5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

Derek87's sap ha sap ha 350D gallery!, C & C pls , dun just view & leave =)

TSderek87
post Sep 20 2007, 04:28 PM

Keep it C.L.E.A.N.
1,077 posts

As for the first pic. i purposely wanted the others to be blur.. and only focus the heart...

The other two... what was in my mind was. focus on the bottle and give the ribbons front and back a little of bokeh... I din know product shooting have to be a whole pic clear shoot. Hmm.. perhaps i should change my style... =)

All are using F/8.
TSderek87
post Sep 21 2007, 05:32 AM

Keep it C.L.E.A.N.
1,077 posts

QUOTE(soulfly @ Sep 20 2007, 07:09 PM)
but i feel that the heart is not sharp enough  tongue.gif
back one or front one... smile.gif

gear was 50mm +4 close up
TSderek87
post Sep 21 2007, 11:10 AM

Keep it C.L.E.A.N.
1,077 posts

QUOTE(kelvinyam @ Sep 21 2007, 07:46 AM)
It's indeed not sharp, at least on my monitor. I think this is due to: 1) The close up filter, and 2) Jpeg resizing.
You shall have USM the photo before posting this up.
I know you want to play with selective focusing, but if more than 80% of the composition is out of focus, it looks bad. Unless it's a uniform bokeh.
Thanks for the advice... BTW, what does "USM the photo" mean?
TSderek87
post Sep 21 2007, 12:43 PM

Keep it C.L.E.A.N.
1,077 posts

Ok here it is.. USM done with the photo... i see a little bit difference, what do u guys think?

TSderek87
post Sep 21 2007, 02:21 PM

Keep it C.L.E.A.N.
1,077 posts

QUOTE(Mavik @ Sep 21 2007, 12:45 PM)
Well I can see the heart is sharp but in product photography, you shouldnt just concentrate on one part of the entire object. Since one heart is sharp and the other is blur, the background would then be considered very distracting.
Yeah.. Mavik.. i get what it means when it comes to product shooting. The message of the picture have to be, "Nah! this is our product! have a look." Therefore, the whole product have to be super sharp and not a single bokeh on the product. At that time.. i was too bored, so i tried to put in some creativity to use macro style on the product. Hehe.. din know it turned out this bad.. Haha.. really gotta learn how to control bokeh on photos..

QUOTE(soulfly @ Sep 21 2007, 01:53 PM)
the front one.
also probably due to 'distraction' since there's another heart in the back
Alrite.. got it!!!
TSderek87
post Oct 3 2007, 12:46 PM

Keep it C.L.E.A.N.
1,077 posts

There was one day, i accompany my dad and mum to shopping malls, so i decided to bring my camera along to shoot if there are events going on. Unfortunately, there were no events.. After that we went to chill out at coffee bean.. Besides, dad and mum, i had someone else followed me too.. So here the photography session begins.
SO C&C on anything pls...!! THANKS SO MUCH!

If u wonder why 2 pics only? coz others are pictures of my parents. haha.. if u want me to introduce them too, please let me know! LoL... But first introduce yours to me first, by posting ur parent's pic here too.. =p

Introducing.... Ma Soulmate! blush.gif

This pic was taken using fill in flash technique.

This was taken without flash.

AND here's a bunch of my study companion's pic. MY HAMSTER! CINNO!! Taking a picture of him was hard.. He's running everywhere he can.. had a hard time taking pictures of him... too fast... When i shoot, i move my camera faster than trying pan a moving car... >< need tips and advices on panning thou. Anyone knows? Anyway, C&C too pls... thanks a lot..

Meet Cinno.

Crawling In The Dark.

What y'all looking at?

Anything down there? (He was actually running towards that side)

Some Action going on.

Please do not hesitate to comment, i'll accept both negative and positive. =) Your comments doesnt poke, they help me improve. THANKS.

This post has been edited by derek87: Oct 3 2007, 01:55 PM
TSderek87
post Oct 3 2007, 01:53 PM

Keep it C.L.E.A.N.
1,077 posts

QUOTE(travis_ckf @ Oct 3 2007, 01:05 PM)
I dont sure whether to say this but i felt nothing special on the portrait pics. Even a normal P&S or camera phone can do that. Maybe just i not an animal lover.
U mean potrait pics of the hamster or my gf?

