bee88
post Dec 7 2023, 11:07 AM

303 posts

I am more afraid if your solar provider didn’t help to apply full quota for your system.

For example, you instal 11kwp panel, they only help to apply 8-9kwac jer.
bee88
post Dec 7 2023, 12:59 PM

303 posts

QUOTE(etan26 @ Dec 7 2023, 12:32 PM)
10 Kwac jer ...  sad.gif
But u can add 2 or 3 more panels.

Usually for 10kwac, some solar supplier supply up to 13 kwp.
bee88
post Dec 8 2023, 09:02 PM

303 posts

QUOTE(hjh87 @ Dec 7 2023, 08:41 PM)
Yeah, if we compare the calculation provided by the installer to the actual operating results, there could be a significant difference, considering unforeseen circumstances. For example, you showed the monthly average generation of RM240 * 12 months = RM2880. However, there was a time when the inverter went faulty, and the neighbor had to get the installer to rectify it, costing roughly RM2k per trip. This cost has already offset the 1-year generated revenue, meaning the ROI will extend.

In my opinion, investing in solar still may not be very feasible in Malaysia due to factors such as climate, operating costs, and the less attractive schemes available. One very obvious change is that even TNB has shortened the 20-year NEM contract to 10 years.
Why would it cost 2k for the faulty inverter when it’s under warranty?
bee88
post Jan 2 2024, 11:23 PM

303 posts

QUOTE(etan26 @ Dec 26 2023, 03:17 PM)
Based on this actually your consumption 1619kWh (total consumption) - 673 (NEM excess) actually after offset you are not supposed to be charge surcharge
so can complaint to ST(Suruhanjaya Tenaga Bureau) this because ST wasn't aware.

I got this news from my Solar installer company just now, they are compiling all the complaints and forward to ST.
Actually the total consumption 1619kwh is used at nighttime. And Tnb supply the 1619kwh using coal and those non renewable sources. So their rationale of charging the surcharge of icpt is because the price of coal thst they use to generate 1619kwh for you fluctuate according to market price.
bee88
post Jan 3 2024, 06:47 AM

303 posts

QUOTE(etan26 @ Jan 2 2024, 11:32 PM)
Then how about daytime? The TNB supply also used the same method but can be offset by our solar generated energy.
Daytime if you draw more than u produce, then the usage will be recorded as well. So some of the 1619kwh recorded for the monthly usage could be in the morning when system didn’t produce more than own usage. So that kWh is also generated by Tnb using coal , and hence , the icpt charges applies.

Usually for daytime, u use ur own production and excess will be pushed back to Tnb. Those being pushed back to Tnb is recorded separately.

In the morning, my production is more, so, the import reading from the meter remain static from 8am until 6pm.

Only the export reading goes up.

This post has been edited by bee88: Jan 3 2024, 06:50 AM
bee88
post Jan 3 2024, 01:39 PM

303 posts

QUOTE(etan26 @ Jan 3 2024, 11:09 AM)
What I am saying here is during daytime those electricity we used from TNB is also ICPT but these can be offset. So the logic is that nighttime the surplus store solar energy is not allowed to offset the usage.
But daytime u didn’t use Tnb electricity. U use ur solar first.

Try to check if ur meter for daytime got move or not. The reading for import. 01.
bee88
post Jan 3 2024, 01:39 PM

303 posts

QUOTE(etan26 @ Jan 3 2024, 11:13 AM)
No, during daytime we also get from the Grid, our solar energy is exported and we import the Grid energy. Hence they offset during daytime but not the night time when we have surplus from daytime generation.
I think u get the wrong idea. U only sell surplus after u use what u produce. Not straight send all to Tnb.
bee88
post Jan 4 2024, 10:39 AM

303 posts

QUOTE(etan26 @ Jan 4 2024, 09:55 AM)
We can't directly used our solar, we export it. That's why when got TNB supply interruption we don't have any power.
The solar db is connected to our house db. It’s not connected to the Tnb grid directly.

So it will be self consumption first, then extra will be sent out. This is confirmed.

Yes, u need to have Tnb supply to start generation. But that only to start. Once ur system produce enough, u don’t draw from Tnb anymore.

Also, one thing to consider. Ur system could be producing 1-2kw in the morning, before it peak, and at that time if u on aircond, maybe ur usage is more than 1-2kw, so the balance they draw from Tnb.

But when u peak at 10-12kw during afternoon, and ur appliances only run about 1-2kw, u will send the extra to them.

So the net import figure from the bill is from this kind of usage.

bee88
post Jan 4 2024, 10:42 AM

303 posts

QUOTE(etan26 @ Jan 4 2024, 09:54 AM)
We can't directly used our solar, we export it. That's why when got TNB supply interruption we don't have any power.
U can try do this.

Check your inverter app for the total generation for December.

Let’s say 1200kwh

Then u compare with your export figure from Tnb bill for December.

It will be less than 1200kwh. For my case, it will be around 900-1000kwh

Where did the 200-300kwh go?

This means we have used the 200-300 units.

Analogy.
Ur farm produce 100 apples. U eat 30. So u can only sell 70.

bee88
post Jan 4 2024, 10:44 AM

303 posts

QUOTE(etan26 @ Jan 4 2024, 10:37 AM)
I did asked my solar supplier before, we can't used our solar energy directly at this moment because the inverter can't cater for it.

Maybe in the future .... hopefully we can used it during blackout in the day time.
No. As long as you don’t have the battery solution, u can’t straight use solar energy. Coz ur inverter need minimal power to start. And it is not stable to direct use anyway.

That’s why the solar db is connected to home db. And Tnb also connect to home db.

Then power come from two ways to your db.

If ur solar produce enough, the Tnb just a standby. If not it will top up. Especially in morning.
bee88
post Jan 4 2024, 10:45 AM

303 posts

QUOTE(etan26 @ Jan 4 2024, 10:43 AM)
If our inverted can do it, why can't during blackout period? Simply because our inverter cannot cater for direct usage.

Show me where its said this "Yes, u need to have Tnb supply to start generation. But that only to start. Once ur system produce enough, u don’t draw from Tnb anymore. "
To be honest , sometimes solar supplier aren’t straight forward to explain everything to the consumer.

Last time, I was told ac dc conversion loss when it was clipping.
bee88
post Jan 4 2024, 10:47 AM

303 posts

QUOTE(etan26 @ Jan 4 2024, 10:43 AM)
If our inverted can do it, why can't during blackout period? Simply because our inverter cannot cater for direct usage.

Show me where its said this "Yes, u need to have Tnb supply to start generation. But that only to start. Once ur system produce enough, u don’t draw from Tnb anymore. "
If you have a battery solution, the inverter will get the power from battery to continue the generation or else it will stop.

U try check ur home system.

If u switch off your home db, does your solar work?

For me, I switch off my home db, solar still work.

Coz I connect to incoming, not outgoing. Most setup connect to outgoing, not incoming.
bee88
post Jan 4 2024, 10:50 AM

303 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Jan 4 2024, 10:48 AM)
Can't I just connect solar panels to the ev charger without informing tnb/sesco? By my calculation to charge an ev I need 32 solar panels?
U can try doing an offgrid system.

That means u need a battery solution. So thst u have a stable supply of electricity.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0908sec    1.11    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 06:23 PM