199 posts

QUOTE(NagaK @ Nov 2 2020, 07:16 PM)
Maybe in 2030🙄😂 because only by 2020 they launching VoLTE by phases
haha, i think so. dont know why maxis so slow for this service
KCY3701
post Nov 3 2020, 05:48 PM

On My Way to Level 50
633 posts

Maxis VoLTE thread started in Jan 2017, Oct 2020 only got.

Maxis VoWiFi thread started in Oct 2020, expect July 2024?

Future

Maxis Vo5G thread will start in July 2024, we'll only get it in April 2028?

mfa682
post Nov 4 2020, 04:01 PM

1,799 posts

If it weren't for gomen plan to shutdown 3g permanently, I highly doubt we will get volte. Unless something force them to do so, they won't implement it. So......
tiongkeat
post Nov 30 2020, 04:35 PM

802 posts

looking foward for VOWIFI
seanswn
post Dec 24 2020, 04:15 PM

64 posts

It's faster just switch to a provider that supports it.

xperiaDROID
post Dec 24 2020, 04:25 PM

K
3,966 posts

Never, unless government forces them to.
sNacKRangeR
post Dec 1 2021, 03:08 AM

70 posts

Not sure is it a bug of iOS 15.2 or not, WiFi Calling options show on cellular settings, but it's not connected or switch to WiFi Calling once flight mode is on.

This post has been edited by sNacKRangeR: Dec 1 2021, 03:12 AM
sadlyfalways
post Dec 1 2021, 05:39 PM

1,185 posts

QUOTE(sNacKRangeR @ Dec 1 2021, 03:08 AM)
Not sure is it a bug of iOS 15.2 or not, WiFi Calling options show on cellular settings, but it's not connected or switch to WiFi Calling once flight mode is on.
How are you on 15.2? Are you a beta user?
sNacKRangeR
post Dec 1 2021, 11:16 PM

70 posts

QUOTE(sadlyfalways @ Dec 1 2021, 05:39 PM)
How are you on 15.2? Are you a beta user?
Yes, Public beta user.
XeactorZ
post Dec 1 2021, 11:33 PM

♥ PandaDog ♥
31,607 posts

really hope 15.2 got maxis vowifi, late better than don't have
NagaK
post Dec 2 2021, 10:20 AM

1,189 posts

QUOTE(sNacKRangeR @ Dec 1 2021, 03:08 AM)
It’s seems to be they cooking up VoWifi actually great feature since 3G is shut down 4G upgrade for indoor coverage is still going on. It’s been nightmare I’ve been seeing 2G Maxis in indoor recently. Connecting calls are being fail or disconnected

Hope Maxis launch VoWifi soon
Xaser_3
post Dec 2 2021, 02:28 PM

Because I Fly, I envy no man on earth...
10,536 posts

I doubt Maxis will ever introduce VoWiFi
NagaK
post Dec 2 2021, 02:38 PM

1,189 posts

QUOTE(Xaser_3 @ Dec 2 2021, 02:28 PM)
I doubt Maxis will ever introduce VoWiFi
They might since just 93% coverage has been filled with 4G and indoor 4G Network still worst recently many user facing E network in indoors so Vowifi might on cards

@POTUS
post Dec 3 2021, 07:22 AM

219 posts

QUOTE(sNacKRangeR @ Dec 1 2021, 11:16 PM)
Yes, Public beta user.
15.2 beta 4 is out, does this screen still appear? Or it is just a glitch from previous beta?
sNacKRangeR
post Dec 3 2021, 08:23 AM

70 posts

QUOTE(@POTUS @ Dec 3 2021, 07:22 AM)
15.2 beta 4 is out, does this screen still appear? Or it is just a glitch from previous beta?
VoWiFi options still appears on 15.2b4
IMS status = Voice & SMS

@POTUS
post Dec 3 2021, 08:49 AM

219 posts

Ah, seems maxis really doing something, currently maxis profile only 48.0 and ims only voice. Looking forward this
omega10
post Dec 3 2021, 09:23 AM

427 posts

I can see the wifi calling option is in S21 Ultra. I do not see the wifi calling sign after enable it. Should be here very soon.
NagaK
post Dec 3 2021, 03:48 PM

1,189 posts

QUOTE(omega10 @ Dec 3 2021, 09:23 AM)
I can see the wifi calling option is in S21 Ultra. I do not see the wifi calling sign after enable it. Should be here very soon.
Finally Maxis VoWIFI it’s been terrible their indoor coverage
Calls been dropping frequently
p4n6
post Dec 3 2021, 08:44 PM

5,968 posts

QUOTE(omega10 @ Dec 3 2021, 09:23 AM)
How come my S21 Ultra does not show wifi calling.
Which firmware version you are using?
I just updated yesterday ...
TOMEI-R
post Dec 3 2021, 08:49 PM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(p4n6 @ Dec 3 2021, 08:44 PM)
Because there is no VoWifi on Maxis for now.
p4n6
post Dec 3 2021, 08:52 PM

5,968 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Dec 3 2021, 08:49 PM)
Because there is no VoWifi on Maxis for now.
I'm refering to @omega10 that his phone showing the wifi calling option.
Not talking about service availability.
omega10
post Dec 4 2021, 04:27 AM

427 posts

QUOTE(p4n6 @ Dec 3 2021, 08:44 PM)
Hi

G998BXXU3BUKG

Correct me if I am wrong, if Vowifi if not available, this option will not appear in the phone. I have noticed this option only appear recently.

Thank you.

This post has been edited by omega10: Dec 4 2021, 06:05 AM
p4n6
post Dec 5 2021, 08:36 PM

5,968 posts

QUOTE(omega10 @ Dec 4 2021, 04:27 AM)
Hi

G998BXXU3BUKG

Correct me if I am wrong, if Vowifi if not available, this option will not appear in the phone. I have noticed this option only appear recently.

Thank you.
Updated mine. Saw the toggle switch in Phone dialer setting.
The Wifi Calling toggle switch is merely showing Samsung has updated firmware for Maxis users. But Maxis not yet enable its users to use Vowifi. Same thing happens during Volte but is the other way around, back then in Volte, Maxis enable but Samsung not.

This post has been edited by p4n6: Dec 5 2021, 08:37 PM
teutonic
post Dec 6 2021, 04:02 PM

147 posts

kaytee
post Dec 9 2021, 03:12 PM

164 posts

iOS 15.2 (Release Candidate) saw this option. Guess they will open up this service soon for maxis.
NagaK
post Dec 14 2021, 10:44 AM

1,189 posts

Just updated my 7 plus to iOS 15.2 Maxis WiFi Calling is ready to serve users only Maxis need to enable to users.
And IMS status changed to Voice & SMS

This post has been edited by NagaK: Dec 14 2021, 10:45 AM

Dozz
post Dec 14 2021, 12:40 PM

2,149 posts

QUOTE(NagaK @ Dec 14 2021, 10:44 AM)
Just updated my 7 plus to iOS 15.2 Maxis WiFi Calling is ready to serve users only Maxis need to enable to users.
And IMS status changed to Voice & SMS
Good ! cant wait to maxis enable this feature for us!
TSkuekss
post Dec 15 2021, 05:11 PM

