Steak, Ah hong & Grub

TSLA773
post Aug 24 2020, 11:27 AM, updated 6y ago

1,067 posts

Going to kl this weekend, planning goto ah hong & grub to feast on the steak house
Pictures looks great!
Any recommendations for 2 dishes to try?
Oh btw, i heard parking is hard to find there, any place nearby which is convenient?
Tq in advance carnivores
jceh83
post Aug 24 2020, 11:35 AM

two stepping all the way..
1,235 posts

QUOTE(LA773 @ Aug 24 2020, 11:27 AM)
Going to kl this weekend, planning goto ah hong & grub to feast on the steak house
Pictures looks great!
Oh btw, i heard parking is hard to find there, any place nearby which is convenient?
Tq in advance carnivores
go earlier thats all i can say... btw, i went there twice, first time to try because of the hype and left disappointed and went again a second time to give them a chance again and still left disappointed..

taste is subjective i know nonetheless but if you want a decent steak, i truly wont recommend this place.. but if you are there for sheer price vs meat size ratio.. this is one of it.. you can easily get better steaks at Maria's Steakcafe at Damansara Perdana, Bangsar or Sunway, Butcher Carey at Plaza Damas, Honest Butcher at Kota Damansara (call ahead to book, lunch only), Beato at Bangsar..

good luck..
tahfeikei
post Aug 24 2020, 11:36 AM

TALK TO MY ENGRISH
1,248 posts

BillCollector

your cup of tea?
Pichu00
post Aug 24 2020, 11:38 AM

640 posts

Just went there last sat , parking hard to find cos very near housing area.
The food just meh for me , steak portion big and that the only plus point. Went there cos see alot online review say good won't go back there ever again if u ask me.
Ordered waygu NY strip big let down , very rubber cos meat too thick.
Pichu00
post Aug 24 2020, 11:40 AM

640 posts

QUOTE(jceh83 @ Aug 24 2020, 11:35 AM)
go earlier thats all i can say... btw, i went there twice, first time to try because of the hype and left disappointed and went again a second time to give them a chance again and still left disappointed..

taste is subjective i know nonetheless but if you want a decent steak, i truly wont recommend this place.. but if you are there for sheer price vs meat size ratio.. this is one of it.. you can easily get better steaks at Maria's Steakcafe at Damansara Perdana, Bangsar or Sunway, Butcher Carey at Plaza Damas, Honest Butcher at Kota Damansara (call ahead to book, lunch only), Beato at Bangsar..

good luck..
just went there last sat won't go back ever again. 80% of the food this furom recommend one cannot trust one
tahfeikei
post Aug 24 2020, 11:43 AM

TALK TO MY ENGRISH
1,248 posts

good luck..
i wasnt impressed with maria's
i'm happy with jake's

Pichu00
post Aug 24 2020, 11:44 AM

640 posts

Pictures looks great!
Tq in advance carnivores
Better go The Tokyo Restaurant u get way better steak then this so call steak house. The food there is expensive but quality wise dam high way worth it then this steak house ( and cheaper then ah hong )
TechnoG
post Aug 24 2020, 11:46 AM

9,338 posts

used to be good, but quality dropped already
price to quality ratio is still there la. Steak is on the cheaper side..
beetch
post Aug 24 2020, 11:47 AM

429 posts

Take grab?

Senang
SUSAsquith
post Aug 24 2020, 11:49 AM

647 posts

This is a CMI place unless all you want is a piece of low grade steak cooked by Banglas.

You can get better steaks at Beatos.

Pichu00
post Aug 24 2020, 11:54 AM

640 posts

QUOTE(Asquith @ Aug 24 2020, 11:49 AM)
This is a CMI place unless all you want is a piece of low grade steak cooked by Banglas.

Yes sat I go only 1 Chinese guy rest all bangla. Imagine waygu also can rubber ...
hksgmy
post Aug 24 2020, 11:58 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(Pichu00 @ Aug 24 2020, 11:54 AM)
Yes sat I go only 1 Chinese guy rest all bangla. Imagine waygu also can  rubber ...
Depends on which cut the Wagyu comes from. Aussie Waghu rump steak is like rubber straight off the bat, doesn't matter who cooks it.

But, striploin should be better ... maybe it was severely undercooked?

This post has been edited by hksgmy: Aug 24 2020, 11:59 AM
TSLA773
post Aug 24 2020, 12:10 PM

1,067 posts

good luck..
😭😭😭😭I booked on table app
Deposit gone
Pichu00
post Aug 24 2020, 12:10 PM

640 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Aug 24 2020, 11:58 AM)
Depends on which cut the Wagyu comes from. Aussie Waghu rump steak is like rubber straight off the bat, doesn't matter who cooks it.

But, striploin should be better ... maybe it was severely undercooked?
NY strip , order medium rare rubber kao kao
Pichu00
post Aug 24 2020, 12:11 PM

640 posts

QUOTE(LA773 @ Aug 24 2020, 12:10 PM)
😭😭😭😭I booked on table app
Deposit gone
U can go eat salad what.... The coliflower salad not bad, just stay away from the steak u should be fine..
tahfeikei
post Aug 24 2020, 12:12 PM

TALK TO MY ENGRISH
1,248 posts

QUOTE(Asquith @ Aug 24 2020, 11:49 AM)

whats CMI?
hksgmy
post Aug 24 2020, 12:15 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(tahfeikei @ Aug 24 2020, 12:12 PM)
whats CMI?
Cannot Make It
TSLA773
post Aug 24 2020, 12:16 PM

1,067 posts

QUOTE(Pichu00 @ Aug 24 2020, 11:44 AM)
Better go The Tokyo Restaurant u get way better steak then this so call steak house. The food there is expensive but quality wise dam high way worth it then this steak house ( and cheaper then ah hong )
Where is tokyo restaurant?
Sorry not kl ppl
TSLA773
post Aug 24 2020, 12:17 PM

1,067 posts

QUOTE(Pichu00 @ Aug 24 2020, 12:11 PM)
U can go eat salad what.... The coliflower salad not bad, just stay away from the steak u should be fine..
Aiyohh, coming all the way from penang, eat salad? 😁 😂
TSLA773
post Aug 24 2020, 12:20 PM

1,067 posts

QUOTE(Pichu00 @ Aug 24 2020, 11:44 AM)
Ohhh, just google, the burnt cheese cake place
Pichu00
post Aug 24 2020, 12:22 PM

640 posts

QUOTE(LA773 @ Aug 24 2020, 12:16 PM)
Where is tokyo restaurant?
Sorry not kl ppl
Lot 10 level 4 . Thier lamb and steak not bad( u want to melt in yr mouth go this place , bubble gum go ah hong ) personally tried them before if the location not in KL I would definitely go weekly. Price point is high side but if u compare with those steak house they look like affordable lol.
Pichu00
post Aug 24 2020, 12:24 PM

