Cooler: Deepcooler castle 240rgb v2

The settings I have applied in bios
-overclock values (4.7ghz)
-turbo boots enable
-vcore 1.35V
-Xmp profile enable

Windows setting
-High performance power enable

All these settings were applied in bios and pressed F10 save and exit. Unfortunately, after reboot to windows i check cpu-z and run prime95 with all cores running 100%, the values still remain the stock values (4.5ghz)

This post has been edited by seanwms: Jul 17 2020, 01:06 AM
lolzcalvin
post Jul 17 2020, 01:27 AM

shibe in predicament
1,584 posts

harr, lemme see see..
can u snap a picture of your overclock values in bios that u trying to set?

also, probably update your bios as well, the latest is F9c obtained from gigabyte website for this board: https://www.gigabyte.com/my/Motherboard/GA-...support-dl-bios
jetblast
post Jul 17 2020, 02:25 AM

1,039 posts

Maybe oc 4.7 is single core
All core max 4.5.
lolzcalvin
post Jul 17 2020, 03:24 PM

shibe in predicament
1,584 posts

QUOTE(jetblast @ Jul 17 2020, 02:25 AM)
Maybe oc 4.7 is single core
All core max 4.5.
if one sets a constant multiplier in bios means all core oc ler..what ts needs to check is the base clock value and if unsure ts shall snap a photo for us to look on.
7700K can OC till 5GHz if temperature and silicon quality allows lol, it doesn't go "max at 4.5"

This post has been edited by lolzcalvin: Jul 17 2020, 03:35 PM
TSseanwms
post Jul 17 2020, 03:59 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(lolzcalvin @ Jul 17 2020, 03:24 PM)
if one sets a constant multiplier in bios means all core oc ler..what ts needs to check is the base clock value and if unsure ts shall snap a photo for us to look on.
7700K can OC till 5GHz if temperature and silicon quality allows lol, it doesn't go "max at 4.5"
hi,

thanks for the info. I do know that the latest version bios of my motherboard is F9. and i tried to update using appcenter bios but unsuccessful. Hopefully ,that is not essential for overclocking

Belows are my screenshot of my settings

This post has been edited by seanwms: Jul 17 2020, 04:02 PM
cstkl1
post Jul 17 2020, 04:05 PM

6,799 posts

cpu offset set to 0
w
TSseanwms
post Jul 17 2020, 04:08 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Jul 17 2020, 04:05 PM)
cpu offset set to 0
w
You mean the avx offset?
I tried it too, is was unable to set to 0. It will keep revert back to Auto
cstkl1
post Jul 17 2020, 04:29 PM

6,799 posts

QUOTE(seanwms @ Jul 17 2020, 04:08 PM)
You mean the avx offset?
I tried it too, is was unable to set to 0. It will keep revert back to Auto
then bios issue...
avx offset afaik started on 6700k
lolzcalvin
post Jul 17 2020, 05:10 PM

shibe in predicament
1,584 posts

QUOTE(seanwms @ Jul 17 2020, 03:59 PM)
hi,

thanks for the info. I do know that the latest version bios of my motherboard is F9. and i tried to update using appcenter bios but unsuccessful. Hopefully ,that is not essential for overclocking

Belows are my screenshot of my settings

alamak old gigabyte bios..pain in the ass UEFI biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

u don't usually update bios from within windows, even if u can, u shouldn't.
if u have a usb drive, gonna format the drive and iirc gigabyte will provide you efiflash.exe when u download the bios from its site which is used to format the thumbdrive into bootable fat32 drive, it will also store all the required bios files in it (or not)
then u can update the bios through gigabyte Q-Flash after pluggin in the thumbdrive and cold boot ur pc.

edit: oops correction, no efiflash is not used to format ur thumbdrive doh.gif use other tools to format ur usb into fat32 (e.g. windows disk management). then copy the bios into ur usb drive. i mixed up because i once used imageUSB to write memtest86 into my thumbdrive that also formatted it into fat32.

