Home Theatre Onkyo AV Receiver

maxovista
post Sep 1 2008, 02:40 PM

264 posts

QUOTE(AskDS @ Sep 1 2008, 02:26 PM)
Hi to all bro using new 875,

What is the default calibration level of your AVR, meaning the value display when you select the Level Calibration option.

I set up my speaker manually initially without changing any of the leve value and I was happy with it. Later I used the Audessey thingy to do the calibration and now the sound level are much lower compared to before the auto setup. Audessey has adjust the front L/R by -7.5 db and the center by -12.5db. I have to crank up the volume to hear the audio out. I want to start all over again but forgot to jolt down the default value.

Any help is very much appreciated.
The default value are all 0dB

When you make audessey, make sure the room is super silence! And try to place the mic on a tripod or anything alike

Added on September 1, 2008, 3:18 pm
QUOTE(AstroCreep @ Sep 1 2008, 03:00 AM)
Frustration from my SR875 connectivity today....

MediaCentre PC
Option 1: HDMI to LCD, Composite Video + Digital Audio to SR875. Resolution problem through SR 875.
Option 2: HDMI to SR875, D-Sub (normal PC video cable) + Stereo Audio cable to LCD. Onboard RealtekHD chipset (PC mobo) does not allow concurrent Digital and Analog.
Currently using Option 1 without Video into SR875..... :grumble: :grumble:
Any suggestion?

2nd DVD player
Cap ayam DVD player to LCD ->> Component Video + RCA Audio.
Cap ayam DVD player to SR875 ->> S-Video + Optical.
Problem:  SR875 cannot see/receive picture, but ok for Audio.
Why ah?

Astro
Previously Composite Video to LCD, and S-Video to SR 875. Much better PQ through SR875 upscaling, but bad PQ on LCD (obviously). Do you think getting a good Composite video will help? How do you all connect yours?

:stars:  :stars:  :stars:  :stars:  :stars:
Mediacentre PC < need a backside photo snap of this(of the PC)

2nd DVD - make sure in input/output source setting... clear all settings assign for DVD to --- (HDMI input "---", Component also "---" for DVD) and keep the optical setting(since you got the audio)
And from the photo u place the S video cable to the wrong port

Astro - no comment

ketupat 2.gif < got ketupat already

This post has been edited by maxovista: Sep 1 2008, 04:32 PM
maxovista
post Sep 1 2008, 03:30 PM

264 posts

maxovista
post Sep 2 2008, 04:32 PM

264 posts

QUOTE(hian @ Sep 2 2008, 04:15 PM)
The weight of this piece of metal nearly kill me when I carried it to have a check up this morning. laugh.gif  Told my buddy about the price being offered here and he called his supplier immediately.  Yeah, those are the 220v model.  Price is higher for 110-240v and 220-240v.  Mine is the later.  According to this supplier, the 220v model is for export to China market.  We still can use it in M'sia though but it may heat up pretty fast and thus shorten the lifespan due to our higher 240v.  That's the statement from the supplier, don't know how accurate can it be so please don't flame me. biggrin.gif

Anyway, hooked up everything just now and tested out Star Wars lll, and boy, the sound now sounds awesome!!  Thought my previous 506 is pretty good, now this 875 is simply a big jump from there. thumbup.gif  Now gotta start saving up for HD projector and player liao. sweat.gif
China market will surely got chinese "instruction manual" in them....(in da box)

Being hot is not due to diff. in transformer but more towards the rear side of the receiver where the transistor/heatsink are located...

I am not flaming...cheers! whistling.gif
maxovista
post Sep 2 2008, 05:08 PM

264 posts

QUOTE(kiam @ Sep 2 2008, 04:50 PM)
i believe aiman04 posted that his 875 contains a manual with 6 different languages, but not English.

which 6 languages, im not sure.
For the record...mine got all the Europe 6 languages + English

maxovista
post Sep 2 2008, 05:30 PM

264 posts

QUOTE(rthj @ Sep 2 2008, 05:22 PM)
this heat issue is not limited to the 875 model....the NR905 also seems to be able to double as a room heater.
On the next sales, maybe should insist a table fan as freebies. tongue.gif tongue.gif ..(my panasonic table fan seems effectively cool the thing) biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by maxovista: Sep 2 2008, 05:41 PM
maxovista
post Sep 8 2008, 08:14 PM

264 posts

QUOTE(HornyAngMoh @ Sep 8 2008, 01:45 PM)
May I ask? Did u do set-up using the 875 remote?
Yes, you may set the receiver using the remote.. make sure the receiver button light up whenever the related button being push...

maxovista
post Sep 10 2008, 03:26 PM

264 posts

There will be no more onkyo sales onwards.... for those who already bought! Be happy with it...as you can sell it higher coz the value of the item is far more than you paid for !!

For those who still thinking that there will be another sales.. keep dreaming!

And for the last 875 still selling here.. grab it while you can...

maxovista
post Sep 12 2008, 10:00 PM

264 posts

QUOTE(ameeyn @ Sep 12 2008, 08:37 PM)
how much is onkyo 606?..how does it perform with ps3?..senq has a package for the receiver with 5.1 speakers for Rm4799..is it worth it?..im planning to build a new home theatre setup and this looked as a good choice..any suggestions?
606 is around 2.7k....this receiver is more than enough for most of us here until recently... there was a super deal on onkyo 8 series receivers..and suddenly, a 6 series receivers have been forgotten! But if you refer to this forum 2-3 months back, this 6 series receivers are somethin people drool abt here! cool2.gif

This post has been edited by maxovista: Sep 12 2008, 10:02 PM
maxovista
post Sep 29 2008, 01:15 PM

264 posts

Selamat Hari Raya to all onkyo fans ...out there!
maxovista
post Oct 11 2008, 12:20 PM

264 posts

nice photo...your lighting make the things turn goldish instead of the actual silver..
maxovista
post Oct 28 2008, 03:53 AM

264 posts

I think you should re-visit and test the KEF with other sub! Through my limited experience, getting the right speakers for music are the hardest... speaker for movie?not as much though..as long as it gave me all the crash, the boom and the bang...that will be fine!
maxovista
post Oct 28 2008, 08:37 PM

264 posts

fan is noisy no matter what! But big massive heatsinks need air and space to work properly...

For most onkyo, you can effectively cool the thing using fans...but onkyo's engineer claimed that the AVR was designed that way without the need of external fan...have you ever heard anyone AVR failed due to overheat??

For those who stack anything above the AVR, you better find ways not to block the airflow above the unit...give the thing to breath! Go get an open rack system..

Anyway, the thing will cut off itself.. if temp is unbearably hot!

p/s dont even think of supercool it as your music wont go any faster this way...[leave it to those overclocker enthusiast from the PC forum]

This post has been edited by maxovista: Oct 28 2008, 08:41 PM
maxovista
post Dec 31 2008, 10:30 PM

264 posts

Happy New Year!

0.0475sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 12:35 AM