640 posts

QUOTE(LA773 @ Aug 24 2020, 12:20 PM)
Ohhh, just google, the burnt cheese cake place
Ya after steak order cheesecake to finish it off. This place u won't regret one
pisces88
post Aug 24 2020, 12:25 PM

3,970 posts

Price to food portion ratio, they are good. Cant complain

If got more budget can go Jake's , Prime, Beato, Ril's . Las vacas also ok , not expensive
TSLA773
post Aug 24 2020, 12:37 PM

1,067 posts

QUOTE(Pichu00 @ Aug 24 2020, 12:22 PM)
Lot 10 level 4 . Thier lamb and steak not bad( u want to melt in yr mouth go this place , bubble gum go ah hong )  personally tried them before if the location not in KL I would definitely go weekly. Price point is high side but if u compare with those steak house they look like affordable lol.
Yea, i went there before for the tiramisu n cheese cake.. Nice
But no try food
TSLA773
post Aug 24 2020, 12:39 PM

1,067 posts

QUOTE(pisces88 @ Aug 24 2020, 12:25 PM)

If got more budget can go Jake's , Prime, Beato, Ril's . Las vacas also ok , not expensive
Bro, Wats the estimated $$$ for 2 pax for above place?
jceh83
post Aug 24 2020, 01:03 PM

1,235 posts

QUOTE(LA773 @ Aug 24 2020, 12:39 PM)
starting from RM150 and can go to RM300 and even way higher.. that's for 2 pax ya..

Saw someone mentioned Las Vacas.. they are ok ok too.. Butcher Carey and Las Vacas will be on your no frills type of steakhouses..

Jake's and Maria's would be like your entry level steakhouses..

Prime, Ril's and Beato starts to go into the premium range already..

well, my take la..

if you want something different but still want beef, I kinda enjoy Shin Nihon at Hartamas.. on the pricier side though.. easy easy 300 bucks for 2pax..

This post has been edited by jceh83: Aug 24 2020, 01:05 PM
tahfeikei
post Aug 24 2020, 01:05 PM

TALK TO MY ENGRISH
1,248 posts

QUOTE(pisces88 @ Aug 24 2020, 12:25 PM)

las vacas in kelana jaya was a disappointment for me.....will never go again
pisces88
post Aug 24 2020, 01:10 PM

3,970 posts

QUOTE(LA773 @ Aug 24 2020, 12:39 PM)
Hmm starter n steak i would say 300-400 without wine.

For places like Prime lookout for credit card promo, maybank should have a 40-50% discount deal iirc. Nt sure still valid or not. Meaning ur rm200 steak after discount is rm100 only
pisces88
post Aug 24 2020, 01:11 PM

3,970 posts

QUOTE(tahfeikei @ Aug 24 2020, 01:05 PM)
Hit n miss nowadays. The one i frequently went to , was at jalan yap kwan seng. Now tutup dy

So i go to the mont kiara one. Ok la, quiet place for dinner because nt Many customers, price wise also reasonable
tahfeikei
post Aug 24 2020, 01:14 PM

TALK TO MY ENGRISH
1,248 posts

TS
you should go to Pok Brothers, buy a few good pieces, then go home and cook it

db07mufan
post Aug 24 2020, 01:16 PM

3,705 posts

Been there once wont go back.

My steak is not charred enough, no maillard reaction which makes for a tasteless steak.
hksgmy
post Aug 24 2020, 02:24 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(LA773 @ Aug 24 2020, 12:17 PM)
Aiyohh, coming all the way from penang, eat salad? 😁 😂
I remember there used to be a restaurant in Penang called “The Ship” - cheap and good Western fare. That was probably about 30 or 35 years ago ... is the restaurant still there?
MrBaba
post Aug 24 2020, 02:37 PM

2,506 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Aug 24 2020, 02:24 PM)
I remember there used to be a restaurant in Penang called “The Ship” - cheap and good Western fare. That was probably about 30 or 35 years ago ... is the restaurant still there?
Franchise one alot places got la
dawnreaver
post Aug 24 2020, 02:40 PM

661 posts

QUOTE(tahfeikei @ Aug 24 2020, 01:05 PM)
Place closed down quite a while back. Their (now closed) branch at Glo Damansara didn't serve good steaks as well. Kinda sad seeing that the food was good when they first started.
hksgmy
post Aug 24 2020, 02:43 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(MrBaba @ Aug 24 2020, 02:37 PM)
Franchise  one alot places got la
Oh! I didn’t know it was a franchise! Thank you
TOMEI-R
post Aug 24 2020, 04:04 PM

Extraordinaire
24,222 posts

You have to pay a deposit of Rm20/Pax for booking a place at the restaurant. That what turned me off a bit. Have not tried till now.

This post has been edited by TOMEI-R: Aug 24 2020, 04:04 PM
tahfeikei
post Aug 24 2020, 04:06 PM

TALK TO MY ENGRISH
1,248 posts

QUOTE(dawnreaver @ Aug 24 2020, 02:40 PM)
Place closed down quite a while back. Their (now closed) branch at Glo Damansara didn't serve good steaks as well. Kinda sad seeing that the food was good when they first started.
oh my....just as well

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Aug 24 2020, 02:43 PM)
Oh! I didn’t know it was a franchise! Thank you
nothing great, except the novelty factor in their deco
another place with the novelty factor is the coliseum at jln tuanku abdul rahman....TS
TSLA773
post Aug 24 2020, 05:31 PM

1,067 posts

QUOTE(tahfeikei @ Aug 24 2020, 01:14 PM)
TS
you should go to Pok Brothers, buy a few good pieces, then go home and cook it
Im From Northern states, come back become super moist aged steqk d😂
TSLA773
post Aug 24 2020, 05:33 PM

1,067 posts

Yea still hv, got 1 in Georgetown, 1 in batu feringghi. Less than rm100 steak for about 300-400 gram
But i think kl should be nicer
TSLA773
post Aug 24 2020, 05:35 PM

1,067 posts

Maria seems quite expensive also, for me la

tahfeikei
post Aug 24 2020, 05:38 PM

TALK TO MY ENGRISH
1,248 posts

QUOTE(LA773 @ Aug 24 2020, 05:31 PM)
Im From Northern states, come back become super moist aged steqk d😂
aiya...buy a cooler box, put steaks in it then put in car..got air con ...ok ma...4 hours only
QUOTE(LA773 @ Aug 24 2020, 05:35 PM)
Maria seems quite expensive also, for me la

yes maria's isnt cheap...once a while special occasion ok maa
cheap not good
good not cheap
or try the malay gerai steaks in ampang ...you have to google or somebody can help if they are familiar
TSLA773
post Aug 24 2020, 05:43 PM

1,067 posts

QUOTE(tahfeikei @ Aug 24 2020, 05:38 PM)
aiya...buy a cooler box, put steaks in it then put in car..got air con ...ok ma...4 hours only

yes maria's isnt cheap...once a while special occasion ok maa
cheap not good
good not cheap
or try the malay gerai steaks in ampang ...you have to google or somebody can help if they are familiar
Cook maggie mee i can la
hksgmy
post Aug 24 2020, 06:03 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

Personally, I prefer grilling the steaks over an open charcoal fire compared to having it “Western” style. This was from last year’s Pre-COVID trip to Tokyo:

[attachmentid=10562503]

Damage came up to ¥35,000 for both of us. Not something I’d do on a regular basis - if the bill doesn’t kill me, the cholesterol will!
SUSDJJD
post Aug 24 2020, 06:07 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(jceh83 @ Aug 24 2020, 01:03 PM)
starting from RM150 and can go to RM300 and even way higher.. that's for 2 pax ya..

