Chat my son got accepted in SJKC union..., berdebar debar.

TSGon Freaks
post Aug 1 2020, 07:58 PM, updated 5y ago

387 posts

Hi K,

my son permohonan masuk sekolah SJKC union di terima...

whooaaah scary.........

this is gonna be challenging! i hope i m not pressuring him alot.

what do you guys think...susah ke skola sjkc ni?

Updates:

just wanted to share and give some support to others to be brave in taking new routes of education.

Praise to god, my kid got one of the top student recognition in his school for standard 1.

I didn't expect that to happen, and really happy. despite his schedule is tight as hell. he manages to nail it!

This post has been edited by Gon Freaks: Sep 6 2021, 01:14 PM
Boom Mortar
post Aug 1 2020, 07:58 PM

227 posts

Plotekkkkkkk

owai
leah235
post Aug 1 2020, 08:01 PM

DIMPLE EATER
1,215 posts

Ayam survivor

Just get ready for a lot of homework lol
bigwolf

275 posts

Not sure if genuine question or bait thread...
tankerbell12345

58 posts

traitor ?

knives.

101 posts

Keluar nanti english mesti teruk
diablos

260 posts

+the pressure is sure there...... both my kids is in srjkc too...
TSGon Freaks

387 posts

QUOTE(Boom Mortar @ Aug 1 2020, 07:58 PM)
Plotekkkkkkk

owai
tu laa risau. but what to do, i think i want him to explore something new for the family.
blek

720 posts

congrats, your son will bright future
TSGon Freaks
post Aug 1 2020, 08:02 PM

387 posts

QUOTE(leah235 @ Aug 1 2020, 08:01 PM)
Ayam survivor

wah..serious. can give me some guidance.
Rhetoric

554 posts

QUOTE(Gon Freaks @ Aug 1 2020, 07:58 PM)
Depends on your son brain. sjkc very competitive. He will definitely surpass you.
ridox_orimabu

Rightly Guided Leadership
1,872 posts

Congrats. He will be good there. Mine is accepted at sk seri hartamas.
smallcrab

140 posts

TS non cainis ?

SJKC great for discipline and highly promote hardwork
Lithium Hirumi
post Aug 1 2020, 08:04 PM

18 posts

ask for tongkat
Teddysaur

Socially cawkward πŸ¦„
435 posts

whats the problem that you die die want your son to be in sjkc?
unless youre a chinese then up to you lah

the way i see it, sjkc might be okay but if youre 'that' race, your kids are gonna have identity crisis.

just my two cents, goodluck millennial hipster parents

This post has been edited by Teddysaur: Aug 1 2020, 08:05 PM
leah235

DIMPLE EATER
1,215 posts

QUOTE(Gon Freaks @ Aug 1 2020, 08:02 PM)
Apa guidance you want?
Darjah 1 i always get 0 for spelling wakakakka
Suddenly becum pannai darjah 2πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

The power of rotan i guess
superbike

224 posts

If you think sjkc curriculum is good for your son in the long term, then go for it.
tankerbell12345
post Aug 1 2020, 08:05 PM

58 posts

QUOTE(Teddysaur @ Aug 1 2020, 08:04 PM)

the way i see it, sjkc might be okay but if youre 'that' race, your kids are gonna have identity crisis.

just my two cents, goodluck millennial parents
later come out want to be sepet
TSGon Freaks
post Aug 1 2020, 08:05 PM

387 posts

QUOTE(bigwolf @ Aug 1 2020, 08:01 PM)
no man. i am serious. i am a man that dont see skin color.
Artak
post Aug 1 2020, 08:06 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(Gon Freaks @ Aug 1 2020, 11:58 PM)
Hi K,

whooaaah scary.........

good. now that hes in he dun have to try hard, as long as he graduate. the moment people see his sjkc cert, he will get a job even if he doesnt speak mandarin.
TSGon Freaks
post Aug 1 2020, 08:07 PM

387 posts

QUOTE(diablos @ Aug 1 2020, 08:01 PM)
+the pressure is sure there...... both my kids is in  srjkc too...
wow seriously, takut nya. can we be dad friends?

QUOTE(knives. @ Aug 1 2020, 08:01 PM)
at home we converse in english. you can check out my kid youtube video. what i am worried about is his malay language. agak teruk.

QUOTE(tankerbell12345 @ Aug 1 2020, 08:01 PM)
traitor ?
x la.. i still antar skola agama.
Captain89
post Aug 1 2020, 08:07 PM

Jiken
3,190 posts

Private school no pressure
Happy all the way ohwai
Teddysaur
post Aug 1 2020, 08:08 PM

Socially cawkward πŸ¦„
435 posts

QUOTE(tankerbell12345 @ Aug 1 2020, 08:05 PM)
assuming TS is 'that' race

later dont blame the kids pulak when they do something against your religion
or cant mix with his or her own race

honestly, there's a big gap
obviously it's because of the religion

but I assume TS might be the modern liberal hipster millennial parents
so whatever you decide to your kids is honestly your problem.

But again, assuming TS is 'that' race and religion lah
knives.
post Aug 1 2020, 08:08 PM

101 posts

QUOTE(Gon Freaks @ Aug 1 2020, 08:07 PM)
at home we converse in english. you can check out my kid youtube video. what i am worried about is his malay language. agak teruk.
Malay not important bahahhahahhaa .

Brb, jailed.

yhtan
post Aug 1 2020, 08:09 PM

8,653 posts

homework quite a lot, especially writing in chinese word. Btw it is a good foundation for your children
Matatai
post Aug 1 2020, 08:11 PM

139 posts

Macam lah kalau pegi sk keluar confirm english tahap dewa
aeonbig
post Aug 1 2020, 08:12 PM

65 posts

And SK is better is it.

toughguy
post Aug 1 2020, 08:12 PM

105 posts

Non Chinese apply Chinese speaker job is an added advantage. Congrats.
knives.
post Aug 1 2020, 08:13 PM

101 posts

QUOTE(aeonbig @ Aug 1 2020, 08:12 PM)
And SK is better is it.
By a mile
SUSXXXOOOXXXOOO
post Aug 1 2020, 08:14 PM

1,471 posts

QUOTE(Gon Freaks @ Aug 1 2020, 08:05 PM)
no man. i am serious. i am a man that dont see skin color.
No worry mate, let them explore different cultures
cassian948
post Aug 1 2020, 08:14 PM

931 posts

Hi K,

whooaaah scary.........

The fact that yourself not sure your decision that you have made, indicates a problem.
aeonbig
post Aug 1 2020, 08:15 PM

65 posts

QUOTE(knives. @ Aug 1 2020, 08:13 PM)
By a mile
Sureeeeeee.

If you think SK and SJK is the reason why someone is good in English then sure.
SUSprince12

46 posts

Actually SJKC is very good in term of education and unity,

Just don't get it why some people hate it. Hope gov can built more vernacular schools in future.
Gyazo

20 posts

can become phone seller next 10 years
terradrive
post Aug 1 2020, 08:16 PM

RRAAAWWRRRRR
1,943 posts

Susah at first learning new language if you are not chinese. But congrats because sjkc usually have better discipline, much less bullying issues, stricter teachers.
xtreme~~
post Aug 1 2020, 08:16 PM

206 posts

you malay?
HafeesFadil
post Aug 1 2020, 08:18 PM

170 posts

Good future. Can join DAP soon.

Ohwaiii
RallyNight
post Aug 1 2020, 08:19 PM

1,141 posts

People just overreacted jer. Same as sjk
SUSrenomahans
post Aug 1 2020, 08:24 PM

523 posts

Hi K,

whooaaah scary.........

Primary or Secondary ?

If he cannot survive Primary, how is he gonna survive UEC ?
SotongBiru
post Aug 1 2020, 08:25 PM

200 posts

If you are looking for a typical Chinese school, this is not it. The majority of the kids in this school do not speak Chinese. Your kid will learn English instead ... Hahaha.

Anyway, it is a very laid back school but a good balance.
SUSrenomahans
post Aug 1 2020, 08:25 PM

523 posts

QUOTE(NaVigat3 @ Aug 1 2020, 08:19 PM)
Anak aku hantar masuk sjkc sebab nak belajar mandarin supaya kurang mudah nk kena tipu dengan tokey2 ja.

Lepas dh boleh tokok dalam mandarin, kasi keluar belajar normal school bagi reti bergaul dgn semua kaum.
I know one melei guy kolik, really respek him

he came from cainis school, he can converse in mandarin very well.

This post has been edited by renomahans: Aug 1 2020, 08:25 PM
LarryPizzaGuy
post Aug 1 2020, 08:26 PM

/k 20k Club (Verified)
880 posts

QUOTE(smallcrab @ Aug 1 2020, 08:02 PM)
TS non cainis ?

^^ This.

Gon Freaks SJKC won't be easy for your son... but it will be a damn good training ground to start. SJKC will instil discipline and teach your son the value of hardwork (or smart to work around the system).

There will be a lot of homework and after school curriculum activities (on weekdays and Saturdays). Other than homework, I believe your kid will enjoy the after school activities smile.gif (but be prepared to budget for those equipment laaa)
nasiputih
post Aug 1 2020, 08:26 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(NaVigat3 @ Aug 1 2020, 08:19 PM)
Anak aku hantar masuk sjkc sebab nak belajar mandarin supaya kurang mudah nk kena tipu dengan tokey2 ja.

Lepas dh boleh tokok dalam mandarin, kasi keluar belajar normal school bagi reti bergaul dgn semua kaum.
when you sending your anak to afrika? supaya kurang mudah nk kena tipu dengan nigerian scammer ?.
nasiputih
post Aug 1 2020, 08:27 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(LarryPizzaGuy @ Aug 1 2020, 08:26 PM)
^^ This.

Gon Freaks SJKC won't be easy for your son... but it will be a damn good training ground to start. SJKC will instil discipline and teach your son the value of hardwork (or smart to work around the system).

There will be a lot of homework and after school curriculum activities (on weekdays and Saturdays). Other than homework, I believe your kid will enjoy the after school activities smile.gif (but be prepared to budget for those equipment laaa)
sjkc is gulag or sparta training?

nasiputih
post Aug 1 2020, 08:28 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(renomahans @ Aug 1 2020, 08:25 PM)

the amois he converse with, what cups?
brkli
post Aug 1 2020, 08:28 PM

592 posts

ya, will be hard because govt want to close it down as it is claimed to be spoiling Malaysia racial harmony.
iSean
post Aug 1 2020, 08:30 PM

iz old liao.
4,504 posts

Hi K,

whooaaah scary.........

blink.gif
1. Did your kid learn Bahasa Cina in Pre-School? And graded okay?
2. Are you planning to put some emphasis teaching your kids Bahasa Cina? By finding a private tutor?
There will be rough times if your kids have trouble with the language, later his Maths and Science also hancur.
SUSrenomahans
post Aug 1 2020, 08:31 PM

523 posts

QUOTE(nasiputih @ Aug 1 2020, 08:28 PM)
the amois he converse with, what cups?
office is majority melei.

but amoi too few.
SUSNew Klang
post Aug 1 2020, 08:32 PM

4,998 posts

Human's intelligence is not racist.

There are many non Chinese in SKJC that excel. I know one Malay girl who lives at PPR who does well. There are many more examples that others can share.
TSGon Freaks
post Aug 1 2020, 08:33 PM

387 posts

TS non cainis ?

no i am not.

QUOTE(Rhetoric @ Aug 1 2020, 08:02 PM)
Depends on your son brain. sjkc very competitive. He will definitely surpass you.
nice. i want him too.

QUOTE(blek @ Aug 1 2020, 08:01 PM)
congrats, your son will bright future
well i dont put any expectation. i want him to explore life.
xpole
post Aug 1 2020, 08:34 PM

Rain on me baby
1,410 posts

Primary school send sjkc, secondary school enter smk.

kkk8787
post Aug 1 2020, 08:36 PM

Julyd8th
2,529 posts

Hi K,

whooaaah scary.........

U r from cyberjaya?
blek
post Aug 1 2020, 08:38 PM

720 posts

QUOTE(xpole @ Aug 1 2020, 08:34 PM)
Primary school send sjkc, secondary school enter smk.
after SJKC send to private school, gotta make friend with dato tansri son or grandson
leftycall9
post Aug 1 2020, 08:39 PM

Left of leftist
1,046 posts

If you can afford please hire private tutor or send to tuition school to strengthen his language skills to master other subjects like Math.
I have 2 malay colleagues who sent their children to SRJK too both also hired private tutor to help them. Their kids schedules really packed with other extra classes too. Some might say fuyyooooo damn kiasu parents but believe me if you want the best for your kids,this is the way.

This post has been edited by leftycall9: Aug 1 2020, 08:41 PM
Blackops981
post Aug 1 2020, 08:40 PM

82 posts

I spent 1.5 years here, pretty decent place. Spoke more
England than cina tho
damonlbs
post Aug 1 2020, 08:41 PM

487 posts

ur son gonna become DAP supporter

gonna bring shame to the family
TSGon Freaks
post Aug 1 2020, 08:42 PM

387 posts

QUOTE(Captain89 @ Aug 1 2020, 08:07 PM)
Happy all the way ohwai
no money sad.gif

QUOTE(leah235 @ Aug 1 2020, 08:04 PM)
Apa guidance you want?
Darjah 1 i always get 0 for spelling wakakakka
Suddenly becum pannai darjah 2πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

The power of rotan i guess
haaha garang ke laushe..?

QUOTE(Artak @ Aug 1 2020, 08:06 PM)
good. now that hes in he dun have to try hard, as long as he graduate. the moment people see his sjkc cert, he will get a job even if he doesnt speak mandarin.
yeah. i not put expectation he become a straight A student.
Bill888
post Aug 1 2020, 08:43 PM

Sure better lah if you serious. But if kid want play play will suffer.
myway1985
post Aug 1 2020, 08:43 PM

12,091 posts

u sure or not? recent yrs graduate so teruk? which union? penang 1?
DarkAeon
post Aug 1 2020, 08:44 PM

774 posts

QUOTE(damonlbs @ Aug 1 2020, 08:41 PM)

better than cry outside court house bring shame to the race
TSGon Freaks
post Aug 1 2020, 08:45 PM

387 posts

QUOTE(yhtan @ Aug 1 2020, 08:09 PM)
homework quite a lot, especially writing in chinese word. Btw it is a good foundation for your children
yes, hoping for this.
QUOTE(knives. @ Aug 1 2020, 08:08 PM)
Malay not important bahahhahahhaa .

Brb, jailed.
haha. check my kid malay in his youtube video, pretty bad.

QUOTE(Teddysaur @ Aug 1 2020, 08:08 PM)
assuming TS is 'that' race

later dont blame the kids pulak when they do something against your religion
or cant mix with his or her own race

honestly, there's a big gap
obviously it's because of the religion

but I assume TS might be the modern liberal hipster millennial parents
so whatever you decide to your kids is honestly your problem.

But again, assuming TS is 'that' race and religion lah
i am a muslim, just went for haj like 2 years ago. smile.gif

you can check my kids youtube channel.

Faleeq growing up adventure.

limfreelance
post Aug 1 2020, 08:45 PM

343 posts

international school England > all
SUSWayCock
post Aug 1 2020, 08:47 PM

21 posts

Hi K,

whooaaah scary.........

U Malay?
Good luck, my Malay friend who study in sjkc last time
Now drink beer and makan bakuteh

SUSAllnGap

[ Modding with Passion(tm) ]
4,561 posts

Hi K,

whooaaah scary.........

later your kid start puji LGE how ?
tendang him is it ? laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
ClessRV

702 posts

not sure in the peninsular, but it isn't an issue or something to worry about if in sabah/sarawak, but it will be an advantage to your son, knowing an extra language is always good.
sixshot
post Aug 1 2020, 08:48 PM

464 posts

Skjc canteen got sell pork or not?

Serious question
Captain89
post Aug 1 2020, 08:50 PM

Jiken
3,190 posts

QUOTE(Gon Freaks @ Aug 1 2020, 08:42 PM)
no money sad.gif
yeah. i not put expectation he become a straight A student.
I stand with your decision
They will stand out, learning extra languages
Learn to be more hardworking and independent

Always support them, they will shine in future smile.gif
TSGon Freaks
post Aug 1 2020, 08:52 PM

387 posts

QUOTE(prince12 @ Aug 1 2020, 08:15 PM)

Just don't get it why some people hate it. Hope gov can built more vernacular schools in future.
hmm not sure about that. just different culture is good.

QUOTE(cassian948 @ Aug 1 2020, 08:14 PM)
The fact that yourself not sure your decision that you have made, indicates a problem.
well, i am sure of my desicion. just worried.

QUOTE(XXXOOOXXXOOO @ Aug 1 2020, 08:14 PM)
No worry mate, let them explore different cultures
yes! this i my intention. world is a place for differences.

QUOTE(toughguy @ Aug 1 2020, 08:12 PM)
Non Chinese apply Chinese speaker job is an added advantage. Congrats.
but i hope die tak jadi kerja makan gaji.lol i want him to be innovator.

QUOTE(aeonbig @ Aug 1 2020, 08:12 PM)
And SK is better is it.
ok gak. i am from all boys scool, my english lepas band 5 la...
pgsiemkia
post Aug 1 2020, 08:52 PM

473 posts

Hi K,

whooaaah scary.........

You’re not cainis? Will be problem with homework and assignments. You can forget about being in .top 3 class if your son is not in the top 30 of the class. The teachers tend to not bother the belakang classes as those are the trouble makers or will not aspire to be scholars. Only good thing is your son will pick up an extra language and the study culture shd influence him to do better.

I’m not cainis also and my wife is from english school like me, lucky my in laws very good in mandarin.

QUOTE(sixshot @ Aug 1 2020, 08:48 PM)
Skjc canteen got sell pork or not?

Serious question
No, no and never. Even when I was in school during 80s in Pg. Sendiri bring and bungkus got..

This post has been edited by pgsiemkia: Aug 1 2020, 08:55 PM
TSGon Freaks
post Aug 1 2020, 08:54 PM

387 posts

QUOTE(SotongBiru @ Aug 1 2020, 08:25 PM)
If you are looking for a typical Chinese school, this is not it. The majority of the kids in this school do not speak Chinese. Your kid will learn English instead ... Hahaha.

Anyway, it is a very laid back school but a good balance.
oh ye ke?didnt know that.

