[2020]iPhone 12/12 Mini Discussion Thread | V1, Blast past fast.
attw
Nov 13 2020, 01:00 PM
QUOTE(ftan @ Nov 13 2020, 12:34 PM) Saw the 12 mini blue color. Erm, not to my liking. I would like to see the green color but they don’t have on display. Overall, I love the size of the mini. Easily fit in one hand. More suited for secondary phone though. Some folks said the blue makes it looks like a toy, is that what you feel?
attw
Nov 13 2020, 05:08 PM
QUOTE(Carlo J @ Nov 13 2020, 02:48 PM) Hmm, that's nice. I think they cancelled because they wanted Pro/Pro Max? And here I thought nobody wanted the 12. Most reviewers agree the 12 is a better buy than the 12 Pro in countries where the difference in pricing is substantial - like our country  QUOTE(ftan @ Nov 13 2020, 03:14 PM) Yes, that would be an apt description. I got a shock as prior to that I was so admiring the pacific blue color. Flip the back of the mini and saw the plastic blue color. Hmmm. Are u getting the mini? I'm definitely getting the Pro Max tomorrow. On the fence about the 12 or 12 Mini at the moment. Plan to see the actual phone first before deciding.
attw
Nov 13 2020, 05:54 PM
QUOTE(ftan @ Nov 13 2020, 05:20 PM) Sounds like a good plan. Let me know your feedback on the phones. Just tried the Mini in person, it really is small. Will struggle to read text on it, hahaha...
attw
Nov 13 2020, 06:50 PM
QUOTE(ahlin @ Nov 13 2020, 06:11 PM) It does look rather cute in its petite form, but maybe not for me hahaha... QUOTE(ftan @ Nov 13 2020, 06:45 PM) Yeah, may not be good to stare long time on the screen. due to the plasticky back. Saw some fingerprints on the display set. Haha, yeah, for light users the Mini is good, but heavy users will probably not appreciate the small screen and equally small battery. The glossy back of the 12 and 12 Mini definitely attracts fingerprints. The matte back of the Pro is better
attw
Nov 13 2020, 09:14 PM
QUOTE(ahlin @ Nov 13 2020, 08:37 PM) Haha, maybe get a 12 will do. And on second thought, I actually feel the blue colour is nice. I actually see blue as a rather nice colour. Not as bad as the photo we seen online. I was at Harvey Norman and they had the black Mini. It did look kinda cool too
attw
Nov 14 2020, 12:00 AM
QUOTE(cucubud @ Nov 13 2020, 10:58 PM) The Mini screen size is bigger than the 6S. Did you compare the Mini screen with your 6S? I always thought the 6S screen was small in the first place, hehehe... Yeah, I did put it side by side with my 6S and the Mini is indeed smaller in size but obviously has more screen estate due to the bezel-less design. I’m gonna wait and see how it does on
attw
Nov 14 2020, 12:13 PM
QUOTE(cucubud @ Nov 14 2020, 12:04 PM) Don’t delay anymore, go and get the Max. Small screen is not for you. I would except it's out of stock
attw
Nov 14 2020, 01:32 PM
QUOTE(cucubud @ Nov 14 2020, 01:29 PM) It’s a pity. How long have to wait? No idea, hahaha. In no hurry la, if they call then will go and collect.
attw
Nov 14 2020, 04:28 PM
QUOTE(angellus_riku @ Nov 14 2020, 03:32 PM) AYY~ joining the group. upgraded from a dying iphone 6s.  Went to Machines icity shah alam at 11am, roughly around 5 ppl in front of me in a queue. Quite fast. My friend got the black mini. After lunch saw the queue forming liao. btw, the dude was trying to sell me the RM649 2 year protection plan... i told him no budget, he asked me to downgrade to 64gb and get the protection plan.. i was like....wat....no.  Wow, the red looks good
attw
Nov 14 2020, 05:29 PM
QUOTE(angellus_riku @ Nov 14 2020, 05:18 PM) Yeah... i originally wanted to go for the Blue, then saw a lot of unboxing videos..slowly switched to Red camp lol... They didn't have the red on display, but i saw the blue and perhaps it's not the shade of blue i was expecting. So i went with the red. (don't get me wrong tho, the blue is still an awesome color as well as the rest...) Yeah, during the launch video I was also sure that blue was the one to go with for the 12, but now that I've seen the blue in person, I'm also leaning away from it, unfortunately aside from the blue display unit I've only seen the black one, yet to see red or green.
