Home Theatre Onkyo AV Receiver

swine
post Dec 21 2008, 06:33 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(nadky @ Dec 21 2008, 06:20 PM)
805 can only upscale to 1080i and it will let 1080p signal pass through.

as for 806, yes, it can upscale to 1080p...
so how is ur audition today? tongue.gif

This post has been edited by swine: Dec 21 2008, 06:38 PM
swine
post Dec 22 2008, 09:54 AM

157 posts

QUOTE(nadky @ Dec 22 2008, 09:41 AM)
I was so tempted on the Onkyo 805 due to the components used and also the weight..it's twice of denon 2309!...wow...
I tested denon 1st with Incredible hulk at chapter 18. Well, I must admit that denon has much more dynamics and it definitely has more refine sound.
I then switched to Onkyo 805 and sad to say that the sound was a bit too tight, maybe it's new out of the box and yet to be run in. The sound was rougher compared to denon. What I meant with rough is onkyo would throw all the impact to you without having to separate the depth of the sound..
so overall, i'm more satisfy with denon. I believe onkyo would hv more slam but i must say the dynamic in denon has put itself into a better position to let us feel the impact immediately...
exactly!! the same thing i feel it for myself..
but i end up in 805, bcos the 2309 a bit underpower for my floorstanding..
2809 with the AL24 Processing best still... laugh.gif
tats y i m addicted to it..but the pricing a bit cry.gif
but if i m able to go for 2809, den i will consider marantz 7002 dy..haha tongue.gif
did u try out the marantz 5003 almost that same range with 2309.. brows.gif
swine
post Dec 22 2008, 10:40 AM

157 posts

QUOTE(aiman04 @ Dec 22 2008, 09:52 AM)
Where did you audition? Some shops favor for certain brands, it could be that the Denon has been tuned and calibrated to the room, while the Onkyo hasn't. I'm not saying Denon is not good, it's just the Onkyo wasn't fully prepped for the room.
I wasn't satisfied with my 875 first, but after auto-calibration, it gets better. And then I went further by settting my own EQ, it's the best thing I've ever heard. For the record, I've own a Yamaha 1800 before.
till now i still get can my 805 sounds right..just lack of a bit of sth that i heard in showroom.. cry.gif
no time mess with the EQ setting..
cos use it very sparingly..

Added on December 22, 2008, 10:47 am
QUOTE(nadky @ Dec 22 2008, 10:17 AM)
I auditioned it in CMY damansara. I must say the 805 that I have tested has not been run in and yet to be fine tuned for the room. That probably is the main reason I got rough sound.
However, I must admit that Denon is probably has more refine sound and it's more of a all rounder but Onkyo is warmer and tuned to become a "Home Theater Receiver".

Added on December 22, 2008, 10:29 am
I have not tried marantz as it is not available for testing...
So are you satisfied with your 805?
CMY do sell Denon & Onkyo, they dun have marantz..can try it at other AV shop if u wish to get a taste on SR5003.. tongue.gif
when i go audition i will tell the guy to leave it on Default Setting..treble/bass all left at 0 Db..
just hear the sound that pounce out from the speaker..
not like HV, Senq..all max it out to achieve a "superior" sound quality..

This post has been edited by swine: Dec 22 2008, 10:47 AM
swine
post Dec 22 2008, 11:46 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(wookiew @ Dec 22 2008, 10:34 PM)
Hi guys what do you think of denon 1509 & 1909?
i like 1909 a lot but i can only afford 1509.
do you think i should just end up with 1509?
Thank you..
denon 1509 is an very entry level AVR..
so far never see AV shops bring in that..mostly bring in 1909 onwards..
may be u can ask "junwei" forumer about it..
swine
post Dec 23 2008, 12:01 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(mikapoh @ Dec 23 2008, 11:44 AM)
I have browsed throught the threads and sadly found NONE.....