QUOTE(renomahans @ Aug 1 2020, 08:24 PM)
Primary or Secondary ?

darjah 1.

QUOTE(HafeesFadil @ Aug 1 2020, 08:18 PM)
Good future. Can join DAP soon.

Ohwaiii
nah. not politics

QUOTE(xtreme~~ @ Aug 1 2020, 08:16 PM)
you malay?
can say so.

check my kids utube video.

QUOTE(terradrive @ Aug 1 2020, 08:16 PM)
Susah at first learning new language if you are not chinese. But congrats because sjkc usually have better discipline, much less bullying issues, stricter teachers.
he is going through intensive home tuition right now.

SUSXXXOOOXXXOOO
post Aug 1 2020, 08:59 PM

1,471 posts

QUOTE(Gon Freaks @ Aug 1 2020, 08:54 PM)
oh ye ke?didnt know that.
darjah 1.
nah. not politics
can say so.

check my kids utube video.
he is going through intensive home tuition right now.
You should be worry about urself tongue.gif when ur son bring you his homework in chinese ..... hahhahahaha
but is good to have culture mix, i study in srjk but my neighbor is malay and indian so no race issue for me...
bunswkens
post Aug 1 2020, 09:00 PM

I'm a Malay, my kids 8 of them are schooled in SJKC. My humble advise to you, if you kid didn't go to chinese kindergarden, you better forget about it. Basic chinese characters only be learned during KG
enviro
post Aug 1 2020, 09:03 PM

511 posts

QUOTE(Artak @ Aug 1 2020, 08:06 PM)
Sjkc but cannot speak mandrin?
Sha91
post Aug 1 2020, 09:05 PM

236 posts

Ayam survivor

No wonder you were using some Hokkien words!

By the way TS, my Chinese friend once told me, Chinese (his circles) normally will send their kids to SJKC to learn their mother tongue and English (all boys) school for secondary, so they can master both languages. I do think it`s a great idea thumbup.gif
TSGon Freaks
post Aug 1 2020, 09:06 PM

387 posts

QUOTE(leftycall9 @ Aug 1 2020, 08:39 PM)
If you can afford please hire private tutor or send to tuition school to strengthen his language skills to master other subjects like Math.
I have 2 malay colleagues who sent their children to SRJK too both also hired private tutor to help them. Their kids schedules really packed with other extra classes too. Some might say fuyyooooo damn kiasu parents but believe me if you want the best for your kids,this is the way.
yes. doing that now.

QUOTE(kkk8787 @ Aug 1 2020, 08:36 PM)
U r from cyberjaya?
yes

QUOTE(LarryPizzaGuy @ Aug 1 2020, 08:26 PM)
^^ This.

ok. will prepare.thanks!

QUOTE(renomahans @ Aug 1 2020, 08:25 PM)

nice

SUSSaltiez
post Aug 1 2020, 09:08 PM

Yrs ago, My entire household can't speak mandarin bit sent my son to sjkc anyway. He got on fine. Important to remind him to take it easy and that we are not from mandarin background.
SUSXXXOOOXXXOOO
post Aug 1 2020, 09:09 PM

1,471 posts

QUOTE(Sha91 @ Aug 1 2020, 09:05 PM)

By the way TS, my Chinese friend once told me, Chinese (his circles) normally will send their kids to SJKC to learn their mother tongue and English (all boys) school for secondary, so they can master both languages.  I do think it`s a great idea  thumbup.gif
my australia (citizen, previously Malaysia malay) friend, send his son back to malaysia for srjk, than go back oz after primary ...
TSGon Freaks
post Aug 1 2020, 09:10 PM

387 posts

QUOTE(pgsiemkia @ Aug 1 2020, 08:52 PM)
You’re not cainis? Will be problem with homework and assignments. You can forget about being in .top 3 class if your son is not in the top 30 of the class. The teachers tend to not bother the belakang classes as those are the trouble makers or will not aspire to be scholars. Only good thing is your son will pick up an extra language and the study culture shd influence him to do better.

I’m not cainis also and my wife is from english school like me, lucky my in laws very good in mandarin.
No, no and never. Even when I was in school during 80s in Pg. Sendiri bring and bungkus got..
nvm. not aiming for him to be straight A student.

QUOTE(WayCock @ Aug 1 2020, 08:47 PM)
U Malay?
Good luck, my Malay friend who study in sjkc last time
Now drink beer and makan bakuteh
i send him agama class also.

QUOTE(damonlbs @ Aug 1 2020, 08:41 PM)

no la. no politics.

fun_feng

One Cat to Rule Them ALL
2,289 posts

Don't worry, my kids school also byk Malay...

My kids mandarin also sux
TSGon Freaks

387 posts

QUOTE(bunswkens @ Aug 1 2020, 09:00 PM)
I'm a Malay, my kids 8 of them are schooled in SJKC. My humble advise to you, if you kid didn't go to chinese kindergarden, you better forget about it. Basic chinese characters only be learned during KG
he is able to read in mandarin now.
Robin Hood
post Aug 1 2020, 09:11 PM

289 posts

I think 1 more thing u need to be prepare is money. Chinese schools are basically runs through donations. So in a year they probably be asking u to help n donate for various reasons

This post has been edited by Robin Hood: Aug 1 2020, 09:11 PM
knives.

101 posts

QUOTE(Robin Hood @ Aug 1 2020, 09:11 PM)
I think 1 more thing u need to be prepare is money. Chinese schools are basically runs through donations. So in a year there probably be asking u to help n donate for various reasons
Donate to the cause.

Mao Ze Dong needs you
SUSXXXOOOXXXOOO

1,471 posts

QUOTE(Gon Freaks @ Aug 1 2020, 09:10 PM)
he is able to read in mandarin now.
sooner he going to XXXXXX you in mandarin tongue.gif
SUSGibeDeMuny

92 posts

moto alekjek
pgsiemkia
post Aug 1 2020, 09:13 PM

473 posts

i send him agama class also.
no la. no politics.
Better for bumi to be straight A student. After form 5 get to go UK for pre-u and straight Univ on gomen money. If he gets 1st class no need bayar balik, then can do Masters and get a good job overseas.

g5sim
post Aug 1 2020, 09:15 PM

5,756 posts

QUOTE(Gon Freaks @ Aug 1 2020, 08:02 PM)
yes! home work alot and after class tuition.
My kampung SJKC (rendah) dunno why sooo frequent after class tuition. Mungkin sebab nak compete in national exam result
SUSCincai lar
post Aug 1 2020, 09:16 PM

113 posts

so now u also can learn chinese,.. by reviewing your son homework,..
g5sim
post Aug 1 2020, 09:17 PM

5,756 posts

I think 1 more thing u need to be prepare is money. Chinese schools are basically runs through donations. So in a year they probably be asking u to help n donate for various reasons
not so the jenis bantuan kerajaan.
the fee not expensive also like government school
SUSXXXOOOXXXOOO
post Aug 1 2020, 09:19 PM

1,471 posts

QUOTE(g5sim @ Aug 1 2020, 09:15 PM)
yes! home work alot  and after class tuition.
My kampung SJKC (rendah) dunno why sooo frequent after class tuition. Mungkin sebab nak compete in national exam result
u don't forget srjk syllabus is different .... standard 4/5/6 equal to form 1 n form 2.
SUSarclynmen
post Aug 1 2020, 09:20 PM

60 posts

Say want to abolish vernacular school but sending kids to sjkc. How to abolish?
Chinese from SK here.
SUSkirito123
post Aug 1 2020, 09:22 PM

smart choice. later ur son grow up can flirt and get amoi gf brows.gif
MrBlackie33
post Aug 1 2020, 09:24 PM

Shhhhhhh
834 posts

better monitor him closely on homeworks, if cant catch up with others be prepared to kick out from school
true storyzz
kaiserreich
post Aug 1 2020, 09:25 PM

Pendekar Papan Kekunci
4,234 posts

Don't know why /k giving TS shit for sending his kids to SJKC like it is cancer
g5sim
post Aug 1 2020, 09:27 PM

5,756 posts

QUOTE(MrBlackie33 @ Aug 1 2020, 09:24 PM)
better monitor him closely on homeworks, if cant catch up with others be prepared to kick out from school
true storyzz
i was lazy in school never kicked out also tongue.gif

maybe kampung school not enough enrolment. cannot kick out tongue.gif
goodiemangold
post Aug 1 2020, 09:27 PM

113 posts

First, you have to accept that some parents are inherently discriminating to other parents that can't read mandarin. But look past it and you will realized that there are a lot of helpful ones around. Make friends with those that are willing to help as a lot of communication between school/teachers and parents are in mandarin.
A lot of English educated parents are sending their kids to SJKC so you do not need to worry too much if your child can communicate in English, as most of the kids start by talking with friends in English too.
g5sim
post Aug 1 2020, 09:28 PM

5,756 posts

QUOTE(kaiserreich @ Aug 1 2020, 09:25 PM)
its money. if can speak mandarin kerja contact centre also got language allowance lol
Blofeld
post Aug 1 2020, 09:29 PM

4,704 posts

those are the independent Chinese schools, not the govt sjkc
leah235
post Aug 1 2020, 09:29 PM

DIMPLE EATER
1,215 posts

QUOTE(Gon Freaks @ Aug 1 2020, 08:42 PM)

1 class 45 students.
If 1 lansi.... you get the idea.

My batch had 10 classes, so...... yeah. Need to control that way haha

QUOTE(Sha91 @ Aug 1 2020, 09:05 PM)

By the way TS, my Chinese friend once told me, Chinese (his circles) normally will send their kids to SJKC to learn their mother tongue and English (all boys) school for secondary, so they can master both languages.Β  I do think it`s a great ideaΒ   thumbup.gif
My dad sent me to school for me expand my circles... and not rigid to just malay culture. Sekali manatau, i also sama naik nakal lol.

But that time ayam attended srjk pagi, sekolah agama petang. Gitu la... siang baju lain petang baju lain lol!!!

This post has been edited by leah235: Aug 1 2020, 09:30 PM
goodiemangold
post Aug 1 2020, 09:32 PM

113 posts

QUOTE(arclynmen @ Aug 1 2020, 09:20 PM)
Say want to abolish vernacular school but sending kids to sjkc. How to abolish?
Chinese from SK here.
Actually I'm also from SK and I can't read Mandarin, luckily my wife can.
I sent my kids to SJKC. It's not a decision I take lightly but after surveying a few schools, it's depressing that SK quality has dropped so much which resulted in the decision to send the kids so SJKC.
I do however support the abolishment of vernacular school if SK schools are brought back to the qualities of yesteryear.
kelvinfixx
post Aug 1 2020, 09:36 PM

1,590 posts

lots of homework, activities, and get really to pay for donation which always ask from school for survival.
goodiemangold
post Aug 1 2020, 09:39 PM

113 posts

QUOTE(Blofeld @ Aug 1 2020, 09:29 PM)
those are the independent Chinese schools, not the govt sjkc
Govt ones also will request. Coz they have lots of activities
SUSFenix98
post Aug 1 2020, 09:41 PM

Happy Meal upsized Sir?
377 posts

Youre the last person that should be dishing advice....

Sha91
post Aug 1 2020, 09:42 PM

236 posts

QUOTE(leah235 @ Aug 1 2020, 09:29 PM)
1 class 45 students.
If 1 lansi.... you get the idea.

My batch had 10 classes, so...... yeah. Need to control that way haha
My dad sent me to school for me expand my circles... and not rigid to just malay culture. Sekali manatau, i also sama naik nakal lol.

But that time ayam attended srjk pagi, sekolah agama petang. Gitu la... siang baju lain petang baju lain lol!!!
Lol hantu rupanya.

Baju lain ka? I thought the same uniform. Sekolah agama in the afternoon is compulsory for the whole state, right?

melvin91motorola
post Aug 1 2020, 09:46 PM

349 posts

Good la....only sjkc, if he go smk later no need study also can own most in first year like me owaiii
leymahn

150 posts

*menghunus keris sound*
aspartame

3,165 posts

QUOTE(XXXOOOXXXOOO @ Aug 1 2020, 09:09 PM)
my australia (citizen, previously Malaysia malay) friend, send his son back to malaysia for srjk, than go back oz after primary ...
Wow...why he insisted on that? If Chinese I understand but Malay such strong insistence is first time I hear...πŸ˜€ Maybe he was from SJKC himself or what?
leah235
post Aug 1 2020, 09:48 PM

DIMPLE EATER
1,215 posts

QUOTE(Sha91 @ Aug 1 2020, 09:42 PM)
Lol hantu rupanya.

Baju lain ka? I thought the same uniform. Sekolah agama in the afternoon is compulsory for the whole state, right?
Lelaki go srjk wears shorts ma
If girls must wear pinafore

All not shariah compliance πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

Sekolah agama tu ada je yg tak go attend. The school quite convenient la. Near my house only lol. So i know a fee melei friends la
aspartame
post Aug 1 2020, 09:53 PM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(kaiserreich @ Aug 1 2020, 09:25 PM)
Huh? I didn’t see /k giving shit.. just facts which TS looking for....I think TS making a very good choice... one weakness of SJKC is English not so strong if parents never converse in English with them but TS said he speaks in English at home... therefore I think his son will be conversant in both mandarin and English ... though he might have to brush up Malay!

This post has been edited by aspartame: Aug 1 2020, 09:53 PM
alexkos
post Aug 1 2020, 09:54 PM

2,275 posts

Ayam survivor

true storey
silkysilk
post Aug 1 2020, 09:54 PM

198 posts

srjk better quality
SUSCincai lar
post Aug 1 2020, 09:57 PM

113 posts

QUOTE(leymahn @ Aug 1 2020, 09:46 PM)
*menghunus keris sound*
be calm,.. macha,.. be calm,...
SUSXXXOOOXXXOOO
post Aug 1 2020, 09:58 PM

1,471 posts

QUOTE(aspartame @ Aug 1 2020, 09:46 PM)
Wow...why he insisted on that? If Chinese I understand but Malay such strong insistence is first time I hear...πŸ˜€ Maybe he was from SJKC himself or what?
not really from srjk, cause he want his child learn few more language (chinese, malay and english) than study in OZ for english only.
kaiserreich
post Aug 1 2020, 09:59 PM

Pendekar Papan Kekunci
4,234 posts

QUOTE(aspartame @ Aug 1 2020, 09:53 PM)
Huh? I didn’t see /k giving shit.. just facts which TS looking for....I think TS making a very good choice... one weakness of SJKC is English not so strong if parents never converse in English with them but TS said he speaks in English at home... therefore I think his son will be conversant in both mandarin and English ... though he might have to brush up Malay!
Some guy say go SJKC kids will eat bakuteh, drink beer, or join DAP.

kerolzarmyfanboy
post Aug 1 2020, 10:00 PM

575 posts

maruah tercabar

This post has been edited by kerolzarmyfanboy: Aug 1 2020, 10:00 PM
Stigonboard
post Aug 1 2020, 10:01 PM

335 posts

I enrolled in sjkc for primary

While my math is good i cant say much for my english and bm lol
TSGon Freaks
post Aug 1 2020, 10:03 PM

387 posts

QUOTE(pgsiemkia @ Aug 1 2020, 09:13 PM)
Better for bumi to be straight A student. After form 5 get to go UK for pre-u and straight Univ on gomen money. If he gets 1st class no need bayar balik, then can do Masters and get a good job overseas.
nah. i hope he dont become makan gaji. i want him to become inventor.haha.
munak991
post Aug 1 2020, 10:03 PM

ZONIC!
2,746 posts

Srjk, standard 1 already after class tuition.

Night or after class.
Good luck to your boy, if he can ensure it, he will go somewhere
TSGon Freaks
post Aug 1 2020, 10:04 PM

387 posts

QUOTE(XXXOOOXXXOOO @ Aug 1 2020, 09:11 PM)
sooner he going to XXXXXX you in mandarin tongue.gif
bring it on biggrin.gif
aspartame
post Aug 1 2020, 10:05 PM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(kaiserreich @ Aug 1 2020, 09:59 PM)
Some guy say go SJKC kids will eat bakuteh, drink beer, or join DAP.
Lol... ok... on a serious note... bah Kut teh is not consumed in school setting... I have not heard of primary school students drinking beer..at least not common ... I think they dunno what DAP is..
zeist
post Aug 1 2020, 10:05 PM

Mivec 1800cc
15,182 posts

Decide for a purpose, not following the trend
yahiko
post Aug 1 2020, 10:07 PM

1,215 posts

Hi K,

whooaaah scary.........

Ok..
If parent have high expectations then the kids have high pressure.

Bagaimana ibubapa bagaimana anaknya. So just dont pressure them too much.

SUSCincai lar
post Aug 1 2020, 10:09 PM

113 posts

QUOTE(aspartame @ Aug 1 2020, 10:05 PM)
Lol... ok... on a serious note... bah Kut teh is not consumed in school setting... I have not heard of primary school students drinking beer..at least not common ... I think they dunno what DAP is..
i last time SK,.. but my school 80% chinese,.. got one time we smuggle beers when sleep overnight at school,...
kelvinlym

Yes, that was my car.
1,152 posts

Hi K,

whooaaah scary.........

How is his mandarin? Can he speak and understand mandarin well?

The Malaysian syllabus is brutal if he cannot understand mandarin because science and maths will be in mandarin too.
JimbeamofNRT

the Original Lanji@_ Chicken Rice Shop Since 2002
1,902 posts

Hi K,

whooaaah scary.........

u see sunset oren?

This post has been edited by JimbeamofNRT: Aug 1 2020, 10:10 PM
TSGon Freaks
post Aug 1 2020, 10:13 PM

387 posts

QUOTE(JimbeamofNRT @ Aug 1 2020, 10:09 PM)

u see sunset oren?
? tak faham. can explain pls.

QUOTE(kelvinlym @ Aug 1 2020, 10:09 PM)
How is his mandarin? Can he speak and understand mandarin well?

The Malaysian syllabus is brutal if he cannot understand mandarin because science and maths will be in mandarin too.
not good. but he started able to read now. speak can laa bit2.