199 posts

Maxis VOWIFi is up, can use in my iPhone ☺️☺️☺️
NagaK
post Dec 15 2021, 09:35 PM

1,189 posts

QUOTE(kuekss @ Dec 15 2021, 05:11 PM)
Maxis VOWIFi is up, can use in my iPhone ☺️☺️☺️
It’s available in settings not for service for now. I tried Digi WiFi calling and Maxis still hadn’t enable it
@POTUS
post Dec 16 2021, 07:00 AM

219 posts

QUOTE(NagaK @ Dec 15 2021, 09:35 PM)
It’s available in settings not for service for now. I tried Digi WiFi calling and Maxis still hadn’t enable it
Enabled la, showing vowifi now
NagaK
post Dec 16 2021, 07:38 AM

1,189 posts

QUOTE(@POTUS @ Dec 16 2021, 07:00 AM)
Enabled la, showing vowifi now
Seriously? Can you send image of as working Vowifi I enabled in settings nothing changed
sNacKRangeR
post Dec 16 2021, 08:47 AM

70 posts

Maxis VoWiFi is up now

This post has been edited by sNacKRangeR: Dec 16 2021, 08:56 AM
p4n6
post Dec 16 2021, 08:55 AM

5,968 posts

Yay woke up see MY MAXIS Vowifi logo on my phone.

But i walking around my house, when mobile signal bar is 3 and above it will lose the Vowifi, when 1-2 bar then the Vowifi will show up. Is this normal? Smart switch?

This post has been edited by p4n6: Dec 16 2021, 08:56 AM
sNacKRangeR
post Dec 16 2021, 09:07 AM

70 posts

QUOTE(p4n6 @ Dec 16 2021, 08:55 AM)

But i walking around my house, when mobile signal bar is 3 and above it will lose the Vowifi, when 1-2 bar then the Vowifi will show up. Is this normal? Smart switch?
From my opinion it’s normal, depends on Maxis config but it should be good if always connected to VoWiFi once device connected to wifi
sNacKRangeR
post Dec 16 2021, 09:13 AM

70 posts

And VoWiFi may not enabling if you are not connected to malaysia internet, test by connected to wifi route to my house in Thailand, Maxis VoWiFi not working but digi yuppui working as well 😏😏

This post has been edited by sNacKRangeR: Dec 16 2021, 09:19 AM
@POTUS
post Dec 16 2021, 09:55 AM

219 posts

QUOTE(p4n6 @ Dec 16 2021, 08:55 AM)

My case 3 bar still have vowifi, however when coming back from outside, the vowifi not automatically switch. Had to turn on/off airplane mode, then only service will show up

NagaK
post Dec 16 2021, 09:56 AM

1,189 posts

QUOTE(sNacKRangeR @ Dec 16 2021, 08:47 AM)
Maxis VoWiFi is up now

Yup its show now after I connected my work place WiFi Maxis fibre
It doesn’t at home wit Unifi 😅 maybe later will try

This post has been edited by NagaK: Dec 16 2021, 10:15 AM

Dozz
post Dec 16 2021, 11:09 AM

2,149 posts

Glad to know Maxis's VoWiFi is up now, gonna give it a try rclxms.gif
omega10
post Dec 16 2021, 11:23 AM

427 posts

VoWifi is up for S21 Ultra too.
p4n6
post Dec 16 2021, 11:51 AM

5,968 posts

What phones you all using?

I have both S21 and iPhone 12, both can use VoWiFi today.
My Note8 and Note10 cannot.
NagaK
post Dec 16 2021, 11:51 AM

1,189 posts

QUOTE(p4n6 @ Dec 16 2021, 11:51 AM)

Note 10 mostly after Android 12 update
I’m using iPhone 7 Plus can use Maxis VoWiFi

This post has been edited by NagaK: Dec 16 2021, 11:53 AM
NagaK
post Dec 16 2021, 11:54 AM

1,189 posts

QUOTE(Dozz @ Dec 16 2021, 11:09 AM)
Glad to know Maxis's VoWiFi is up now, gonna give it a try  rclxms.gif
So far faster with Call connecting voice also clear compared to 2G voice call is 4G not in coverage. VoWiFi automatically turn on when 4G signal is weak and turn off when 4G gets 4 or 3 bar
sharpman
post Dec 16 2021, 11:59 AM

Veteran LYN Forumer
1,110 posts

QUOTE(p4n6 @ Dec 16 2021, 11:51 AM)

I have enabled Wifi calling on my S21 Ultra but still not seeing VoWifi icon. still showing VoLTE logo
Dozz
post Dec 16 2021, 12:03 PM

2,149 posts

QUOTE(NagaK @ Dec 16 2021, 11:54 AM)
So far faster with Call connecting voice also clear compared to 2G voice call is 4G not in coverage. VoWiFi automatically turn on when 4G signal is weak and turn off when 4G gets 4 or 3 bar
Oh i see! no wonder i cant see VoWiFi logo now... because my signal bar is 3-4 bars now.. haha...

Cant wait to use this feature when go to oversea next time..
sNacKRangeR
post Dec 16 2021, 12:21 PM

70 posts

QUOTE(Dozz @ Dec 16 2021, 12:03 PM)
Oh i see! no wonder i cant see VoWiFi logo now... because my signal bar is 3-4 bars now.. haha...

Cant wait to use this feature when go to oversea next time..
I hv test by connected to wifi route to another country, VoWiFi not enabling only digi will up, maxis not. Maybe maxis will on tuning period.

XeactorZ
post Dec 16 2021, 12:33 PM

♥ PandaDog ♥
31,607 posts

Tonight back home give it a try as at workplace I connected to vpn not working laugh.gif

This post has been edited by XeactorZ: Dec 16 2021, 12:38 PM
Dozz
post Dec 16 2021, 03:22 PM

2,149 posts

QUOTE(sNacKRangeR @ Dec 16 2021, 12:21 PM)
I hv test by connected to wifi route to another country, VoWiFi not enabling only digi will up, maxis not. Maybe maxis will on tuning period.

Wow! didnt know you can turn local wifi to another country!

Beside thailand, have you try other country like singapore?
alfredhow78
post Dec 16 2021, 04:45 PM

380 posts

VoWiFi on mate30 emui 12.0
sharpman
post Dec 16 2021, 04:49 PM

Veteran LYN Forumer
1,110 posts

QUOTE(alfredhow78 @ Dec 16 2021, 04:45 PM)

VoWiFi on mate30 emui 12.0
I guess I need to get my 4G bar to go down a few levels before I can see VoWifi on my phone.
In my house currently it's full bar
sharpman
post Dec 16 2021, 04:58 PM

Veteran LYN Forumer
1,110 posts

UPDATE

VoWifi is activated on my S21 Ultra after restarting my phone.