QUOTE(soulfly @ Oct 3 2007, 01:24 PM)
Me too.... the pics look like just another casual pics....nothing too special.

Except for the 3rd hamster pic, that might tell something....but still lacking of something.
yeah i agree with you too.. i feel there's something lacking.. I just dunno what it is..
Im not good at taking pictures which needs fast brainstorming camera knowledge.. like deciding the right aperture and shutter speed in 1 or 2 secs ... There are a lot of moments of the hamster which is great to shoot and will turn out to be a great picture, but once i point and tries to compose the pic, the moment is gone... he ran to somewhere.. im talking about in terms of 1 sec ~ 2 sec reaction of u shooting it. He just doesnt stand still, not like a dog or a rabbit or something else..

Anyway, any advice or tips on how to improve?

This post has been edited by derek87: Oct 3 2007, 01:54 PM
TSderek87
post Oct 3 2007, 04:15 PM

Keep it C.L.E.A.N.
1,077 posts

QUOTE(soulfly @ Oct 3 2007, 03:11 PM)
try to apply the rules of third for your composition, and also depth of field. also experiment with different angles and framing
rules of third? u are trying to mean that 4 boxes in a frame? DOF? my gf's pic use kitlens, minor DOF can be put in.

Hey, im a bit confused here la... which picture is bad in composition... be specific... i really want to improve...

for me i think my gf's pic 2 is bad, because i did not control the BG's light well, her cap has over exposure and i psed to save it a lil , or.. at that situation i really need to use fill in flash to get a good picture hmm.gif ? i was shooting two same pics using different techniques to see the difference. So which one turn out better?

as for the hamster, pic 3 is bad because i feel there's lack of something. pic 4 is bad because of wrong shutter speed, and i did not want to use flash to freeze the object, i was wanting a to see movement in the picture.. that was what im trying to do...

all pics tells a story,

Pic 1 - Introduction la... let u guys see the real face of my hamster mah...

Pic 2 - Hamsters are similar to rats, mice. So they do... crawl in the dark.. Just like a stalker, did u notice the right hand lifted by the hamster? Dont u think he's like stalking silently to steal food or whatever... tongue.gif perhaps the background and place i chose to shoot makes the picture look rather normal.

Sometimes you really need to look at a picture long enough to tell what's the story behind and understand the situation when taking that particular picture, whether it's a planned situation ( means u still have time to do trials and errors,for eg studio photography ) or it's a happening situation ( means u only have one shot which takes it all, if u missed it, it's gone forever).

apply rules of third, dof, try diff angles.... i always see the same comment in other threads but very little constructive advices. If u have asked me who gives the best advices and tips, i would say compmac, snowmei, goldfries, shinchan, ac98 , mavik and there are somemore i couldnt remember their names. Looking on the surface only, they look like casual forumers which post forums and chit chat about their pictures and other ppl's pictures. But when u really go in to depth asking them serious questions, they will try their very best to answer your question and to make u clear about things u do not know. Especially compmac, most of the time i see him posting constructive advices on how to understand photography. Come on ppl this is a forum, the reason of posting pictures here is to share... share ur ideas... share ur techniques, share ur knowledge.... share everything u've got in mind. Help others, dont just leave them with their unsolved confusion..

So i think this is what i wanna spit out... Thanks.
TSderek87
post Oct 3 2007, 05:27 PM

Keep it C.L.E.A.N.
1,077 posts

QUOTE(travis_ckf @ Oct 3 2007, 04:30 PM)
Hmm unfortunatelly not everyone is free to spend their time to judge. Dont forget some of the photographer spend their "snake time" or lunch time to see the pics and post the comments if necessery. I consider myself not that good in commenting pics as i am still new but i do really try my best on giving comments. Constructive or not, in life, not everyone is kind enough to give you good/constructive advise. You yrself have to work hard to think what went wrong and how to improve it.