QUOTE(zeist @ Aug 1 2020, 10:05 PM)
Decide for a purpose, not following the trend
is it a trend? i dont think so. my objective to broaden my kids horizon.
Pichu00
post Aug 1 2020, 10:15 PM

640 posts

SG also got Chinese that cannot speak English
vanhoe0
post Aug 1 2020, 10:15 PM

39 posts

Aku english ok saja. Tapi bukan belajar dari kelas la, tapi tengok drama/komedi BI banyak.
LarryPizzaGuy
post Aug 1 2020, 10:18 PM

/k 20k Club (Verified)
880 posts

Trying to survive in SJKC is hard enough on your son; don't pressure him, always remember that they're still kids going through their 7-12 year old journey.

As long as you son can pass school with a happy experience, its a win-win for him and his parents smile.gif

Being in an SJKC environment will help your son to learn and improve on Mandarin, which will come in handy and greatly beneficial for his future/career.

I came from SJKC, but continued to SMK... where I am right now... I sure am damn glad to have learned and pass my Mandarin for UPSR.
TSGon Freaks
post Aug 1 2020, 10:21 PM

387 posts

QUOTE(LarryPizzaGuy @ Aug 1 2020, 10:18 PM)
Trying to survive in SJKC is hard enough on your son; don't pressure him, always remember that they're still kids going through their 7-12 year old journey.

As long as you son can pass school with a happy experience, its a win-win for him and his parents smile.gif

Being in an SJKC environment will help your son to learn and improve on Mandarin, which will come in handy and greatly beneficial for his future/career.

I came from SJKC, but continued to SMK... where I am right now... I sure am damn glad to have learned and pass my Mandarin for UPSR.
i know. i somehow want him to have fun.
xtreme~~
post Aug 1 2020, 10:26 PM

206 posts

ok here's my advice as teacher. after half year like that ask you kid if he/she is still interested in learning Chinese. if your kid answer no, please just accept it and change school.

interest is important, i seen many parents send their kid to sjkc just because the school is near to home or parent themselves want their kid to learn Chinese. feel sad because the kid reject to learn Chinese and wasted years of education time. 6 years and the kid learn nothing at school.
TSGon Freaks
post Aug 1 2020, 10:27 PM

387 posts

QUOTE(xtreme~~ @ Aug 1 2020, 10:26 PM)
ok here's my advice as teacher. after half year like that ask you kid if he/she is still interested in learning Chinese. if your kid answer no, please just accept it and change school.

interest is important, i seen many parents send their kid to sjkc just because the school is near to home or parent themselves want their kid to learn Chinese. feel sad because the kid reject to learn Chinese and wasted years of education time. 6 years and the kid learn nothing at school.
ok thanks for the advice.
SUSCincai lar
post Aug 1 2020, 10:30 PM

113 posts

primary school is okay one lar,.. most student fail is the secondary,.. i'm from SK,.. learned my chinese at home,.. but when during secondary school i took extra class for chinese,.. read those ancient text,.. i kepala pening,.. drop off on form 2,.. never take exam,..

so ,.. i'm a olang cina separuh banana,..

This post has been edited by Cincai lar: Aug 1 2020, 10:30 PM
UserU
post Aug 1 2020, 10:31 PM

CSONLINE2.NET - FREE COUNTER-STRIKE
5,093 posts

For the best of both worlds, take your son to SMK after completing his UPSR.

Can mingle with multirace + speak Mandarin. No need to go thru hell during his youth.
Ayambetul
post Aug 1 2020, 10:34 PM

336 posts

And olang kite subject
Ayambetul
post Aug 1 2020, 10:34 PM

336 posts

And olang kite subject
empire23
post Aug 1 2020, 10:39 PM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

I’m also SRJK alumni, but Chung Kwok lol.

It’s tough, but I guess if you mentally prepare your kid for it and support them well, they’ll do just fine and come out better for it. My advice is to make sure they have the environment to practice the language. My mother spoke English and my father bm and English so it was a bit hard to get the practice time in.

All SRJK minimum sure ada one kedai melayu in the kantin that is halal one, thus I wouldn’t worry about food. Even in independent Chinese HS sure ade.
TSGon Freaks
post Aug 1 2020, 10:40 PM

387 posts

QUOTE(UserU @ Aug 1 2020, 10:31 PM)

Can mingle with multirace + speak Mandarin. No need to go thru hell during his youth.
i think so.

QUOTE(Cincai lar @ Aug 1 2020, 10:30 PM)
primary school is okay one lar,.. most student fail is the secondary,.. i'm from SK,.. learned my chinese at home,.. but when during secondary school i took extra class for chinese,.. read those ancient text,.. i kepala pening,.. drop off on form 2,.. never take exam,..

so ,.. i'm a olang cina separuh banana,..
ok. tq for the tips.
TSGon Freaks
post Aug 1 2020, 10:41 PM

387 posts

QUOTE(empire23 @ Aug 1 2020, 10:39 PM)
I’m also SRJK alumni, but Chung Kwok lol.

It’s tough, but I guess if you mentally prepare your kid for it and support them well, they’ll do just fine and come out better for it. My advice is to make sure they have the environment to practice the language. My mother spoke English and my father bm and English so it was a bit hard to get the practice time in.

All SRJK minimum sure ada one kedai melayu in the kantin that is halal one, thus I wouldn’t worry about food. Even in independent Chinese HS sure ade.
wow. this is a good advice. tq
SUSkastam
post Aug 1 2020, 10:42 PM

18 posts

ts must also help fight for UEC
TSGon Freaks
post Aug 1 2020, 10:43 PM

387 posts

QUOTE(kastam @ Aug 1 2020, 10:42 PM)
ts must also help fight for UEC
nope. not interested.
patienceGNR
post Aug 1 2020, 10:46 PM

β™₯ Ride All Day β™₯
2,058 posts

I hope not but what you said is true. Lots of my friends who come from sjkc English tak boleh harap... Ah eee oh ah ah I I I I I
TSGon Freaks
post Aug 1 2020, 10:47 PM

387 posts

QUOTE(patienceGNR @ Aug 1 2020, 10:46 PM)
I hope not but what you said is true. Lots of my friends who come from sjkc English tak boleh harap... Ah eee oh ah ah I I I I I
as i said, my son english is pretty good now. bm abit bad.
empire23
post Aug 1 2020, 10:47 PM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(Gon Freaks @ Aug 1 2020, 10:41 PM)
wow. this is a good advice. tq
I started out in SRJK Lai Meng when Zouk didn’t exist and Saloma was still there. Can say that 1/4 the class including myself were melayu.

Moved on to Chung Kwok because my auntie was on the PIBG. But I think the major culture shock part is fundraising as these schools pour a lot of their own money into facilities for the kids.

So sure lah mesti got jogathon fund raising and xyz fund raising. It’s a big deal in these schools and they want the best.

But even the dumbest among us would usually run rings around our SRK counterparts when it came to math and science, it’s a huge advantage I often take for granted.

If you speak English at home you’ll be fine. Chinese schools don’t put an emphasis on it but more affluent Chinese schools have a lot of kids from an English speaking background as well, thus your kid will learn it fine. Kampung SRJK is different story, but bandar one is fine.

This post has been edited by empire23: Aug 1 2020, 10:50 PM
TSGon Freaks
post Aug 1 2020, 10:49 PM

387 posts

QUOTE(empire23 @ Aug 1 2020, 10:47 PM)
I started out in SRJK Lai Meng when Zouk didn’t exist and Saloma was still there. Can say that 1/4 the class including myself were melayu.

Moved on to Chung Kwok because my auntie was on the PIBG. But I think the major culture shock part is fundraising as these schools pour a lot of their own money into facilities for the kids.

So sure lah mesti got jogathon fund raising and xyz fund raising. It’s a big deal in these schools and they want the best.

But even the dumbest among us would usually run rings around our SRK counterparts when it came to math and science, it’s a huge advantage I often take for granted.
very technical i guess?
empire23
post Aug 1 2020, 10:51 PM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(Gon Freaks @ Aug 1 2020, 10:49 PM)
very technical i guess?
I won’t lie, it is. Siap can bawak 3 bags of books to school.

But I survived fine. Your kid will be fine.
TSGon Freaks
post Aug 1 2020, 10:52 PM

387 posts

QUOTE(empire23 @ Aug 1 2020, 10:51 PM)
I won’t lie, it is. Siap can bawak 3 bags of books to school.

But I survived fine. Your kid will be fine.
thanks man! thanks for the encouraging view!
Slowpokeking
post Aug 1 2020, 10:54 PM

19 posts

Non Chinese here who studied in SRJK c.

Your son will be fine. It might be hard at first but he will eventually get used to it.
dickybird
post Aug 1 2020, 10:54 PM

2,093 posts

Banana parent like me, both my kids in sjkc ok je.
TSGon Freaks
post Aug 1 2020, 10:55 PM

387 posts

QUOTE(Slowpokeking @ Aug 1 2020, 10:54 PM)
Non Chinese here who studied in SRJK c.

Your son will be fine. It might be hard at first but he will eventually get used to it.
nice thanks bro.

did you start with basic? or naked entance?
TSGon Freaks
post Aug 1 2020, 10:56 PM

387 posts

QUOTE(dickybird @ Aug 1 2020, 10:54 PM)
Banana parent like me, both my kids in sjkc ok je.
banana parents means what?

my thread got reported? why leh?

This post has been edited by Gon Freaks: Aug 1 2020, 10:58 PM
hahakat88
post Aug 1 2020, 10:58 PM

207 posts

QUOTE(Gon Freaks @ Aug 1 2020, 10:56 PM)
banana = Chinese but can't speak mandarin
TSGon Freaks
post Aug 1 2020, 11:00 PM

387 posts

QUOTE(hahakat88 @ Aug 1 2020, 10:58 PM)
banana = Chinese but can't speak mandarin
oo ok thanks fr the info. appreciate it.
Slowpokeking
post Aug 1 2020, 11:01 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(Gon Freaks @ Aug 1 2020, 10:55 PM)
nice thanks bro.

did you start with basic? or naked entance?
Basic as in learning mandarin in kindergarten? Not really.

I transferred from SRK to SRJK on April during my standard 1 without any knowledge in mandarin and some broken cantonese lol.

The difference from SRK to SRJK is huuuuuge. I go from no homework and still score straight A in SRK to wtf am I doing in SRJK. Eventually I cheat in most of my exams lol and got put into first class the following year.

pgsiemkia
post Aug 1 2020, 11:02 PM

473 posts

QUOTE(Gon Freaks @ Aug 1 2020, 10:03 PM)
Get into MIT or Imperial also need brains and money. Unless thinking of Bill Gates or Steve Jobs...

TSGon Freaks
post Aug 1 2020, 11:05 PM

387 posts

QUOTE(pgsiemkia @ Aug 1 2020, 11:02 PM)
Get into MIT or Imperial also need brains and money. Unless thinking of Bill Gates or Steve Jobs...
haha maybe something like that.

QUOTE(Slowpokeking @ Aug 1 2020, 11:01 PM)
Basic as in learning mandarin in kindergarten? Not really.

I transferred from SRK to SRJK on April during my standard 1 without any knowledge in mandarin and some broken cantonese lol.

The difference from SRK to SRJK is huuuuuge. I go from no homework and still score straight A in SRK to wtf am I doing in SRJK. Eventually I cheat in most of my exams lol and got put into first class the following year.
ok cool. that is a really good advice.
nasiputih
post Aug 1 2020, 11:07 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(Fenix98 @ Aug 1 2020, 09:41 PM)
Youre the last person that should be dishing advice....
this is Dr.House. That burn will leave a permanent scar.
dickybird
post Aug 1 2020, 11:10 PM

2,093 posts

QUOTE(Gon Freaks @ Aug 1 2020, 10:56 PM)

my thread got reported? why leh?
Means Chinese but didn’t go to sjkc so English is what we speak at home.
suikod3n
post Aug 1 2020, 11:13 PM

34 posts

Be real la, China is a superpower and gonna overtake a lot of countries for next decades.

Learning Chinese will definitely helps anyone regardless of race.

No need stereotype SJKC is more hardworking/harder etc.

Just that majority of Chinese parents are very strict and emphasis on good grades thus push their kids to be competitive.

No takdir tuhan here, all about who put most effort.
taga
post Aug 1 2020, 11:17 PM

171 posts

ching chong
focusrite
post Aug 1 2020, 11:18 PM

409 posts

Not like go other public schools will be any different
Pop The Bubbles
post Aug 1 2020, 11:19 PM

219 posts

Penang?
TSGon Freaks
post Aug 1 2020, 11:20 PM

387 posts

QUOTE(Pop The Bubbles @ Aug 1 2020, 11:19 PM)
Penang?
nope cyberjaya.
focusrite
post Aug 1 2020, 11:20 PM

409 posts

QUOTE(Captain89 @ Aug 1 2020, 08:07 PM)
Happy all the way ohwai
Different kind of pressure.

Compare wealth
focusrite
post Aug 1 2020, 11:21 PM

409 posts

Primary or Secondary ?

SJKC where have Secondary?
jeyakumar
post Aug 1 2020, 11:29 PM

91 posts

TS non cainis ?

Means he will be a great worker for his future angmoh boss? devil.gif
bereev
post Aug 1 2020, 11:32 PM

257 posts

Hi K,

whooaaah scary.........

follow from standrad 1 primary school is ok la

bereev
post Aug 1 2020, 11:34 PM

257 posts

Primary or Secondary ?

who tell you SRJKC must be end with UEC and who the hell tell u only UEC student can be good in Chinese ?

This post has been edited by bereev: Aug 1 2020, 11:35 PM
TSGon Freaks
post Aug 2 2020, 01:00 AM

387 posts

QUOTE(bereev @ Aug 1 2020, 11:32 PM)
follow from standrad 1 primary school is ok la
what you meant by that?
ShadowR1
post Aug 2 2020, 01:05 AM

Im still HeRe ...
1,886 posts

Congrats ... thumbsup.gif
ShadowR1
post Aug 2 2020, 01:09 AM

Im still HeRe ...
1,886 posts

QUOTE(focusrite @ Aug 1 2020, 11:18 PM)
Agree, I was surprise too ... all this while i tot private school england must be top notch. Things have really change since my schooling time.

My bb sitter got jaga 2 sibling ... both went to duno what la private school ... their England ... my god
Blofeld
post Aug 2 2020, 01:32 AM

4,704 posts

QUOTE(ShadowR1 @ Aug 2 2020, 01:09 AM)
Agree, I was surprise too ... all this while i tot private school england must be top notch. Things have really change since my schooling time.

My bb sitter got jaga 2 sibling ... both went to duno what la private school ... their England ... my god
my friend who used to work in a private international school told me there are some groups of students who still stubbornly converse among themselves in Mandarin despite having a 'Speak English' policy in school.

And those students are quite the ruffian type (the typical ahbeng but the rich type)
GHBZDK
post Aug 2 2020, 01:47 AM

173 posts

can speak cainis edi?
if cant, you need to tell teacher to have 1 on 1 lessons after school.
that was my case tongue.gif
i went in sjkc knowing he she me you only because my mom wanted me english educated.
but im chinese so at home still can learn.
msacras
post Aug 2 2020, 02:12 AM

1,767 posts

QUOTE(focusrite @ Aug 1 2020, 11:18 PM)
Go International school, con9lan7haifirm speaku hai keras england.
SUSJunctionProduce
post Aug 2 2020, 02:43 AM

23 posts

Apa salahan sek keb
Leong Kok Leong
post Aug 2 2020, 02:46 AM

111 posts

all the best ts, am still good friends with my malay friend I made in SjKC.
Chisinlouz
post Aug 2 2020, 03:38 AM

849 posts

Sjkc and rotan. That's my glory 90s.

Now...sikitΒ² fb viral.

Your child will be in good hands. Just communicate more to teacher since Mandarin will be something new to you and your kids. Kids are a blank paper, they will pick up fast.
narf03
post Aug 2 2020, 05:17 AM

4,547 posts

Ayam survivor

i picked alternative, 50 palm strikes from every teacher. if you make them boring, then you no longer need to do anything d. all you need is 1 teacher to give up, and tell the next 1 the last 1 didnt do the job, can u do double ?
SUSLord Randall Voldemort
post Aug 2 2020, 05:44 AM

38 posts

QUOTE(bigwolf @ Aug 1 2020, 08:01 PM)
It's a genuine bait thread
Wymm
post Aug 2 2020, 06:18 AM

183 posts

QUOTE(Gon Freaks @ Aug 1 2020, 11:20 PM)
nope cyberjaya.
Low chinese element in urban settings
hg_runt
post Aug 2 2020, 07:02 AM

90 posts

Son can speak? Or you or wife can speak?
My friend doter rejected, she and whole family can't speak/read, teacher said its little late at least must send to kindergarden with mandarin, and teacher advise to go fast track mandarin class, teacher said sked later will have problem, because who will help her at home where there is nobody can speak/read when she need something to refer.

But if die die insist want can, they will monitor the kid, if cannot go school will advise to go normal SK school.
Avex
post Aug 2 2020, 07:53 AM

570 posts

going to write in to get him rejected
DarkNite
post Aug 2 2020, 08:17 AM

ЀĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(Gon Freaks @ Aug 1 2020, 08:01 PM)
tu laa risau. but what to do, i think i want him to explore something new for the family.
Follow our PM kids' footsteps and graduated from Mainland China University?
TSGon Freaks
post Aug 2 2020, 08:29 AM

387 posts

QUOTE(DarkNite @ Aug 2 2020, 08:17 AM)
Follow our PM kids' footsteps and graduated from Mainland China University?
lol no no no. those are bad examples.

QUOTE(Avex @ Aug 2 2020, 07:53 AM)
going to write in to get him rejected
what? sorry, dont get you.

QUOTE(hg_runt @ Aug 2 2020, 07:02 AM)
My friend doter rejected, she and whole family can't speak/read, teacher said its little late at least must send to kindergarden with mandarin, and teacher advise to go fast track mandarin class, teacher said sked later will have problem, because who will help her at home where there is nobody can speak/read when she need something to refer.

But if die die insist want can, they will monitor the kid, if cannot go school will advise to go normal SK school.
wife can abit la..i totally clueless.

QUOTE(Wymm @ Aug 2 2020, 06:18 AM)
Low chinese element in urban settings
so not good?
gaman
post Aug 2 2020, 09:11 AM

88 posts

Chinese is extremely difficult to learn, especially reading and writing.

