HOME expo what to buy?
Jul 30 2020, 01:35 PM, updated 6y ago
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
669 posts Joined: Dec 2012 |
Hi sifus, any regular HOME expo visitor can provide some guidance what products should I buy in HOME expo that is definitely worth the money?
This post has been edited by jeffboon97: Jul 30 2020, 01:35 PM |
Jul 30 2020, 01:52 PM
14,511 posts Joined: Sep 2017 |
QUOTE(jeffboon97 @ Jul 30 2020, 01:35 PM) Hi sifus, any regular HOME expo visitor can provide some guidance what products should I buy in HOME expo that is definitely worth the money? Everything is on 'offer' during expo ... buy wisely. Some are 'traps' just to get you committed.My advise.. buy only after your house is ready. There will be plenty of expos. New products will appear everytime. What happens if you have a good offer for your home once is ready ? This post has been edited by mini orchard: Jul 30 2020, 01:57 PM Maja Helmi and jeffboon97 liked this post
Jul 30 2020, 02:08 PM
Show posts by this member only | Post
647 posts Joined: May 2020 |
QUOTE(jeffboon97 @ Jul 30 2020, 01:35 PM) Hi sifus, any regular HOME expo visitor can provide some guidance what products should I buy in HOME expo that is definitely worth the money? I have yet to find a good deal at an expo, these days you want a deal just check out Lazada or Shopee. Sometimes if what you are after are electrical goods and you do not care much for the latest or the shiniest then watch out for Harvey Norman's warehouse sales. |
Jul 30 2020, 02:22 PM
669 posts Joined: Dec 2012 |
QUOTE(mini orchard @ Jul 30 2020, 01:52 PM) Everything is on 'offer' during expo ... buy wisely. Some are 'traps' just to get you committed. Thanks for the advice man. I'll just take a look and understand what's the price range and do some budgeting first My advise.. buy only after your house is ready. There will be plenty of expos. New products will appear everytime. What happens if you have a good offer for your home once is ready ? QUOTE(Asquith @ Jul 30 2020, 02:08 PM) I have yet to find a good deal at an expo, these days you want a deal just check out Lazada or Shopee. Sometimes if what you are after are electrical goods and you do not care much for the latest or the shiniest then watch out for Harvey Norman's warehouse sales. |
Jul 30 2020, 02:52 PM
647 posts Joined: May 2020 |
QUOTE(jeffboon97 @ Jul 30 2020, 02:22 PM) Thanks for the advice man. I'll just take a look and understand what's the price range and do some budgeting first Yes, you can definitely find the same thing cheaper on Shopee or Lazada than you could at the expo. Less bullshit too as from experience any advertised prices for items sold at an expo will be subject to stock availability, you show up 20 minutes after the expo opens its doors and you would be told sold out because only 1 or 2 units were available then you would be shown a more expensive alternative. |
Jul 30 2020, 03:05 PM
QUOTE(jeffboon97 @ Jul 30 2020, 02:22 PM) Thanks for the advice man. I'll just take a look and understand what's the price range and do some budgeting first One more advise ... any products you buy with warranty starts upon purchase irrespective date of actual usage. Maja Helmi liked this post
Jul 31 2020, 09:52 AM
7,356 posts Joined: Aug 2015 |
Worth to go to the expo to explore? House going to VP by end of the year.
Jul 31 2020, 11:54 AM
1,013 posts Joined: Sep 2014 |
Jul 31 2020, 02:05 PM
1,063 posts Joined: Feb 2019 |
Just treat these expos as one of the sales channels. You still need to compare the prices/products there vs other places. They are not always the best prices or quality.
If you have no idea what you want this is a good place to gain knowledge and get some ideas on the pricing for budgetary purpose. If you know what you want then you should have done enough research to do the comparison. I bought some tiles and booked my awning there as the price was reasonable but I know what is a fair price to me. The last thing you want to do is to get the first deal you see just because it is "50%" discount or special deal. Love at first sight in this usually ends tragically too! This post has been edited by blancpain4470: Jul 31 2020, 02:06 PM |
Jul 31 2020, 06:18 PM
207 posts Joined: Oct 2013 |
remember to compare. always got better deal outside of expo. lol
if u want good brand stuff, expo usually don't have. they sell all cheap stuff there. |
Aug 5 2020, 07:45 PM
4,523 posts Joined: Apr 2006 |
Don't buy anything, trust me. Treat the expos are a place where you go and open your eyes so you can gather info and then do actual research on the stuff you need to buy.
Expos is a place full of bullshit and irrelevant ideas most of the time. There can be a few hidden gems where some are actually genuine in giving you a good deal, but for the most part - you can always get something better outside. Also avoid those who always say "this is fair price only, once you miss it, you miss it forever!". Those kind of bullshitters you'll see again in the next expo a few weeks later lol. So yeah once again, don't buy anything. |
Aug 5 2020, 10:00 PM
1,521 posts Joined: May 2008 |
Aug 6 2020, 05:36 AM
QUOTE(blanket84 @ Aug 5 2020, 10:00 PM) Cash and carry items.No one will likely buy a fridge and delivery in 10 to 12 months. Unless is 50% off normal price, they will insist full payment to reserved the stock and warranty starts from invoice date and NEVER delivery date. In normal purchased, invoice and delivery dates are the same. This post has been edited by mini orchard: Aug 6 2020, 06:19 AM |
| Change to: | 0.0215sec
5 queries
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 11:15 AM |