Home Theatre Onkyo AV Receiver
Jun 24 2008, 11:00 PM
882 posts Joined: Jul 2007 |
just thought i might share the current price quoted for onkyo 875.. i was quoted rm5300 This post has been edited by mys_terious: Jun 25 2008, 09:01 AM |
Jun 29 2008, 12:50 AM
QUOTE(htkaki @ Jun 28 2008, 09:03 AM) should be around rm3800.. can check for u tomolo . but it seems like onkyo havent solved their lip sync problem even with the latest firmware .. can any 805 or 875 owners advise us on this matter?Added on June 29, 2008, 12:52 am QUOTE(silbii @ Jun 28 2008, 10:49 PM) there is an onkyo factory in jitra which is 20min drive from my place.. but unfortunately i got no jalan.. i am not sure but i heard from the harvey norman guy onkyo 875 is not from jitra.. forgot which part of malaysia liaoThis post has been edited by mys_terious: Jun 29 2008, 12:52 AM |
Jun 29 2008, 01:13 AM
QUOTE(silbii @ Jun 29 2008, 01:06 AM) considering that one has to travel all the way to jitra with all the tolls and fuel prices....not worth it lah...haha...unless u r in kedah for some other reasons already danok chicken factory direct can be easily arranged:) but receivers no lubang... i dont see many onkyo 805 or 875 owners talking abt lip sync problem in malaysia .. wonder y overseas forum all complaining.. most ppl say in 1.07and 1.08 firmware SHOULD solve the lip sync problem... i am quite worried when they use the word SHOULD.. onkyo owners out there can shed some light ma? splee8868 can u help since u r using the latest firmwarebut bukit kayu hitam and danok is nearby jitra...so maybe got reasons to go there eh? ehem ehem... This post has been edited by mys_terious: Jun 29 2008, 01:21 AM |
Jul 8 2008, 03:49 PM
does any1 know how to set the lfe to below 80hz.. or the lowest is 80hz.. is there anyway to go around it?
Jul 8 2008, 04:10 PM
QUOTE(htkaki @ Jul 8 2008, 04:03 PM) oh dont know if i asked the right question earlier.. what i meant was how do i set the subwoofer channel low pass to below 80hz.. for onkyo 875 the lowest i can go is 80hz.. i am not sure i did it the right way but i couldnt adjust any lower than 80hz |
Jul 9 2008, 08:41 AM
Jul 9 2008, 08:56 PM
QUOTE(htkaki @ Jul 9 2008, 09:16 AM) I am not sure of new AVR since I do not have 1 i am new to avr and also a lazy bugger thats y i try to get my answer here heheh... if i set my speakers hi pass to 60hz,subwoofer low pass 60hz and avr sub low pass to 80hz i still dont get the sound from 61 to 80hz for my speakers? |
Jul 10 2008, 12:22 AM
QUOTE(htkaki @ Jul 9 2008, 11:14 PM) in this case no missing link, as between 60-80Hz, the speakers will handle it (or course from 60Hz to max freq response of the spkrs). If below 60Hz, the sub will kaotim. Correct me if I am wrong, splee (since I do not have new gen AVR) i think like u said if the subwoofer channel uses a normal crossover then no problem but not sure abt all this high tech avr |
Jul 10 2008, 08:46 AM
Jul 10 2008, 04:16 PM
QUOTE(htkaki @ Jul 10 2008, 02:17 PM) vely niceAdded on July 10, 2008, 4:27 pmsplee .. onkyo in bridge mode can only play stereo right.. at this price if wanna play stereo ppl would buy stereo amp liao ma.. wonder who uses the bridge mode This post has been edited by mys_terious: Jul 10 2008, 04:27 PM |
Jul 28 2008, 05:17 PM
QUOTE(MYLordElrond @ Jul 28 2008, 03:48 PM) my dvd player is sony ns76h. the lowest option in the setting is 480p. i dont know how to change it to 480i. bro 1.09 was the latest the last time i checked... anyway i bought it at least 1 month ago n it was 1.08.. we r supposed to get the official latest firmware for 875 sold in malaysia, this is what harvey norman salesman claimed coz he said 875 is made in malaysia.. maybe u should ask the salesman to send it to update for u since they sold a faulty unit to u the 1st time.. n not up to date firmware the 2nd time.. Added on July 28, 2008, 3:51 pm mine is 1.07 already. According to one owner (earlier in the thread) 1.07 is the latest. maybe there is another update i have similar setup with u.. have no issues with handshake... but my optoma bulb pauchah after only sleeping with onkyo in the same room for two days.. maybe optoma n onkyo just dont love each other mine is sony78h to 875 to optoma hd65.. like u said i do notice a significant diff in pic quality with onkyo reon chip.. but i havent done a blind test to find out whether that is true.. maybe my mind is forcing me to say reon is good after paying so much for it hehe This post has been edited by mys_terious: Jul 28 2008, 11:49 PM |
Jul 29 2008, 10:42 AM
QUOTE(MYLordElrond @ Jul 29 2008, 09:41 AM) Tq for the info bro. It seems that my unit is two generation older. called HN salesman and he will check with the supplier. I guess v 1.08 must have solved this handshake issue. ya managed to get the replacement within 4days!!!.. impressed with optoma and hiway laser's service.. but am worried abt my 875 now after finding out your 875 faulty...How's your optoma. manage to get a replacement? Mine is already 1 and 1/2 years with 500 hours usage. no problem so far u r right. the improvement we are seeing maybe partly due to the mind. need to justify the purchase. |
Jul 30 2008, 07:28 PM
QUOTE(kyap @ Jul 30 2008, 04:28 PM) I can't find any setting for hdmi or optical output in Xbox360 setting. The weird thing is my friend also connecting his Xbox360 hdmi to Onkyo 705 but he don't face this problem. Is it the Onkyo 705 firmware issue or other things? bro y not bring your xbox n hdmi cable to your fren's place n try out.. then can pin point the problem much easier than us guessing here.. or bring his xbox to your place.. i dont think there many many xbox users here who use 705 so its harder to guess here... |
Aug 7 2008, 08:34 AM
But what if the LFE on a non-THX disc also contains 80-120Hz frequency range, wouldn't there be a gap if we set the low pass on the sub at 80Hz? Or, would the sub redirect 80-120Hz back to the main speakers using line out? If that is so then it should be fine.
[/quote] y not post your question there and see what chris said. i mean whether there is a gap or not.. and then let us know too pls |
Aug 15 2008, 12:44 AM
Aug 17 2008, 09:46 AM
just wondering the two new 875 owners bought silver or black?.. i bought the balck 1 n i think its extremely ugly.. looks like those 80's amplifiers.. saw the silver 875 when i collected mine n it was much nicer
Aug 20 2008, 11:00 AM
Aug 22 2008, 12:38 AM
QUOTE(callmevil @ Aug 21 2008, 03:26 PM) hehehe my SVS coming~~ its on its way from chicago now to seoul.. hehehehehe 5% tax wheeee.. u can just ask me to get stuff and i can bring it to miri to ship it to u.. will that work? hahaha brunei going into miri very easy izt?.. if thailand into malaysia u can bring almost anything:) |
Aug 22 2008, 03:07 PM
Aug 30 2008, 12:26 AM
QUOTE(maxovista @ Aug 29 2008, 10:29 AM) i carried mine alone from the car to my ht room (tingkat2).. n had to do it quickly coz my wife was just out of the house for awhile.. did everything in a rush n getting the receiver out alone was hard too.. at the end my wife came home n saw it didnt say anything except its ugly heheh |
| Change to: | 0.0514sec
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 08:54 AM |