If your son manages to learn it, it is great stepping stone to learn Japanese too because he is already learn the most difficult part in Japanese language, which is kanji.
Dongibab
post Aug 2 2020, 09:19 AM

51 posts

Diterima, not di terima
SUSrenomahans
post Aug 2 2020, 10:18 AM

523 posts

QUOTE(bereev @ Aug 1 2020, 11:34 PM)
who tell you SRJKC must be end with UEC and who the hell tell u only UEC student can be good in Chinese ?
UEC a lot of home work also what. If his son cannot survive SRJKC how to survive UEC ?

I never said UEC student can be only good in Chinese.

WHat is the point of study in Sekolah Kebangsaan ? If you can afford UEC, go for it lah.

You must go through STPM (if you are nons) then must score super high CPGA only then can get the course you want at local uni. If your CPGA not good enough, you end up 2nd choice or 3rd choice or worse, gomen choose the course for you at local uni.

If you can afford it, mind as well go private lah.

This post has been edited by renomahans: Aug 2 2020, 10:19 AM
Brix
post Aug 2 2020, 10:29 AM

34 posts

QUOTE(Dark1900 @ Aug 2 2020, 10:27 AM)
Should choose Brainy Bunch International rather than that SJKC union..
Not sure it is sarcasm, without giving any context why it’s better than SJKC...
Brix
post Aug 2 2020, 10:46 AM

34 posts

QUOTE(Dark1900 @ Aug 2 2020, 10:40 AM)
Overall its better..
if just want to learn Mandarin, can opt in with RM100/month only..

No need to join full fledge Mandarin school..
SJKC is free..
SUSCincai lar
post Aug 2 2020, 10:49 AM

113 posts

rubbish,.. i learned BM and english after primary,.. i learn my chinese late primary,. u need to practice to learn,.. u no talking enough,. no reading enough,..and no writing enough,.. u won't master it,..
WinkyJr
post Aug 2 2020, 10:54 AM

433 posts

my son now standard 2 in sjkc
the amount of homework is ridiculous

elm0001
post Aug 2 2020, 11:00 AM

I'm Tyrion Lannister's whore
998 posts

lol in today’s world, i think your kid will be fine

strawberry parents now don’t like their kids to drown themselves from pile of homework, and the schools seem to listen to them

i think your kid will be fine as compared to our time studying in chinese schools.

plussssss chinese now menuju ke arah dunia your kid will make you rich soon. high ROI
vassilius
post Aug 2 2020, 11:06 AM

494 posts

Good job...

Its gonna be alot tougher than SK, but he will definitely grow stronger there.
SUSNB01
post Aug 2 2020, 11:06 AM

280 posts

Kinda stupid. Last time unker parent where got speak Engrand. Unker watch A-Team and McGyver every day until Engrand become so powderful.

Haters_Gonna_H8
post Aug 2 2020, 11:10 AM

:hehe:
2,663 posts

unless, one of the parents can speak, read and write proper mandarin, the child will have problem catching up with all the homeworks.
TSGon Freaks
post Aug 2 2020, 11:19 AM

387 posts

QUOTE(Cincai lar @ Aug 2 2020, 10:49 AM)
rubbish,.. i learned BM and english after primary,.. i learn my chinese late primary,. u need to practice to learn,.. u no talking enough,. no reading enough,..and no writing enough,.. u won't master it,..
thank you for the view!

QUOTE(Dark1900 @ Aug 2 2020, 10:27 AM)
Should choose Brainy Bunch International rather than that SJKC union..
dunno why, but i am abit skeptical about brainy bunch and their style.

QUOTE(renomahans @ Aug 2 2020, 10:18 AM)
UEC a lot of home work also what. If his son cannot survive SRJKC how to survive UEC ?

WHat is the point of study in Sekolah Kebangsaan ? If you can afford UEC, go for it lah.

You must go through STPM (if you are nons) then must score super high CPGA only then can get the course you want at local uni. If your CPGA not good enough, you end up 2nd choice or 3rd choice or worse, gomen choose the course for you at local uni.

not into UEC. and i am not orang senang.

QUOTE(Dongibab @ Aug 2 2020, 09:19 AM)
Diterima, not di terima
thanks for the grammar check. appreciate it!

QUOTE(gaman @ Aug 2 2020, 09:11 AM)
Chinese is extremely difficult to learn, especially reading and writing.

If your son manages to learn it, it is great stepping stone to learn Japanese too because he is already learn the most difficult part in Japanese language, which is kanji.
he calls me "otosan" though.

inb4 new Final fantasy game designer >.>
TSGon Freaks
post Aug 2 2020, 11:21 AM

387 posts

QUOTE(Haters_Gonna_H8 @ Aug 2 2020, 11:10 AM)
unless, one of the parents can speak, read and write proper mandarin, the child will have problem catching up with all the homeworks.
my wife can bit la, but overall she never use them in her daily life.

QUOTE(vassilius @ Aug 2 2020, 11:06 AM)
Good job...

Its gonna be alot tougher than SK, but he will definitely grow stronger there.
when the going get thouggh, the tough get going?

QUOTE(elm0001 @ Aug 2 2020, 11:00 AM)
lol in today’s world, i think your kid will be fine

strawberry parents now don’t like their kids to drown themselves from pile of homework, and the schools seem to listen to them

i think your kid will be fine as compared to our time studying in chinese schools.

plussssss chinese now menuju ke arah dunia your kid will make you rich soon. high ROI
thanks for the postive view.

QUOTE(WinkyJr @ Aug 2 2020, 10:54 AM)
my son now standard 2 in sjkc
the amount of homework is ridiculous
i dunno, i m hoping for that.
Zanei Gundan
post Aug 2 2020, 11:23 AM

143 posts

kat rumah sapa nak sembang moonrunes dengan anak?
TSGon Freaks
post Aug 2 2020, 11:27 AM

387 posts

QUOTE(Zanei Gundan @ Aug 2 2020, 11:23 AM)
kat rumah sapa nak sembang moonrunes dengan anak?
ape tu?
Zanei Gundan
post Aug 2 2020, 11:41 AM

143 posts

QUOTE(Gon Freaks @ Aug 2 2020, 11:27 AM)
ape tu?
your kids

when he go back home after school

which who can he converse mandarin, as if in like daily convo practice?
JerryTeh
post Aug 2 2020, 11:43 AM

227 posts

My opinion
1) SK or SJK, will still require effort to speak english / bm / mandarin well. One of my MALAY employee is SK SMK student, but she cant even spell in MalayπŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ cant speak english at all

2) My SJK SPM english sounds AhBeng, lots of grammar mistake. But it doesn't affect my career growth at all.

3) TBH... Lots of top management people speak Cantonese / mandarin. Except GLC / Government department
SUSCincai lar
post Aug 2 2020, 11:52 AM

113 posts

QUOTE(Zanei Gundan @ Aug 2 2020, 11:41 AM)
your kids

maybe TS can learn what his son learn daily,.. and start a mandarin speaking game with his son,.. at 1st just few words,.. lama lama can converse liao,..
TSGon Freaks
post Aug 2 2020, 12:27 PM

387 posts

QUOTE(Cincai lar @ Aug 2 2020, 11:52 AM)
maybe TS can learn what his son learn daily,.. and start a mandarin speaking game with his son,.. at 1st just few words,.. lama lama can converse liao,..
planning too. beside got his home tuition teacher.

QUOTE(Zanei Gundan @ Aug 2 2020, 11:41 AM)
your kids

my waifu boleh sket2.

Sedih
post Aug 2 2020, 01:46 PM

99 posts

Sjkc doesnt necessarily mean your son gonna be brilliant. Melayu, cina, india, mat salleh pun ada pandai ada bodoh. For me the advantages is no need to spend on extra chinese class and connection after graduate. Learning wise i didnt see a lot of gap with sk.
ShadowR1
post Aug 2 2020, 02:23 PM

Im still HeRe ...
1,886 posts

QUOTE(Chisinlouz @ Aug 2 2020, 03:38 AM)
Sjkc and rotan. That's my glory 90s.

Now...sikitΒ² fb viral.

Your child will be in good hands. Just communicate more to teacher since Mandarin will be something new to you and your kids. Kids are a blank paper, they will pick up fast.
My rotan easily 1cm radius.

Ultimate weapon s that big ass pembaris ... whack behing knee cap ... putus jugak lol.

Sk here.
Clement1001
post Aug 2 2020, 02:25 PM

914 posts

Is going to be tough for the kids !
SUSNachiino Etamay
post Aug 2 2020, 03:04 PM

93 posts

sekolah japanese?
ketupatlazat
post Aug 2 2020, 03:19 PM

555 posts

Pergh ade youtube series thumbsup.gif
TSGon Freaks
post Aug 2 2020, 03:41 PM

387 posts

QUOTE(ketupatlazat @ Aug 2 2020, 03:19 PM)
Pergh ade youtube series  thumbsup.gif
thanks bro! kalau enjoy pls subscribe smile.gif sangat menghargainya.

QUOTE(Nachiino Etamay @ Aug 2 2020, 03:04 PM)
sekolah japanese?
planning maybe next year, not school but home tuition.

QUOTE(ShadowR1 @ Aug 2 2020, 02:23 PM)
My rotan easily 1cm radius.

Ultimate weapon s that big ass pembaris ... whack behing knee cap ... putus jugak lol.

Sk here.
haha i expecting my son to get those cane alot. he is extra naughty kid.

QUOTE(Sedih @ Aug 2 2020, 01:46 PM)
Sjkc doesnt necessarily mean your son gonna be brilliant. Melayu, cina, india, mat salleh pun ada pandai ada bodoh. For me the advantages is no need to spend on extra chinese class and connection after graduate. Learning wise i didnt see a lot of gap with sk.
agree. this is what i believe. skin color is nothing. no value in the concept of existance and material existance.

bereev
post Aug 2 2020, 08:58 PM

257 posts

QUOTE(renomahans @ Aug 2 2020, 10:18 AM)

SRJKC why must go to STPM and local University ?

Why u all fix it all ? who say SRJKC student must got to UEC if not UEC must be go to local University ? not even must take STPM
who fix that ? why has this mind set ?

SRJKC can go to Sekolah menengar than fron there they can choose vokasional stream or after forem 3 can go maktab tentera many option ....
SUSrenomahans
post Aug 2 2020, 09:18 PM

523 posts

QUOTE(bereev @ Aug 2 2020, 08:58 PM)
SRJKC why must go to STPM and local University ?

Why u all fix it all ? who say SRJKC student must got to UEC if not UEC must be go to local University ? not even must take STPM
who fix that ? why has this mind set ?

SRJKC can go to Sekolah menengar than fron there they can choose vokasional stream or after forem 3 can go maktab tentera many option ....
why want to go to Sekolah Menengah kebangsaan ? The education std there has been falling. You want the best of both worlds, affordability and better standards, UEC.
Private education is good also, but getting more expensive.

vokasional and maktab same lah, is also kebangsaan, right ?

I didn't say must be UEC, all I just saying UEC seem to be quite good option. You also get to upgrade your mandarin.

You go to local school for what ? You know too well, if your kids grads are not super excellent, won't get their first choice in local uni if they are nons. So why settle for local education ? when you can settle for something better, just pay a bit extra.

This post has been edited by renomahans: Aug 2 2020, 09:19 PM
bereev
post Aug 2 2020, 09:22 PM

257 posts

QUOTE(renomahans @ Aug 2 2020, 09:18 PM)
why want to go to Sekolah Menengah kebangsaan ? The education std there has been falling. You want the best of both worlds, affordability and better standards, UEC.

I didn't say must be UEC, all I just saying UEC seem to be quite good option. You also get to upgrade your mandarin.

You go to local school for what ? You know too well, if your kids grads are not super excellent, won't get their first choice in local uni if they are nons. So why settle for local education ? when you can settle for something better, just pay a bit extra.
why cannot go to kebagsaan school ur kids will die , your families name become bad for few generation ?
SUSrenomahans
post Aug 2 2020, 09:26 PM

523 posts

QUOTE(bereev @ Aug 2 2020, 09:22 PM)
why cannot go to kebagsaan school ur kids will die , your families name become bad for few generation ?
didn't say kids will die, did I ?? bad for few generation ? eh, do you read ah ? I never said that.

just saying there is better option, right ? at least to me, why not UEC ?

I just like to have more options, if gomen try to change the kebangsaan education system to something I do not prefer, at least I have options, right ?

I do not like my education nor my kids education to be at the mercy of gomen to determine what they want to teach them at their decisions only.
k town shit
post Aug 2 2020, 09:29 PM

771 posts

Even though SRJK C was self funded usually, but they are more organized than Government school.
Gyazo
post Aug 2 2020, 09:33 PM

20 posts

Kolej Sultan Abdul Hamid and Kolej kuala kangsar > all school.

Since most of famous politician, judge(hakim negara), famous athlete, multi billion CEO company even king are coming from that school.

For me skills are the most important thing that you need to teach your kids as most of the current jobs today would disappear by next 10-20 years.

Programming, machine learning, investment, financing, trading, and business.. something that you need to teach your kids compare to our traditional edu witch is... million of people already have that same capacity.

I have no idea how many of my friends got 10A in SPM from sekolah sains.. go to university, degree.
Still end up doing Grab.

Those that got C, and coming from regular school. Now are running their own company with bunch of workers.

Creativity, problem solving, visionary.. this... are something that school dint thought our student much.
They just teach our children to become another Mr by the book.

Download.. download.. memorize and eat the information.
But our kids cannot create another new information.

Meaning they know how to eat.. but have no creativity, vision, how to cook, or invented new recipe.

teutonic
post Aug 2 2020, 09:36 PM

147 posts

I hate, saddest childhood.
great123
post Aug 2 2020, 09:47 PM

57 posts

QUOTE(k town shit @ Aug 2 2020, 09:29 PM)
Even though SRJK C was self funded usually, but they are more organized than Government school.
I feel the need to emphasize the self funded part.
Sending your children to SRJK C means you have a responsibility to contribute your money (when required). smile.gif

Also, is everything in SK 100 percent funded by the gov/ministry of education?
Chisinlouz
post Aug 2 2020, 11:35 PM

849 posts

QUOTE(Gyazo @ Aug 2 2020, 09:33 PM)

Since most of famous politician, judge(hakim negara), famous athlete, multi billion CEO company even king are coming from that school.

For me skills are the most important thing that you need to teach your kids as most of the current jobs today would disappear by next 10-20 years.

Programming, machine learning, investment, financing, trading, and business.. something that you need to teach your kids compare to our traditional edu witch is... million of people already have that same capacity.

I have no idea how many of my friends got 10A in SPM from sekolah sains.. go to university, degree.
Still end up doing Grab.

Those that got C, and coming from regular school. Now are running their own company with bunch of workers.
Creativity, problem solving, visionary.. this... are something that school dint  thought our student much.

Meaning they know how to eat.. but have no creativity, vision, how to cook, or invented new recipe.
Good sharing.
seventwo
post Aug 2 2020, 11:43 PM

722 posts

Hati2 jangan termakan babee biggrin.gif
TSGon Freaks
post Aug 3 2020, 01:35 AM

387 posts

QUOTE(Gyazo @ Aug 2 2020, 09:33 PM)

Still end up doing Grab.

Creativity, problem solving, visionary.. this... are something that school dint  thought our student much.

i am from that scool innocent.gif
rumpailaut P
post Aug 12 2020, 10:36 AM

Probation

Hi, after SJKC, where are u planning to send ur kid eh?

My son's KG teacher insisted that we should enroll him in sjkc union next year (he can write and read mandarin very well) but we are concern about where to send next? if to smk, must go through peralihan? later can send to sbp/mrsm?

thomasjames
post Aug 12 2020, 10:41 AM

209 posts

Korean will take over soon
Kpop culture
Better learn Korean too
romuluz777
post Aug 12 2020, 10:42 AM

2,223 posts

can get Chinese GF now
Strike
post Aug 12 2020, 11:10 AM

51 posts

proud madey 50+ yrs
SongChiang
post Aug 12 2020, 12:04 PM

428 posts

QUOTE(renomahans @ Aug 2 2020, 09:18 PM)

i disagree, i came out of public uni just fine.
not sure about UEC but i think the syllabus is the same and thought in chinese. the few i met has bad English command. so not as nice as you'd think.
cainis btw.
Cyclone1
post Aug 12 2020, 12:06 PM

408 posts

Not sure what to tell you because I never experience how SJK run. I am cinababi who was never a bright one. Like, it is either me or my another friend who always compete for the last place.

While it pretty much depends on the teacher, I was lucky to have a very caring homeroom teacher who never fail to punish me with rotan, lecture me on life whenever I fail a subject or when I am not in the right attitude. I hated my teacher. Until when I grow up, I started to appreciate all the hardwork my homeroom teacher, and regret everything I have done which gave her grief. Slowly, all this life lesson she gave me turn me into who I am now. Now I have stable income in a very good company, I might be even better than those who were in the top back in the day.

Every CNY, our classmate would plan reunion gathering with my homeroom teacher, and she always told us we are the only year who does this with her. Which made me both very happy and sad.

Moral of the story, while teacher and school is important, it is also as important for the parent to instill and encourage the kid with the right discipline and attitude, motivate them correctly and be patient. Like if I didn't have the mindset I did, I would probably rot elsewhere or ended up in kongsi gelap. Then and only then your kids can be successful.

TSGon Freaks
post Aug 12 2020, 12:11 PM

387 posts

QUOTE(rumpailaut @ Aug 12 2020, 10:36 AM)
Hi, after SJKC, where are u planning to send ur kid eh?

My son's KG teacher insisted that we should enroll him in sjkc union next year (he can write and read mandarin very well) but we are concern about where to send next? if to smk, must go through peralihan? later can send to sbp/mrsm?
y need peralihan?
post Aug 12 2020, 12:13 PM

837 posts

QUOTE(Gon Freaks @ Aug 12 2020, 12:11 PM)
y need peralihan?
IIRC peralihan is for those who have weak command in BM and Eng, if your son is ok with 3 languages, he does not belong there, anyways you made a right choice, i wished i was enrolled in 1 too
TSGon Freaks
post Aug 12 2020, 12:15 PM

387 posts

QUOTE(812799 @ Aug 12 2020, 12:13 PM)
IIRC peralihan is for those who have weak command in BM and Eng, if your son is ok with 3 languages, he does not belong there, anyways you made a right choice, i wished i was enrolled in 1 too
owh,i think he is pretty good in english, BM may need some improvement but still can speak read and write la..
rumpailaut P
post Aug 12 2020, 12:46 PM

Probation

QUOTE(812799 @ Aug 12 2020, 12:13 PM)
oh OK thanks for the info! i thought everyone from sjkc must go through peralihan.

