Dec 30 2022, 12:03 AM
95 posts Joined: Oct 2021 |
The way bank credit cards work with TNG is very different. It does not require a real time money deduction from TNG card, instead, it is a credit transaction which means Credit company takes the risk, TNG let you pass the toll first then collect the money from Credit card company later on. That's exactly how Zing card works.
Only less than 25% of Malaysia adults have credit cards and not all credit cards are working with TNG, apparently this cannot be the universal solution. NFC chip and Paywave chip interfere with each other, and there is no way Visa would agree to do away with Paywave function, so NFC has to go. There is still a hope that future NFC chip can overcome such interference issue with Paywave chip, only then we can have both NFC and Paywave functions co-exist QUOTE(gooroojee @ Dec 29 2022, 08:04 PM) |
Dec 30 2022, 11:40 PM
If credit card, bank underwrite the risk and that's "Credit" means anyway.
If debit card, risk is managed by such auto reload function once balance below certain threshhold. Another thing is that TNG uses Mifare chip before for their old TNG card. The new "enhanced NFC card" is using different NFC chip. And that NFC chip cannot work with Paywave at the same time. I am not sure about old MiFare chip actually QUOTE(aniq8676 @ Dec 30 2022, 06:52 AM) |
Dec 30 2022, 11:45 PM
If someone able to hack into TNG system, it won't be one victim, it will be hundred of thousand victims. why not just take 2000RM while you can take millions.
Most of these victims either gave their OTP to fraudsters and/or download apk file from unsafe sources which compromised their phones and intercept the OPT. That's why BNM mandates alternative authentification methods in addition to OTP. Glad that TNG commited to do that by Mar'23, 3 months ahead of bank deadline QUOTE(ericlaiys @ Dec 30 2022, 09:34 PM) |
Dec 30 2022, 11:47 PM
Jan 11 2023, 10:34 PM
A small tip, link your TNG card to e-wallet, it will NOT become dormant even you don't use it for more than 1 year. Actually that's the easiest way to check your card balance and with this added benefits, I don't see any reason why people don't link their card to ewallet QUOTE(ericlaiys @ Jan 11 2023, 09:44 AM) wongmunkeong liked this post
Jan 25 2023, 11:59 PM
QUOTE(contestchris @ Jan 25 2023, 11:57 PM) If you take a look at the Visa card, it is "Touch and Go ewallet Visa", Not "Touch and Go Visa"...... I don't think that's necessary, the wallet is obvious not a card. You have no idea how many people from the older generation have been talking about getting the TnG Visa card for both the "credit card" and "toll payment" features. The issue is TnG, historically known to have a single card that was to pay toll primarily (and also then for public transport, parking etc), now has launched a card under very similar branding that is confusing the populace at large. |
Jan 26 2023, 12:00 AM
If you take a look at the Visa card, it is "Touch and Go ewallet Visa", Not "Touch and Go Visa"......
QUOTE(contestchris @ Jan 25 2023, 11:57 PM) I don't think that's necessary, the wallet is obvious not a card. You have no idea how many people from the older generation have been talking about getting the TnG Visa card for both the "credit card" and "toll payment" features. The issue is TnG, historically known to have a single card that was to pay toll primarily (and also then for public transport, parking etc), now has launched a card under very similar branding that is confusing the populace at large. |
Jan 26 2023, 12:08 AM
BTW, not sure whether people knows Touch and Go and Touch and Go ewallet are two different legal entities with entirely different management team and shareholder structure. And they are in very different businesses, Touch and Go is in Toll/Parking business while Touch and Go ewallet is a Fintech which focus on universal payment and digital financial services. It is like AirAsia and BigPay, or Petronas and Setel.
QUOTE(contestchris @ Jan 25 2023, 11:57 PM) I don't think that's necessary, the wallet is obvious not a card. You have no idea how many people from the older generation have been talking about getting the TnG Visa card for both the "credit card" and "toll payment" features. The issue is TnG, historically known to have a single card that was to pay toll primarily (and also then for public transport, parking etc), now has launched a card under very similar branding that is confusing the populace at large. |
Feb 8 2023, 11:31 PM
Using GO+ to make payment has no issues, only cannot cashin or cashout. Seems Microsoft Azure Cloud is down which impacted GO+ QUOTE(beLIEve @ Feb 8 2023, 10:54 PM) lovelyuser and beLIEve liked this post
Feb 19 2023, 06:43 PM
a lot of reload pin is bought using CC, like from Lazada, Zcity etc...
QUOTE(xander2k8 @ Feb 19 2023, 06:10 PM) |
Feb 23 2023, 07:40 PM
Reload using Credit Card and PIN got certain restrictions, and if you do excessive cashout, your account could be suspended. Reload using Debit card or FPX has no restriction and will not get banned.
Bank will never allow you to transfer money from credit card to bank account. While ewallet allow you to reload money using credit card, but it also has a function to transfer to bank. That is obviously a systematic loophole. Before regulator totally shut this down, wallet will also do something about it. QUOTE(lovelyuser @ Feb 23 2023, 05:49 PM) |
Mar 12 2023, 04:08 PM
1) Yes
2) Why bother in a hurry? "Transferable" will remain transferable, you can transfer it out anytime you want. Only the fresh fund which you want to transfer out and more than 1000RM will subject to 1% fee. QUOTE(MGM @ Mar 12 2023, 03:49 PM) |
Apr 5 2023, 07:48 PM
If you use Visa card to make payment, then it can come from either transferable or non-transferable balance (Non-Transferable balance will be used as 1st funding sources, transferable as backup) If you use Visa card to do ATM withdrawal, then ONLY transferable balance QUOTE(ben3003 @ Apr 5 2023, 02:42 PM) lovelyuser and ben3003 liked this post
Apr 8 2023, 03:50 PM
It will be mandatory for ALL banks by June'23. TNG wallet just did it earlier. So better get use to it. It is here to stay. This is BNM regulation, not optional anymore
QUOTE(contestchris @ Apr 8 2023, 03:15 PM) |
Apr 8 2023, 05:19 PM
Apr 8 2023, 05:22 PM
Once you link your new device by using "Face recognition", it will automatically unlink from your old device
Apr 9 2023, 02:31 PM
1 and 3 should NOT be a problem.
2 maybe, it depends on whether you are using wallet also do other payments besides withdrawal. The key word is "Excessive", if you use wallet for all kinds of activities and withdrawal is a reasonable % of total transaction, should not be a problem. If you use wallet primiarly just to cashout, then it will be flagged. Going forward, for people who paid 1%, should be ok as least TNG wallet recoup their cost of reload. QUOTE(jerantut2011 @ Apr 9 2023, 02:14 AM) In terms of getting "love letters" or blocked by Touch N Go from reloading using credit cards, is the following activity considered risky? 1) Reloading RM 1000 per month using credit card then transferring into GoInvest fund - without withdrawing for a few months 2) Reloading RM 1000 per month using credit card, transfer to GoInvest fund - then withdrawing a few weeks later? 3) Reloading more than RM 1000 per month by paying the 1% fee and transfer to GoInvest fund to save for 1 year before withdrawing? Is the Touch N Go system alerted at the point of transferring funds into GoInvest, or at the point of withdrawing from the GoInvest into a bank account? Thank you SiFUs !! |
| Change to: | 0.0443sec
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 01:23 AM |