On ur portrait of ur gf, i just wanted to say that such pic can be taken using a normal p&s camera or even a cam phone, so i dont see a value of what sort of a "difference" can a DSLR will make on that pic. But most importantly, that is just a casual pic. I dont see the value of u putting that pic to allow other ppl to make comment of it (ppl might take it as a wrong reason, provided ur gf is rose chin/hannah tan tongue.gif ). You dont need a DSLR or good photography skills to take such pics.

Unless if u dare enough to take her into a park/beach/old buildings/scenery and take pics of her blending with the environment, then i can only see how you use ur photography skills.

I will not make any comment on the hamster pics, although i believe u can do better. wink.gif
Yes of course in life. But im sure everyone who post their pictures here is to hope for ideas and advices from others to improve right? Yeah, and i understand in real life there's no more spoon feeding like what we were in kids' age. You really have to make the step urself to improve what u are doing. That's why im typing such a long reply to share my thoughts of what to think before giving out a comment. Comments means a lot to begginners. Learning is never ending, So is photography, you will never finish shooting. I could even do something like shooting the same thing again and again, with hundreds of different ways to get the best out of it.

SO and again, u got it all wrong, the purpose of posting my gf's pic is to let u guys determine which technique is the best to use in a situation like that. Im sure you will also use ur camera to shoot ur family which are not celebs, ur camera is not only for shooting models right?

So when it comes to times like that, what's the point of having a CAMERA not mentioning dslr, when u cant capture the best picture of ur family on casual outings while u can only capture great pictures of model posing for you to shoot while u can do a lot of trials and errors because they are posing for you to shoot, bear in mind. Anyway, im still in a learning stage, this is why i post normal human being's picture to learn more and to be more mature in photography before i go on a special photography planned session with a model. Either a female or a male model, i do not want them to be dissappointed of my photography skills after posing for a day.

And yes, im planning to take her into parks, beaches, scenery to take pictures, and it's because i want to learn to utilize with whatever photogear u have in different situation/environment.

Anyway, travis, u were my first inspiration in photography, because ur gallery was the first gallery i browsed taking pictures with dslr. icon_rolleyes.gif Not only u inspired me, others too.. i dun need to mention their name. You guys know who. And thanks for taking your time venturing in my gallery, trying ur best to give both negative and positive comments which sometimes helped me.

QUOTE(CompMac @ Oct 3 2007, 04:40 PM)
Here comes some of my constructive comments. tongue.gif

GF pic #1
Framing is OK. DOF also good enough but you seem to have focused on her cap and the coffee bean logo instead of her face. From what I see, you should be using the internal flash and has caused a harsh shadows especially due to her left hand. It also darkens the background too much and caused overall underexposure. An external bounced flash shot would be a better solution. Since you have buffer from the shutter speed, you can reduce the ISO to get a cleaner picture.

GF pic #2
The picture suffered from blown out background and blurriness due to slow shutter speed. I guess you have already notice that. Always remember the 1/focal length shutter speed rule if you don't have IS lens. Some people with steady hands can go up to 1 stop below that rule and still take sharp pictures.

Hamster pics
Nice of you to post your hamster pictures. I used to keep a few myself about 10 years ago. Sure brought back memories. tongue.gif
The best of the crop is the third one. It would be better to rotate the picture 90 degree clockwise. It would also help if you have taken the picture at an angle more to your right so that you can face the hamster front on. Nice control of ISO and shutter speed. I don't have comments on the rest as they are not that good IMO.

Hope I'm not too long winded with my 2 sen.
Yeah compmac, if u didnt mentioned it, i wont realize the cap, the logo, and the iso. I remember i focused on the eye then compose the pic. but why did it turned out to be cap and logo focused. hmm.gif Thanks anyway, i will try again next time.

About the GFpic2, when it comes to situation like that, while the cap covering light entering the face area, and having a bright BG, making it hard to control the light. Is it a must to use fill in flash? I think it's impossible to keep the BG from blowing out and yet to correctly expose the face right?