Shall we open a new Denon AVR thread for all the owners please.....@_@

There seems to be tonnes of posts in AVForums about Denon AVR. Sounds like a hot item in UK.
yeah u r right.. tongue.gif
denon is hot in UK..those hi end model 3808,4808 is normal for them..which here selling at sky high price $$$$ doh.gif
and i nearly end up in denon laugh.gif
swine
post Dec 23 2008, 12:46 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(mpyw @ Dec 23 2008, 12:04 PM)
those 4308, 3808, 2808, 2309....it's all mid-level to the US/UK customer....their prices there are so competitive with the Yamaha prices unlike here....Yamaha seem like proton to everyone and Denon is the Benz and Onkyo is the Jap made....sad.gif
for them is just sap sap the water..
for us an entry level 2309 is nearly 3k dy..cant imagine those 4808,5308 rclxub.gif
btw is denon sold in malaysia made in japan? and come wit 2 years warranty?
may be that is the reason due to the high pricing for their quality hmm.gif
i forgot to see the manufacturing when went to audition last time

This post has been edited by swine: Dec 23 2008, 12:46 PM
swine
post Dec 23 2008, 01:56 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(nadky @ Dec 23 2008, 01:48 PM)
I heard there are a few versions for 2309 not sure how true it is. Some with pre-out (made in japan) and some without (made in china)..
u got quoted near to 3k for 2309? where did u get quoted? I got 3.4k..and that's quite a good price already (with installation)..
ya..the black and silver version..but i not sure is made from where..
and if not mistaken the silver is much more expensive, 3.2k
the black is like wat we said "water stock" in cantonese 2.9k
hopefuly i dun get the color mix up in the opposite way.. tongue.gif
swine
post Dec 23 2008, 02:19 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(mikapoh @ Dec 23 2008, 02:03 PM)
I dont know why UK buyers rate Denon AVR highly. Maybe it has good reputation and its all round strength and excellent sound separation has made it even more demanding.

Well, maybe the problem here is its over-priced tag that refrain potential buyers to even consider it. I think 2309 & above model are all made in Japan compare to 1909, made in China. Have anyone owned a 1909 Denon avr? I thought it is a very respectable amp. As in M'sia, there is only one model of 2309 as far as I know.
As u stated thier strongest selling point there..and it is true!!!
i hav seen Msia bring in 1909,2309,2809 already..but not sure whether is made from where..
as i know those from Japan come with 2 year warranty, may be this is the assurance to thier product quality.. tongue.gif

Added on December 23, 2008, 2:25 pm
QUOTE(nadky @ Dec 23 2008, 02:14 PM)
ohh...i didnt realize the black colour amp is "water stock"..but as far as I know, you can get the black colour amp from legitimate dealer who gets their stocks from wo kee hong (sole distributor)...
so no more 805?
make ur decision on 2309 dy? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by swine: Dec 23 2008, 02:25 PM
swine
post Dec 23 2008, 02:46 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(nadky @ Dec 23 2008, 02:37 PM)
I have very much decided to go for denon mainly because denon has better clarity, sound separation and dynamic. I couldn't get these quality from 805 which i doubt it's mainly because it's a new amp when i tested it and it has yet to be properly tuned.
Furthermore, I believe these 2 receivers are having different characteristic with onkyo having warmer sound and better slam while denon has better clarity, dynamic and refinement. Eventually, it's very much boils down to what I want.
From the comparison that I have done on sunday, denon is a clear winner for what I am looking for although let go 805 would be quite a waste if judging both receivers from spec...
yeah..exactly go for the one that suit ur ears.. tongue.gif
so urs are from japan come wth 2 yrs warranty?
swine
post Dec 24 2008, 09:36 AM

157 posts

anyone know how to setup up the crossvoer on AVR?
or let it default by audyssey calibration?
swine
post Dec 25 2008, 10:24 AM

157 posts

QUOTE(nadky @ Dec 25 2008, 09:11 AM)
Hi mpyw,

Thank you so much...yes, i do read chinese..It helps heaps...Do you mind to post the review for denon 3808 as well? Just to make a direct comparison between onkyo and denon..smile.gif

btw, merry christmas to everyone smile.gif
wa..interested in 3808 drool.gif drool.gif
swine
post Dec 29 2008, 01:21 AM