It does not matter whether the 4G signal bar is low or high, I am still getting VoWifi

This post has been edited by sharpman: Dec 16 2021, 05:02 PM
Mustafa Akmal
post Dec 16 2021, 07:01 PM

18 posts

VoWiFi is up and running on my iPhone 12. Tested with calls to different telcos, landlines. Worked brilliantly. Congrats Maxis! Though long overdue biggrin.gif
TOMEI-R
post Dec 16 2021, 07:03 PM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

Finally, VoWifi is running on my Oneplus 8.
TOMEI-R
post Dec 16 2021, 07:05 PM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(sharpman @ Dec 16 2021, 04:58 PM)
UPDATE

It does not matter whether the 4G signal bar is low or high, I am still getting VoWifi

VoWifi means Voice over Wifi. Has nothing to do with 4G. You can even get incoming and outgoing calls in areas with no network coverage, as long as you have wifi.
NagaK
post Dec 16 2021, 07:48 PM

1,189 posts

QUOTE(sharpman @ Dec 16 2021, 04:58 PM)
UPDATE

Android can lock 4G only or WiFi or network preferred in WiFi calling setting where as iOS can’t do any s*+]

Example now at home I’m not getting VoWifi for now since my signal is 3 bar or maybe maxis limiting for maxis fibre only 🤔?

This post has been edited by NagaK: Dec 16 2021, 07:49 PM
Chengi
post Dec 16 2021, 07:49 PM

215 posts

VoWiFi is activated on my iphone 6s too
XeactorZ
post Dec 16 2021, 07:51 PM

♥ PandaDog ♥
31,607 posts

finally managed to get it work after turn on airplade mode for around 10 minutes and off then works laugh.gif

This post has been edited by XeactorZ: Dec 16 2021, 08:06 PM
NagaK
post Dec 16 2021, 08:11 PM

1,189 posts

https://www.maxis.com.my/en/faq/network/mob...3YqpU9-l-HOyyr8

Maxis FAQ page for VoWiFi is live
But not available on iPhone as per Maxis but we already been using it 🙄😓

Update ; after followed your steps I get it too at home 😂

This post has been edited by NagaK: Dec 16 2021, 08:19 PM
NagaK
post Dec 16 2021, 08:12 PM

1,189 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Dec 16 2021, 07:51 PM)
finally managed to get it work after turn on airplade mode for around 10 minutes and off then works laugh.gif
Hahah
With weak signal coverage or high?
Fibre TM or Maxis ?
ILOVEKFC P
post Dec 16 2021, 08:13 PM

Probation

QUOTE(NagaK @ Dec 16 2021, 07:48 PM)
Android can lock 4G only or WiFi or network preferred in WiFi calling setting where as iOS can’t do any s*+]

Example now at  home I’m not getting VoWifi for now since my signal is 3 bar or maybe maxis limiting for maxis fibre only 🤔?
my iphone signal bar full and yet still have vowifi. Vowifi nothing to do with signal bar la bro.
NagaK
post Dec 16 2021, 08:18 PM

1,189 posts

deleted

This post has been edited by NagaK: Dec 16 2021, 08:18 PM
NagaK
post Dec 16 2021, 08:21 PM

1,189 posts

QUOTE(ILOVEKFC @ Dec 16 2021, 08:13 PM)
my iphone signal bar full and yet still have vowifi. Vowifi nothing to do with signal bar la bro.

Yeah just now gets VoWiFi toggle for me too with full bar I guess maybe they had bug initial phase hope if they fix it
I was turn on off airplane mode to get it

It was my mistaken.

This post has been edited by NagaK: Dec 16 2021, 08:22 PM
sNacKRangeR
post Dec 16 2021, 08:28 PM

70 posts

QUOTE(Dozz @ Dec 16 2021, 03:22 PM)
Wow! didnt know you can turn local wifi to another country!

Beside thailand, have you try other country like singapore?
Ref from maxis q&a pages abt VoWiFi
https://www.maxis.com.my/en/faq/network/mobile/vowifi

- Can’t use VoWiFi while roaming (U and Digi can).
- MultiSIM user may not able to use VoWiFi / my account under MultiSIM can use as usual, including VoLTE.

XeactorZ
post Dec 16 2021, 08:32 PM

♥ PandaDog ♥
31,607 posts

QUOTE(NagaK @ Dec 16 2021, 08:12 PM)
Hahah
With weak signal coverage or high?
Fibre TM or Maxis ?
At home signal definitely not issue
on unifi
Raymond T.
post Dec 16 2021, 08:39 PM

Glock 19 Holder
1,368 posts

After reboot iPhone got VoWifi
alfredhow78
post Dec 16 2021, 08:54 PM

380 posts

QUOTE(sNacKRangeR @ Dec 16 2021, 08:28 PM)

- MultiSIM user may not able to use VoWiFi / my account under MultiSIM can use as usual, including VoLTE.

Ok tested. When my router is connected to an international vpn, vowifi doesn't work.

When i disable the vpn, the vowifi works again.

lznce2679
post Dec 16 2021, 11:07 PM

230 posts

Maxis finally enables WiFi Calling, now available on Samsung and iPhone devices

https://bit.ly/3sbX5sD

At the time of writing, we can enable the VoWiFi feature for both the iPhone 11 Pro and the Samsung Galaxy S21 Ultra. We have tried the feature on our Maxis Postpaid 98 plan. According Maxis, VoWiFi is offered to all Maxis Postpaid and Hotlink customers except for customers on multi SIM one line.
sharpman
post Dec 16 2021, 11:25 PM

Veteran LYN Forumer
1,110 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Dec 16 2021, 07:05 PM)
VoWifi means Voice over Wifi. Has nothing to do with 4G. You can even get incoming and outgoing calls in areas with no network coverage, as long as you have wifi.
i know this, please refer to few postings before me, there are people who claimed that VoWiFi on their phone is only activated when their 4G signal bar is low, when 4G signal bar is 3 and above it reverts to VoLTE
Dozz
post Dec 16 2021, 11:26 PM

2,149 posts

QUOTE(sNacKRangeR @ Dec 16 2021, 08:28 PM)

Yeah I'm using MultiSIM as well and VoWiFi is working for me on iphone 13 pro max too.

Hopefully in near future Maxis will enable VoWiFi while roaming!
alfredhow78
post Dec 17 2021, 01:29 AM

380 posts

QUOTE(sharpman @ Dec 16 2021, 04:49 PM)
I guess I need to get my 4G bar to go down a few levels before I can see VoWifi on my phone.
In my house currently it's full bar
Maybe you can try this.. I recall this thread back in last year.
Why not give it a try

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/5061627

This post has been edited by alfredhow78: Dec 17 2021, 01:30 AM
YS3nsatiOn
post Dec 17 2021, 01:47 AM

The epic forumer
809 posts

So guys, what's the real benefit of using VoWifi? Any improvements in terms of call quality?
Raymond T.
post Dec 17 2021, 02:36 AM

Glock 19 Holder
1,368 posts

QUOTE(YS3nsatiOn @ Dec 17 2021, 01:47 AM)
So guys, what's the real benefit of using VoWifi? Any improvements in terms of call quality?
The benefits of there’s no signal or weak signal then it will use VoWiFi for HD call
p4n6
post Dec 17 2021, 06:53 AM

5,968 posts

QUOTE(YS3nsatiOn @ Dec 17 2021, 01:47 AM)
Cellular coverage usually poor indoor and hi rise (and you may have drop call/ poor quality/ unable to receive call) so via wifi is a complement access technology to help you to continue be able to use your mobile voice service.
CH3COOH
post Dec 17 2021, 02:58 PM

56 posts

QUOTE(alfredhow78 @ Dec 16 2021, 08:54 PM)
Ok tested. When my router is connected to an international vpn, vowifi doesn't work.