Saw someone mentioned Las Vacas.. they are ok ok too.. Butcher Carey and Las Vacas will be on your no frills type of steakhouses..

Jake's and Maria's would be like your entry level steakhouses..

Prime, Ril's and Beato starts to go into the premium range already..

well, my take la..

if you want something different but still want beef, I kinda enjoy Shin Nihon at Hartamas.. on the pricier side though.. easy easy 300 bucks for 2pax..
Try Vantador. Not bad either - better than Ril's IMO.
db07mufan
post Aug 24 2020, 06:09 PM

3,705 posts

Ben Independent Grocers does quite good steaks. But no ambience lah
hirano
post Aug 24 2020, 06:21 PM

凸(`△´#)
3,336 posts

Ate at Maria's once. Not bad. But smaller portion

Tried also at Pampas. About 300++ for 2 pax. Also not bad. Ambience is good
SUSkevin23
post Aug 24 2020, 06:27 PM

1,803 posts

Pictures looks great!
Tq in advance carnivores
Overrated place. Not nice at all. Pls avoid
Starbucki
post Aug 24 2020, 06:38 PM

Ayam betmen
1,389 posts

Still prefer hainanese steaks. More gravy.

Btw, are you the chap who closes down the travel agency?
tahfeikei
post Aug 24 2020, 07:35 PM

TALK TO MY ENGRISH
1,248 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Aug 24 2020, 06:03 PM)
Personally, I prefer grilling the steaks over an open charcoal fire compared to having it “Western” style.

+1
agreed...its still juicy and yummy if DIY

This post has been edited by tahfeikei: Aug 24 2020, 07:35 PM
hksgmy
post Aug 24 2020, 07:36 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(tahfeikei @ Aug 24 2020, 07:35 PM)
+1
agreed...its still juicy and yummy if DIY
And you can control your preferred doneness right down to a fine art smile.gif yummy!
JimbeamofNRT
post Aug 24 2020, 07:48 PM

the Original Lanji@_ Chicken Rice Shop Since 2002
1,902 posts

good luck..
spot on!

kaki makan ni ...

This post has been edited by JimbeamofNRT: Aug 24 2020, 07:49 PM
MrBaba
post Aug 24 2020, 07:50 PM

2,506 posts

Dam one sided. wish i new about this before i spend 140 at this place .
TSLA773
post Aug 24 2020, 11:09 PM

1,067 posts

QUOTE(MrBaba @ Aug 24 2020, 07:50 PM)
Dam one sided.  wish i new about this before i spend 140 at this place .
U mean 140 at ahhong place? 😁
TSLA773
post Aug 24 2020, 11:13 PM

1,067 posts

good luck..
Guess i'll cancell my plan for ahhong for now.
If i would just choose 1 place from the above for friday lunch with budget below rm250 for 2 pax, which is my best option?
Too many to choose also pening😂😂

This post has been edited by LA773: Aug 24 2020, 11:13 PM
MrBaba
post Aug 24 2020, 11:38 PM

2,506 posts

QUOTE(LA773 @ Aug 24 2020, 11:09 PM)
U mean 140 at ahhong place? 😁
Give 50% also not worth it.
SUSAsquith
post Aug 25 2020, 01:13 AM

647 posts

QUOTE(Pichu00 @ Aug 24 2020, 12:10 PM)
NY strip  , order medium rare rubber kao kao
We ordered that as well and yes it was a disappointment as it was very salty in addition to being rubbery.

We also had a ribeye which I have no idea how one can screw up a rare ribeye as it was well done in every part except the centre part which was ice cold. I returned it only to have the second come exactly the same.

If you are in PJ area especially near that Grub place and want a nice steak place, one of the better places is Castell. Old but definitely a good place to have it.

QUOTE(pisces88 @ Aug 24 2020, 01:11 PM)
Hit n miss nowadays. The one i frequently went to , was at jalan yap kwan seng. Now tutup dy

So i go to the mont kiara one.  Ok la, quiet place for dinner because nt Many customers, price wise also reasonable
You dare to go to a steak place that has such low turnover in customers? I used to buy steaks from there to grill it at home. Then I found better steaks at Village Grocers at BV and Ben's at Publika.

There used to be 2 in Bukit Bintang area, one near the McDonald's and another near the former HSBC bank and Auto Dunia showroom where you could buy an Audi or VW. The other one is located at PJ Uptown.

It is a place that is stuck in time.

QUOTE(tahfeikei @ Aug 24 2020, 04:06 PM)
oh my....just as well
nothing great, except the novelty factor in their deco
another place with the novelty factor is the coliseum at jln tuanku abdul rahman....TS
Long time never been back to Coliseum. Now more than 10 years as it is severely outclassed by newer rivals and not worth the price.
Pichu00
post Aug 25 2020, 01:18 AM

640 posts

QUOTE(Asquith @ Aug 25 2020, 01:13 AM)
We ordered that as well and yes it was a disappointment as it was very salty in addition to being rubbery.

We also had a ribeye which I have no idea how one can screw up a rare ribeye as it was well done in every part except the centre part which was ice cold. I returned it only to have the second come exactly the same.

If you are in PJ area especially near that Grub place and want a nice steak place, one of the better places is Castell. Old but definitely a good place to have it.
You dare to go to a steak place that has such low turnover in customers? I used to buy steaks from there to grill it at home. Then I found better steaks at Village Grocers at BV and Ben's at Publika.
There used to be 2 in Bukit Bintang area, one near the McDonald's and another near the former HSBC bank and Auto Dunia showroom where you could buy an Audi or VW. The other one is located at PJ Uptown.

