Royal Enfield Continental GT, Test ride & brand impressions

basilisk
post Mar 8 2022, 12:32 PM

30 posts

i dono bout tax stuff,
mebe got indian export tax or smthing?
but produce in thai definitely hv some tax advantage when imported here. / south east asia

price of new ugly mt07 mebe will increase when launched here, current price oredi 38k++,

TSlowpro
post Mar 8 2022, 12:48 PM

180 posts

QUOTE(basilisk @ Mar 8 2022, 12:32 PM)
i dono bout tax stuff,
but produce in thai definitely hv some tax advantage when imported here. / south east asia

price of new ugly mt07 mebe  will increase when launched here, current price oredi 38k++,
You're right about the MT07 being ugly. Come to think of it, so is the new MT09. Well, let's hope that RE under Didi gets a better push here in Malaysia. They do look good. The 120 anniversary 650 models look super but unfortunately, Malaysia couldn't get allocation
chantakzee
post Mar 8 2022, 03:21 PM

84 posts

If the interceptor price can be < MT07 then it would be a worthy option compared to overpriced z900rs and discontinued w800, from the reviews it sounds like a great simple reliable bike but at 50+- k its simply out of their mind.
chantakzee
post Mar 8 2022, 04:27 PM

84 posts

QUOTE(lowpro @ Mar 8 2022, 11:57 AM)
That was the previous distributor based in Shah Alam. I believe the new guys know what they're doing and from my chats with the key people, their business model is different with a strategy to increase numbers. Only way is to make it affordable (much more than before).
What's the expected price compared to the current 50k ?
jaycee1
post Mar 8 2022, 04:58 PM

AFK
2,484 posts

QUOTE(basilisk @ Mar 8 2022, 12:32 PM)
i dono bout tax stuff,

price of new ugly mt07 mebe  will increase when launched here, current price oredi 38k++,
Well, the dominar 400 and the base Himalayan sells for the same price in India.

The dominar is 13500 here, gone as low as 12500 stuffed with freebies. And the price of a Himalayan here?

Blame greedy distributor and taxes.

Let's hope the new distributor will be less greedy and make make the effort to CKD them here.
basilisk
post Mar 8 2022, 07:41 PM

30 posts

ckd kenot lo..

cheaper bout 10k maybe.. lol..

since the sales guy on fb said est below 40k...
ajaibman
post Mar 9 2022, 10:28 AM

232 posts

They do implement Export sales tax for CBU out from India...

That's why RE build a ckd factory in Thai...

Aside from that.. Chear hardly giving affordable price for their bikes.. but that's yesterday story .. let see Gasket Alley how much they will position the pricing..
TSlowpro
post Mar 9 2022, 01:01 PM

180 posts

QUOTE(chantakzee @ Mar 8 2022, 04:27 PM)
What's the expected price compared to the current 50k ?
Between RM35k and RM39k. I heard it would definitely be below RM40k.
basilisk
post Mar 9 2022, 02:29 PM

30 posts

sales guys text book....

basilisk
post Mar 9 2022, 07:56 PM

30 posts

price in thailand

TSlowpro
post Mar 10 2022, 08:20 AM

180 posts

QUOTE(basilisk @ Mar 9 2022, 02:29 PM)
sales guys text book....

Pretty good video
TSlowpro
post Mar 10 2022, 08:46 AM

180 posts

QUOTE(basilisk @ Mar 9 2022, 07:56 PM)
price in thailand

Most expensive version comes up to about RM31k thereabouts. Should be a decent price. Hope the local price will be close to that.
chantakzee
post Mar 10 2022, 08:29 PM

84 posts

QUOTE(basilisk @ Mar 9 2022, 07:56 PM)
price in thailand

31k for special chrome edition? thumbup.gif

Now that's really attractive.
TSlowpro
post Mar 11 2022, 07:42 AM

180 posts

QUOTE(chantakzee @ Mar 10 2022, 08:29 PM)
31k for special chrome edition?  thumbup.gif

Now that's really attractive.
I'm honestly tempted by the Conti GT 650 with that new price range...makes it more accessible to more buyers. That RM10k price difference is a big boon for buyers.