When i disable the vpn, the vowifi works again.
Just wondering if you are not in Msia, but connecting a VPN that the IP address in Msia, not sure does the VoWIFI works?
sNacKRangeR
post Dec 17 2021, 03:45 PM

70 posts

QUOTE(CH3COOH @ Dec 17 2021, 02:58 PM)
Just wondering if you are not in Msia, but connecting a VPN that the IP address in Msia, not sure does the VoWIFI works?
- mys > tha
- mys > tha > mys

= doesn’t work

This post has been edited by sNacKRangeR: Dec 17 2021, 03:48 PM
shaktiv8
post Dec 17 2021, 06:18 PM

363 posts

QUOTE(sNacKRangeR @ Dec 17 2021, 03:45 PM)
- mys > tha
- mys > tha > mys

= doesn’t work

Maxis too cunning la
NagaK
post Dec 17 2021, 08:29 PM

1,189 posts

Update : I’m having a bug in Maxis VoWiFi it’s not automatically connecting as like Digi’s WiFi Calling where as when I connected to WiFi it’s instantly switch for WiFi calling

In Maxis cant connect instantly need to reset network by turn on off airplane mode many times to get it
I tried put my sim on dad’s S21 it’s just instant just like that
Either is bug ( as Maxis stated it’s not available for iPhone users in FAQ) or issue wit my phone?
maybe later I try to reset network setting I will update here.
Anybody had this issue so far?

Attached File(s)
Attached File  trim.39140F00_5875_42EA_90E9_35CD1AE78E01.MOV ( 17.9mb ) Number of downloads: 32
Raymond T.
post Dec 17 2021, 09:22 PM

Glock 19 Holder
1,368 posts

QUOTE(NagaK @ Dec 17 2021, 08:29 PM)
Update : I’m having a bug in Maxis VoWiFi it’s not automatically connecting as like Digi’s WiFi Calling where as when I connected to WiFi it’s instantly switch for WiFi calling

In Maxis cant connect instantly need to reset network by turn on off airplane mode many times to get it
Either is bug ( as Maxis stated it’s not available for iPhone users in FAQ) or issue wit my phone?
Mine seems ok

p4n6
post Dec 17 2021, 10:33 PM

5,968 posts

QUOTE(NagaK @ Dec 17 2021, 08:29 PM)

You can bring it to Apple Care to ask.
But i think is because mobile coverage is good thats why choose to use Volte. My home only 1 bar LTE so I consistently using Vowifi. No problem.
Dozz
post Dec 18 2021, 11:02 AM

2,149 posts

QUOTE(Raymond T. @ Dec 17 2021, 09:22 PM)
Mine seems ok

Do you get VoWiFi logo all the time?? even signal bar is full ?
Singh93
post Dec 18 2021, 11:17 AM

224 posts

No vowifi for note 20 ultra, option not available also
NagaK
post Dec 18 2021, 12:00 PM

1,189 posts

QUOTE(p4n6 @ Dec 17 2021, 10:33 PM)
You can bring it to Apple Care to ask.
But i think is because mobile coverage is good thats why choose to use Volte. My home only 1 bar LTE so I consistently using Vowifi. No problem.
I let wait until Maxis announce or update FAQ as iPhone support VoWiFi
NagaK
post Dec 18 2021, 12:01 PM

1,189 posts

QUOTE(Singh93 @ Dec 18 2021, 11:17 AM)
No vowifi for note 20 ultra, option not available also
Wait until One UI4 update maybe
p4n6
post Dec 18 2021, 02:10 PM

5,968 posts

QUOTE(NagaK @ Dec 18 2021, 12:00 PM)
I let wait until Maxis announce or update FAQ as iPhone support VoWiFi
They did
jsnhoh
post Dec 18 2021, 04:15 PM

Vinc
1,020 posts

Samsung note 10 still don't have this feature yet. Anyone got it already??
NagaK
post Dec 18 2021, 04:28 PM

1,189 posts

QUOTE(p4n6 @ Dec 18 2021, 02:10 PM)
They did
Oh nice then I might reset network settings first.
Or maybe your right when I place my downstairs living room Vowifi stays when I move upstairs vowifi turn off.
p4n6
post Dec 18 2021, 04:39 PM

5,968 posts

QUOTE(jsnhoh @ Dec 18 2021, 04:15 PM)
Samsung note 10 still don't have this feature yet. Anyone got it already??
Note10 don't have.
I'm checking the Sammobile firmware, no Note10 firmware release, i guess the next firmware update will enable the wifi calling switch on the phone.
p4n6
post Dec 18 2021, 04:45 PM

5,968 posts

QUOTE(NagaK @ Dec 18 2021, 04:28 PM)
Oh nice then I might reset network settings first.
Or maybe your right when I place my downstairs living room Vowifi stays when I move upstairs vowifi turn off.
My guess is ... Apple decided on user behalf that VoLTE call is prioritized over VoWiFi. Which could make sense because operator has no control on the wifi quality, so wifi only works as worst case scenario for user (if LTE is deemed too poor to serve voice)
If you look at the S21, wifi calling switch, there is an option for you to select whether you want to prioritize VoLTE or prioritize VoWiFi, have not try to play around with it not sure how it works.

Dogs1985
post Dec 20 2021, 01:01 AM

21 posts

I’m not able show VoWiFi in my iPhone 6s Plus. 😭
But I read the previous threads got user show VoWiFi on his iPhone 6s? 😒

This post has been edited by Dogs1985: Dec 20 2021, 09:36 AM
mfa682
post Dec 20 2021, 05:46 AM

1,799 posts

Say does vowifi require the sim/line to be provisioned, other than requiring supported phone with latest firmware?

Iirc, maxis volte rolled out / provisioning was really slow last time. Vowifi also like this, or it's instant activation if people have the correct phone + supported update/firmware?

This post has been edited by mfa682: Dec 20 2021, 05:47 AM
netbeans
post Dec 21 2021, 12:44 AM

630 posts

VoWiFi enabled on 13PM

p4n6
post Dec 21 2021, 01:07 PM

5,968 posts

QUOTE(Dogs1985 @ Dec 20 2021, 01:01 AM)
I’m not able show VoWiFi in my iPhone 6s Plus. 😭
But I read the previous threads got user show VoWiFi on his iPhone 6s? 😒
Turn on flight mode then turn on wifi.
Dogs1985
post Dec 21 2021, 02:33 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(p4n6 @ Dec 21 2021, 01:07 PM)
Turn on flight mode then turn on wifi.
Waa.. What is this technique? bangwall.gif
work like a charm. flex.gif
Thank you. notworthy.gif
p4n6
post Dec 21 2021, 04:01 PM

5,968 posts

QUOTE(Dogs1985 @ Dec 21 2021, 02:33 PM)
Waa.. What is this technique?  bangwall.gif
work like a charm. flex.gif
Thank you. notworthy.gif
But if your signal is good once you disable flight mode, the vowifi will go back to volte. Thats why initially i said iPhone depends on signal for vowifi to work. I found this out by trial and error… it doesnt make sense to enable flight mode actually… vowifi not superior as compared to volte.
Dogs1985
post Dec 21 2021, 04:32 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(p4n6 @ Dec 21 2021, 04:01 PM)
But if your signal is good once you disable flight mode, the vowifi will go back to volte. Thats why initially i said iPhone depends on signal for vowifi to work. I found this out by trial and error… it doesnt make sense to enable flight mode actually… vowifi not superior as compared to volte.
No wonder just now turn off the WiFi in flight mode, the VoWiFi disappear. confused.gif
Can tell Maxis this kind of problem and ask them to improve it? bangwall.gif
p4n6
post Dec 21 2021, 04:48 PM

5,968 posts

QUOTE(Dogs1985 @ Dec 21 2021, 04:32 PM)
No wonder just now turn off the WiFi in flight mode, the VoWiFi disappear.  confused.gif
Can tell Maxis this kind of problem and ask them to improve it?  bangwall.gif
Turn off wifi of course no VoWifi doh.gif
I think is Apple superior algorithm ... not Maxis. Cause others - S21 no such problem it seems.

