Need opinion on kitchen eating area, Peninsula or Table for 4?

Which one will you choose?

Peninsula [ 13 ] ** [44.83%]
Small Dining Table for 4 [ 16 ] ** [55.17%]
Total Votes: 29
Guests cannot vote 

BronzePlate
post Aug 11 2020, 08:40 PM

22 posts

Option 1.
Can add power outlets and charge phone/laptop or kitchen appliance.

Also, can role play with your wife as a drunk bugger asking for special service from bartender. Then can fark on the bar.
Syie9^_^
post Aug 11 2020, 08:44 PM

Catwoman
1,072 posts

QUOTE(blanket84 @ Aug 11 2020, 10:06 PM)
Yeah. Exactly what I thought. Quick breakfast area & membawang area.

But option 2 would save me up to 5k sweat.gif
you can have option 1 & 2.

Ask your ID. blush.gif nothing is impossible.

gordonchin
post Aug 11 2020, 08:46 PM

110 posts

Very cool design software, trying it out now. Thanks TS
fun_feng
post Aug 11 2020, 08:52 PM

One Cat to Rule Them ALL
2,289 posts

My house also option 1... But i thought will buy the chair later but end up never buy

I don't think it's feasible when your house have small kids
TSblanket84
post Aug 11 2020, 08:54 PM

1,521 posts

QUOTE(BronzePlate @ Aug 11 2020, 08:40 PM)
Option 1.
Can add power outlets and charge phone/laptop or kitchen appliance.

Also, can role play with your wife as a drunk bugger asking for special service from bartender. Then can fark on the bar.
Even with option 2, I would carefully plan the placement of the table so that I could fix power outlet and pendant light for better ambiance.

As for you second point, something new to consider brows.gif

QUOTE(Syie9^_^ @ Aug 11 2020, 08:44 PM)
you can have option 1 & 2.

Ask your ID.  blush.gif nothing is impossible.
I am my own ID. No money to hire proper ID. Need to rely from my reading, pintrest & forum to properly plan the space.

And not enough space for both, otherwise I would go for an Island.

QUOTE(gordonchin @ Aug 11 2020, 08:46 PM)
Very cool design software, trying it out now. Thanks TS
Free web base software from google. I think it's very commonly used for self ID planning.
TSblanket84
post Aug 11 2020, 08:56 PM

1,521 posts

QUOTE(fun_feng @ Aug 11 2020, 08:52 PM)
My house also option 1... But i thought will buy the chair later but end up never buy

I don't think it's feasible when your house have small kids
Then what do you do with the space? Solely as prep space?

My kids are 5 & 8 respectively and baby factory stopped production already. Still consider small kids?
SUSdjtong
post Aug 11 2020, 08:56 PM

109 posts

backrest itu penting
Ho Kah Heng
post Aug 11 2020, 09:07 PM

86 posts

QUOTE(blanket84 @ Aug 11 2020, 08:36 PM)
Yeah. Exactly what I thought. Quick breakfast area & membawang area.

But option 2 would save me up to 5k sweat.gif
if u diy urself, let say from ikea modular kitchen,
i think under 2k is enough, but of course if hire pipul
sure mark up one, but usually they will use compress
wood/particle board, ayam dont like, better plywood
than compress wood, or mdf.
TSblanket84
post Aug 11 2020, 09:13 PM

1,521 posts

QUOTE(Ho Kah Heng @ Aug 11 2020, 09:07 PM)
if u diy urself, let say from ikea modular kitchen,
i think under 2k is enough, but of course if hire pipul
sure mark up one, but usually they will use compress
wood/particle board, ayam dont like, better plywood
than compress wood, or mdf.
5k is for plywood + nyatoh kitchen cabinet.

Ikea kitchen is particleboard and too tall for me and my wife.

DIY from scratch isn't really an option sweat.gif
TSblanket84
post Aug 11 2020, 09:13 PM

1,521 posts

QUOTE(djtong @ Aug 11 2020, 08:56 PM)
backrest itu penting
Stool in photo is just a placeholder. Not exactly the type of stool I planned to buy.

This post has been edited by blanket84: Aug 11 2020, 09:14 PM
fun_feng
post Aug 11 2020, 09:57 PM

One Cat to Rule Them ALL
2,289 posts

QUOTE(blanket84 @ Aug 11 2020, 08:56 PM)
Then what do you do with the space? Solely as prep space?

My kids are 5 & 8 respectively and baby factory stopped production already. Still consider small kids?
I think it's too tall for them...

Besides if there is no fan, it will be quite hot
limfreelance
post Aug 11 2020, 09:59 PM

343 posts

option 1 is fit, looking like a bar, but use alot space..
option 2 is better can moveable, add more chair or space can re arrange.
Princess_Alicia
post Aug 11 2020, 10:06 PM

98 posts

QUOTE(blanket84 @ Aug 11 2020, 06:42 PM)
Dear /ktards,

I am deciding between 2 designs for eating area for my kitchen. Each design has it's pros and cons.