SUSrenomahans
post Aug 12 2020, 10:54 PM

523 posts

QUOTE(SongChiang @ Aug 12 2020, 12:04 PM)
i disagree, i came out of public uni just fine.
not sure about UEC but i think the syllabus is the same and thought in chinese. the few i met has bad English command. so not as nice as you'd think.
cainis btw.
So you managed to get first choice for public university ?

If you got first choice means you must be smart dude. But there are risks, what if your results just average, do you settle down for 3rd choice ?

Heard that for public uni for Nons, very hard to get 1st and 2nd choice if your results are just average.
SongChiang
post Aug 13 2020, 10:28 AM

428 posts

QUOTE(renomahans @ Aug 12 2020, 10:54 PM)
So you managed to get first choice for public university ?

If you got first choice means you must be smart dude. But there are risks, what if your results just average, do you settle down for 3rd choice ?

Heard that for public uni for Nons, very hard to get 1st and 2nd choice if your results are just average.
i actually got my 8th choice, but i can say at my age, working salary wise i am doing above average. not smart though.

bolded part might be true, cause of the quota. but starting behind doesn't mean you can't catch up.
recognizing the inequality and learn to play the game, and don't blame.

but my two cents is if you go UEC, you're shooting yourself in the foot if you plan to work for gov sector or just overall working in malaysia as private is probably the only way to go, limiting your opportunity. but there might be some UEC boons that i might not know. so to each his own. cheers.
TSGon Freaks
post Sep 6 2021, 11:57 AM

387 posts

just wanted to share and give some support to others to be brave in taking new routes of education.

Praise to god, my kid got one of the top student recognition in his school for standard 1.

I didn't expect that to happen, and really happy. despite his schedule is tight as hell. he manages to nail it!

SUSLiamness
post Sep 6 2021, 12:05 PM

445 posts

QUOTE(Gon Freaks @ Sep 6 2021, 11:57 AM)

good job. Good parenting.

what is his age now?
HokkienMee_Lover
post Sep 6 2021, 12:06 PM

157 posts

tusyen kelas tambahan inkambing
TSGon Freaks
post Sep 6 2021, 12:09 PM

387 posts

QUOTE(Liamness @ Sep 6 2021, 12:05 PM)
good job. Good parenting.

what is his age now?
he is 7 yold. haha.

credit to my waifu. i am just the jury. haha.
viole
post Sep 6 2021, 12:12 PM

KFC Lover
840 posts

Congrats. Do you learn mandarin as well so that can support your kid at home?
scorptim
post Sep 6 2021, 12:13 PM

700 posts

This is normal in sjkc haha.

Btw, do put aside some money later on for tuition, usually when he is in secondary school and still in sjkc. I would say 80-90% students would require tuition support since you need to cram spm and UEC syllabus in your brain.
InitialB

700 posts

Hi K,

whooaaah scary.........

You ker dalam bideo?

1. If you're Oren, then congratz you, welcome to the new world of fair competition.

2. Syabas to think out of the box and take the hard route. Your son will soon succed when he grow up and compete against other.

3. Yes it's very hard, but you will have quality son.

4. Won't waste time berkeliaran

5. Morale up, study morale if have to.

6. Won't miss-spelled his name

7. Good in math

8. Peer pressure

9. Become open minded and can mixed witg society

10. Tidak mudah trigger, keliru, common sense and tak busybody next door neighbour khalwat ker, kahwin ker, bujang ker, gf ker..
TSGon Freaks

387 posts

QUOTE(viole @ Sep 6 2021, 12:12 PM)
Congrats. Do you learn mandarin as well so that can support your kid at home?
a bit, basic ones.

My waifu is the one who speaks and support them.
ah_suknat

whoooooooooooooop
5,170 posts

QUOTE(knives. @ Aug 1 2020, 12:01 PM)
Lol, atleast better than SK
sexysarah1992

316 posts

Hi K,

whooaaah scary.........

U Malay? Well all i can say that ur son will grow up to be a better person next day after he finish study in sjkc. Want to find job also will be easier with better job prospects. Wont be easy, but it will be worth it.
jojolicia
post Sep 6 2021, 12:14 PM

1,923 posts

QUOTE(Gon Freaks @ Aug 1 2020, 08:07 PM)
For a start, going forward you will be asked a lot of questions (homework la, this that itu ini) by your son.

Just ride along the curves, bro. you will feel, macam you back to school
khelben
post Sep 6 2021, 12:14 PM

I love my mum & dad
6,056 posts

QUOTE(Gon Freaks @ Aug 12 2020, 12:15 PM)
owh,i think  he is pretty good in english, BM may need some improvement but still can speak read and write la..
Don't worry, peralihan is not for Malays, even if he/she is from SRJKC.
TSGon Freaks
post Sep 6 2021, 12:17 PM

387 posts

QUOTE(InitialB @ Sep 6 2021, 12:13 PM)
You ker dalam bideo?

1. If you're Oren, then congratz you, welcome to the new world of fair competition.

2. Syabas to think out of the box and take the hard route. Your son will soon succed when he grow up and compete against other.

3. Yes it's very hard, but you will have quality son.

4. Won't waste time berkeliaran

5. Morale up, study morale if have to.

6. Won't miss-spelled his name

7. Good in math

8. Peer pressure

9. Become open minded and can mixed witg society

10. Tidak mudah trigger, keliru, common sense and tak busybody next door neighbour khalwat ker, kahwin ker, bujang ker, gf ker..
yes that is me.

i a bit scared to say this, (takut jadi bongkak and tak bersyukur) but, my son is exceeding my expectation in every single way. Now need to focus on my daughter pulak. she seem to have some potential as well.

btw, this is my son.

TSGon Freaks
post Sep 6 2021, 12:19 PM

387 posts

QUOTE(sexysarah1992 @ Sep 6 2021, 12:13 PM)
U Malay? Well all i can say that ur son will grow up to be a better person next day after he finish study in sjkc. Want to find job also will be easier with better job prospects. Wont be easy, but it will be worth it.
well, I am mixed malay. got a syed and khan family line.
jojolicia
post Sep 6 2021, 12:20 PM

1,923 posts

Congrats to your son and you a supportive papa. Kudos

This post has been edited by jojolicia: Sep 6 2021, 12:20 PM
TSGon Freaks

387 posts

QUOTE(jojolicia @ Sep 6 2021, 12:20 PM)
Congrats to your son and you a proud papa. Kudos
thank you!
Gadget_Freak

414 posts

One thing for sure won't jadi rempit
TSGon Freaks
post Sep 6 2021, 12:21 PM

387 posts

QUOTE(Gadget_Freak @ Sep 6 2021, 12:20 PM)
One thing for sure won't jadi rempit
well, itu masa depan, no body knows.
Sedih
post Sep 6 2021, 12:22 PM

99 posts

Masuk SJKC tak semestinya auto pandai. Ingat budak2 dalam tu pandai ke semua?

Patut kena ada MRSM versi cina. Baru best.
InitialB
post Sep 6 2021, 12:23 PM

700 posts

QUOTE(Gon Freaks @ Sep 6 2021, 12:17 PM)
yes that is me.

i a bit scared to say this, (takut jadi bongkak and tak bersyukur) but, my son is exceeding my expectation in every single way. Now need to focus on my daughter pulak. she seem to have some potential as well.
btw, this is my son.

From your bideo, i see the way your child upbringing by you is a thumbs up. thumbup.gif

Keep up the good work. Sure a bit scary and painstaking process.

However, one day you will be proud of yourself. And the way pupil around you look at you.... with disbelief eyes.

You won't be bongkak, even if you bongkak then you deserved it. Because YOU CAN...............

TSGon Freaks

387 posts

QUOTE(Sedih @ Sep 6 2021, 12:22 PM)
Masuk SJKC tak semestinya auto pandai. Ingat budak2 dalam tu pandai ke semua?

Patut kena ada MRSM versi cina. Baru best.
agree on the first statement.

in fact, because tak pandai la kene gi skola kan? kalau dah pandai, tak payah pergi sekolah btul tak?
Juggerballz

349 posts

Oh wait is that 3rd avenue? Nice pool, haven't been in there before..

Yes, I am from SJK©. In this current age of MNCs and SMEs, you really need mandarin to really compete with others....
Lanchio
post Sep 6 2021, 12:24 PM

487 posts

Congrats TS. You are laying the foundation for your child future, an extra language proficiency is always useful.

That being said, I believe that by the time he goes into the workforce, both English and Mandarin will be the international business language.

Looking further into his higher education, you may want to consider his Masters studies in China. Bachelor degree can do locally or the usual UK/Australia/NZ countries. By doing his Masters in China,, he will be expose to something different such as study environment, culture, work ethics etc.
sunami
post Sep 6 2021, 12:24 PM

A CAT that can Bark. LMAO
1,534 posts

QUOTE(Gon Freaks @ Aug 1 2020, 09:01 PM)
learning something extra skills is beneficial...
only those otak kangkung protek... whistling.gif

Ho Kah Heng
post Sep 6 2021, 12:27 PM

86 posts

On my observation sk and sra student more likely will litter, especially from kelantan.
Sjkc they will arrange every class to kutip the sampah around school compound.
jojolicia

1,923 posts

QUOTE(Cyclone1 @ Aug 12 2020, 12:06 PM)
Not sure what to tell you because I never experience how SJK run. I am cinababi who was never a bright one. Like, it is either me or my another friend who always compete for the last place.

While it pretty much depends on the teacher, I was lucky to have a very caring homeroom teacher who never fail to punish me with rotan, lecture me on life whenever I fail a subject or when I am not in the right attitude. I hated my teacher. Until when I grow up, I started to appreciate all the hardwork my homeroom teacher, and regret everything I have done which gave her grief. Slowly, all this life lesson she gave me turn me into who I am now. Now I have stable income in a very good company, I might be even better than those who were in the top back in the day.

Every CNY, our classmate would plan reunion gathering with my homeroom teacher, and she always told us we are the only year who does this with her. Which made me both very happy and sad.

Moral of the story, while teacher and school is important, it is also as important for the parent to instill and encourage the kid with the right discipline and attitude, motivate them correctly and be patient. Like if I didn't have the mindset I did, I would probably rot elsewhere or ended up in kongsi gelap. Then and only then your kids can be successful.
Specifically, what is homeroom teacher? Sorry, i noob so need to ask

This post has been edited by jojolicia: Sep 6 2021, 12:27 PM
Juggerballz

349 posts

QUOTE(Lanchio @ Sep 6 2021, 12:24 PM)
Congrats TS. You are laying the foundation for your child future, an extra language proficiency is always useful.

That being said, I believe that by the time he goes into the workforce, both English and Mandarin will be the international business language.

Looking further into his higher education, you may want to consider his Masters studies in China. Bachelor degree can do locally or the usual UK/Australia/NZ countries. By doing his Masters in China,, he will be expose to something different such as study environment, culture, work ethics etc.
Don't even bother Bachelors degree in the usual UK, Australia, US etc, too much SJW/Woke stuff going on and bringing those mindsets back to our homeland, we don't need that.

My father actually told me to send my children straight to China for their Bachelors, we have jilat-ed the western countries too much. The China today is not that China that we knew many years ago.
Juggerballz
post Sep 6 2021, 12:28 PM

349 posts

QUOTE(jojolicia @ Sep 6 2021, 12:27 PM)
Specifically, what is homeroom teacher? Sorry, i noob so need to ask
I think he meant "form" teacher. The 班主任 θ€εΈˆγ€‚
TSGon Freaks
post Sep 6 2021, 12:29 PM

387 posts

QUOTE(InitialB @ Sep 6 2021, 12:23 PM)
From your bideo, i see the way your child upbringing by you is a thumbs up. thumbup.gif

Keep up the good work. Sure a bit scary and painstaking process.

However, one day you will be proud of yourself. And the way pupil around you look at you.... with disbelief eyes.

You won't be bongkak, even if you bongkak then you deserved it. Because YOU CAN...............
thank you. main intention is to flag to people. don't be afraid.
viole
post Sep 6 2021, 12:29 PM

KFC Lover
840 posts

QUOTE(Gon Freaks @ Sep 6 2021, 12:13 PM)
a bit, basic ones.

At least got effort. Language is a skill that you need to constantly use it. Otherwise will tend to forget.
SUSbunyip
post Sep 6 2021, 12:30 PM

125 posts

https://inreallife.my/i-was-bullied-in-an-s...i-was-a-banana/
TSGon Freaks
post Sep 6 2021, 12:30 PM

387 posts

QUOTE(Juggerballz @ Sep 6 2021, 12:23 PM)
Oh wait is that 3rd avenue? Nice pool, haven't been in there before..

Yes, I am from SJKΒ©. In this current age of MNCs and SMEs, you really need mandarin to really compete with others....
yeap. waifu house.

agree. well tbh, not about mandarin, but rather the skill to adapt. that is the most valuable skill.
SUSbunyip
post Sep 6 2021, 12:31 PM

125 posts

https://inreallife.my/what-its-like-going-t...sia-as-a-malay/
jojolicia
post Sep 6 2021, 12:31 PM

1,923 posts

QUOTE(Juggerballz @ Sep 6 2021, 12:28 PM)
I think he meant "form" teacher. The 班主任 θ€εΈˆγ€‚
I see. Thanks
coolguy99
post Sep 6 2021, 12:32 PM

7,356 posts

maybe you will need a tutor for mandarin for your son since you guys don't speak mandarin at home. otherwise you are all good TS
SUSCincai lar
post Sep 6 2021, 12:33 PM

113 posts

good lor,.. multiple lingual helps children develop better,... children at tender age learn language faster,...
TSGon Freaks

387 posts

QUOTE(sunami @ Sep 6 2021, 12:24 PM)
learning something extra skills is beneficial...
only those otak kangkung protek...  whistling.gif
tbh, sekolah arab also consider as new skill right?

QUOTE(Lanchio @ Sep 6 2021, 12:24 PM)

dunno, not sure, let see how. i have a different spectrum on that. but thanks for the heads up. appreciate it.
Sedih

99 posts

QUOTE(Gon Freaks @ Sep 6 2021, 12:23 PM)
agree on the first statement.

in fact, because tak pandai la kene gi skola kan? kalau dah pandai, tak payah pergi sekolah btul tak?
Mmg la captain.

Bini aku sekolah cina. Aku join reunion, wedding, diorang takde la bright mane pun semua lol tak ramai yg masuk professional field. Maybe bcs our racist ipta quota policy.

Btw bini aku senang gile dpt kerja sbb language extra. Apply tak pernah tak dapat.

Goodluck with your son
TSGon Freaks
post Sep 6 2021, 12:34 PM

387 posts

QUOTE(bunyip @ Sep 6 2021, 12:30 PM)
nice log!
TSGon Freaks
post Sep 6 2021, 12:35 PM

387 posts

QUOTE(coolguy99 @ Sep 6 2021, 12:32 PM)
maybe you will need a tutor for mandarin for your son since you guys don't speak mandarin at home. otherwise you are all good TS
yes. we don't speak. english will be our main comm language.
ClericKilla

1,789 posts

good

can pickup amoi

Lanchio

487 posts

QUOTE(Juggerballz @ Sep 6 2021, 12:27 PM)
Don't even bother Bachelors degree in the usual UK, Australia, US etc, too much SJW/Woke stuff going on and bringing those mindsets back to our homeland, we don't need that.

My father actually told me to send my children straight to China for their Bachelors, we have jilat-ed the western countries too much. The China today is not that China that we knew many years ago.
Even 20 years ago, the top Chinese universities like Tsinghua, Peking are already top notched. But am surprised that Zhejiang today made the top list.

Apparently for Masters,you can still opt for English or Mandarin medium but I think for Bachelor degree, it's Mandarin medium.
TSGon Freaks
post Sep 6 2021, 12:36 PM

387 posts

QUOTE(Cincai lar @ Sep 6 2021, 12:33 PM)
good lor,.. multiple lingual helps children develop better,... children at tender age learn language faster,...
agree. and this apply to all language, even french. whistling.gif
TSGon Freaks
post Sep 6 2021, 12:37 PM

387 posts

QUOTE(ClericKilla @ Sep 6 2021, 12:35 PM)
good
can pickup amoi
my wife put in the list for daughter inlaw criteria ... rolleyes.gif
Juggerballz
post Sep 6 2021, 12:38 PM

349 posts

QUOTE(Gon Freaks @ Sep 6 2021, 12:30 PM)
yeap. waifu house.

agree. well tbh, not about mandarin, but rather the skill to adapt. that is the most valuable skill.
Yup, and also, sending your kids to SJKC will groom them to be more understanding and empathetic, because you are mixing with kids from various backgrounds. Rich, middle-class, poor everything.

I myself went to an international school starting secondary form 1, but found out that the friends that you mix with aren't that "down to earth" or "understanding" of any situations. But still, I continued studying chinese until SPM level, but didn't take SPM for it.

So TS, if possible, eventhough you have the means, send your kids to a Sekolah Menengah Jenis Kebangsaan (eg. Catholic High School in PJ), really...the friends you make there are lifelong because you will go through many hardships with them. And overall the people you mix with are just plain simple people, no shenanigans going on...you know..just normal people.

This post has been edited by Juggerballz: Sep 6 2021, 12:39 PM
ClericKilla

1,789 posts

QUOTE(Gon Freaks @ Sep 6 2021, 12:37 PM)
my wife put in the list for daughter inlaw criteria ...  rolleyes.gif
good

then ur kid will be the melei that work hard, meibe develop kiasu mentality like chinese

become a cockroach in society .. pijak also can survive.
jojolicia

1,923 posts

QUOTE(Cincai lar @ Sep 6 2021, 12:33 PM)
This, very true
TSGon Freaks

387 posts

QUOTE(viole @ Sep 6 2021, 12:29 PM)
At least got effort. Language is a skill that you need to constantly use it. Otherwise will tend to forget.
but seriously, we don't, wife only use during homework session.
SUSCincai lar

113 posts

QUOTE(coolguy99 @ Sep 6 2021, 12:32 PM)
he will speak mandarin at school,.. learning language is all about using it,... if whole day he learn about is mandarin,.. then when to improve English ??...