It is a place that is stuck in time.
Long time never been back to Coliseum. Now more than 10 years as it is severely outclassed by newer rivals and not worth the price.
Yup I order waygu NY strip and rib eye both rubber kao kao.
tahfeikei
post Aug 25 2020, 07:44 AM

TALK TO MY ENGRISH
1,248 posts

QUOTE(LA773 @ Aug 24 2020, 11:13 PM)
If i would just choose 1 place from the above for friday lunch with budget below rm250 for 2 pax, which is my best option?
i will choose jake's charboil steaks
are you a non muslim? why not try porkie stuff at betty's midwestern kitchen....not expensive and gooding

QUOTE(Asquith @ Aug 25 2020, 01:13 AM)
worst is the midvalley coliseum biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by tahfeikei: Aug 25 2020, 07:44 AM
jceh83
post Aug 25 2020, 09:53 AM

1,235 posts

Bro.. don't worry so much about it..like I say.. taste is subjective.. since you have already made the booking and some form of payment, just go for it la.. maybe, just maybe.. you may enjoy it compared to us leh..

I saw your post on Maria being expensive.. well, sometimes they do have promo and I guess, it can be worth it.. for me, Maria's may not be the best in the market but it is definitely better than Grub..

You can see from many posts here now that there are indeed many places in KL to dine for steaks.. there are more that what we have mentioned and the list can be truly long..

Most of the places I saw in here, I have been, including Castell near Grub.. there I prefer their lamb over steak..

Good luck to you.. when you are around again, maybe plan ahead and go for, what I would say decent steak, but nice ambience places.. Beast, Chambers, Prime.. these are all by hotels.. not cheap unless they have promo with credit card (which they usually do).. but damn good place to feel atas..

This post has been edited by jceh83: Aug 25 2020, 09:53 AM
jceh83
post Aug 25 2020, 09:54 AM

1,235 posts

QUOTE(JimbeamofNRT @ Aug 24 2020, 07:48 PM)
spot on!

kaki makan ni ...
aiks.. no la bro.. just like my steaks.. tongue.gif
jceh83
post Aug 25 2020, 09:56 AM

1,235 posts

I see many proposing Vantador.. this place I have yet to go because whenever I'm around that area for steak, I always either end up at Shin Nihon or Steaks & Lobster (this one support friend la)...

How is it there now and do they still serve Rubia Gallega?
db07mufan
post Aug 25 2020, 10:12 AM

3,705 posts

Look at Gastro Sentral Le Meridien on eatigo app. Can book 12 noon lunch for 50% discount.

Got steak also quite decent

This post has been edited by db07mufan: Aug 25 2020, 10:15 AM
vhs1
post Aug 25 2020, 11:27 AM

2,834 posts

QUOTE(Pichu00 @ Aug 25 2020, 01:18 AM)
Yup I order waygu NY strip and rib eye both rubber kao kao.
Oh my....
TSLA773
post Aug 25 2020, 01:50 PM

1,067 posts

QUOTE(jceh83 @ Aug 25 2020, 09:53 AM)
Bro.. don't worry so much about it..like I say.. taste is subjective.. since you have already made the booking and some form of payment, just go for it la.. maybe, just maybe.. you may enjoy it compared to us leh..

I saw your post on Maria being expensive.. well, sometimes they do have promo and I guess, it can be worth it.. for me, Maria's may not be the best in the market but it is definitely better than Grub..

You can see from many posts here now that there are indeed many places in KL to dine for steaks.. there are more that what we have mentioned and the list can be truly long..

Most of the places I saw in here, I have been, including Castell near Grub.. there I prefer their lamb over steak..

Good luck to you.. when you are around again, maybe plan ahead and go for, what I would say decent steak, but nice ambience places.. Beast, Chambers, Prime.. these are all by hotels.. not cheap unless they have promo with credit card (which they usually do).. but damn good place to feel atas..
Allright, i will check these places out, i cant go for steak often, as my family cant take beef, religiously. But i eat once a while.
Since this trip is with my gf, so we look for THE 🥩 🤣
As fot ahhong, i can refund 24 hrs before the date, so no money loss.... I trust u all, if nkt no point of asking here lo
Thanks for the recommendation
TSLA773
post Aug 25 2020, 01:52 PM

1,067 posts

QUOTE(db07mufan @ Aug 25 2020, 10:12 AM)
Look at Gastro Sentral Le Meridien on eatigo app. Can book 12 noon lunch for 50% discount.

Got steak also quite decent
Allright bro, let me survey out
First time see this name 😁
SUSChekusan2019
post Aug 25 2020, 02:19 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(Pichu00 @ Aug 24 2020, 12:10 PM)
NY strip  , order medium rare rubber kao kao
How is it possible for medium rare to be rubbery? One wonders
v1n0d
post Aug 25 2020, 02:54 PM

Another roof, another proof.
3,197 posts

Why Ahong kena roast so badly here lol? I tried it back in Aug 2019 and the steak was decent. Had wagyu strip medium rare, less than RM150 inclusive of drinks and their taufufa cheesecake. At that price point don’t expect high end cuts la.
cempedaklife
post Aug 25 2020, 02:58 PM

Master Decoy
4,361 posts

i cheapskate pergi makan kat rendezvous saja
TSLA773
post Aug 25 2020, 04:05 PM

1,067 posts

QUOTE(v1n0d @ Aug 25 2020, 02:54 PM)
Why Ahong kena roast so badly here lol? I tried it back in Aug 2019 and the steak was decent. Had wagyu strip medium rare, less than RM150 inclusive of drinks and their taufufa cheesecake. At that price point don’t expect high end cuts la.
That time already lots of bangla workers?
Btw the bangla just waiters, or some cooks also?
Pichu00
post Aug 25 2020, 04:40 PM

640 posts

QUOTE(Chekusan2019 @ Aug 25 2020, 02:19 PM)
How is it possible for medium rare to be rubbery? One wonders
Meat too thick and not enough heat u get rubber.
Pichu00
post Aug 25 2020, 04:40 PM

640 posts

QUOTE(LA773 @ Aug 25 2020, 04:05 PM)
Bangla waiter Bangla cook
Pichu00
post Aug 25 2020, 04:42 PM

640 posts

QUOTE(v1n0d @ Aug 25 2020, 02:54 PM)
Go the toyko lot 10 bout same price or cheaper u get melt in yr mouth steak. Ofc smaller portion but u will end up more happy then this lousy steak house
v1n0d
post Aug 25 2020, 05:00 PM

Another roof, another proof.
3,197 posts

QUOTE(LA773 @ Aug 25 2020, 04:05 PM)
Workers Bangla but kitchen staff local. Now all Bangla?

QUOTE(Pichu00 @ Aug 25 2020, 04:42 PM)
Go the toyko lot 10 bout same price or cheaper u get melt in yr mouth steak. Ofc smaller portion but u will end up more happy then this lousy steak house
Really? I’ll give this a try, thanks.
hksgmy
post Aug 25 2020, 05:09 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(LA773 @ Aug 25 2020, 01:50 PM)
Allright, i will check these places out, i cant go for steak often, as my family cant take beef, religiously. But i eat once a while.
Since this trip is with my gf, so we look for THE 🥩 🤣
As fot ahhong, i can refund 24 hrs before the date, so no money loss.... I trust u all, if not no point of asking here lo
Thanks for the recommendatioo
Wow... that's an excellent attitude thumbsup.gif - makes giving advice all the more worth it! I hope you guys have a great time in KL!