This post has been edited by p4n6: Dec 21 2021, 04:48 PM
Dogs1985
post Dec 21 2021, 06:25 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(p4n6 @ Dec 21 2021, 04:48 PM)
Turn off wifi of course no VoWifi  doh.gif
I think is Apple superior algorithm ... not Maxis. Cause others - S21 no such problem it seems.
When you turn off WiFi in flight mode, turn off flight mode again you will notice the VoWiFi is gone.

No, I can confirm that it is not Apple problem.
I've used DiGi before and it fully supports iPhone's VoWiFi, whether full or no bar.
NagaK
post Dec 25 2021, 02:11 PM

1,189 posts

So Maxis stated WiFi calling calls as Internet calls

Nice 👍🏻

p4n6
post Dec 25 2021, 07:45 PM

5,968 posts

QUOTE(NagaK @ Dec 25 2021, 02:11 PM)
So Maxis stated WiFi calling calls as Internet calls

Nice 👍🏻
Internet is free?
lznce2679
post Dec 29 2021, 04:05 PM

230 posts

very funny wehh how maxis replied to me..

Raymond T.
post Dec 30 2021, 08:29 PM

Glock 19 Holder
1,368 posts

QUOTE(lznce2679 @ Dec 29 2021, 04:05 PM)
Sometimes customer service just layan 😂 they lazy to do report to network team to fix it
Singh93
post Dec 31 2021, 07:05 AM

224 posts

Customer service will waste your time 🤭
Singh93
post Dec 31 2021, 07:06 AM

224 posts

QUOTE(lznce2679 @ Dec 29 2021, 05:05 PM)
Even they are clueless what their tech team doing. No specific direction, main launch je
OKLY
post Dec 31 2021, 01:29 PM

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

Not sure if it’s just me but it doesn’t seem stable at the moment. The VoWiFi doesn’t remain connected all the time, while my other line (second SIM) on Digi is always connected to Wifi Calling.
Raymond T.
post Dec 31 2021, 11:16 PM

Glock 19 Holder
1,368 posts

QUOTE(OKLY @ Dec 31 2021, 01:29 PM)
Not sure if it’s just me but it doesn’t seem stable at the moment. The VoWiFi doesn’t remain connected all the time, while my other line (second SIM) on Digi is always connected to Wifi Calling.
Yeah, I think maxis setting prior on VoLTE instead VoWiFi.
When signal weak or no signal then VoWiFi auto enable 😅

chronous
post Jan 1 2022, 01:30 AM

1,145 posts

On my OnePlus 8T, I need to select Calling Preference to Call Over WiFi to get the VoWiFi logo appear

NautilusBW
post Jan 1 2022, 07:19 AM

69 posts

Don't have option for VoWifi on my iPhone 11, only Volte.
Raymond T.
post Jan 1 2022, 08:49 AM

Glock 19 Holder
1,368 posts

QUOTE(NautilusBW @ Jan 1 2022, 07:19 AM)
Have you update your iOS to latest ?
ckh6003
post Jan 2 2022, 12:20 AM

205 posts

QUOTE(NautilusBW @ Jan 1 2022, 07:19 AM)
You should see it and have a option for Wi-Fi Calling (which is VoWifi) on your device setting pages

Setting > Mobile Data > Wi-Fi Calling > Select on

This post has been edited by ckh6003: Jan 2 2022, 12:24 AM
NautilusBW
post Jan 2 2022, 06:44 AM

69 posts

QUOTE(ckh6003 @ Jan 2 2022, 12:20 AM)
You should see it and have a option for Wi-Fi Calling (which is VoWifi) on your device setting pages

Setting > Mobile Data > Wi-Fi Calling > Select on
Yea saw it, and activated it. Thanks.

comflash2
post Jan 7 2022, 11:36 AM

19 posts

Hi... anyone happed to be able to get VoWifi in Penang ?
Singh93
post Jan 8 2022, 06:45 PM

224 posts

S21 updated to one ui 4.0 pun sama je no vowifi
lznce2679
post Jan 8 2022, 07:26 PM

230 posts

u hav updated android oso no use
if maxis dont provision your imei for vowifi/volte
NagaK
post Jan 8 2022, 07:53 PM

1,189 posts

QUOTE(Singh93 @ Jan 8 2022, 06:45 PM)
S21 updated to one ui 4.0 pun sama je no vowifi
Enable WiFi Calling in setting

This post has been edited by NagaK: Jan 9 2022, 11:15 AM
Singh93
post Jan 9 2022, 09:11 AM

224 posts

QUOTE(NagaK @ Jan 8 2022, 08:53 PM)
Enable WiFi Calling in setting wait for 24 hours it will enable
Don't think it works that way.
NagaK
post Jan 9 2022, 11:16 AM

1,189 posts

QUOTE(Singh93 @ Jan 9 2022, 09:11 AM)
Don't think it works that way.
Maybe maxis hadn’t enable yet maybe try set WiFi calling setting in WiFi preferred
lullerskatez
post Jan 9 2022, 08:05 PM

120 posts

Just visited Maxis Center to ask about VoWiFi. Apparently only selected devices are able to use VoWiFi now. Link to devices that support are here https://www.maxis.com.my/en/about-maxis/max...k/volte-vowifi/

Anybody got VoWiFi working on devices outside of this list?
brandonkl
post Jan 9 2022, 09:14 PM

-
994 posts

QUOTE(lullerskatez @ Jan 9 2022, 08:05 PM)
Just visited Maxis Center to ask about VoWiFi. Apparently only selected devices are able to use VoWiFi now. Link to devices that support are here https://www.maxis.com.my/en/about-maxis/max...k/volte-vowifi/

Anybody got VoWiFi working on devices outside of this list?
Yes, my Samsung Galaxy Fold 3 has VoWiFi and is not in Maxis list...
kinjoooo
post Jan 11 2022, 05:15 PM

21 posts

Using Galaxy Note 10+. Finally got WiFi calling after updated to android 12 today.
jsnhoh
post Jan 11 2022, 05:42 PM

Vinc
1,020 posts

QUOTE(kinjoooo @ Jan 11 2022, 05:15 PM)
Using Galaxy Note 10+. Finally got WiFi calling after updated to android 12 today.
Congratulations...
khainiz94
post Jan 13 2022, 10:41 AM

2,856 posts

For those who are using iPhones, Maxis VoWiFi is only enabled if your area have no or bad signal.
I always wonder why my VoWiFi does not work.
It seems Maxis VoWiFi works differently vs Digi VoWiFi.
NagaK
post Jan 13 2022, 02:00 PM

