Windows 10 Home is Illegal use in Business, Some hefty summons upon me

Oltromen Ripot
post Apr 28 2021, 03:55 PM

👍 999999 person Likes this member
4,034 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Mar 22 2021, 04:54 PM)
office 2013/2016/2019 home & business <<<<< is this a joke
Microsoft Office do have "Home", "Home & Student", "Home & Business", and "Professional" retail licences.

Microsoft 365 have more licence mix, divided into non-commercial home/student and for commercial businesses.

Microsoft Windows have "Home" and "Pro" BUT NOT "Home & Business" licences.

I still own Office 2010 Home & Business, which I am using in work laptop.
For my kids, I bought Office 2019 Home & Student. Nope. Not a joke.

This post has been edited by Oltromen Ripot: Apr 28 2021, 03:56 PM
kelvinfixx
post Apr 28 2021, 03:57 PM

1,590 posts

Home edition cannot be use commercially.
Andrewtst
post Apr 29 2021, 01:12 AM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,772 posts

For Windows 10, shouldn't have issue using Home edition for commercial. In previous Windows version, do required Pro edition.
I not sure why they can summon this to you as Windows 10 Home edition is no restriction to use for commercial.

As for WPS wise, read carefully the term, the free edition is not for commercial usage.
https://www.wps.com/eula

Quote from WPS Eula Term. Free edition is restricted version for personally usage only.

You shall only use the functionally restricted version on your personally owned device for your personal, non-commercial use. No commercial entities or organizations are permitted to use the functionally restricted version of the Software.

Short advise - don't make issue with any outsider or even internal staff. Anyone go report, they will visit you.

This post has been edited by Andrewtst: Apr 29 2021, 01:17 AM
ascension278
post Apr 29 2021, 01:17 AM

330 posts

next time just buy the windows 10 license from shopee
Andrewtst
post Apr 29 2021, 01:23 AM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,772 posts

QUOTE(ascension278 @ Apr 29 2021, 01:17 AM)
next time just buy the windows 10 license from shopee
Don't make trouble to people, if you get visit, they will ask for invoice, if you only manage to show your license is purchase from Shopee, you will kena summon kao kao.

Those Shopee license is legit but illegal as it is a steal key from Volume License which you shall purchase from Microsoft Authorize Partner and you will give Microsoft License Portal to access and manage your license.

https://businessaccount.microsoft.com/

This post has been edited by Andrewtst: Apr 29 2021, 01:25 AM
Netto Hikari
post Oct 20 2021, 12:52 AM

Solution Architect?
2,410 posts

afaik, windows home edition is not allowed in commercial settings since long time ago unless it is already outdated (i learnt about this during my internship about 10yrs ago) sweat.gif

https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/Useterms/OE..._10_English.htm

(v) To the extent included with Windows, Word, Excel, PowerPoint and OneNote are licensed for your personal, non-commercial use, unless you have commercial use rights under a separate agreement.

Skylinestar
post Oct 20 2021, 10:00 AM

Mega Duck
10,475 posts

can business entity run win pro but not activated?
Netto Hikari
post Oct 20 2021, 07:26 PM

Solution Architect?
2,410 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Oct 20 2021, 10:00 AM)
can business entity run win pro but not activated?
no if the trial license expired.
Skylinestar
post Oct 20 2021, 08:21 PM

Mega Duck
10,475 posts

QUOTE(Netto Hikari @ Oct 20 2021, 07:26 PM)
no if the trial license expired.
It's not expired. The activate windows watermark at the lower right of the screen is there because the windows is never activated in the first place.
Netto Hikari
post Oct 21 2021, 11:53 AM

Solution Architect?
2,410 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Oct 20 2021, 08:21 PM)
It's not expired. The activate windows watermark at the lower right of the screen is there because the windows is never activated in the first place.
technically, it is expired becoz Win10 allowed you to use full feature for few days on first startup. once the evaluation expired, the water mark appears and appearance customization are disabled but other features are still usable.

regardless, it is consider illegal becoz u dont have license to use the OS once evaluation is over.

5. Authorized Software and Activation. You are authorized to use this software only if you are properly licensed and the software has been properly activated with a genuine product key or by other authorized method. When you connect to the Internet while using the software, the software will automatically contact Microsoft or its affiliate to conduct activation to associate it with a certain device. You can also activate the software manually by Internet or telephone. In either case, transmission of certain information will occur, and Internet, telephone and SMS service charges may apply. During activation (or reactivation that may be triggered by changes to your device’s components), the software may determine that the installed instance of the software is counterfeit, improperly licensed or includes unauthorized changes. If activation fails, the software will attempt to repair itself by replacing any tampered Microsoft software with genuine Microsoft software. You may also receive reminders to obtain a proper license for the software. Successful activation does not confirm that the software is genuine or properly licensed. You may not bypass or circumvent activation. To help determine if your software is genuine and whether you are properly licensed, see (aka.ms/genuine). Certain updates, support, and other services might only be offered to users of genuine Microsoft software.

HuorEarfalas
post Oct 21 2021, 05:24 PM

382 posts

So long as Microsoft has not sent a lawyer's letter demanding rectification, I am good. Until that happens, I'll continue on with Home edition
System Error Message
post Oct 22 2021, 10:22 AM

1,781 posts

QUOTE(Anime4000 @ Jul 21 2020, 06:21 PM)
Today Microsoft ambush to my office to inspect pirated Windows 10 activation.