This post has been edited by hksgmy: Aug 25 2020, 05:09 PM
jceh83
post Aug 25 2020, 05:35 PM

1,235 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Aug 25 2020, 05:09 PM)
Wow... that's an excellent attitude  thumbsup.gif - makes giving advice all the more worth it! I hope you guys have a great time in KL!
indeed..
hirano
post Aug 25 2020, 08:59 PM

凸(`△´#)
3,336 posts

QUOTE(jceh83 @ Aug 24 2020, 01:03 PM)
  Butcher Carey and Las Vacas will be on your no frills type of steakhouses..
Hey i went to Butcher Carey tonight on your recommendation in this thread. Very nice steak, everything is on point even the fries. I'll frequent here more next time

Thanks!
james.6831
post Aug 25 2020, 09:16 PM

937 posts

steak and lobster at hartamas quite good...dunno if they increase price since lol last time went damn worth it for the portion
SUSrtk74
post Aug 26 2020, 12:03 AM

;"K]6pKBg;1]U)uSs!eF
1,151 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Aug 24 2020, 06:03 PM)
Personally, I prefer grilling the steaks over an open charcoal fire compared to having it “Western” style. This was from last year’s Pre-COVID trip to Tokyo:

Damage came up to ¥35,000 for both of us. Not something I’d do on a regular basis - if the bill doesn’t kill me, the cholesterol will!
Not for me I suppose, rather go to a proper teppan, I just dislike having to cook my own dish if I went out. I guess it's because I cook alot at home anyways.

QUOTE(jceh83 @ Aug 25 2020, 09:56 AM)
I see many proposing Vantador.. this place I have yet to go because whenever I'm around that area for steak, I always either end up at Shin Nihon or Steaks & Lobster (this one support friend la)...

How is it there now and do they still serve Rubia Gallega?
Vantador was alright I suppose but it's been a long while. Never could understood why someone would order a wagyu burger though.

But I'm a bit biased as I'll usually order ribs for myself

Never had Steaks & Lobster, good ahh. Saw the prices and it's very cheap thumbup.gif
TSLA773
post Aug 26 2020, 12:39 AM

1,067 posts

QUOTE(jceh83 @ Aug 25 2020, 05:35 PM)
indeed..

😁😁Just listening to carnivores sifu 🤣
Wait for my photo ya
TSLA773
post Aug 26 2020, 12:40 AM

1,067 posts

QUOTE(hirano @ Aug 25 2020, 08:59 PM)
Hey i went to Butcher Carey tonight on your recommendation in this thread. Very nice steak, everything is on point even the fries. I'll frequent here more next time

Thanks!
Wat u ordered?
Saw some blogger recommended tasmanian rib eye, 500g
Looks nice
TSLA773
post Aug 26 2020, 12:42 AM

1,067 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Aug 25 2020, 05:09 PM)
Wow... that's an excellent attitude  :thumbsup: - makes giving advice all the more worth it! I hope you guys have a great time in KL!
Final question, 🤣
Wat to order ya?
Wat portion? Best taste is ribeye?
hirano
post Aug 26 2020, 12:48 AM

凸(`△´#)
3,336 posts

QUOTE(LA773 @ Aug 26 2020, 12:40 AM)
Wat u ordered?
Saw some blogger recommended tasmanian rib eye, 500g
Looks nice
Tenderloin 300gm, medium.

If u want ambience/environment, this place has zero. But the taste of the meat is really nice. Quite hard to find this restaurant tonight, had to jalan back n forth many times until I asked pak guard for the location.

Edit: Tenderloin much better than ribeye for me (generally)

This post has been edited by hirano: Aug 26 2020, 12:52 AM
TSLA773
post Aug 26 2020, 01:47 AM

1,067 posts

QUOTE(hirano @ Aug 26 2020, 12:48 AM)
Tenderloin 300gm, medium.

If u want ambience/environment, this place has zero. But the taste of the meat is really nice. Quite hard to find this restaurant tonight, had to jalan back n forth many times until I asked pak guard for the location.

Edit: Tenderloin much better than ribeye for me (generally)
Nice😘
How much damage for the 300g tenderloin?
hirano
post Aug 26 2020, 02:06 AM

凸(`△´#)
3,336 posts

QUOTE(LA773 @ Aug 26 2020, 01:47 AM)
Nice😘
How much damage for the 300g tenderloin?
For 2 pax (2 tenderloin steak, 2 coke, 1 fries), the damage was RM263.

If your budger is lower, just go for ribeye or less gram /smaller meat.

This post has been edited by hirano: Aug 26 2020, 02:10 AM
TSLA773
post Aug 26 2020, 02:21 AM

1,067 posts

QUOTE(hirano @ Aug 26 2020, 02:06 AM)
For 2 pax (2 tenderloin steak, 2 coke, 1 fries), the damage was RM263.

If your budger is lower, just go for ribeye or less gram /smaller meat.
Roger... Any photo to start the saliva drippin?
hirano
post Aug 26 2020, 02:25 AM

凸(`△´#)
3,336 posts

QUOTE(LA773 @ Aug 26 2020, 02:21 AM)
Roger... Any photo to start the saliva drippin?

TSLA773
post Aug 26 2020, 02:32 AM

1,067 posts

QUOTE(hirano @ Aug 26 2020, 02:25 AM)

Niceeeee
Medium? Not sure if i can take medium rare, blood bit ok, too much my gf cannot take it
Wat type of meat to choose from? I mean Australia/ US?
hirano
post Aug 26 2020, 02:40 AM

凸(`△´#)
3,336 posts

QUOTE(LA773 @ Aug 26 2020, 02:32 AM)
Niceeeee
Medium? Not sure if i can take medium rare, blood bit ok, too much my gf cannot take it
Wat type of meat to choose from? I mean Australia/ US?
That is medium.
That restaurant serves wagyu and normal angus/hereford. Limited wallet just choose either angus or hereford.

U see any restaurant menu, u will know la. Your wallet determines every decision.

This post has been edited by hirano: Aug 26 2020, 03:00 AM
hksgmy
post Aug 26 2020, 06:40 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

Tenderloin is my preferred cut - it’s the leanest meat and if prepared well, a good fillet mignon should be just slightly charred at the outsides but juicy, moist and red in the innards. The redness isn’t blood (hemoglobin, flows in the vessels) - it’s myoglobin (the blood is drained from the cow after slaughter, so the redness is the oxygen-carrying molecule found in the meat muscle).