TS should speak or tutor him English himself at home instead,.. not overload with mandarin,.. and neglect English,..
afoka
post Sep 6 2021, 12:39 PM

315 posts

why no bother apply SJK(T)....owaii
TSGon Freaks
post Sep 6 2021, 12:39 PM

387 posts

QUOTE(ClericKilla @ Sep 6 2021, 12:38 PM)
good

then ur kid will be the melei that work hard, meibe develop kiasu mentality like chinese

haha, he will become a monster cockroach.

but as long as no rasuah, I am happy.

TSGon Freaks
post Sep 6 2021, 12:41 PM

387 posts

QUOTE(Cincai lar @ Sep 6 2021, 12:38 PM)
he will speak mandarin at school,.. learning language is all about using it,... if whole day he learn about is mandarin,.. then when to improve English ??...

TS should speak or tutor him English himself at home instead,.. not overload with mandarin,.. and neglect English,..
english is my main comm at home.

tbh, he is weak in BM, a bit worried, but so far all tvc directors are happy with his malay vocab.
SUSbunyip

125 posts

QUOTE(Gon Freaks @ Sep 6 2021, 12:34 PM)
nice log!
Wait till u read another log
Juggerballz

349 posts

Yes, he will speak and learn mandarin in school but it is not enough. Nowadays the mandarin are getting tougher and tougher, I mean the syllabus. TS will need to look for Mandarin tuition for the kids if you want your kid to get an A in UPSR.

For English, you can opt for tuition or self-taught tuition at home. Buy physical newspaper for your kids to read, let them watch English cartoons etc...
coolguy99
post Sep 6 2021, 12:43 PM

7,356 posts

TS son has 0 base in Mandarin...speaking in school with other peers will be difficult at first...
SUSCincai lar
post Sep 6 2021, 12:44 PM

113 posts

QUOTE(Juggerballz @ Sep 6 2021, 12:38 PM)
Yup, and also, sending your kids to SJKC will groom them to be more understanding and empathetic, because you are mixing with kids from various backgrounds. Rich, middle-class, poor everything.

I myself went to an international school starting secondary form 1, but found out that the friends that you mix with aren't that "down to earth" or "understanding" of any situations. But still, I continued studying chinese until SPM level, but didn't take SPM for it.

So TS, if possible, eventhough you have the means, send your kids to a Sekolah Menengah Jenis Kebangsaan (eg. Catholic High School in PJ), really...the friends you make there are lifelong because you will go through many hardships with them. And overall the people you mix with are just plain simple people, no shenanigans going on...you know..just normal people.
international school gonna friend with rich and fmous helang's children yo,... when grow up can have strong cable with their father ,.. just like Jho Low did,.. icon_idea.gif
SUSFreshmeat21
post Sep 6 2021, 12:45 PM

Hi K,

whooaaah scary.........

I think you already knew what you wanted, that's why you enrol your kid to that school.
If you want your son to succeed internationally, it's better to equip them with more skills early, as kids learn fast. if you want your son to be jaguh kampung and enjoy life... no need to put so much pressure on him to learn so many languages, homework etc ..
Taikor.Taikun

1,019 posts

Same as sk except most subjects taught in chinese. Teachers will try to explain in malay to malay students.

Patriotic subjects r taught extensively. I think should b same as in sk
jojolicia

1,923 posts

QUOTE(ClericKilla @ Sep 6 2021, 12:38 PM)
good

Cockroach in the society, i rike that
viole
post Sep 6 2021, 12:46 PM

KFC Lover
840 posts

from ts videos, can see kids first language is english, not malay. so i dont think they should be worried about english.

Namelessone1973
post Sep 6 2021, 12:47 PM

320 posts

QUOTE(Juggerballz @ Sep 6 2021, 12:41 PM)
Yes, he will speak and learn mandarin in school but it is not enough. Nowadays the mandarin are getting tougher and tougher, I mean the syllabus.  TS will need to look for Mandarin tuition for the kids if you want your kid to get an A in UPSR.

For English, you can opt for tuition or self-taught tuition at home. Buy physical newspaper for your kids to read, let them watch English cartoons etc...
UPSR already abolished. So it is not necessary to get an A anymore. Most people will move back to kebangsaan secondary schools so as long as you can read and speak mandarin, it should be more than sufficient.
sunami
post Sep 6 2021, 12:51 PM

A CAT that can Bark. LMAO
1,534 posts

QUOTE(Gon Freaks @ Sep 6 2021, 01:33 PM)
tbh, sekolah arab also consider as new skill right?
dunno, not sure, let see how. i have a different spectrum on that. but thanks for the heads up. appreciate it.
yes...is your decision for your child wat..
y r u worried about protek? mega_shok.gif
SUSCincai lar
post Sep 6 2021, 12:52 PM

113 posts

QUOTE(coolguy99 @ Sep 6 2021, 12:43 PM)
TS son has 0 base in Mandarin...speaking in school with other peers will be difficult at first...
i also 0 base in Malay when i go in standard 1 in SK,. i already can make malay friends by half a year,.. but of cos my early friends at school were chinese,..
estcin
post Sep 6 2021, 12:54 PM

407 posts

nice. next time TS son can marry cainis amoi
TSGon Freaks
post Sep 6 2021, 12:54 PM

387 posts

QUOTE(sunami @ Sep 6 2021, 12:51 PM)
yes...is your decision for your child wat..
y r u worried about protek?  mega_shok.gif
not really, I am quite selfish. don't really care about what others view.

its just that i think, language is just a channel to convey your points. and we are like 20 years too late to focus on language. it has been done by other countries 20 years ago. and in the next 20 years, it will be not so add stats anymore.

i am just trying to use secret tunnels to jump through level to reach the end game, if you get what i mean? (Mario tunnel mode).
Mocha_86
post Sep 6 2021, 12:57 PM

41 posts

Difficult yes. But at that age where children could absorb most, it's definitely a right move to let him learn more, regardless of chinese/french etc language.

As for teachers, don't worry. If anything, they're more proud than ever to have Malay students enrolled in their programs, and will most likely get more attention from teacher in regards to language teaching.

Children friends though, that one might be a little difficult, but it plays a major part in your children willingness to learn faster. In order to join other friends in playground etc, he will learn to communicate.

Overall, he's in good hands.
cempedaklife
post Sep 6 2021, 12:57 PM

Master Decoy
4,361 posts

congrats and dont worry, english, need to converse at home and read English books and revised at home lor...

malay, i guess depends also, better you teach them out of school also. as in communicating in Malay also.

generally speaking, malay and England would be poor. but some of my friends were from srjk masuk sm. the fark, England, china babi, malay all better than me.

and a few of them is not even Chinese.
unknown warrior
post Sep 6 2021, 12:58 PM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

then hopefully you can understand what it's all about and speak out against those who want to abolish it.

Those ppl are very ignorant if not bias/prejudice.
Namelessone1973
post Sep 6 2021, 01:01 PM

320 posts

Hi K,

whooaaah scary.........

My daughter is also going to Union next year. Your son and my daughter could be classmates. Lol!
TSGon Freaks
post Sep 6 2021, 01:03 PM

387 posts

QUOTE(Namelessone1973 @ Sep 6 2021, 01:01 PM)
My daughter is also going to Union next year. Your son and my daughter could be classmates. Lol!
so she is standard 2?

nice.
Juggerballz

349 posts

QUOTE(Cincai lar @ Sep 6 2021, 12:44 PM)
international school gonna friend with rich and fmous helang's children yo,... when grow up can have strong cable with their father ,.. just like Jho Low did,..  icon_idea.gif
Actually no, international schools are filled with middle-class ppl now.

Real rich & famous helang Dato Tan Sri, their kids study abroad now.
SUSbananajoe

PhotoPhag
661 posts

If you can speak mandarin, not an issue..

If you are not but just wanted to enroll ur kid, plan your schedule ahead
ichigo_6091

Renewable energy pls
2,079 posts

dont worry TS, i also was product of SJKC and then SMJK upto SPM level.
last time was 99% chinese, in the whole school, the number of non-chinese was probably only <1%.
yet can survive and blend in, i never face any bully case before and never kena target because diff skin colour, but experiences may vary of course.
and if you're worried about BM and english,
my spoken BM was cinaman style until I was 18, my english was fine cause english was spoken at home.
but after 18 and with exposure to working environment, spoken BM and english eventually corrected itself.

and it helps la, i work for majority C company, and i try work hard best I can, but i notice the language helps with setting me apart too, its like a catalyst, but provided you work hard / can tokok really well.
Namelessone1973
post Sep 6 2021, 01:08 PM

320 posts

QUOTE(Gon Freaks @ Sep 6 2021, 01:03 PM)
so she is standard 2?

nice.
Nope going to enter Standard 1 next year
TSGon Freaks
post Sep 6 2021, 01:08 PM

387 posts

QUOTE(Namelessone1973 @ Sep 6 2021, 01:08 PM)
Nope going to enter Standard 1 next year
ah, no class mate then. just school mate.
Namelessone1973
post Sep 6 2021, 01:09 PM

320 posts

QUOTE(Gon Freaks @ Sep 6 2021, 01:08 PM)
Ph, the your son is my daughter senior 😁
mick84
post Sep 6 2021, 01:09 PM

96 posts

…

This post has been edited by mick84: Sep 6 2021, 01:10 PM
wildshot_willy
post Sep 6 2021, 01:10 PM

55 posts

smartest decision you made for your kid.
SUSCincai lar
post Sep 6 2021, 01:10 PM

113 posts

QUOTE(ichigo_6091 @ Sep 6 2021, 01:03 PM)
dont worry TS, i also was product of SJKC and then SMJK upto SPM level.
last time was 99% chinese, in the whole school, the number of non-chinese was probably only <1%.
yet can survive and blend in, i never face any bully case before and never kena target because diff skin colour, but experiences may vary of course.
and if you're worried about BM and english,
my spoken BM was cinaman style until I was 18, my english was fine cause english was spoken at home.
but after 18 and with exposure to working environment, spoken BM and english eventually corrected itself.

and it helps la, i work for majority C company, and i try work hard best I can, but i notice the language helps with setting me apart too, its like a catalyst, but provided you work hard / can tokok really well.
u indian ??.. at home no speak Tamil ??
TSGon Freaks
post Sep 6 2021, 01:12 PM

387 posts

QUOTE(Namelessone1973 @ Sep 6 2021, 01:09 PM)
haha senpai then.
mick84
post Sep 6 2021, 01:12 PM

96 posts

QUOTE(Gon Freaks @ Sep 6 2021, 12:13 PM)
a bit, basic ones.

My friend send his kids to Chinese school. Sometime they purposely speak Chinese in home so that the parent does not know what evil plan they have. Hahaha
ichigo_6091
post Sep 6 2021, 01:13 PM

Renewable energy pls
2,079 posts

QUOTE(Cincai lar @ Sep 6 2021, 01:10 PM)
u indian ??.. at home no speak Tamil ??
gt, comprehending is ez, but spoken tamil cacat lol.
Strike Eureka
post Sep 6 2021, 01:13 PM

128 posts

Sjkc is a good school..... cultivate children since young, kalau masuk srk keluar memang sampah masyarakat become rempits sweat.gif
SUSCincai lar
post Sep 6 2021, 01:14 PM

113 posts

QUOTE(Gon Freaks @ Sep 6 2021, 01:08 PM)
QUOTE(Namelessone1973 @ Sep 6 2021, 01:09 PM)
OMG !!!! ,... what if they khalwat ???...
kipsydc
post Sep 6 2021, 01:14 PM

14 posts

TS celok masuk promo swimming lesson.

Wish you the best of luck bro smile.gif
TSGon Freaks
post Sep 6 2021, 01:16 PM

387 posts

QUOTE(Strike Eureka @ Sep 6 2021, 01:13 PM)
Sjkc is a good school..... cultivate children since young, kalau masuk srk keluar memang sampah masyarakat become rempits sweat.gif
no la, alot of successful people comes from SRK also.

i think this are the view that will attract bad reactions from bumi's
SUSCincai lar
post Sep 6 2021, 01:16 PM

113 posts

harlo,.. wa cina,.. wa SRK jugak,... wa pun tarak rempit,..
TSGon Freaks
post Sep 6 2021, 01:17 PM

387 posts

QUOTE(kipsydc @ Sep 6 2021, 01:14 PM)
TS celok masuk promo swimming lesson.

Wish you the best of luck bro smile.gif
no laaa..

just for fun only. teaching my kids how to swim.
youngblood29us
post Sep 6 2021, 01:22 PM

565 posts

QUOTE(prince12 @ Aug 1 2020, 08:15 PM)

very subjective and depending on individuals...
youngblood29us
post Sep 6 2021, 01:24 PM

565 posts

sjkc pulak keluar become ahbeng etc..come on la..stop this generalization..its nauseating
youngblood29us
post Sep 6 2021, 01:27 PM

565 posts

The only plus in SJKC right now is no religious element..purely focus on education..and definitely better race unity because religion is out from the environment...
In terms of better education..thats absolute BS..If ur kid sampah, the best schools wont be able to help..if ur kid high quality, sampah schools also they can be successful

Someone i know studied in one the most notorious SK in my area..Now in NASA JPL..

This post has been edited by youngblood29us: Sep 6 2021, 01:29 PM
bashlyner
post Sep 6 2021, 01:28 PM

200 posts

RIP gonna become penjilat CCP and Winnie Xi soon
karwaidotnet
post Sep 6 2021, 01:28 PM

come near me and i'll bam bam U...
1,353 posts

QUOTE(Gon Freaks @ Aug 1 2020, 10:03 PM)
i hav similar hope like u. but my wife... i think she has higher most probably conservative expectations.

also sent him to sjkc school. im chinese but not fluent in mandarin. wife malay.

so from 7morning till 7-9pm...study,tuition, tuition.... monday to Sunday....

he's chinese is improving.
he's english learn from youtube.
he's malay - he said he dun like malay. go figure.
TSGon Freaks
post Sep 6 2021, 01:29 PM

387 posts

QUOTE(youngblood29us @ Sep 6 2021, 01:27 PM)
The only plus in SJKC right now is no religious element..purely focus on education..and definitely better race unity because religion is out from the environment...
In terms of better education..thats absolute BS..If ur kid sampah, the best schools wont be able to help..if ur kid high quality, sampah schools also they can be successful
really? my kid schedule got klas agama though.

a pretty cute ustazah teaching the class.
TSGon Freaks
post Sep 6 2021, 01:30 PM

387 posts

QUOTE(bashlyner @ Sep 6 2021, 01:28 PM)
i more toward penjilat vladamir. whistling.gif
TSGon Freaks
post Sep 6 2021, 01:32 PM

387 posts

QUOTE(karwaidotnet @ Sep 6 2021, 01:28 PM)
i hav similar hope like u. but my wife... i think she has higher most probably conservative expectations.

also sent him to sjkc school. im chinese but not fluent in mandarin. wife malay.

so from 7morning till 7-9pm...study,tuition, tuition.... monday to Sunday....

he's chinese is improving.
he's english learn from youtube.
he's malay - he said he dun like malay. go figure.
nice. looks like we are heading there.

my son schedule is pack as hell. sometime I pity him, but.......like dbz always teaches us, fun is everywhere, just need to have a perspective of it.
youngblood29us
post Sep 6 2021, 01:33 PM

565 posts

QUOTE(Gon Freaks @ Sep 6 2021, 01:29 PM)
really? my kid schedule got klas agama though.

a pretty cute ustazah teaching the class.
i mean no focus on segregating nons/halal haram stuff etc...Im pretty sure they wont tell non Muslims cannot bring food for canteen day..nons only can give money.. biggrin.gif
Gyazo
post Sep 6 2021, 01:33 PM

20 posts

Good school my ass. The data show the other way around.
Most mps, people that masuk oxford and harvard all coming from srk.

Mean while sjkc cant even speak both bm and English fluently.
End masuk utar and become ahlian and ahbeng namewee youtube subscribers, end up selling phone or scam people.
TSGon Freaks
post Sep 6 2021, 01:34 PM

387 posts

QUOTE(Gyazo @ Sep 6 2021, 01:33 PM)

End masuk utar and become ahlian and ahbeng namewee youtube subscribers, end up selling phone or scam people.
wahh, nice point..but...
youngblood29us
post Sep 6 2021, 01:35 PM

565 posts

you forgot to add onlyfans/insta biggrin.gif
coyouth
post Sep 6 2021, 01:42 PM

820 posts

Hi K,

whooaaah scary.........

Updates:

PAS kata jangan. pls enroll him to national school so he will memupuk rasa perpaduan and don't come out to be a racist. tongue.gif
TSGon Freaks
post Sep 6 2021, 01:44 PM

387 posts

QUOTE(coyouth @ Sep 6 2021, 01:42 PM)
PAS kata jangan. pls enroll him to national school so he will memupuk rasa perpaduan and don't come out to be a racist.Β  tongue.gif
tahfiz you mean? or sekolah pondok?

This post has been edited by Gon Freaks: Sep 6 2021, 01:44 PM
Namelessone1973
post Sep 6 2021, 01:44 PM

320 posts

What data? Share the source
trojandude
post Sep 6 2021, 01:45 PM

117 posts

Well, there's also far more students in SK.

Also, many SJKC students switch to international/private or SMK eventually, the former if they're rich enough.
sexysarah1992
post Sep 6 2021, 01:47 PM

316 posts

QUOTE(youngblood29us @ Sep 6 2021, 01:24 PM)
sjkc pulak keluar become ahbeng etc..come on la..stop this generalization..its nauseating
Rarely those sjkc come out become ahbeng. I would say they come out being more disciplined and hardworking and they will get jobs easier in the future. Sorry to say, sk alot come out is rempits and some ahbengs. Your attitude is determined by the upbringing from young. Once u have bad habits, very hard to change.

This post has been edited by sexysarah1992: Sep 6 2021, 01:48 PM
Namelessone1973
post Sep 6 2021, 01:48 PM

320 posts

QUOTE(Gon Freaks @ Sep 6 2021, 01:12 PM)
haha senpai then.
Actually, how’s the school?

A lot of homework or more laidback?

I was told it’s quite multi-racial with 40% non-Chinese students which is good.

I came from Kebangsaan school so my Mandarin is probably worse than your son but my wife from Chinese schools.