1,189 posts

QUOTE(khainiz94 @ Jan 13 2022, 10:41 AM)
For those who are using iPhones, Maxis VoWiFi is only enabled if your area have no or bad signal.
I always wonder why my VoWiFi does not work.
It seems Maxis VoWiFi works differently vs Digi VoWiFi.
Yup this is what I was said early it’s only connected when signal is too low
OKLY
post Jan 14 2022, 01:25 PM

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

Yes, on my iPhone, I usually see it connect to VoWiFi when my signal is 2/4 bars.
DearJT
post Jan 15 2022, 01:54 PM

50 posts

Just port back to hotlink postpaid and i turned on wifi calling but the VoWifi wont appear on? I am using iphone 12. Last month before port out from hotlink i remember it showed beside MY Maxis
ansonlos
post Jan 15 2022, 06:04 PM

QUOTE(DearJT @ Jan 15 2022, 01:54 PM)
Just port back to hotlink postpaid and i turned on wifi calling but the VoWifi wont appear on? I am using iphone 12. Last month before port out from hotlink i remember it showed beside MY Maxis
If you’re certain that your VoLTE is working, then for sure the VoWiFi would work as well. To test, once you’re connected to a WiFi network, go to Control Center to turn on Airplane Mode but leave WiFi on, and give it a few seconds. This will force it to go into VoWiFi, you’ll see it at the top left corner.
DearJT
post Jan 15 2022, 08:27 PM

50 posts

QUOTE(ansonlos @ Jan 15 2022, 06:04 PM)
If you’re certain that your VoLTE is working, then for sure the VoWiFi would work as well. To test, once you’re connected to a WiFi network, go to Control Center to turn on Airplane Mode but leave WiFi on, and give it a few seconds. This will force it to go into VoWiFi, you’ll see it at the top left corner.
I followed your steps and its working! Thanks man you’re great!
lznce2679
post Jan 16 2022, 12:17 AM

230 posts

didnt work for me..
i have volte working but not vowifi..
Wifi calling provisioned still greyed out.

moonsatelite
post Jan 16 2022, 12:18 AM

737 posts

QUOTE(lznce2679 @ Jan 16 2022, 12:17 AM)
didnt work for me..
i have volte working but not vowifi..
Wifi calling provisioned still greyed out.
what phone are you using?
lznce2679
post Jan 16 2022, 12:24 AM

230 posts

samsung A42
guess hav to wait for android 12 update 1st
ansonlos
post Jan 16 2022, 10:00 AM

QUOTE(lznce2679 @ Jan 16 2022, 12:24 AM)
samsung A42
guess hav to wait for android 12 update 1st
Your phone is not in Maxis’ list of supported devices.
Singh93
post Jan 16 2022, 10:14 AM

224 posts

QUOTE(ansonlos @ Jan 16 2022, 11:00 AM)
Mine is but still no activation.
lznce2679
post Jan 16 2022, 11:20 PM

230 posts

QUOTE(ansonlos @ Jan 16 2022, 10:00 AM)
last time initially for volte also not in list got it activated..got lucky i guess..

This post has been edited by lznce2679: Jan 16 2022, 11:20 PM
Singh93
post Jan 21 2022, 08:38 AM

224 posts

Vowifi for n20u now available for maxis
Anonymous34
post Jan 21 2022, 11:26 PM

3,176 posts

Any idea which iOS begins supporting VoWiFi on Maxis? Tested on 15.2 but option not appearing on 14.6. IPCC version is 46.0. Thanks
xiulaba
post Jan 23 2022, 02:17 PM

111 posts

If VoWifi is activated we should be able to receive TAC codes via sms from banks right? I am able to call using vowifi but unable to receive SMS TAC codes? Is this intended?
jsnhoh
post Jan 24 2022, 04:32 PM

Vinc
1,020 posts

QUOTE(xiulaba @ Jan 23 2022, 02:17 PM)
If VoWifi is activated we should be able to receive TAC codes via sms from banks right? I am able to call using vowifi but unable to receive SMS TAC codes? Is this intended?
Sms as normal even when using vowifi...
Mustafa Akmal
post Jan 25 2022, 04:32 PM

18 posts

Can only get steady VoWiFi connection when i switch on airplane mode. While on data (with strong data connection) and connected to wifi, VoWiFi appears and disappears. Once data connection dips to 1 bar, VoWiFi stays.

Singh93
post Jan 25 2022, 09:51 PM

224 posts

QUOTE(Mustafa Akmal @ Jan 25 2022, 05:32 PM)
Can only get steady VoWiFi connection when i switch on airplane mode. While on data (with strong data connection) and connected to wifi, VoWiFi appears and disappears. Once data connection dips to 1 bar, VoWiFi stays.
I don't see any issue even when on air plane mode, turn on wifi, the vowifi works as per normal
Mustafa Akmal
post Jan 27 2022, 02:29 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(Singh93 @ Jan 25 2022, 09:51 PM)
I don't see any issue even when on air plane mode, turn on wifi, the vowifi works as per normal
VoWiFi works perfectly with airplane mode turned on and wifi connected, like you said. Im saying with mobile data connected, wifi connected, VoWiFi is jittery and only stays when with no mobile data connection/connection is bad.
jsnhoh
post Jan 27 2022, 05:00 PM

Vinc
1,020 posts

QUOTE(Mustafa Akmal @ Jan 27 2022, 02:29 PM)
VoWiFi works perfectly with airplane mode turned on and wifi connected, like you said. Im saying with mobile data connected, wifi connected, VoWiFi is jittery and only stays when with no mobile data connection/connection is bad.
There is a downside in airplane mode, no SMS received in airplane mode.
MilesAndMore
post Jan 27 2022, 10:39 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(jsnhoh @ Jan 27 2022, 05:00 PM)
One still can receive SMS on Digi WiFi Calling in airplane mode. Several SMS blasted in last time i was connected to the plane's WiFi somewhere over Europe. I guess it's up to how the mobile carrier configures their WiFi Calling/VoWiFi.
NautilusBW
post Jan 28 2022, 09:17 AM

69 posts

QUOTE(jsnhoh @ Jan 27 2022, 05:00 PM)
I like this, cause really hate SMSes. Only use it for TAC codes. Else i really just want to silent SMS.

In plane mode most of the time now, except when driving or outside of wifi coverage.
p4n6
post Jan 28 2022, 11:21 AM

5,968 posts

For iPhone, Wifi calling is seen as a complement backup when Lte is poor, not meant to be the master technology. Android allows user to switch the preferred master technology …
lordnanda
post Feb 7 2022, 02:11 AM

QUOTE(chronous @ Jan 1 2022, 01:30 AM)
On my OnePlus 8T, I need to select Calling Preference to Call Over WiFi to get the VoWiFi logo appear

Which android and Oxygen OS version are you on now?
chronous
post Feb 7 2022, 01:25 PM

1,145 posts

QUOTE(lordnanda @ Feb 7 2022, 02:11 AM)
Which android and Oxygen OS version are you on now?
lznce2679
post Feb 10 2022, 07:50 PM

230 posts

updated my A42 5G to One Ui 4 @ Android 12
wifi calling icon is now showing up
and wifi calling works! even if i put phone on airplane mode.
jsnhoh
post Feb 10 2022, 09:10 PM

Vinc
1,020 posts

QUOTE(lznce2679 @ Feb 10 2022, 07:50 PM)
updated my A42 5G to One Ui 4 @ Android 12
wifi calling icon is now showing up
and wifi calling works! even if i put phone on airplane mode.
In airplane mode, can not get any sms.
lznce2679
post Feb 10 2022, 09:31 PM

230 posts

QUOTE(jsnhoh @ Feb 10 2022, 09:10 PM)
okay..thanks 4da heads up..
p4n6
post Feb 11 2022, 05:50 PM

5,968 posts

QUOTE(jsnhoh @ Feb 10 2022, 09:10 PM)
I think no such issue for Digi.