Thanks, i learn something new today. 1/focallength for shutter speed if i dun have steady hands. i didnt know that. rclxms.gif

Glad that my hamster pics brought u memory flashbacks. laugh.gif

Added on October 3, 2007, 5:31 pm
QUOTE(snowmei @ Oct 3 2007, 04:57 PM)
comment on hamster
no.1  err... actually no point shooting like that.
no.2  for me is ok.. i also shoot my hamster something similar to you but not using flash.... but shoot with flash will get like "YOU GET SPOTTED!!" feel...
no.3,4,5 use rule of thirds.. 

no.4 actually you should try another way... as the hamster don`t potray anything intresting down there... she/he just wanna get down only or fall down....
Yeah you are right. no.4, he only wants to escape from me taking pictures of him.. Haish.. and i can only use one hand to snap while holding the camera, coz i have to keep catching him, place him back then shoot again. He is friggin fast.. rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by derek87: Oct 3 2007, 05:31 PM
TSderek87
post Oct 3 2007, 05:42 PM

Keep it C.L.E.A.N.
1,077 posts

QUOTE(CompMac @ Oct 3 2007, 05:36 PM)
Do have steady hands when you recompose a picture. You will easily shift focus when you do it with shallow DOF. Try not to breath when recomposing and when pressing the shutter.

For bright background pictures, meter the background to properly expose it. Then use fill flash to brighten up the darken areas. I still haven't master this technique with my camera even when using an external flash.

Good to know that I have helped you out. Happy shooting! biggrin.gif
Alrighties! got it, that's what im doing for the first pic. Fill in flash is the way to go. Thanks!
TSderek87
post Oct 3 2007, 05:49 PM

Keep it C.L.E.A.N.
1,077 posts

QUOTE(travis_ckf @ Oct 3 2007, 05:42 PM)
You may want to consider a speedlight and try bounce flash. The flash will not looked hash on the face. Get the diffuser so the skin will look more smooth.

travis poisoning ah!!! shocking.gif BTW i always wanted to have a flashgun, but i boh lui leh... still a student here.
ATM, i just funded enough for a telelens, which im still considering which one to buy. After that, then i'll start funding for a flashgun. :grumbling:
Here is the discussion thread.
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=530407

Added on October 3, 2007, 5:51 pm
QUOTE(travis_ckf @ Oct 3 2007, 05:44 PM)
Just drop a tip to u: Photography is not only taking beautiful moments from ur eyes, but most importantly photography must be fun! notworthy.gif
LOL having beautiful moments in great quality pictures are fun! tongue.gif

This post has been edited by derek87: Oct 3 2007, 05:51 PM
TSderek87
post Oct 28 2007, 10:56 PM

Keep it C.L.E.A.N.
1,077 posts

OK.. i went to PD.. so i have made up my mind... i really need an external flash... damn... it was hard filling in flash with the pop up flash... mad.gif

here are some pictures.. comments and critics are most welcomed. just spit out anything u guys want to la..

TSderek87
post Oct 29 2007, 11:28 AM

Keep it C.L.E.A.N.
1,077 posts

A funny pic to share.

Learning to snap something which requires reaction and timing = sports, mind the body language of the player, comments & critics are most welcomed.

TSderek87
post Oct 29 2007, 06:58 PM

Keep it C.L.E.A.N.
1,077 posts

Bring to new page**

QUOTE(derek87 @ Oct 28 2007, 10:56 PM)
OK.. i went to PD.. so i have made up my mind... i really need an external flash... damn... it was hard filling in flash with the pop up flash...  mad.gif

here are some pictures.. comments and critics are most welcomed. just spit out anything u guys want to la..

QUOTE(derek87 @ Oct 29 2007, 11:28 AM)
A funny pic to share.

Learning to snap something which requires reaction and timing = sports, mind the body language of the player, comments & critics are most welcomed.

QUOTE(travis_ckf @ Oct 29 2007, 01:03 PM)
Derek, while most of ur pics in pd are mainly snapshots, my credit goes to these pics here. Is ur last 2 pics is HDR or did u use any special filters? Anyway brilliant pic, even more brilliant if post processing is not used!  thumbup.gif
thanks..
the last 2 pics is not hdr.. no special filters. no money to buy filters.. im POOR** tongue.gif all i did was pp.. haha..