attw
Nov 15 2020, 08:44 AM
QUOTE(redjol @ Nov 14 2020, 09:48 PM) you mean worst? than ip11? The 12 has a smaller battery vs the 11 and the screen resolution is higher too, hence battery life definitely won’t be as good as the 11.
attw
Nov 15 2020, 11:57 AM
Anyone here using the Mini since launch on Friday? Wanna get some real life battery usage feedback...
attw
Nov 15 2020, 02:15 PM
QUOTE(tennytyy @ Nov 15 2020, 01:24 PM) between the se 2020 and new mini, which will have better battery life? Pretty sure the Mini will have better life than the SE but we’ll wait and see
attw
Nov 15 2020, 02:33 PM
QUOTE(numanuma @ Nov 15 2020, 01:22 PM) Yeah I wanna know as well. Since we don't have 5G yet nationwide, I'm expecting the phone will last a little bit longer in 4G LTE. tqia I’m benchmarking the battery life to the X, if it matches it or betters it, then it’s good to go  QUOTE(mycolumn @ Nov 15 2020, 02:22 PM) Yups. Love this new iphone 12 series design. I dun think the blue on iphone 12 looks like a toy o. It looks really nice in my opinion haha. But finally i got myself a black iphone 12. Now hunting for a nice dark blue casing for my phone lols. I saw the black display set at maxis yesterday as well, the black aluminium frames looked really good! Most of the display sets of the 12 and 12 Mini I’ve seen so far are Black and Blue.
attw
Nov 15 2020, 02:49 PM
QUOTE(mycolumn @ Nov 15 2020, 02:42 PM) Yah the black aluminum frame is really sexy. If only i dare to use my phone naked 🤣 Cannot la bro, the glossy black back panel will have smudges all over with your fingerprints
attw
Nov 15 2020, 04:37 PM
QUOTE(ahlin @ Nov 15 2020, 04:34 PM) I'm facing this problem randomly now. I only use it as secondary phone, my main task is still on main phone. So the feedback might not be helpful. Hehe, ok bro, as a secondary phone I think should be no issues
attw
Nov 15 2020, 04:58 PM
QUOTE(ahlin @ Nov 15 2020, 04:51 PM) I will try using it as main phone to see if it can survive a day. Haha What do you usually do using your main phone? Errm... during these strange work from home times my main activities on the phone are limited to web browsing, some online shopping, YouTube, listening to podcasts, little bit of FaceBook and food ordering, hahaha... Any phone also will have good enough battery life for that kinda usage!
attw
Nov 15 2020, 05:20 PM
QUOTE(ahlin @ Nov 15 2020, 05:17 PM) Hahaha, especially with Whatsapp web now, not really heavy usage on phone now.  Yeah, plus I have an company assigned mobile phone, so during office hours I use my personal phone even less
attw
Nov 16 2020, 07:53 AM
QUOTE(ahlin @ Nov 15 2020, 07:38 PM) Then Mini will be ok, during cmco.  Yeah, most phones will survive for CMCO especially if running WiFi all the time  QUOTE(Eisenmeteor @ Nov 15 2020, 08:50 PM) I charged my phone using non usb c cable. Charge from 2am to 8.30 am. And ive been using and the battery below 20% indicator just appeared at 8.50 pm . Set phone battery to low power mode.do you folks think the battery life is good ? 12 or 12 Mini? How many hours screen time? QUOTE(redjol @ Nov 15 2020, 09:29 PM) i just watched ip 12 mini vs ip 11 battery comparison. ip 12 mini definitely smoked the ip 11. Link please?
attw
Nov 16 2020, 09:07 AM
QUOTE(dark90 @ Nov 16 2020, 08:57 AM) does this support dual sim? Yes, one eSIM and one physical SIM QUOTE(choosingname3 @ Nov 16 2020, 08:58 AM) Smoked cuz 12 mini is using oled... Not bad la lose iPhone 12 abit... i feel 12 mini is better than xs battery maybe extra 1.30 to 2.30 hour... but lose alot to 11 pro max Hmm, it could be his 11’s battery has degraded somewhat since it's his older phone. I’m waiting for GSMArena’s battery test results for both the 12 Mini and 12 Pro Max