Though i don't see the logic why one wants to turn on airplane mode to use vowifi.

Might as well use whatsapp ...

This post has been edited by p4n6: Feb 11 2022, 05:51 PM
jsnhoh
post Feb 11 2022, 08:13 PM

Vinc
1,020 posts

QUOTE(p4n6 @ Feb 11 2022, 05:50 PM)
I think no such issue for Digi.

Though i don't see the logic why one wants to turn on airplane mode to use vowifi.

Might as well use whatsapp ...
Yes, Digi and u mobile also no such problem.

Turn on airplane mode to extend battery life.
akafoz
post Mar 5 2022, 03:45 PM

240 posts

VoWifi never work for me somehow. VoLTE is working, i can call while browsing with 4G at the same time.

IOS 15.3.1 iPhone 8

Is it Unifi problem? Anyone know any workaround?
No 4G coverage = not able to call 😒

This post has been edited by akafoz: Mar 5 2022, 03:57 PM
ldragon
post Mar 5 2022, 03:58 PM

1,026 posts

I believe maxis activate the VoWifi for users batch by batch. I got mine activated last few days & it's working fine on my Samsung A71

This post has been edited by ldragon: Mar 5 2022, 04:00 PM
jsnhoh
post Mar 5 2022, 05:32 PM

Vinc
1,020 posts

I think some how it is related to the android version. After updated to android 12... Vowifi feature straight away came out.
ldragon
post Mar 5 2022, 05:55 PM

1,026 posts

QUOTE(jsnhoh @ Mar 5 2022, 05:32 PM)
I think some how it is related to the android version. After updated to android 12... Vowifi feature straight away came out.
mine is Android 11
bootmod3
post Mar 8 2022, 10:01 AM

65 posts

Didn't know got such thing also. But does it mean you need to connect to a WiFi network to use? Wouldn't that be a bit troublesome switching back and forth on connections?
bootmod3
post Mar 8 2022, 10:07 AM

65 posts

QUOTE(NautilusBW @ Jan 28 2022, 09:17 AM)
I like this, cause really hate SMSes. Only use it for TAC codes. Else i really just want to silent SMS.

In plane mode most of the time now, except when driving or outside of wifi coverage.
Problem is now a days they migrate to whatsapp spam.
bootmod3
post Mar 8 2022, 10:08 AM

65 posts

QUOTE(kuekss @ Oct 31 2020, 10:06 PM)
When maxis will launch VoWifi ?
Just saw the option available on my phone and turned it on. See if it helps my call quality.
Vorx
post Apr 5 2022, 05:49 PM

29 posts

Hi. I had actually turn on my VoWifi aka Wifi Calling. Now I can receive calls but cannot receive SMS when on Vowifi or wifi. Need them for TAC purposes as inside my house mobile data connection isnt that good. Currently using huawei mate 20 pro.

Anyone experience this before? Or anyone have any solution to this? Thx
NagaK
post Apr 5 2022, 06:26 PM

1,189 posts

QUOTE(Vorx @ Apr 5 2022, 05:49 PM)
Hi. I had actually turn on my VoWifi aka Wifi Calling. Now I can receive calls but cannot receive SMS when on Vowifi or wifi. Need them for TAC purposes as inside my house mobile data connection isnt that good. Currently using huawei mate 20 pro.

No for me SMS TAC actually worked when Vowifi is enable with data network
Mine iPhone 7
jsnhoh
post Apr 5 2022, 10:49 PM

Vinc
1,020 posts

QUOTE(Vorx @ Apr 5 2022, 05:49 PM)

No prob in receiving sms when vowifi is enabled... Except your r in airplane mode. Samsung phone.
Vorx
post Apr 6 2022, 07:55 AM

29 posts

QUOTE(jsnhoh @ Apr 5 2022, 10:49 PM)
No prob in receiving sms when vowifi is enabled... Except your r in airplane mode. Samsung phone.
By right it should work just fine with airplane mode right? Because I am still on vowifi. Correct me if I am wrong.
jsnhoh
post Apr 6 2022, 04:46 PM

Vinc
1,020 posts

QUOTE(Vorx @ Apr 6 2022, 07:55 AM)
By right it should work just fine with airplane mode right? Because I am still on vowifi. Correct me if I am wrong.
Other Telco no prob in receiving sms in airplane mode( Digi & umobile), but Donno why this maxis is cacat a bit.
GunMetalX
post Apr 28 2022, 11:46 PM

413 posts

Hi, does maxis vowifi support xiaomi/poco phones?
ldragon
post Apr 29 2022, 02:11 AM

1,026 posts

QUOTE(GunMetalX @ Apr 28 2022, 11:46 PM)
Hi, does maxis vowifi support xiaomi/poco phones?
yes, tested on Xiaomi 11T Pro
G K Lai
post Jul 27 2022, 12:00 PM

839 posts

Hi all,

I'm using Xiaomi Mi 10T Pro, I insert my friend's DiGi SIM card to my phone and VoWiFi is working fine.
However, my Maxis VoWiFi is not working on my phone.
Strange is, when I insert my Maxis SIM card to an iPhone, VoWiFi is working!

So, is my phone actually support VoWiFi? If not, why DiGi SIM card's VoWiFi working fine in my phone? blink.gif
Is there many VoWiFi standard available in the market?
jsnhoh
post Jul 27 2022, 04:40 PM

Vinc
1,020 posts

QUOTE(G K Lai @ Jul 27 2022, 12:00 PM)
Hi all,

I'm using Xiaomi Mi 10T Pro, I insert my friend's DiGi SIM card to my phone and VoWiFi is working fine.
However, my Maxis VoWiFi is not working on my phone.
Strange is, when I insert my Maxis SIM card to an iPhone, VoWiFi is working!