All of my computer is Windows 10 Home that I bought.

They said Windows 10 Home is not allowed in Business Environment, also they offer discount summons if I bought Windows 10 Pro from them.

Which part of EULA mention Windows Home edition is illegal use in Business?
Microsoft don't set the rules.

You can use any software you like in business as long as it is not pirated and nowhere in license does it explicitly say not for business use in the sense of using it as your product (basically you're not illegally reselling the OS or something).

Feel free to fight them in court. You paid for the license, microsoft did not find the pirated activation and they just want an excuse to make you pay more. It doesn't matter where you are in the world, you can use any OS you like for business.

This is why i'm more of a linux guy and i use windows only for regular things. I mean why pay for pro when home has the features you need? I won't even bother with windows server seeing as how the microsoft peeps are as its not only unnecessarily expensive, but buggy and slow (experience).

Edit: also unactivated windows copies do count as pirated, so if they want to get you in court this is what they will use. Its no problem if you can prove you aren't using it for work if you are just running a trial, and the run all windows to pro is just extortion so i hope you have that recorded.

This post has been edited by System Error Message: Oct 22 2021, 10:24 AM
SUSlife5tyle
post Dec 15 2021, 08:18 AM

277 posts

QUOTE(System Error Message @ Oct 22 2021, 10:22 AM)
Microsoft don't set the rules.

You can use any software you like in business as long as it is not pirated and nowhere in license does it explicitly say not for business use in the sense of using it as your product (basically you're not illegally reselling the OS or something).

Feel free to fight them in court. You paid for the license, microsoft did not find the pirated activation and they just want an excuse to make you pay more. It doesn't matter where you are in the world, you can use any OS you like for business.

This is why i'm more of a linux guy and i use windows only for regular things. I mean why pay for pro when home has the features you need? I won't even bother with windows server seeing as how the microsoft peeps are as its not only unnecessarily expensive, but buggy and slow (experience).

Edit: also unactivated windows copies do count as pirated, so if they want to get you in court this is what they will use. Its no problem if you can prove you aren't using it for work if you are just running a trial, and the run all windows to pro is just extortion so i hope you have that recorded.
Yeah, is good you encourage him to challenge Microsoft in court. Do leave your details to him so if he lose the court case, whatever $$$ you help him pay. In Microsoft licensing, it is very clear that HOME edition cannot be use for businesses. This is why they have HOME and PRO. HOME obviously they give promotion price for non-business usage (personal and home users) to use Windows OS. And PRO version is clearly for non-home users.

There is a court case in oversea, which consumer sue Microsoft due to the person using HOME version for his businesses. The result, he lose the court case. I would love to see this to be the 1st case in Malaysia.
kongmingdao
post Jan 3 2022, 07:15 PM

100 posts

No such thing
lawrencesha
post Jan 3 2022, 07:20 PM

882 posts

Syukur. I use inhouse Office for free...
Ching Aik
post Feb 17 2022, 03:58 PM

58 posts

QUOTE(Anime4000 @ Jul 21 2020, 06:21 PM)
Today Microsoft ambush to my office to inspect pirated Windows 10 activation.

All of my computer is Windows 10 Home that I bought.

They said Windows 10 Home is not allowed in Business Environment, also they offer discount summons if I bought Windows 10 Pro from them.

Which part of EULA mention Windows Home edition is illegal use in Business?
Anime bro, it is very sad they raid you even that's start-up like buiness with only 4 people, like your calling with Microsoft it is acceptable for them but Malaysia goverment got greedy and walk on the grey zone.

I see someone mention Microsoft Office Home & Business is not allow for commercial use too, and must use Microsoft Office Professional, is this true?
Feel weird rclxub.gif
Ching Aik
post Feb 17 2022, 04:13 PM

58 posts

Also how do they verify if what you use is valid/genuine?
By checking the software > about > product ID?
Or simply request for purchase invoice / CD key disc package?
samurai1337
post Feb 17 2022, 05:40 PM

@_@
11,594 posts

Originally Answered: Can I use Home version of Windows 10 for commercial purposes? The "Home" designation only refers to a reduced feature set, as compared to "Pro" or "Enterprise." It is targeted towards a home user, but there are no restrictions on its use in a business. You can use if for any purpose you see fit.

Quora
Ching Aik
post Feb 21 2022, 02:42 PM

58 posts

I called Malaysia Microsoft Support, they said Windows 10 Home can be use for business:
1) As long as we've the valid product key / license
(E.g. If only you need better feature like BitLocker from PRO, then yes you need purchase PRO to use it, otherwise HOME is sufficient for business)

I ask what if Government raid my office give summons due to this, can I use your info to convince them, he say yes sure and even email me the support ticket for this conversation as keeping proof, to show Government just in case they pop up.

Regards
ChingAik
sixguyz_jayhan
post Jul 29 2022, 11:14 AM

215 posts

Previously I get this information from the colleague, they said Usually Windows won't be a big issue because as long as your device comes with digital license or activate through legal channel. (Which now most of the devices comes with)

What makes the big problems is the software you are using.

6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0569sec    0.77    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 03:25 PM