This post has been edited by derek87: Oct 29 2007, 06:59 PM
TSderek87
post Oct 30 2007, 12:32 PM

Keep it C.L.E.A.N.
1,077 posts

QUOTE(CompMac @ Oct 30 2007, 08:38 AM)
Some of my little comments.

Composition of the pretty girl's portrait could be better by not leaving out the hands and fingers unless you are going for half body portraiture.

Composition for girls with sunset picture is nice but the sun is overexposed. More silhouette with a proper exposed sun will be better. Meter at the sun and maybe decrease 0.5 - 1 stop exposure should be able to do it.

The portrait pose before the sunset pictures looks a bit weird as the girl seems to be correcting herself due to you taking a tilted picture of her.

Nice PP sunsets. tongue.gif

Faster shutter speeds would be nicer for action pictures to freeze the moment.

Finally, thanks for sharing and hope you had a great time there. thumbup.gif
Compmac, thanks for ur comments. I also thought the same way of what u said, that these pictures could be better if i did what u mentioned. I posted them up here because i wanted to make sure what i had in mind was correct or not.

:As for picture of the three girls facing the sunset, i had tried metering the sun, and have more silhouette. i looked at the preview and i did not like the picture. Therefore, the picture i took was according to my tastes and styles i think. Here is another similar picture but different composition, let me know what u think ok? thanks.

:The PP sunsets, i want to know, is there anything i can do to snap the sunset to look like this without any PP?

:Action pictures, yeah.. it's my first time.. really want to improve on this. I always wanted to go to times square and snap the moving roller coaster to have more understanding about different shutter speeds, but doing this alone is boring.. haha.. anyone wants to go with me? we can make a small activity out of it, and meet each other to discuss? haha..

QUOTE(chiggy @ Oct 30 2007, 09:24 AM)
ooo... tanjung tuan beach resort there
Lol.. i dun even know what's the name of the place.. i only know it's port dickson.. "if im not mistaken" lol...

This post has been edited by derek87: Oct 30 2007, 04:45 PM

TSderek87
post Oct 30 2007, 04:43 PM

Keep it C.L.E.A.N.
1,077 posts

QUOTE(CompMac @ Oct 30 2007, 12:52 PM)
I'm glad that you have the same thoughts that I have on my comments.

Don't trust the previews on the LCD. Most of the time will not be the same as on a proper LCD monitor. sweat.gif The main thing about getting a good sunset shot is to get the sun into focus and exposed properly while the rest are in dark silhouettes.

The PP pictures are not "real" and I don't think you can get those kind of skies here. I prefer the camera able to capture what I see through the viewfinder instead of what I can get through PP.

Here's one crappy sunset shot I took quite some time back.

I'm usually a lone ranger when going for photo shoot. tongue.gif Anyway, having a photo buddy along would be just great.

PD? Do let me know if you ever drop by Seremban during weekdays as I'm working near there. Then you will have a photographer to accompany you. tongue.gif
So where can i get those kind of skies? haha..

Anyway.. thanks for the comments, Yeah.. i will let u know if i happen to have plannings in Seremban.. would look forward to meet you up. icon_rolleyes.gif
TSderek87
post Oct 31 2007, 07:17 PM

Keep it C.L.E.A.N.
1,077 posts

WoW... sounds fun.. lol... canon, olympus, Nikon.. lol... but the travel distance would turn me off.. rofl..
TSderek87
post Oct 31 2007, 07:23 PM

Keep it C.L.E.A.N.
1,077 posts

im staying at melati utama, wangsa maju.. haha.. we can plan, no hurry.. =)
TSderek87
post Nov 1 2007, 02:38 PM

Keep it C.L.E.A.N.
1,077 posts

QUOTE(ac98 @ Nov 1 2007, 02:38 PM)
Did somebody say 'seafood' lust.gif laugh.gif
Lol... ac98 is interested also....
You guys want the best seafood?
Go to sabah... LOL... my hometown's there.
TSderek87
post Nov 1 2007, 04:52 PM

Keep it C.L.E.A.N.
1,077 posts

haha.. ya.. i know it's expensive. i mean if you happen to be in sabah. MUST TRY! im sure u know that too... haha... =)

5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0288sec    1.05    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 08:11 PM