So, is my phone actually support VoWiFi? If not, why DiGi SIM card's VoWiFi working fine in my phone?  blink.gif
Is there many VoWiFi standard available in the market?
Check the supported device here

https://www.maxis.com.my/en/about-maxis/max...i/#maxis-vowifi
YoungMan
post Aug 27 2022, 12:09 PM

6,796 posts

Just port in one of my Digi number to hotlink, indeed Hotlink VoWifi cannot receive SMS when airplane mode is on.
Hope they will improve it to be on par with Digi Vowifi experience
incredibless
post Aug 27 2022, 10:15 PM

437 posts

QUOTE(YoungMan @ Aug 27 2022, 12:09 PM)
Just port in one of my Digi number to hotlink, indeed Hotlink VoWifi cannot receive SMS when airplane mode is on.
Yes infact Maxis Vowifi only works when your signal is bad other wise it will be on 4g. Digi and Umobile can work on any signal strength which is a plus point.
jsnhoh
post Aug 28 2022, 09:02 PM

Vinc
1,020 posts

QUOTE(incredibless @ Aug 27 2022, 10:15 PM)
Yes infact Maxis Vowifi only works when your signal is bad other wise it will be on 4g. Digi and Umobile can work on any signal strength which is a plus point.
My vowifi is activated even the signal bar showed I had 4 bar.
jsnhoh
post Aug 28 2022, 09:04 PM

Vinc
1,020 posts

QUOTE(YoungMan @ Aug 27 2022, 12:09 PM)
Yes, maxis vowifi is cacat since the 1st day. Other Telco can receive sms when airplane mode is on.
incredibless
post Aug 29 2022, 07:32 AM

437 posts

QUOTE(jsnhoh @ Aug 28 2022, 09:02 PM)
My vowifi is activated even the signal bar showed I had 4 bar.
What phone are you using? I tried if 3-4 full bar Vowifi wont activate unless it drop to single or two bar then vowifi will activate.
jsnhoh
post Aug 29 2022, 10:10 AM

Vinc
1,020 posts

QUOTE(incredibless @ Aug 29 2022, 07:32 AM)
What phone are you using? I tried if 3-4 full bar Vowifi wont activate unless it drop to single or two bar then vowifi will activate.
Samsung note 10, vivo v20.
ldragon
post Aug 29 2022, 11:05 AM

1,026 posts

QUOTE(incredibless @ Aug 29 2022, 07:32 AM)
check the setting "Calling Preference" options wi-fi preferred / mobile network preferred
hakkai0810
post Oct 5 2022, 01:59 AM

702 posts

Removed. Need update to android 12 to support wifi calling

This post has been edited by hakkai0810: Oct 5 2022, 03:42 AM
Dozz
post Sep 18 2024, 11:54 AM

2,149 posts

2024 now, Maxis VoWiFi available while roaming or not?
sNacKRangeR
post Sep 24 2024, 11:48 PM

70 posts

QUOTE(Dozz @ Sep 18 2024, 11:54 AM)
2024 now, Maxis VoWiFi available while roaming or not?
Naaa VoWiFi outside malaysia still not available for Maxis and Celcom, for now available with digi, U, and Yes not sure for Unifi
alfredhow78
post Sep 26 2024, 12:46 AM

380 posts

QUOTE(sNacKRangeR @ Sep 24 2024, 11:48 PM)
Naaa VoWiFi outside malaysia still not available for Maxis and Celcom, for now available with digi, U, and Yes not sure for Unifi
Yeahh its troublesome. I have sg vpn enabled in my router for all the devices connected to my home wifi. Vowifi is not usable for my maxis mobile.
jiaen0509
post Oct 6 2024, 09:49 PM

3,305 posts

Anyone here tried to use VoWifi overseas and answer a call or call out?
I can connect VoWifi for my hotlink while overseas. But didn’t try to call/answer call. Not sure will charge roaming call or local call like U Mobile. Not dare to try coz high charges.
sNacKRangeR
post Oct 11 2024, 07:09 PM

70 posts

QUOTE(jiaen0509 @ Oct 6 2024, 09:49 PM)
Anyone here tried to use VoWifi overseas and answer a call or call out?
I can connect VoWifi for my hotlink while overseas. But didn’t try to call/answer call. Not sure will charge roaming call or local call like U Mobile. Not dare to try coz high charges.
To be safe, try with airplane mode and connected wifi, if VoWiFi shows take a screenshot and test call to 123. If unexpected charges occur you can show an evidence with Maxis while file a complaint.

This post has been edited by sNacKRangeR: Oct 11 2024, 07:18 PM
jiaen0509
post Oct 11 2024, 08:08 PM

3,305 posts

QUOTE(sNacKRangeR @ Oct 11 2024, 07:09 PM)
To be safe, try with airplane mode and connected wifi, if VoWiFi shows take a screenshot and test call to 123. If unexpected charges occur you can show an evidence with Maxis while file a complaint.
While roaming, it will show MY MAXIS VoWiFi instead of roaming operator such as Singtel in Singapore. So I am curious about it. But not willing to spend RM1.75 for the test hahaha. But maybe I gonna test it.
sNacKRangeR
post Oct 11 2024, 09:57 PM

70 posts

QUOTE(jiaen0509 @ Oct 11 2024, 08:08 PM)
While roaming, it will show MY MAXIS VoWiFi instead of roaming operator such as Singtel in Singapore. So I am curious about it. But not willing to spend RM1.75 for the test hahaha. But maybe I gonna test it.
Mind if im ask, which device you are using with, and do you connected with WiFi in SG or using data roaming from another sim card?
MilesAndMore
post Jan 4 2025, 12:31 AM

9,301 posts

I’m overseas now and was surprised to see Maxis VoWiFi icon appearing on my secondary phone, a Redmi phone.

I initially saw the VoWiFi icon yesterday and instead of local telco’s name, MY MAXIS appeared instead. I then switched it to Airplane Mode, and VoWiFi icon is still connected along with MY MAXIS appearing next to it.

Just now I decided to try to use it to call my own Digi number. iPhone is able to detect that the call is from overseas by showing the country’s name. I then connected to a Malaysia VPN and iPhone is still showing the name of the country I’m current in now.

Anyway, I checked my Maxis unbilled charges via the Maxis App and there is none. But to be 100% sure I need to wait till the next bill is out.
ongxiang
post Apr 24 2025, 04:11 PM

QUOTE(jiaen0509 @ Oct 11 2024, 08:08 PM)
What plan are you using? Is it the Hotlink postpaid 70? I was able to get VoWiFi while overseas last time when i'm on this plan then change to prepaid and postpaid 45 and no more VoWiFi while overseas..
jiaen0509
post Apr 24 2025, 04:29 PM

3,305 posts

QUOTE(ongxiang @ Apr 24 2025, 04:11 PM)
What plan are you using? Is it the Hotlink postpaid 70? I was able to get VoWiFi while overseas last time when i'm on this plan then change to prepaid and postpaid 45 and no more VoWiFi while overseas..
Postpaid 70
ongxiang
post Apr 25 2025, 02:29 PM

QUOTE(jiaen0509 @ Apr 24 2025, 04:29 PM)
Postpaid 70
Ok, then it should be only the postpaid 70 plan can use VoWiFi overseas
sohlican
post May 7 2025, 12:31 PM

340 posts

Anyone with business postpaid 79 able to get VoWiFi overseas?
Dozz
post May 15 2025, 10:59 AM

2,149 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Jan 4 2025, 12:31 AM)
I’m overseas now and was surprised to see Maxis VoWiFi icon appearing on my secondary phone, a Redmi phone.

I initially saw the VoWiFi icon yesterday and instead of local telco’s name, MY MAXIS appeared instead. I then switched it to Airplane Mode, and VoWiFi icon is still connected along with MY MAXIS appearing next to it.

Just now I decided to try to use it to call my own Digi number. iPhone is able to detect that the call is from overseas by showing the country’s name. I then connected to a Malaysia VPN and iPhone is still showing the name of the country I’m current in now.

Anyway, I checked my Maxis unbilled charges via the Maxis App and there is none. But to be 100% sure I need to wait till the next bill is out.
Jsut wondering is it still possible to use Maxis VoWiFi in oversea now?

0.0999sec    0.77    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 05:27 PM