I prefer mine medium rare. When I was younger, at times, I would love a blue steak with a healthy serving of herb butter but my palate has changed with age and now I prefer it medium rare and usually paired with a good Bordeaux or more specifically, a Pauillac from Bordeaux. I normally don’t enjoy reds on its own, but you can’t go wrong with it and a well prepared steak!

Enjoy your adventure in KL my friend!
tahfeikei
post Aug 26 2020, 08:50 AM

TALK TO MY ENGRISH
1,248 posts

ok...just read this blog
http://www.walauwei.com/2018/02/best-ribey...cher-carey.html

chef was the founder of las vacas
i'm salivating now
hirano steaks came without sos like in the blog? TS see...i told you you can cook at home also..just season with salt and pepper..
hirano
post Aug 26 2020, 09:55 AM

凸(`△´#)
3,336 posts

QUOTE(tahfeikei @ Aug 26 2020, 08:50 AM)
ok...just read this blog

i'm salivating now
hirano  steaks came without sos like in the blog? TS see...i told you you can cook at home also..just season with salt and pepper..
Yes it's like the blog, steak came without any sos.

There's sos for dipping if you ordered fries. Not something i've tasted before (the sos), something new to experience.

This post has been edited by hirano: Aug 26 2020, 09:55 AM
jceh83
post Aug 26 2020, 10:00 AM

1,235 posts

QUOTE(hirano @ Aug 25 2020, 08:59 PM)

Thanks!
No problem.. glad that I never make you up car.. another difficult to spot place but quite awesome cuts is Honest Butcher.. google them first and see if its too your liking.. they only open up for lunch and by appointment only.. will share some pics in my next post..

QUOTE(james.6831 @ Aug 25 2020, 09:16 PM)
steak and lobster at hartamas quite good...dunno if they increase price since lol last time went damn worth it for the portion
they are not bad in small group.. tbh, it is owned by a dear friend of mine with his son.. been there a couple of times big group (more than 10) and they can't seem to reproduce small group setting quality.. one of the co-founder has left and setup another place which I've mentioned a couple of times in this thread..

QUOTE(rtk74 @ Aug 26 2020, 12:03 AM)
Not for me I suppose, rather go to a proper teppan, I just dislike having to cook my own dish if I went out. I guess it's because I cook alot at home anyways.
Vantador was alright I suppose but it's been a long while. Never could understood why someone would order a wagyu burger though.

But I'm a bit biased as I'll usually order ribs for myself

Never had Steaks & Lobster, good ahh. Saw the prices and it's very cheap  thumbup.gif
Belum cuba, boleh cuba bro.. afterall, taste is subjective.. I do go there once in a while..

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Aug 26 2020, 06:40 AM)
Tenderloin is my preferred cut - it’s the leanest meat and if prepared well, a good fillet mignon should be just slightly charred at the outsides but juicy, moist and red in the innards. The redness isn’t blood (hemoglobin, flows in the vessels) - it’s myoglobin (the blood is drained from the cow after slaughter, so the redness is the oxygen-carrying molecule found in the meat muscle).

I prefer mine medium rare. When I was younger, at times, I would love a blue steak with a healthy serving of herb butter but my palate has changed with age and now I prefer it medium rare and usually paired with a good Bordeaux or more specifically, a Pauillac from Bordeaux. I normally don’t enjoy reds on its own, but you can’t go wrong with it and a well prepared steak!

Bleu is something I have yet to try.. but you are spot on with medium rare.. I love it but somehow I have never learn to appreciate it with red wine.. be it with the Burgs, Bordeaux, Paulliac and Super Tuscans.. know anywhere I can find some Chateaubriand cuts? I truly am dying to try this.. more so if its any breed from the Wagyu range..

QUOTE(tahfeikei @ Aug 26 2020, 08:50 AM)
ok...just read this blog

i'm salivating now
hirano  steaks came without sos like in the blog? TS see...i told you you can cook at home also..just season with salt and pepper..
Us Malaysian lot can be quite, in no proper way to put it, confused with our eatings due to assimilation of so many cultures and food here.. I may be wrong too but to just eat it with no sauce is very much American.. since we are very much linked the English culture.. we also have sauces with our steaks served here (European style)..

No right or wrong, just preference of enjoying a well deserved meal..

hirano
post Aug 26 2020, 10:14 AM

凸(`△´#)
3,336 posts

QUOTE(jceh83 @ Aug 26 2020, 10:00 AM)
No problem.. glad that I never make you up car.. another difficult to spot place but quite awesome cuts is Honest Butcher.. google them first and see if its too your liking.. they only open up for lunch and by appointment only.. will share some pics in my next post..
On the spot choose raw meat and they cook, right?

Its fb listed operating hours as 10am-7pm though? If only lunch hour at 12-2pm, then will be quite troublesome
hksgmy
post Aug 26 2020, 10:15 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

Bleu is something I have yet to try.. but you are spot on with medium rare.. I love it but somehow I have never learn to appreciate it with red wine.. be it with the Burgs, Bordeaux, Paulliac and Super Tuscans.. know anywhere I can find some Chateaubriand cuts? I truly am dying to try this.. more so if its any breed from the Wagyu range..

Well, I'm based in Singapore, and by far, this is my favourite joint to go to (but for surf & turf, Les Amis style) - had lunch there about 3 weeks back, am aiming for dinner next month:

Langoustine with a generous dollop of caviar (the "surf")

And, the "turf":

Ohmi-Gyu medium rare with the most delicately puffed potato souffles

And, the fcuking bill at the end of that (and a few other sides):

Otherwise, pre-COVID, we usually prefer anything we can get in Japan (even if it came from the basement of Takashimaya or Isetan, honest!)

When I'm home this evening, I might dig out some of my Tokyo beef adventures to share and drool & reminisce over... sigh. Damn COVID!

This post has been edited by hksgmy: Aug 26 2020, 10:59 AM
jceh83
post Aug 26 2020, 10:22 AM

1,235 posts

QUOTE(hirano @ Aug 26 2020, 10:14 AM)
On the spot choose raw meat and they cook, right?

Its fb listed operating hours as 10am-7pm though? If only lunch hour at 12-2pm, then will be quite troublesome
well, may want to call and speak to them.. they does weekends too.. have to say I was amazed with picanha..
tahfeikei
post Aug 26 2020, 10:39 AM

TALK TO MY ENGRISH
1,248 posts

Us Malaysian lot can be quite, in no proper way to put it, confused with our eatings due to assimilation of so many cultures and food here.. I may be wrong too but to just eat it with no sauce is very much American.. since we are very much linked the English culture.. we also have sauces with our steaks served here (European style)..

No right or wrong, just preference of enjoying a well deserved meal..
yeah
i prefer no sauce
last time jaya grocer had the kitchen which can cook the steak you bought on the spot...also no sauce if i'm not wrong...but now closed down
knumskul
post Aug 26 2020, 11:53 AM

784 posts

QUOTE(hirano @ Aug 26 2020, 02:25 AM)

Looks more medium well to me. Medium tenderloin should have more redness in the middle due to thickness of the cut.
I was there over the weekend and had redness in mine.