This post has been edited by Namelessone1973: Sep 6 2021, 01:49 PM
sexysarah1992
post Sep 6 2021, 01:50 PM

316 posts

LOL, thats because most people who go to oxford and harvard are sponsored thru gment scholarships and MOST people who are sponsored are from SK. You rarely see a chinese from SJKC get gment scholarship. Hope u wake up and accept the facts that chinese schools produce better humans in the future.
klch87
post Sep 6 2021, 01:55 PM

779 posts

Already can see many pipul butthurt liao haha.

For me, when my kids grow up i want them to enroll into skj too since chinese is getting mainstream for the past 10 years. Also, many sjks in major towns are famous for their academics since my parents time.

Perhaps one example of an inventor is the guy who created USB named Pua Khein Seng came from srjk, just to cheer you up.

So i think its a good choice overall.
Gyazo
post Sep 6 2021, 01:57 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(sexysarah1992 @ Sep 6 2021, 01:50 PM)
LOL, thats because most people who go to oxford and harvard are sponsored thru gment scholarships and MOST people who are sponsored are from SK. You rarely see a chinese from SJKC get gment scholarship. Hope u wake up and accept the facts that chinese schools produce better humans in the future.
Please stop.. i had enough, this is the next level of autofellatio

🀒🀒

kraziekd
post Sep 6 2021, 02:06 PM

117 posts

hows ur son doing at sjkc?

i also already decided when i have children, gonna send them to sjkc

as a product of sk I know how bad it is
leftycall9
post Sep 6 2021, 02:09 PM

Left of leftist
1,046 posts

Any update TS?
Wish him all the luck catching up lessons during this pandemic period. Studying at home now hope you and your wife can manage everything.

This post has been edited by leftycall9: Sep 6 2021, 02:11 PM
Solar Calendar
post Sep 6 2021, 02:11 PM

687 posts

QUOTE(kraziekd @ Sep 6 2021, 02:06 PM)

No that's not true. SK students are Harvard material. Most Harvard students come from SK. Don't ask me how I know. Got ktard provide his statistics earlier

This post has been edited by Solar Calendar: Sep 6 2021, 02:11 PM
Solar Calendar
post Sep 6 2021, 02:12 PM

687 posts

QUOTE(leftycall9 @ Sep 6 2021, 02:09 PM)
Any update TS?
Wish him all the luck catching up lessons during this pandemic period. Studying at home now hope you and your wife can manage everything.
Lol, primary school is place to have fun. Chill abit. Modern society different from before. To be successful no need to break back like old gen.
Sagiez
post Sep 6 2021, 02:13 PM

44 posts

Lol..i dont know what's the hype with SJKC except able to speak mandarin. Back in the day during SRK, i always represented my school for quizzes competition, especially for math and science. And usually the gold, silver and bronze always won by SRK, almost never won by SJKC although they also participated. Just check the UPSR result each year (before it abolished), all the top 10 best school ranking for national/states are from SRK.. barely any SJKC in top 10, even in top 20.
cloud666
post Sep 6 2021, 02:15 PM

79 posts

example sk brain washed product
janji majority bodo so easy continue dominant
SUSXnet
post Sep 6 2021, 02:17 PM

1,862 posts

SJKC brainwashed by CCP

This post has been edited by Xnet: Sep 6 2021, 02:18 PM
MdmWSW
post Sep 6 2021, 02:19 PM

178 posts

Ex Smjkc and sjkc here.

Last time I always resent why I have to learn Chinese 🀣 kept asking my mom to send me to English school, because the Chinese schools can be really toxic and very lala....always results oriented. Those not pandai study one they just leave the students in the corner.

But grow up already only realize knowing Mandarin is very important...and brings lotsa advantage. Taobao, etc all u know how.
ZeaXG
post Sep 6 2021, 02:20 PM

342 posts

Most SJKC products prefer to jilat Taiwan, see Namewee you can see it already
seikoho1
post Sep 6 2021, 02:23 PM

289 posts

easily make fren with jin ping..najib son
bereev
post Sep 6 2021, 02:24 PM

257 posts

my kolik send her son to Srjkc too , inside parents group chat she always cannot understand ask me to translate πŸ˜„πŸ˜„πŸ˜„πŸ˜„
Sagiez
post Sep 6 2021, 02:25 PM

44 posts

QUOTE(sexysarah1992 @ Sep 6 2021, 01:50 PM)
Just because government sponsored doesn't mean you can be easily accepted to those harvard or oxford. If any Malaysian regardless their races got accepted to those 2 uni, i'm 100% sure they will easily gained government sponsorship. There are plenty non bumis who got government sponsorhip but enter foreign university that not even ranked in Top 50.
leftycall9
post Sep 6 2021, 02:26 PM

Left of leftist
1,046 posts

QUOTE(ZeaXG @ Sep 6 2021, 02:20 PM)
Most SJKC products prefer to jilat Taiwan, see Namewee you can see it already
Hail 正体字.
likefunyouare
post Sep 6 2021, 02:28 PM

82 posts

last time during sjkc time every night have nightmare and reluctant to go to school

really stressful man

once enter smk only know what is life about

khelben
post Sep 6 2021, 02:28 PM

I love my mum & dad
6,056 posts

QUOTE(Gon Freaks @ Sep 6 2021, 01:34 PM)
wahh, nice point..but...
Meh, setakat masuk prestigious universities with big money for what.

What we want is an industry changer, like Pua Khein Seng who gave us the USB flash drive. Pretty much killed the floppy disk.

Product of vernacular school laugh.gif
TSGon Freaks
post Sep 6 2021, 02:31 PM

387 posts

QUOTE(Namelessone1973 @ Sep 6 2021, 01:48 PM)
Actually, how’s the school?

A lot of homework or more laidback?

I was told it’s quite multi-racial with 40% non-Chinese students which is good.

I came from Kebangsaan school so my Mandarin is probably worse than your son but my wife from Chinese schools.
a lot of homework.

pretty packed. quite informative.
TSGon Freaks
post Sep 6 2021, 02:35 PM

387 posts

QUOTE(leftycall9 @ Sep 6 2021, 02:09 PM)
Any update TS?
QUOTE(kraziekd @ Sep 6 2021, 02:06 PM)

he nailed it mang. he got awarded top 5 best students for standard 1. lol

exceed expectation, well my expectation.
Gyazo
post Sep 6 2021, 02:37 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(khelben @ Sep 6 2021, 02:28 PM)
Meh, setakat masuk prestigious universities with big money for what.

What we want is an industry changer, like Pua Khein Seng who gave us the USB flash drive. Pretty much killed the floppy disk.

Product of vernacular school laugh.gif
Lol noob.. tons of people are claims they are the inventor of usb flash drive . I believe japan more.

β€œ The basis for USB flash drives is flash memory, a type of floating-gate semiconductor memory invented by Fujio Masuoka in the early 1980s. Flash memory uses floating-gate MOSFET transistors as memory cells.[8][9]

Multiple individuals have staked a claim to being the inventor of the USB flash drive. On April 5, 1999, Amir Ban, Dov Moran, and Oron Ogdan of M-Systems, an Israeli company, filed a patent application entitled "Architecture for a Universal Serial Bus-Based PC Flash Disk".[10][1]The patent was subsequently granted on November 14, 2000 and these individuals have often been recognized as the inventors of the USB flash drive.[11] Also in 1999, Shimon Shmueli, an engineer at IBM, submitted an invention disclosure asserting that he had invented the USB flash drive.[1][12] A Singaporean company named Trek 2000 International is the first company known to have sold a USB flash drive, and has also maintained that it is the original inventor of the device.[13] Finally Pua Khein-Seng, a Malaysian engineer, has also been recognized by some as a possible inventor of the device.”

β€œPossible”

SUSifourtos
post Sep 6 2021, 02:37 PM

2,256 posts

congrat
khelben
post Sep 6 2021, 02:38 PM

I love my mum & dad
6,056 posts

QUOTE(Gyazo @ Sep 6 2021, 02:37 PM)
Lol noob.. tons of people are claims they are the inventor of usb flash drive . I believe japan more.

β€œ The basis for USB flash drives is flash memory, a type of floating-gate semiconductor memory invented by Fujio Masuoka in the early 1980s. Flash memory uses floating-gate MOSFET transistors as memory cells.[8][9]

Multiple individuals have staked a claim to being the inventor of the USB flash drive. On April 5, 1999, Amir Ban, Dov Moran, and Oron Ogdan of M-Systems, an Israeli company, filed a patent application entitled "Architecture for a Universal Serial Bus-Based PC Flash Disk".[10][1]The patent was subsequently granted on November 14, 2000 and these individuals have often been recognized as the inventors of the USB flash drive.[11] Also in 1999, Shimon Shmueli, an engineer at IBM, submitted an invention disclosure asserting that he had invented the USB flash drive.[1][12] A Singaporean company named Trek 2000 International is the first company known to have sold a USB flash drive, and has also maintained that it is the original inventor of the device.[13] Finally Pua Khein-Seng, a Malaysian engineer, has also been recognized by some as a possible inventor of the device.”

β€œPossible”
Yeah setakat invent jer what for? Who's the first to make it possible to mass market it to put in into the consumers hands?

Yup.
kraziekd
post Sep 6 2021, 02:38 PM

117 posts

QUOTE(Gon Freaks @ Sep 6 2021, 02:35 PM)

wah nice

u must be proud
Slowpokeking
post Sep 6 2021, 02:39 PM

19 posts

Nice updates.

Speaking from experience as a non that survived SRJKC the first few years going to be tough, especially without any input from parents.

But scoring straight As and making my parents proud was well worth it. smile.gif
leftycall9
post Sep 6 2021, 02:39 PM

Left of leftist
1,046 posts

Congrats. πŸ‘
Happy to hear that you must be really proud of him.
sexysarah1992
post Sep 6 2021, 02:40 PM

316 posts

QUOTE(Sagiez @ Sep 6 2021, 02:25 PM)
Just because government sponsored doesn't mean you can be easily accepted to those harvard or oxford. If any Malaysian regardless their races got accepted to those 2 uni, i'm 100% sure they will easily gained government sponsorship. There are plenty non bumis who got government sponsorhip but enter foreign university that not even ranked in Top 50.
So dont simply say there are alot of SK students being accepted to Harvard or Oxford laaaa.. If they did sponsor SJKC students to those unis, i think the numbers will be very much higher than those from SK
diablos
post Sep 6 2021, 02:42 PM

260 posts

Hi TS. Good to hear your son is excelling. It is not easy.
Alagarajah
post Sep 6 2021, 02:43 PM

QUOTE(Rhetoric @ Aug 1 2020, 08:02 PM)
what is minimum IQ to be successful in sjkc?
TSGon Freaks
post Sep 6 2021, 02:44 PM

387 posts

QUOTE(leftycall9 @ Sep 6 2021, 02:39 PM)
Congrats. πŸ‘
Happy to hear that you must be really proud of him.
QUOTE(Slowpokeking @ Sep 6 2021, 02:39 PM)
Nice updates.

Speaking from experience as a non that survived SRJKC the first few years going to be tough, especially without any input from parents.

But scoring straight As and making my parents proud was well worth it. smile.gif
QUOTE(kraziekd @ Sep 6 2021, 02:38 PM)
wah nice

u must be proud
thank you!

I am! didn't expect a lot, especially with the PDPR kinda thing, but yeah! hopefully, it goes on! long way to go!
TSGon Freaks
post Sep 6 2021, 02:45 PM

387 posts

QUOTE(diablos @ Sep 6 2021, 02:42 PM)
Hi TS. Good to hear your son is excelling. It is not easy.
it is not easy. credit goes to the teacher! they are working hard!
diablos
post Sep 6 2021, 03:15 PM

260 posts

QUOTE(Gon Freaks @ Sep 6 2021, 02:45 PM)
it is not easy. credit goes to the teacher! they are working hard!
Ya... SRJK teachers tend to be hardworking and garang... I know because sometimes I sit beside my kids to see what the teacher teaches for the online class. I was stunned when the teacher suddenly scolds one of the students for not concentrating. While I don't let them play any games during weekdays, on weekends I let my kids play their pc games on Saturday after their class ends and Sunday the whole day. Kesian them on the stress.
TSGon Freaks
post Sep 6 2021, 03:17 PM

387 posts

QUOTE(diablos @ Sep 6 2021, 03:15 PM)
Ya... SRJK teachers tend to be hardworking and garang... I know because sometimes I sit beside my kids to see what the teacher teaches for the online class. I was stunned when the teacher suddenly scolds one of the students for not concentrating. While I don't let them play any games during weekdays, on weekends I let my kids play their pc games on Saturday after their class ends and Sunday the whole day. Kesian them on the stress.
yeah, bit stressful, but so far he is adjusting pretty well.

i do reward him from time to time.
JasonTheGreat
post Sep 6 2021, 03:26 PM

832 posts

I’m a product of SRK. I don’t like SRJKC As I think the students are usually selfish and they still are. However I will send my kids to SRJKC for quality education and the will to succeed. Of cos I will fix/teach the shortcoming of English, BM and Selfishness area
kevbacon
post Sep 6 2021, 04:05 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(UserU @ Aug 1 2020, 10:31 PM)

Dont be too sure about the mingling part.
Am from SMK school, the SJKC students mostly mingle among themselves.
Sampai main bola during PJK also become cina vs melayu.
PJK teacher in class chilling out, not aware all this nonsense happening on the field. LOL
shin gouki
post Sep 6 2021, 06:23 PM

74 posts

Is not like nons have unlimited quota to enter public uni. I am sure not every SK students can speak fluent england oso otherwise they wont have problem looking for job that need to speak good england. SJKC do produce ahbeng just like SK produce rempit. We all have our own specialty XD
cassie_90
post Sep 6 2021, 06:45 PM

106 posts

https://www.thestar.com.my/news/nation/2021...hool-top-scorer

spamfish
post Sep 6 2021, 06:47 PM

187 posts

pressure builds character, its an extra advantage to pick up a third language...
TSGon Freaks
post Sep 6 2021, 06:49 PM

387 posts

QUOTE(cassie_90 @ Sep 6 2021, 06:45 PM)
nice. but i am not expecting my kid to achieve such. just adaptability.
cassie_90
post Sep 6 2021, 06:51 PM

106 posts

QUOTE(Gon Freaks @ Sep 6 2021, 06:49 PM)
nice. but i am not expecting my kid to achieve such. just adaptability.
Kiddo are sponge, so not to worry. smile.gif
TSGon Freaks
post Sep 6 2021, 06:54 PM

387 posts

QUOTE(cassie_90 @ Sep 6 2021, 06:51 PM)
Kiddo are sponge, so not to worry.  smile.gif
yes! i got blown away multiple times. my kids exceeding my expectation alot.
prophecus
post Sep 6 2021, 06:55 PM

157 posts

happy to read your success, and I am happy government has uturned to accept Mara student from non SK schools. Not that matters though for now, your kid has long way to go and I am not sure whether you sending your kid to MRSM or somewhere else.
WinkyJr
post Sep 6 2021, 06:59 PM

433 posts

ya
lots of homework
terpaksa subscribe extra tuition after/before daycare and weekend to cope

teacher garang, direct scold those did not submit homework and skip google meet during online classes
ur kids buat masalah, direct list out the troublesome name in class whatsapp group
haha

gila babi wei

AdisonMak
post Sep 6 2021, 07:01 PM

168 posts

your son maybe bright future ahead. But if u worry his english become chinglish while the rest of the performance is above average:

i) 1st 6 years on sjkc, next 6 years on smk or
ii) but kelas tambahan / tuisyen part fokus english only.
cassie_90
post Sep 6 2021, 07:05 PM

106 posts

QUOTE(Gon Freaks @ Sep 6 2021, 06:54 PM)
yes! i got blown away multiple times. my kids exceeding my expectation alot.
Pls give him plenty of credits, im not gonna comment much SJK© or SK produce what quality of students. At the end of the day parents have to play their part to shape/guide their child.

I was in SJKC all the way till chinese high school, did my form 4 & form in SK. I'm one of those Chinese ppl that 'buta huruf' with my own mother tongue, always kena f by teachers in class. Learning Chinese words is difficult AF. Tough life but well worth it.

TSGon Freaks
post Sep 6 2021, 07:08 PM

387 posts

QUOTE(prophecus @ Sep 6 2021, 06:55 PM)
happy to read your success, and I am happy government has uturned to accept Mara student from non SK schools. Not that matters though for now, your kid has long way to go and I am not sure whether you sending your kid to MRSM or somewhere else.
nah, boarding school is a thing of the past. ill try my best to avoid them going to any boarding school.

TSGon Freaks
post Sep 6 2021, 07:09 PM

387 posts

QUOTE(AdisonMak @ Sep 6 2021, 07:01 PM)
your son maybe bright future ahead. But if u worry his english become chinglish while the rest of the performance is above average:

hopefully. future is still a big mystery.

but nope enlish is not a problem. we communicate in English at home.
SUSCurrent Events guy
post Sep 6 2021, 07:19 PM

966 posts

Well thats one way to avoid helping your kid with homework
bristlebb
post Sep 6 2021, 07:22 PM

575 posts

great to hear that

secondary school can put him at sekolah kebangsaan

best of both worlds
djandrew
post Sep 6 2021, 07:30 PM

236 posts

Ayam from srjkc....hardcore homework lol...i not sure 90s and now style got change or not la.. if same then need very hardworking.
The moment u feel so impossible can finish the homework on deadline given teacher add another homework again haha.
Dunno how to describe but they always train us in a way to make the impossible to become possible.

This post has been edited by djandrew: Sep 6 2021, 07:36 PM
kamfoo
post Sep 6 2021, 07:39 PM

847 posts

Chinese skool many success ppl
karwaidotnet
post Sep 6 2021, 09:44 PM

come near me and i'll bam bam U...
1,353 posts

QUOTE(diablos @ Sep 6 2021, 03:15 PM)
i guess we are not alone.....

*bro hug*
Ewww!
post Sep 6 2021, 11:17 PM

2,033 posts

QUOTE(kamfoo @ Sep 6 2021, 07:39 PM)
Chinese skool many success ppl
Eat panadol

-kamfoo
Maria Takagi
post Sep 6 2021, 11:39 PM

1,039 posts

I got one melei friend, he went thru SRJK

ok what.

people respek him because he can speak chinese.
Chisinlouz
post Sep 6 2021, 11:49 PM

849 posts

Bright future. Don't get me wrong.

