Macbook Screen VS other brands laptop screen, i felt my macbook screen look cheap~~~

civic98
post Aug 16 2007, 11:06 AM

1,255 posts

QUOTE(Ferrari_83 @ Aug 16 2007, 09:32 AM)
Conclusion~ the Macbook screen used 'cheap' LCD screen .
-The screen have poor/bad angle compare to sony vaio
-I wish apple could apply the sony vaio latest LCD screen to macbook smile.gif
-And one more thing.. the screen will flicker when u press on button. damn annoying

anyway.. im still happy to be owner of white macbook .. only the screen display is the drawback smile.gif
If your screen flicker when you press a button, you have a problem. Send it back for warranty claim.

If you want a better screen with a Mac, get the MBP with LED screen thumbup.gif
TSFerrari_83
post Aug 16 2007, 11:36 AM

279 posts

QUOTE(civic98 @ Aug 16 2007, 11:06 AM)
If your screen flicker when you press a button, you have a problem. Send it back for warranty claim.

If you want a better screen with a Mac, get the MBP with LED screen  thumbup.gif
OMG~~~ seriously arh ~~ it's problem~~~
darkcurse
post Aug 16 2007, 12:00 PM

64 posts

Hmm, well its true if you say that the viewing angle on the MacBook's is quite bad. That won't argue. But what type of "gloss" coating that a manufacturer uses affects the colour reproduction. Why do you think that professional graphic designer's stay away from glossy screens? Because the colour on the screen is "richer" than what is actually shown and of course GD's need accurate colour reproduction.
dinodog_Jr
post Aug 16 2007, 02:52 PM

I am not a dog
3,813 posts

darkcurse,

Is the artwork on Macbook LCD is quite accurate to printing output, rite?

I had this Sony LCD & CRT monitors. but i always like to paint in LCD due to avoid eye strain. But the contrast in LCD always have more richer color than CRT.

I had to switch back to CRT to retouch up everything.

I am wondering Macbook LCD color brightness is suitable for digital painting or design work still?
xaw5126
post Aug 16 2007, 03:18 PM

3,488 posts

no no no! do not use a glossy screen for accurate colour. even after calibration the colour is still inaccurate.

come on guys. you are the design people, I am not. why do I know more about this topic?
TSFerrari_83
post Aug 16 2007, 07:30 PM

279 posts

Can anyone verify is this 'screen flicker when you press a button' is an issue/problem .. I called and asked the sales person.. and he said this is normal and all macbook is like that.

Can anyone check your macbook and verify this ?
munky
post Aug 16 2007, 08:17 PM

1,971 posts

i dont think it's normal. I read about this problem in the official mac support forum, and many of them send their macbook for repairs. But some of them said the flickering comes back after a few months doh.gif

civic98
post Aug 16 2007, 08:18 PM

1,255 posts

QUOTE(Ferrari_83 @ Aug 16 2007, 07:30 PM)
Can anyone verify is this 'screen flicker when you press a button' is an issue/problem .. I called and asked the sales person.. and he said this is normal and all macbook is like that.

Never heard of it friend. I cant even imagine how is it anyway. Don't bother asking the salesperson lor, just send it to service centre.
xaw5126
post Aug 16 2007, 08:52 PM

3,488 posts

i have 2 MacBook here, one my own, one is MacAsia's demo set.
no flickering also. do you have a sample video or something? cos I never heard of this problem before... and its definitely *not& normal...
ifer
post Aug 16 2007, 09:19 PM

4,637 posts

richer screen is good for watching DVDs only...

what designers and photographers need is an accurate screen!
ed0gawa
post Aug 17 2007, 02:26 AM

coconut
4,398 posts

QUOTE(Ferrari_83 @ Aug 16 2007, 07:30 PM)

If Mac's quality is really this bad.. i wonder why will people still buy it. doh.gif

Oh,btw.... my MB screen doesn't flicker even when i press 10 button at once.... -.-
TSFerrari_83
post Aug 17 2007, 09:21 AM

279 posts

QUOTE(ed0gawa @ Aug 17 2007, 02:26 AM)
If Mac's quality is really this bad.. i wonder why will people still buy it.  doh.gif

Oh,btw.... my MB screen doesn't flicker even when i press 10 button at once.... -.-
i forgot to tell.. the button i press is the power button(the button to start mac). Only that power button and also when u start your mac from sleep smile.gif will coz the screen flicker/(flash) once b4 it boot into mac..

later on will give apple service center a call about this smile.gif

**Called apple service center(VR Technology) and verified with them also.. They said it's normal and it's not a problem smile.gif . Glad~~
Anywhere thanks for all you help rclxms.gif icon_rolleyes.gif whistling.gif

This post has been edited by Ferrari_83: Aug 17 2007, 01:05 PM
munky
post Aug 18 2007, 05:24 PM

1,971 posts

QUOTE(Ferrari_83 @ Aug 17 2007, 09:21 AM)
i forgot to tell.. the button i press is the power button(the button to start mac). Only that power button and also when u start your mac from sleep smile.gif will coz the screen flicker/(flash) once b4 it boot into mac..

later on will give apple service center  a call about this smile.gif

**Called apple service center(VR Technology) and verified with them also.. They said it's normal and it's not a problem smile.gif . Glad~~
Anywhere thanks for all you help  rclxms.gif  icon_rolleyes.gif  whistling.gif
i think it's possible that they lied to u, or they dunno what to do about it

u can read thru this forum http://discussions.apple.com/thread.jspa?t...901016&tstart=0

EmperorMeng
post Aug 18 2007, 05:30 PM

Jom Whaling
2,021 posts

QUOTE(Ferrari_83 @ Aug 16 2007, 09:32 AM)
Conclusion~ the Macbook screen used 'cheap' LCD screen .
-The screen have poor/bad angle compare to sony vaio
-I wish apple could apply the sony vaio latest LCD screen to macbook smile.gif
-And one more thing.. the screen will flicker when u press on button. damn annoying

anyway.. im still happy to be owner of white macbook .. only the screen display is the drawback smile.gif
VAIO - video audio intergrated operation
MAC - macintosh

vaio dedicated for Audio/video

0.0143sec    0.98    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 09:57 AM