TS, you can consider Meat Point in TTDI. Choose your preferred meat from a fridge, and they will cook it to your liking. Price is similar to Butcher's Carey for similar cuts/weight.
Seems to be halal as many Malay customers here, compared to other steak places I've been (almost no Malays)
jceh83
post Aug 26 2020, 12:02 PM

1,235 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Aug 26 2020, 10:15 AM)
Well, I'm based in Singapore, and by far, this is my favourite joint to go to (but for surf & turf, Les Amis style) - had lunch there about 3 weeks back, am aiming for dinner next month:

Langoustine with a generous dollop of caviar (the "surf")

And, the "turf":

Ohmi-Gyu medium rare with the most delicately puffed potato souffles

And, the fcuking bill at the end of that (and a few other sides):

Otherwise, pre-COVID, we usually prefer anything we can get in Japan (even if it came from the basement of Takashimaya or Isetan, honest!)

When I'm home this evening, I might dig out some of my Tokyo beef adventures to share and drool & reminisce over... sigh. Damn COVID!
Omi is quickly picking up as a choice cut now for wagyu.. Unfortunately, I was told by one of the importers is flooding there now hence a worldwide shortage..

Looks good.. I've always believed the fine dining in SG is better back here in KL but now I think we are catching up quite quickly and for a good fraction of the price..

Any good place to recommend in SG for no frills steakhouse dining?
jceh83
post Aug 26 2020, 12:13 PM

1,235 posts

So this was my recent visit to Honest Butcher a couple of weeks ago..

Started off with some of their signature Foie Gras and then we just went apeshit..

In came the Stanbroke Picanha quickly followed by another Stanbroke Ribeye..

Tokushima Picanha came in next..

From there we went for Miyazaki Ribeye

And ended the steak streak with Matsusaka Ribeye..

Then top it all off with fried rice with the fat trimmings from the wagyus..

Btw, we shared this amongst 5 gentlemen so we manage to taste all the steaks.. my winner of that meal was the Stanbroke and Tokushima Picanha..

This post has been edited by jceh83: Aug 26 2020, 12:16 PM
hksgmy
post Aug 26 2020, 12:17 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(jceh83 @ Aug 26 2020, 12:02 PM)
Omi is quickly picking up as a choice cut now for wagyu.. Unfortunately, I was told by one of the importers is flooding there now hence a worldwide shortage..

Looks good.. I've always believed the fine dining in SG is better back here in KL but now I think we are catching up quite quickly and for a good fraction of the price..

Any good place to recommend in SG for no frills steakhouse dining?
Yes, I fully agree with that statement. A lot of the cost is due to fixed/sunk costs like staff & rental. I can't wait for COVID to be done & dusted so I can sample the offerings back home in KL - but then again, whenever we visit family, we end up being taken out to big ass Chinese joints where everyone sits at a big ass round table and talk at the top of their voices haha.

For good steaks, I'd probably say Cut by Wolfgang Puck is not too bad (at Marina Bay Sands) - it was our favourite place to grab a bite, until we got crowded out by the Chinese tourists. I also use to enjoy Morton's, but to be honest, it's been years since we were back, because there was a ban on US Beef and when they switched over to Australian sources, the quality dropped (but not the prices). Some newer joints that I've tried are Outhouse Steakhouse (not bad) and Burnt Ends (but that was before they got their Michelin star & became "fine dining"). Gordon Ramsay's Bread Street Kitchen @ Marina Bay Sands is also quite good - and the steak is, IMHO, reasonably priced for a "branded" restaurant.

No frills, well, to be honest, I don't really have too much experience about that, but I've tried Jack's Place with friends before - and on good days, their NZ tenderloin is quite passable.

TSLA773
post Aug 26 2020, 12:59 PM

1,067 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Aug 26 2020, 06:40 AM)

I will, tenderloin it is for me this round 😋😋😋
TSLA773
post Aug 26 2020, 01:03 PM

1,067 posts

QUOTE(jceh83 @ Aug 26 2020, 12:13 PM)

Started off with some of their signature Foie Gras and then we just went apeshit..

Btw, we shared this amongst 5 gentlemen so we manage to taste all the steaks.. my winner of that meal was the Stanbroke and Tokushima Picanha..
I not yet taken lunch, fking hungry.. And ur photos is making my stomach asking to feast😂
Unfortunately penang not much good place, maybe those hotels but i never tried before

This post has been edited by LA773: Aug 26 2020, 01:11 PM
hksgmy
post Aug 26 2020, 01:05 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

Ah, another kindred spirit. A good Wagyu cut with Foie Gras. Yummy.

Of course, I’ll suffer and end up paying the price for such overindulgence by burping the whole damn night but, yummy!!!

TSLA773
post Aug 26 2020, 01:13 PM

1,067 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Aug 26 2020, 01:05 PM)
Ah, another kindred spirit. A good Wagyu cut with Foie Gras. Yummy.

Of course, I’ll suffer and end up paying the price for such overindulgence by burping the whole damn night but, yummy!!!
Wonder how much? 😅
But YOLO
jceh83
post Aug 26 2020, 02:07 PM

1,235 posts

QUOTE(LA773 @ Aug 26 2020, 01:13 PM)
Wonder how much? 😅
But YOLO
Well, we paid RM1,400 for everything.. again this is a no frills place and some may find it expensive but you are paying purely for good quality food and its cooking.. and sometimes we just want that.. but at times for this price you can get good ambience and very decent food.. by looking back at your post, if you are gonna pay that amount for 2 pax.. you can eat steak till you shitbrix on a gold gilded toilet bowl...

anyhow, we went a lil' over at Honest Butcher.. they do have good steaks too which costs way lesser compared to what we paid... was there specifically because a friend of ours wanted Wagyu and I wanted to try picanha..

btw, when I say Wagyu I truly mean Wagyu.. not Australian Beef.. ranting.gif

This post has been edited by jceh83: Aug 26 2020, 02:08 PM
hksgmy
post Aug 26 2020, 02:21 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(jceh83 @ Aug 26 2020, 02:07 PM)
Well, we paid RM1,400 for everything.. again this is a no frills place and some may find it expensive but you are paying purely for good quality food and its cooking.. and sometimes we just want that.. but at times for this price you can get good ambience and very decent food.. by looking back at your post, if you are gonna pay that amount for 2 pax.. you can eat steak till you shitbrix on a gold gilded toilet bowl...

anyhow, we went a lil' over at Honest Butcher.. they do have good steaks too which costs way lesser compared to what we paid... was there specifically because a friend of ours wanted Wagyu and I wanted to try picanha..