157 posts

hi sifus,
wat is the center n surround speaker set to full band means?
normmaly wat is the db lvl set for subwoofer?
swine
post Dec 30 2008, 03:48 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(augustinesoh @ Dec 29 2008, 02:28 PM)
The 'Full Band' setting on your Onkyo is the equivalent of the 'Large' speaker setting on other receivers. What this means is that you are telling your Onkyo AV Receiver that your speakers are capable of reproducing the full range of frequencies, including the lower bass frequencies / LFEs. When set to Full Band, your AVR will play the low frequencies through your main speakers and (depending on your other bass management settings in your AVR and subwoofer, e.g., Double Bass setting in your AVR and subwoofer crossover level in your subwoofer), also through your subwoofer. Most people recommend setting your main speakers (fronts, center and surrounds) to 'Small' or, in the case of the Onkyo, changing the Speaker Config setting to a specific crossover frequency other than "Full Band" - most people set it to 80Hz THX as a starting point (even if your main speakers specifications i.e., frequency response range says they can handle frequencies below 80Hz). This will ensure that the bass frequencies below the crossover level get sent to your subwoofer (which is best equipped to handle them) leaving your main speakers free to deal with the higher frequencies above the crossover point.
url].
in order to set "double bass" to ON, the front need to put in full band rite?
after audyssey calibration, when playing dolby digital or THX mode, the sound a little soft.., i need to increase till -20db in volume only can be heard clearly..just curious any thing went wrong b4 calibration -23 or -25db is good enuf.. doh.gif
and i check the speaker setting, the db lvl for the front is around -3.0 to -3.5db..almost same as previous lvl..wonder wat went wrong with the audyssey... shakehead.gif
swine
post Dec 30 2008, 06:30 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(augustinesoh @ Dec 30 2008, 05:00 PM)
Do you mean the dialogue coming from the center channel is too soft and cannot be heard clearly? Or the audio from the fronts (left and right)? Are the ambient sounds from the surrounds fine? How does the bass from the subwoofer sound? How many positions did you measure using Audyssey? The more positions you use, the more information Audyssey has to work its magic. i typically use all 8 positions available.

From my own experience, Audyssey didn't significantly alter the loudness of the audio coming from my speakers but greatly improved the focus and soundstage. Before Audyssey my jazz and classical pieces sounded 'boomy' and the vocals and individual instruments were less 'defined'. After Audyssey, the individual vocals and instruments seemed tighter / more defined and you could identify their respective positions in the soundstage better. On some CDs, the soundstage also felt wider, more expansive. The only downside for me was that Audyssey seemed to set the bass too low/soft. I used to push the bass levels up by adding +3dB to +5dB from whatever level Audyssey set for my subwoofer (which worked great for movies but less so for music).
i'm using 5.1 setup..for stereo mode i adjust volume at about -30db..it is consider loud..
but using THX / Dolby i need to incrase till -20db to get the same "loudness", b4 calibration is around -25 or -23db is consider loud...
i calibrate 3 postions..and i noted down all the stats b4 and after calibration done on the speaker setting, is just 0.5 to 1 diff..
i try few DVDs, the wierd thing is dialogue from the concert is loud, but for movies is soft..i just wonder do audyssey calibrate the inner EQ for THX/ Dolby or other modes besides calcultating distance, db lvls...sorry for asking such a noob question doh.gif
or issit my DVD player (non hdmi), about 3-4yrs of age, got some prob, may be cant differentiate some audio format ,will that be the cause? shakehead.gif
swine
post Dec 30 2008, 07:04 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(augustinesoh @ Dec 30 2008, 06:51 PM)
When you say dialog from the concert, do you mean concert _DVDs_? Or do you mean _CDs_? If DVD, do you select the same audio track as movies. i.e., Dolby/DTS or do you watch in Stereo/2-channel audio mode? If the dialog/vocals sound fine when in stereo / 2-channel (or even 2.1 channel) mode but sounds soft when listening in one of the 5.1 listening modes (DD/DTS/THX) then you may have to consider the possibility that your center channel speaker is defective (blown tweeter perhaps?).

You can always test to see if Audyssey EQ is the cause of the softer audio - just select the Direct listening mode in your Onkyo (which turns Audyssey EQ off) or better yet, go into your Onkyo's setup, under Speaker Settings - Equalizer (or something like that - am posting this from my office so can't go and check the exact name of the setting) and instead of 'Audyssey' change the equalizer setting to 'None'. Now, play the same DVDs using the same audio tracks as before and see if there is a difference. If yes, then Audyssey is probably the culprit. You might want to try calibrating for all 8 positions using Audyssey (see this link for a good Audyssey setup guide).

Hope this helps.
hopefully not my center to be blown, cos i watching concert DVD in Dolby mode, it is loud n clear..
ty for ur link, will try it out later when back home...
the audyssey for my 805 always set my sub to -15db which is the lowest lvl, wondering wat happen, normally put at wat db for sub? and for a better bass response, is to adjust the BASS lvl for the sub (in the tone control) or adjust the Db lvl for the sub hmm.gif
swine
post Dec 31 2008, 10:38 AM

157 posts

QUOTE(augustinesoh @ Dec 30 2008, 07:34 PM)
If however you don't hv a SPL meter, then try playing a music track that has good sustained bass (e.g., a jazz piece with a repeating double-bass riff going in the background - Diana Krall's S'Wonderful comes to mind but there are many others). The idea is to adjust (lower?) your sub's volume control until the bass sounds natural and blends or matches well with the rest of the music/instruments (you'll know if it's set too high because the bass notes will sound unnaturally 'boomy' and tend to overpower the other mid to higher frequencies coming from the vocals and other instruments).