Please help me decide. Family of 4.

If you can add reasoning for you choice, that would be very helpful.

Option 1: Peninsula

Option 2: Small Dining Table for 4

Additional info to add since I become cleverer: I have a proper dining area that can seat 6-8. This is solely for kitchen.
Option 1 has very limited manoeuvrability. Eating at high table is not comfortable. Normally bar counter is for breakfast or fast meal. You only do it when your kitchen or dining has the extra space for it.

Where else, Option 2 is having great opportunity to have 4 to 6 seaters. It is also replaceable once you get boring with the table style.

Trust me, I’m a designer in a well known property developer.
TSblanket84
post Aug 11 2020, 10:07 PM

1,521 posts

QUOTE(fun_feng @ Aug 11 2020, 09:57 PM)
I think it's too tall for them...

Besides if there is no fan, it will be quite hot
I also think it a tad too tall for them. Which is why I need to buy stool with backrest if I were to go for option 1.

QUOTE(limfreelance @ Aug 11 2020, 09:59 PM)
option 1 is fit, looking like a bar, but use alot space..
option 2 is better can moveable, add more chair or space can re arrange.
Option 1 use a lot of space, but at the same time provide a lot of storage space & worktop space.

Option 2 is upgradable. I would say it's movable in my case since I will fix power outlet & pendant light.

limfreelance
post Aug 11 2020, 10:13 PM

343 posts

QUOTE(blanket84 @ Aug 11 2020, 10:07 PM)
I also think it a tad too tall for them. Which is why I need to buy stool with backrest if I were to go for option 1.
Option 1 use a lot of space, but at the same time provide a lot of storage space & worktop space.

Option 2 is upgradable. I would say it's movable in my case since I will fix power outlet & pendant light.
u dont need much storage space. if 2-3 year later u need to relocate the space..how?? kasi pecah?
option 1 look good but not practical. if u go for option 1, u can add bottle wine hanger on top with some florist deco. but still no good in maintenance wise.

bear in mind that option 1 duduk makan kaki tak selesa.

This post has been edited by limfreelance: Aug 11 2020, 10:15 PM
TSblanket84
post Aug 11 2020, 10:41 PM

1,521 posts

QUOTE(Princess_Alicia @ Aug 11 2020, 10:06 PM)
Option 1 has very limited manoeuvrability. Eating at high table is not comfortable. Normally bar counter is for breakfast or fast meal. You only do it when your kitchen or dining has the extra space for it.

Where else, Option 2 is having great opportunity to have 4 to 6 seaters. It is also replaceable once you get boring with the table style.

Trust me, I’m a designer in a well known property developer.
Yes. I have extra space in my kitchen. Hence why I am thinking of filling up the space with either breakfast counter or small dining table.

There is only 4 1/2 ft space from the end of counter to another cabinet. So, if I opt for dining table, I wouldn't be able to upgrade to 6 seater anyway.

And I already have a proper dining area. This area is only for simple meal dining

QUOTE(limfreelance @ Aug 11 2020, 10:13 PM)
u dont need much storage space. if 2-3 year later u need to relocate the space..how?? kasi pecah?
option 1 look good but not practical. if u go for option 1, u can add bottle wine hanger on top with some florist deco. but still no good in maintenance wise.

bear in mind that option 1 duduk makan kaki tak selesa.
Actually 1 of the reason I am leaning towards option 1 is that I do need lots of storage space. I got too many dinnerware sets, cookware set, pyrex, tupperware & etc that I need to store, not to mentioned I don't have pantry so I need to put everything in the cabinet. I'm afraid I will lose that space if I go for option 1.

The bolded part is something I need to consider. Thank you for highlighting that. I guess I have to test the options I have before I decide sweat.gif
TSblanket84
post Aug 11 2020, 11:32 PM

1,521 posts

Thanks /ktards for the input.

Dear mod empire23, could you please move my thread to Home Renovations & ID subsection so that I can hear more opinions from forumer there. Thanks.
hirano
post Aug 11 2020, 11:34 PM

凸(`△´#)
3,336 posts

QUOTE(blanket84 @ Aug 11 2020, 11:32 PM)
Thanks /ktards for the input.

Dear mod empire23, could you please move my thread to Home Renovations & ID subsection so that I can hear more opinions from forumer there. Thanks.
Sudah pakai, sepah di buang
Sudah settle in /k, move out topic pulak
Kacang lupakan kulit
TSblanket84
post Aug 11 2020, 11:36 PM

1,521 posts

QUOTE(hirano @ Aug 11 2020, 11:34 PM)
Sudah pakai, sepah di buang
Sudah settle in /k, move out topic pulak
Kacang lupakan kulit
I think whoever interested already chipped in their opinion. Time to look for more. Thanks for yours too..

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.0443sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th December 2025 - 12:22 AM