btw, when I say Wagyu I truly mean Wagyu.. not Australian Beef..  ranting.gif
Wagyu is to Australian Wagyu in terms of steak is like how Ms Universe is to Ms Tiffany’s Universe in terms of beauty pageants smile.gif

Both look good, but once you stick your fork into the real deal, you find out the true difference smile.gif
db07mufan
post Aug 26 2020, 02:53 PM

3,705 posts

Just looked up Honest Butcher. Didn't he used to or still own Steak and Lobsters in Hartamas

jceh83
post Aug 26 2020, 02:55 PM

1,235 posts

QUOTE(db07mufan @ Aug 26 2020, 02:53 PM)
Just looked up Honest Butcher. Didn't he used to or still own Steak and Lobsters in Hartamas
Nick was one of the founders.. he has now separated from them.. I remain in contact with both propreitors.. cant get away from good food..
jceh83
post Aug 26 2020, 02:56 PM

1,235 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Aug 26 2020, 02:21 PM)
Wagyu is to Australian Wagyu in terms of steak is like how Ms Universe is to Ms Tiffany’s Universe in terms of beauty pageants smile.gif

Both look good, but once you stick your fork into the real deal, you find out the true difference smile.gif
spot on!
db07mufan
post Aug 26 2020, 03:00 PM

3,705 posts

QUOTE(jceh83 @ Aug 26 2020, 02:55 PM)
Nick was one of the founders.. he has now separated from them.. I remain in contact with both propreitors.. cant get away from good food..
No wonder he looks familiar!

Used to frequent S&L when they first opened, then I felt it sort of went downhill. Now i've been alternating between Prime and Bens Grocer depending on how fancy i feel that day. Just to confirm, Honest Butcher has a restaurant as well or is it take away only.
jceh83
post Aug 26 2020, 03:40 PM

1,235 posts

QUOTE(db07mufan @ Aug 26 2020, 03:00 PM)
No wonder he looks familiar!

Used to frequent S&L when they first opened, then I felt it sort of went downhill. Now i've been alternating between Prime and Bens Grocer depending on how fancy i feel that day. Just to confirm, Honest Butcher has a restaurant as well or is it take away only.
its a butcher first and foremost but you can make appointment with them in advance to dine in..
hirano
post Aug 26 2020, 09:39 PM

凸(`△´#)
3,336 posts

QUOTE(jceh83 @ Aug 26 2020, 10:22 AM)
well, may want to call and speak to them.. they does weekends too.. have to say I was amazed with picanha..
Book how many days in advance?
I don't have money for wagyu, normal meat enough la laugh.gif
tahfeikei
post Aug 29 2020, 08:08 AM

TALK TO MY ENGRISH
1,248 posts

woi TS
so what did you eated last night?
no pics?
no review?
hksgmy
post Aug 29 2020, 08:10 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(tahfeikei @ Aug 29 2020, 08:08 AM)
woi TS
so what did you eated last night?
no pics?
no review?
^^^^^
What he said, TS smile.gif
tahfeikei
post Aug 29 2020, 08:15 AM

TALK TO MY ENGRISH
1,248 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Aug 29 2020, 08:10 AM)
^^^^^
What he said, TS smile.gif
i think he is still sleeping from his brows.gif brows.gif brows.gif sessions last night and this morning biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

hksgmy
post Aug 29 2020, 08:16 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(tahfeikei @ Aug 29 2020, 08:15 AM)
i think he is still sleeping from his  brows.gif  brows.gif  brows.gif  sessions last night and this morning biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif
ROFL. yes, he had meat... and later she had his.
TSLA773
post Aug 30 2020, 06:43 AM

1,067 posts

I booked for friday lunch, but couldn't make it, as there was some traffic jam on the highway due to road repairs , reached kl almost 1pm+,end up went to 1 utama makan japanese food😅😔
Had to postpone to next trip,
Im sorry guys, so sad to miss it
hksgmy
post Aug 30 2020, 08:48 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(LA773 @ Aug 30 2020, 06:43 AM)
I booked for friday lunch, but couldn't make it, as there was some traffic jam on the highway due to road repairs , reached kl almost 1pm+,end up went to 1 utama makan japanese food😅😔
Sorry to hear that it didn’t pan out as planned. Hope you guys had a good meal and time in KL anyway smile.gif

Happy Merdeka Day tomorrow to all of us!!
Pichu00
post Aug 30 2020, 09:55 AM

640 posts

QUOTE(LA773 @ Aug 30 2020, 06:43 AM)
Jap food in mal mostly just so so only unless those fine dine one. But the ramen side is totally different story
nasiayam
post Sep 21 2020, 01:12 PM

668 posts

went butcher carey last week, the mb9 aus wagyu is so tender woahhhhhhh, 1st time having such premium steak biggrin.gif thanks for the recommendations here notworthy.gif

then got a big surpise as we are finishing, didn't notice it's him until i turn around to ask for bill shocking.gif

This post has been edited by nasiayam: Sep 21 2020, 01:12 PM
TSLA773
post Sep 21 2020, 02:25 PM

1,067 posts

QUOTE(nasiayam @ Sep 21 2020, 01:12 PM)
went butcher carey last week, the mb9 aus wagyu is so tender woahhhhhhh, 1st time having such premium steak biggrin.gif thanks for the recommendations here  notworthy.gif

then got a big surpise as we are finishing, didn't notice it's him until i turn around to ask for bill shocking.gif

He no belanja? 🤣
SUSBora Prisoner
post Sep 21 2020, 03:58 PM

532 posts

wth? talk about no frills steak (Ah Hong) suddenly wolfgang puck and gordon ramsey come out?

Anyway, this Ah Hong ok okla the steak.

But what's really good is their BYO.... corkage they only charge RM5 per glass/person

So bring your own wines and enjoy with friends

As for Butcher Carey, i think steaks are better. But they dont accept cash (everytime have to bring 1k cash..sigh). Owner a bit eksyen, but ok lah dont really deal with him.

This post has been edited by Bora Prisoner: Sep 21 2020, 03:59 PM
joey
post Sep 22 2020, 03:10 AM

1,545 posts

he is..?
joey
post Sep 22 2020, 03:13 AM

1,545 posts

QUOTE(nasiayam @ Sep 21 2020, 01:12 PM)
went butcher carey last week, the mb9 aus wagyu is so tender woahhhhhhh, 1st time having such premium steak biggrin.gif thanks for the recommendations here  notworthy.gif

he is...?
jasonanthony
post Sep 22 2020, 06:42 AM

66 posts

Yes still there, decent cheap steaks for the masses
tahfeikei
post Sep 22 2020, 07:55 AM

TALK TO MY ENGRISH
1,248 posts

QUOTE(joey @ Sep 22 2020, 03:13 AM)
he is...?
sultan nazrin

nasiayam
post Sep 22 2020, 06:09 PM

668 posts