Is it too difficult to find a job?

jmtstan
post Sep 17 2021, 12:40 PM

77 posts

there's a lot of design vacancy in jobstreet. nowadays they require you to do digital marketing more than design works.

you have to learn about FB marketing, active in insta or tik tok. if you encounter cincai boss, then design work will be a bit easy, but if you encounter a fussy boss. the amendment counts are crazy.

I'm a graphic designer for printing almost 20 years. nowadays I'm in the sales department. Design is subjective. You'll find yourself facing lots of rejection from clients. but there will be small chance to get a cincai client, see design, then say ok proceed.

jmtstan
post Sep 17 2021, 12:51 PM

77 posts

QUOTE(Redshelf411 @ Apr 12 2021, 08:57 PM)
More than 100 people apply usually. Sometimes can go up to 1000 applications and more just for the same 1 job posting on any job sites.

Malaysian employers looking for employees with multiple skill sets apply to every other industry tbh. I'm in the media industry and tbh a lot of employers want someone who have:

PR skills
Design skills
Writing skills
Advertising skills
Marketing skills
Events management skills

A lot of requirements but not necessarily need every skill listed. EVen if let's say you have all the skills to offer, they will pay you peanuts. Pay peanuts attract monkeys lah. What to expect.
add in Web design skill. you have to learn about generating user data, mailing, e-commerce thing also. Event management skills can be easily learn as you work, like throw you to manage an exhibition, product launching.

pay is little, the career ladder is small.

that is why i transition from graphic designer to doing sales administration & marketing.
jmtstan
post Sep 18 2021, 09:23 AM

77 posts

i work as graphic designer for wedding, and mostly deals with touch up photos. my HQ distribute cameras.. so hv to do flyers and other promo stuff every month.

But then 10 years later, i left the company and switch profession to be business admin & sales.

I don't want to rely on design skill to make living. Coz as you grow old, many younger designer will eventually replaces you with a cheaper price. At least now i have the outlet managing, admin, marketing skills on my resume.

jmtstan
post Sep 20 2021, 03:02 PM

77 posts

start learning about digital marketing, basic understanding of website design, social media posting, e-commerce. coz majority these are very important for design jobs.

and also some animation skill. play around with adobe after effects and premiere and other major video editing software.

no need to learn 3D editing. if you want, can learn in free time.

jmtstan
post Mar 24 2022, 09:00 AM

77 posts

QUOTE(Flying_unicorn00 @ Mar 23 2022, 04:56 PM)
Yes very true!!I've came across situation like this in my company.
They will prefer to hire fresh-grad than using someone who is well experienced in the industry
that is why most of the time i receive artwork from customers, all never follow the bleeding, the cmyk color etc. rules... all done by amateur designer.

0.0180sec    0.55    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 09:31 PM