chantakzee
post Mar 11 2022, 03:59 PM

84 posts

QUOTE(lowpro @ Mar 11 2022, 07:42 AM)
I'm honestly tempted by the Conti GT 650 with that new price range...makes it more accessible to more buyers. That RM10k price difference is a big boon for buyers.
If we are talking about the 50k current price, its a 20k difference, it goes from "out of their god damn mind" to "wow this bike looks pretty good, cheaper than the big 4 too" range.
TSlowpro
post Mar 15 2022, 11:16 AM

180 posts

QUOTE(chantakzee @ Mar 11 2022, 03:59 PM)
If we are talking about the 50k current price, its a 20k difference,  it goes from "out of their god damn mind" to "wow this bike looks pretty good, cheaper than the big 4 too" range.
Yup, that's probably the strategy they are employing, to flood the market with bikes at a lower price. It is a cycle. More bikes in the market, more parts dealers will spring up and more independent mechanics will also start doing these bikes. But it has to start with the importer/distributor. If they want to just sell 2 or 3 bikes a month and shake legs for the rest of the month, that market share growth and the benefits that come with it wont come about. The product is fairly decent but the price was not commensurate with what the products offer...until now.

There are more exciting products on the way like the Meteor 350 as well as the cruiser based on the 650, oh plus the scram411 (which looks way better than the Himalayan it is based on). Those new ones will only get noticed if the current bikes are able to storm the beachhead and create inward growth into the market. Once the brand is established, then only slowly push up the prices. We need to understand also, that the distributor needs proceeds from the margin to be plowed back into providing better customer service.

I'm hoping that the new team really does justice for this brand. And, if you haven't heard the exhaust note of the 650 twin, you should biggrin.gif
jaycee1
post Mar 15 2022, 01:11 PM

AFK
2,484 posts

QUOTE(chantakzee @ Mar 11 2022, 03:59 PM)
If we are talking about the 50k current price, its a 20k difference,  it goes from "out of their god damn mind" to "wow this bike looks pretty good, cheaper than the big 4 too" range.
QUOTE(lowpro @ Mar 15 2022, 11:16 AM)
Yup, that's probably the strategy they are employing, to flood the market with bikes at a lower price. It is a cycle. More bikes in the market, more parts dealers will spring up and more independent mechanics will also start doing these bikes. But it has to start with the importer/distributor. If they want to just sell 2 or 3 bikes a month and shake legs for the rest of the month, that market share growth and the benefits that come with it wont come about. The product is fairly decent but the price was not commensurate with what the products offer...until now.

There are more exciting products on the way like the Meteor 350 as well as the cruiser based on the 650, oh plus the scram411 (which looks way better than the Himalayan it is based on). Those new ones will only get noticed if the current bikes are able to storm the beachhead and create inward growth into the market. Once the brand is established, then only slowly push up the prices. We need to understand also, that the distributor needs proceeds from the margin to be plowed back into providing better customer service.

I'm hoping that the new team really does justice for this brand. And, if you haven't heard the exhaust note of the 650 twin, you should  biggrin.gif
Lets hope thats how it would pan out. at 30+ K, it looks to be finally a contender and can work at dropping the "are you mad" sticker shock. I could see myself getting the new Himalayan if the price was reasonable.

That price will cement them to go directly against the Chinese middle weights like CFMOTO and Benelli. A decidedly more high tech 700CL-X is priced 29k on the road, but I get the appeal of a simple, classic bike provided it has a pricetag to match.
basilisk
post Mar 15 2022, 01:48 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(lowpro @ Mar 15 2022, 11:16 AM)

I'm hoping that the new team really does justice for this brand. And, if you haven't heard the exhaust note of the 650 twin, you should  biggrin.gif
u can just imagine u r riding a re650 with higher performance engine, when u r on ur sv..

the sound kinda same liao.. .
basilisk
post Mar 15 2022, 01:59 PM

30 posts

price announce today??

sayafauzi
post Mar 15 2022, 02:23 PM

13 posts

https://youtu.be/SUI9dVvSZWs

Sorry... Dunno how to embed video...

12 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top