Added on December 30, 2008, 7:40 pm

After running Audyssey calibration, you should never adjust the sub level using the sub's volume control. Audyssey will keep track of changes made using the 805's levels and adjust its EQ to compensate so that the calibrated EQ settings aren't affected but if you change the level through the sub's volume knob Audyssey will have no knowledge of this and it will probably screw up your carefully calibrated EQ.
thanks augustine, may i know where to get a SPL meter, and how much would it cost normally? hmm.gif

swine
post Dec 31 2008, 01:57 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(augustinesoh @ Dec 31 2008, 11:11 AM)
I got mine many years ago, brand is Extech but I forget the model no. I think it is something like 307737 (Extech has a range of different SPL meters available). Got it in KL from a shop called Vanguard Electronics S/B - Tel: 03-20788213, website: Vanguard Electronics. Can't remember the price i paid back then, though. Most people in the forums use the Radio Shack SPL (either the analog or digital model). I don't know where in KL you can get these though. Maybe someone in these forums can help. The advantage to getting the Radio Shack model is that it is the de facto popular model and there are readily available SPL compensation charts available on the 'Net to account for its know inaccuracies (esp. at the lower frequencies which you will be using to measure your subwoofer's response). I haven't been able to find similar charts for my Extech SPL.
yesterday recalibrate my 805, my audyssey calibrate my front spk till the surround spk is about 11 feet, tat is about my living room size, my front spk is set to -3.0db by audyssey..
hmm..but 5.1 movie volume at -20db still quite soft... hmm.gif
normally u guys watch movies at wat volume?
swine
post Dec 31 2008, 02:59 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(augustinesoh @ Dec 31 2008, 02:21 PM)
Don't quite understand what you meant to say by that? The distances Audyssey gives for each speaker is the distance from the first measurement position to the respective speaker, so that if the distance it sets for the Front Left speaker is 11 feet it means that it has determined that the distance from that speaker to the first position where you placed your Audyssey calibration mic is 11 feet. Which is why you should always take your first measurement from your primary listening position. A -3.0dB for the front speakers should be fine. Audyssey sets my Fronts at -4.5dB (Left) and -5.5dB (Right).
Have you tried disabling Audyssey equalisation in the 805 Setup and seeing if this makes a difference to the volume levels? What were your Speaker Level Calibration settings in the 805 prior to running Audyssey? Does it make a difference if you restore the settings for the speakers back to the original dB levels?
ya..my front n my surround is in line, and my sofas located just behind the wall that hang my surround spk..and whenever i calibrate audyssey, i will place the mic at the ear level (top of the sofa back rest), and it measure at about 11ft..so tat is the end to end of my living room tongue.gif
is tat the correct way for mic placement?
possible to revert back to old setting? i dinn note down the previous audyssey setup
swine
post Dec 31 2008, 04:00 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(augustinesoh @ Dec 31 2008, 03:42 PM)
You should place the calibration mic on a tripod or stand instead of resting it on top of the sofa back rest (read the Official Audyssey Thread for reasons why).

Depending on the source (DVD/BD and the particular movie) i normally watch at between -20dB to -13dB (as mentioned earlier, different movies hv different loudness levels). Also time of day 'cos i hv to watch at lower volume at night if i dont want trouble with my wife (and neighbours)!
ok..ty for ur immediate reply rclxms.gif
tml holiday will browse thru the audyssey official thread slowly and digest..
swine
post Jan 6 2009, 11:30 AM

157 posts

QUOTE(augustinesoh @ Jan 6 2009, 11:10 AM)
SQ-wise, it should make absolutely NO difference whether the 606 or the 51FD does the decoding. Most ppl prefer to hv the AVR decode since then they get to see the HD audio format on the AVR's display instead of PCM.
how to know is my avr is doing the decoding or my dvd is doing the decoding? hmm.gif
mine is non hdmi dvd player, and normally i just switch the audio mode on the dvd player

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0512sec    0.88    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 04:01 PM