He who walk different path will rewarded differently.
smokey
post Sep 6 2021, 11:50 PM

Infinity speed
3,506 posts

QUOTE(SSSZC @ Sep 6 2021, 03:19 PM)
SRJK punya teachers hv uptime 99.9% masuk class teach , even some teachers r on pregnant leave thy will be other terachers help on class.
Anyone know SK teachers punya uptime ?
My physics teacher keep giving birth every year
burn22
post Sep 6 2021, 11:57 PM

398 posts

when my gal was studying at SJKC, she introduced her malay tudung friend to me. both of em was speaking chinese, when me... truly banana.

TSGon Freaks
post Sep 7 2021, 12:03 AM

387 posts

QUOTE(smokey @ Sep 6 2021, 11:50 PM)
hahaha. ni epic.
shadowglow
post Sep 7 2021, 01:14 AM

462 posts

that sentence, seems familiar in my school too,

which is ur school bruhh??
Blofeld
post Sep 7 2021, 01:26 AM

4,704 posts

just realised this thread is already one-year plus
Bonchi
post Sep 7 2021, 01:31 AM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

QUOTE(AdisonMak @ Sep 6 2021, 07:01 PM)

Depends on schools, most sjkc in KL, especially the top class (SJKC tend to classify students according to grades) these classes will ditch malaysia's English syllabus and use singapork's or cambridge primary english. It will be an entire different level. Opportunity also different, have after school tuition targeted to ace UPSR or some private school entrance exam including ASEAN scholarship... but since now no more UPSR i dunno what they will be targeting next.

But if end up in the bottom of the barrel then you get those typical SJKC broken english lalazai... as SJKC tend to close their eyes on those bottom classes.

This post has been edited by Bonchi: Sep 7 2021, 01:33 AM
SUStikaram
post Sep 7 2021, 01:32 AM

10,722 posts

Ayam youngest ( also from srjkc ) going to apply Oxford with score 11A* & 1A

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/5190923/+60

This post has been edited by tikaram: Sep 7 2021, 01:32 AM
msacras
post Sep 7 2021, 01:33 AM

1,767 posts

Should send some condoms and birth control pills to her in teachers day, then she will get your point.
Chaud
post Sep 7 2021, 01:49 AM

1,119 posts

Ayam survivor

home work sure got...the teacher bother you got hand in your homework or not is another story
TSGon Freaks
post Sep 7 2021, 04:49 AM

387 posts

QUOTE(Blofeld @ Sep 7 2021, 01:26 AM)
just realised this thread is already one-year plus
wow, for real?
man time passed by so fast! kiamat dah dekat ni.

jimmyktp
post Sep 7 2021, 05:56 AM

244 posts

I'm from national school. U don't see me wanting to be a Malay. What a sohai interpretation.
Yveatel
post Sep 7 2021, 06:07 AM

880 posts

Congratulation. You just equip your son with a good tool for future.
likefunyouare
post Sep 7 2021, 06:11 AM

82 posts

very smart boy

bright future indeed

must be good upbringing
TSGon Freaks
post Sep 7 2021, 10:27 AM

387 posts

QUOTE(likefunyouare @ Sep 7 2021, 06:11 AM)
very smart boy

bright future indeed

must be good upbringing
thank you. just got luck on our side.

QUOTE(Yveatel @ Sep 7 2021, 06:07 AM)
Congratulation. You just equip your son with a good tool for future.
thank you.
happy_berry
post Sep 7 2021, 10:31 AM

2,465 posts

ini bukan oren kito
SUSEBBattlefield
post Sep 7 2021, 10:37 AM

Ramadass Vijandren
637 posts

Gon Freaks

I malas read 20 page.
ur son spoke any cainis at all prior to entering primary?
did kindergarten teach basics?

if he can accept people joking about foreskin and pork, he should have no problem making friends as long as he can communicate and preferably curse in chinese.

Go for Stephen Chow movie marathon.

TSGon Freaks
post Sep 7 2021, 12:01 PM

387 posts

QUOTE(EBBattlefield @ Sep 7 2021, 10:37 AM)
Gon Freaks

I malas read 20 page.
ur son spoke any cainis at all prior to entering primary?
did kindergarten teach basics?

if he can accept people joking about foreskin and pork, he should have no problem making friends as long as he can communicate and preferably curse in chinese.

Go for Stephen Chow movie marathon.
not really. prior ti primary, just englsh comm at home.

didn't go kindergarten because I don't believe in kindergarten system. home schooling.

why he should be worry in making friends?

his IG almost 3k.

he got around 2k subs in youtube.

so friends are not the most important thing right now. he got a lot of friends in the neighbourhood. not to mention about the pandemic.

This post has been edited by Gon Freaks: Sep 7 2021, 01:16 PM
United Rulez
post Sep 7 2021, 12:10 PM

668 posts

Should have at least send to kindergarten yg ajar mandarin, kasi biasakan dulu.

Terus SRJKC mmg RIP.

Almost equivalent to tak belajar A,B,C terus masuk sekolah rendah.
Bill888
post Sep 7 2021, 12:19 PM

If you think your kid quite smart, then srjkc. Sure advantage next time because can speak and read Chinese.
SUSCincai lar
post Sep 7 2021, 12:22 PM

113 posts

QUOTE(Gon Freaks @ Sep 7 2021, 12:01 PM)
not really. prior ti primary, just englsh comm at home.

didn't go kindergarten because I don't believe in kindergarten system. home schooling.

why he should be worry in making friends?

his twitter almost 3k.

he got around 2k subs in youtube.

so friends are not the most important thing right now. he got a lot of friends in the neighbourhood. not to mention about the pandemic.
what ??. virtual/internet friends is not real friends,.. kids need to expose to peers socializing,.. and make real friends,..
TSGon Freaks
post Sep 7 2021, 01:16 PM

387 posts

QUOTE(United Rulez @ Sep 7 2021, 12:10 PM)
Should have at least send to kindergarten yg ajar mandarin, kasi biasakan dulu.

Terus SRJKC mmg RIP.

Almost equivalent to tak belajar A,B,C terus masuk sekolah rendah.
my kid didnt go kindergarten, but he manage to nail it. that is what surprised me. as others said, they are sponge!

btw, now days kindergarten is overated.
TSGon Freaks
post Sep 7 2021, 01:17 PM

387 posts

QUOTE(Cincai lar @ Sep 7 2021, 12:22 PM)
what ??. virtual/internet friends is not real friends,.. kids need to expose to peers socializing,.. and make real friends,..
lol, sorry not twitter. its IG instead.

but tbh, even school is online now days. virtual and internet friends are pandemic reaction.
DarkAeon
post Sep 7 2021, 01:22 PM

774 posts

QUOTE(Gon Freaks @ Sep 7 2021, 01:16 PM)
my kid didnt go kindergarten, but he manage to nail it. that is what surprised me. as others said, they are sponge!

btw, now days kindergarten is overated.
it depends on the child. some learn easier and faster than others. while some need more help

kindergarten while allowing an earlier start for the kid, it is also for the parents to assess the level of needs of their child earlier rather than when real school begins

This post has been edited by DarkAeon: Sep 7 2021, 01:22 PM
TSGon Freaks
post Sep 7 2021, 01:27 PM

387 posts

QUOTE(DarkAeon @ Sep 7 2021, 01:22 PM)
it depends on the child. some learn easier and faster than others. while some need more help

kindergarten while allowing an earlier start for the kid, it is also for the parents to assess the level of needs of their child earlier rather than when real school begins
agree. thanks for the view.
dickybird
post Sep 7 2021, 01:37 PM

2,093 posts

QUOTE(tankerbell12345 @ Aug 1 2020, 08:05 PM)
Later come out
See awek no up
Lol
SUSCincai lar
post Sep 7 2021, 02:24 PM

113 posts

QUOTE(Gon Freaks @ Sep 7 2021, 01:17 PM)
lol, sorry not twitter. its IG instead.

but tbh, even school is online now days. virtual and internet friends are pandemic reaction.
in the tender years they need to experience friends,.. real children,.. they only start learning inter relationship,.. and how to coup with fighting,.. or dispute,.. when they in their teens they will start experience friends betrayal,.. bullying,..special friends,..groups,.. etc etc etc,.. this experience,.. u parents can't give them,.. u can only guide them,..

keep them in monitor screen for socializing,.. without real people interaction,.. thats not good for a child development,..
HangJebat
post Sep 11 2021, 12:14 AM

28 posts

Hi K,

whooaaah scary.........

Updates:

Hello encik,

I'm planning to register my son in SJKC Union also, we're talking about Union Cyberjaya right?

I would like to know (if anybody can tell me, in Cyberjaya) :
1. which daycare provides tuition (esp. mandarin) and helping children to do homeworks
2. any transport providers pickup children from the school to the daycare
3. ... (will add questions later)

Thanks in advance.

- Farid, Klang
TSGon Freaks
post Sep 11 2021, 06:35 AM

387 posts

QUOTE(HangJebat @ Sep 11 2021, 12:14 AM)
Hello encik,

I'm planning to register my son in SJKC Union also, we're talking about Union Cyberjaya right?

I would like to know (if anybody can tell me, in Cyberjaya) :
1. which daycare provides tuition (esp. mandarin) and helping children to do homeworks
2. any transport providers pickup children from the school to the daycare
3. ... (will add questions later)

Thanks in advance.

- Farid, Klang
Hi Farid.

Yes.Union Cyberjaya.

1. not sure.
2. I am sure there are bunch of transport, but with the pandemic scenario, not sure the availability.

Rotoworldz
post Sep 11 2021, 08:15 AM

28 posts

Please teach/send your kid to learn bahasa. If you want him to survive working in Msia, you will regret if he can't speak/write in proper Bahasa/English..

dont be like most of my ah beng friends, their incompetent to mix with others race because lacking in bahasa and English. some still struggling to have a consistent job because of this..

Note: ayam cinis. Speaking from personal experience..

This post has been edited by Rotoworldz: Sep 11 2021, 08:20 AM
andrekua2
post Sep 11 2021, 08:26 AM

13,484 posts

QUOTE(Bonchi @ Sep 7 2021, 01:31 AM)
Depends on schools, most sjkc in KL, especially the top class (SJKC tend to classify students according to grades) these classes will ditch malaysia's English syllabus and use singapork's or cambridge primary english. It will be an entire different level. Opportunity also different, have after school tuition targeted to ace UPSR or some private school entrance exam including ASEAN scholarship... but since now no more UPSR i dunno what they will be targeting next.

But if end up in the bottom of the barrel then you get those typical SJKC broken english lalazai... as SJKC tend to close their eyes on those bottom classes.
Finally a smart brain. I really don't know why Malaysian Chinese idolized SJKC. Rushing like zerg to enroll. Famous ones standard 1 enrollment between 800-100. You expect everyone of them to excel? LoL... 30 or 50 excellent students can't make up for those they abandoned to achieved it.
chamelion
post Sep 11 2021, 08:31 AM

Back to Bricking
2,755 posts

QUOTE(Rotoworldz @ Sep 11 2021, 08:15 AM)
Please teach/send your kid to learn bahasa. If you want him to survive working in Msia, you will regret if he can't speak/write in proper Bahasa/English..

dont be like most of my ah beng friends, their incompetent to mix with others race because lacking in bahasa and English. some still struggling to have a consistent job because of this..

In klang valley, most srjk has better multilanguage teaching than sjk. But that is only part of the effort, parents play the other 70%. If parent dont look into detail on the child’s education, it is same outcome regardless go srjk or sjk.

This post has been edited by chamelion: Sep 11 2021, 09:05 AM
Mr.Robert
post Sep 11 2021, 08:32 AM

293 posts

QUOTE(Gon Freaks @ Sep 11 2021, 06:35 AM)
Hi Farid.

Yes.Union Cyberjaya.

1. not sure.
2. I am sure there are bunch of transport, but with the pandemic scenario, not sure the availability.
How about Chinese subject? How to catch up?
Who gonna help with his homework?

Mr.Robert
post Sep 11 2021, 08:35 AM

293 posts

QUOTE(Bonchi @ Sep 7 2021, 01:31 AM)

Being a Chinese and product of SK, SMK,
My regret is not learning Chinese, cannot read Chinese 😫
Hard to survive as Banana 🍌
You are neither here or there

Just have to go along n Move along with the flow
Rotoworldz
post Sep 11 2021, 08:39 AM

28 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Robert @ Sep 11 2021, 08:35 AM)

'Hard to survive'

Would you mind to elaborate?
aeonbig
post Sep 11 2021, 08:50 AM

65 posts

Please don't generalize, I'm a product of sjkc and I can speak BM and English decently.

Not everyone is the same.
Mr.Robert
post Sep 11 2021, 08:55 AM

293 posts

QUOTE(Rotoworldz @ Sep 11 2021, 08:39 AM)
'Hard to survive'

Would you mind to elaborate?
Well, in working world as a Chinese to speak English to fellow Chinese, it is a bit weird.
Your colleagues in MNC are likely to be Chinese, be it from MY, SG, or PRC

And in cosmopolitan city like SG, you probably need to interact with colleagues from PRC, Taiwanese, SG, MY,
To fit in and have better working relationship with them, you need to speak their language.

Of course you could still survive in Asean, but probably you can forget about chances to travel to Taiwan, Hong Kong or China for business trips.

This post has been edited by Mr.Robert: Sep 11 2021, 08:57 AM
andrekua2
post Sep 11 2021, 09:10 AM

13,484 posts

As usual, the lazy fella complaining like a 7 years old. It's never too late to learn to read, unlike writing especially if you already can speak. I guess Google translate is so easy to use now that people dont even feel the need to learn already. Snap and highlight the text that you want to translate, viola...
zerouzer
post Sep 11 2021, 09:15 AM

144 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Sep 11 2021, 09:10 AM)
As usual, the lazy fella complaining like a 7 years old. It's never too late to learn to read, unlike writing especially if you already can speak. I guess Google translate is so easy to use now that people dont even feel the need to learn already. Snap and highlight the text that you want to translate, viola...
Very true..we have students learning foreign language after SPM to go overseas, I'm sure learning Chinese/Mandarin in Malaysia is more accessible since alot of people already speak it daily. Best time to start is today!
Chisinlouz
post Sep 11 2021, 09:16 AM

849 posts

Your friend surrounding definitely affect him alot. As a start just watch more TV.

My English listening skill is from TV3 midnight news while Malay is from TV1 and Malay friends. However writing and vocab proficiency is poorer of course.

QUOTE(Mr.Robert @ Sep 11 2021, 08:55 AM)
Well, in working world as a Chinese to speak English to fellow Chinese, it is a bit weird.
Your colleagues in MNC are likely to be Chinese, be it from MY, SG, or PRC

And in cosmopolitan city like SG, you probably need to interact with colleagues from PRC, Taiwanese, SG, MY,
To fit in and have better working relationship with them, you need to speak their language.

Of course you could still survive in Asean, but probably you can forget about chances to travel to Taiwan, Hong Kong or China for business trips.
Sjkc is strict when you in priority class. Make sure you kid is hardworking enough because if they dropped to non priority class (non all-A class), overall quality may be bad. Poorer peers will affect the kid. I believe this apply to SK, SMK and global education scene.

I am glad there is Malay sending their kid to Sjkc. As graduate from Sjkc myself, the advice is make sure your kid hardworking 110% than Chinese student because the language itself is not your mother tongue. Guide them as long they grow up and they will be thankful to open doors in future.

For parent that don't know Chinese but want to help your kid sjkc homework, Google translate can help you 90% of the time.

This post has been edited by Chisinlouz: Sep 11 2021, 09:18 AM
andrekua2
post Sep 11 2021, 09:24 AM

13,484 posts

QUOTE(Chisinlouz @ Sep 11 2021, 09:16 AM)
Your friend surrounding definitely affect him alot. As a start just watch more TV.

My English listening skill is from TV3 midnight news while Malay is from TV1 and Malay friends. However writing and vocab proficiency is poorer of course.
Sjkc is strict when you in priority class. Make sure you kid is hardworking enough because if they dropped to non priority class (non all-A class), overall quality may be bad. Poorer peers will affect the kid. I believe this apply to SK, SMK and global education scene.

I am glad there is Malay sending their kid to Sjkc. As graduate from Sjkc myself, the advice is make sure your kid hardworking 110% than Chinese student because the language itself is not your mother tongue. Guide them as long they grow up and they will be thankful to open doors in future.

For parent that don't know Chinese but want to help your kid sjkc homework, Google translate can help you 90% of the time.
90% is probably over-rated. More like 60-70%. The rest where it cant help you would be those essay writing and how to construct a complete sentence.
Chisinlouz
post Sep 11 2021, 09:25 AM

849 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Sep 11 2021, 09:24 AM)
90% is probably over-rated. More like 60-70%. The rest where it cant help you would be those essay writing and how to construct a complete sentence.
Direct word translation, pronunciation will do the job. Yes, it will not help at all in essay writing.
trojandude
post Sep 11 2021, 09:34 AM

117 posts

This^

I'd gladly trade by BM proficiency for Mandarin. Bahasa pasar is so easy to learn and you could probably make all the tatabahasa mistakes you can wish for and it's still intelligible.

After I left school I barely even use Malay anymore. The funny thing is like 2/3 of the Malays I talk to even ended up speaking English to me anyway despite me starting or replying them back in Malay.

The only time I ever used Malay was talking to polis.

It's only years after I left school that I realised the common saying that "BM is useless". It's not useless for sure, but it sure isn't as useful as I thought. Well, at least for my case.

kmmsa
post Sep 11 2021, 09:41 AM

70 posts

depends on your kid hardworkign anot

if parents also lazy type but expect kid to be super hardworking he gonna suffer

if parents keep encourage and supprt. it will work
sk1l
post Sep 11 2021, 09:44 AM

151 posts

If u guys r worried ur kids will struggle in their mandarin I can recommend a few mandarin teachers in TikTok. Just pm me. Everyday just listen to a few vids n repeat.
JimbeamofNRT
post Sep 11 2021, 09:03 PM

1,902 posts

knn which fella bumped old tered?

This post has been edited by JimbeamofNRT: Sep 11 2021, 09:04 PM
JimbeamofNRT
post Nov 12 2021, 03:26 PM

1,902 posts

-

This post has been edited by JimbeamofNRT: Nov 12 2021, 03:28 PM