This post has been edited by lolzcalvin: Jul 17 2020, 05:33 PM
sHawTY
post Jul 17 2020, 06:01 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(seanwms @ Jul 17 2020, 03:59 PM)
and i tried to update using appcenter bios but unsuccessful
Not advisable to update in Windows
Download the latest BIOS, save it inside a flash drive then update it inside UEFI
jetblast
post Jul 17 2020, 07:22 PM

1,039 posts

QUOTE(lolzcalvin @ Jul 17 2020, 03:24 PM)
Bro I was right in my observation. Single core 4.7 all core 4.5. The fact that the setting did not stick is down to the bios.
lolzcalvin
post Jul 17 2020, 07:27 PM

shibe in predicament
1,584 posts

QUOTE(jetblast @ Jul 17 2020, 07:22 PM)
Bro I was right in my observation. Single core 4.7 all core 4.5. The fact that the setting did not stick is down to the bios.
u where got right la..he didn't even get 4.7 single core, all cores only getting 40 - 44x multiplier..also 4.7G is OC value ya, 7700K's max single core boost is still 4.5
jetblast
post Jul 17 2020, 07:30 PM

1,039 posts

QUOTE(lolzcalvin @ Jul 17 2020, 07:27 PM)
u where got right la..he didn't even get 4.7 single core, all cores only getting 40 - 44x multiplier..also 4.7G is OC value ya, 7700K's max single core boost is still 4.5
TS say run prime 95 got 4.5. Isn't that all core? Asking for knowledge not finding fault.

This post has been edited by jetblast: Jul 17 2020, 07:30 PM
lolzcalvin
post Jul 17 2020, 07:44 PM

shibe in predicament
1,584 posts

QUOTE(jetblast @ Jul 17 2020, 07:30 PM)
TS say run prime 95 got 4.5. Isn't that all core? Asking for knowledge not finding fault.
ts had said 4.5 but it probably be just an approx value for quick saying only..
have a look at ts screenshots, his all core is running at x44 multiplier on P95 load, and usual BCLK is 100MHz, so at 4400MHz.
in his screenshots u can also notice the clock is running at different power state...means going less than base clock, so again means his BIOS probably really not registering the change..though i am not sure if it's the instant clock or effective clock, if it's instant clock is at that rate (e.g. 800MHz seen in screenshots) means the BIOS didn't really OC the CPU, but if it is effective clock at that 800MHz rate, we couldn't tell..therefore i'd always recommend running HWiNFO instead of CPUID HWMonitor

example of instant clock vs effective clock shown by HWiNFO app

This post has been edited by lolzcalvin: Jul 17 2020, 07:45 PM
TSseanwms
post Jul 17 2020, 08:36 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(lolzcalvin @ Jul 17 2020, 07:44 PM)
have a look at ts screenshots, his all core is running at x44 multiplier on P95 load, and usual BCLK is 100MHz, so at 4400MHz.
in his screenshots u can also notice the clock is running at different power state...means going less than base clock, so again means his BIOS probably really not registering the change..though i am not sure if it's the instant clock or effective clock, if it's instant clock is at that rate (e.g. 800MHz seen in screenshots) means the BIOS didn't really OC the CPU, but if it is effective clock at that 800MHz  rate, we couldn't tell..therefore i'd always recommend running HWiNFO instead of CPUID HWMonitor

do you mind pm me your contact? I would like to seek more information
TSseanwms
post Jul 17 2020, 09:17 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(lolzcalvin @ Jul 17 2020, 07:44 PM)
in his screenshots u can also notice the clock is running at different power state...means going less than base clock, so again means his BIOS probably really not registering the change..though i am not sure if it's the instant clock or effective clock, if it's instant clock is at that rate (e.g. 800MHz seen in screenshots) means the BIOS didn't really OC the CPU, but if it is effective clock at that 800MHz  rate, we couldn't tell..therefore i'd always recommend running HWiNFO instead of CPUID HWMonitor

ok I have updated the latest bios F9c and applied the settings

but the result still the same, bios setting still don't get recognized, kindly advise

This post has been edited by seanwms: Jul 17 2020, 09:30 PM
lolzcalvin
post Jul 17 2020, 09:45 PM

shibe in predicament
1,584 posts

QUOTE(seanwms @ Jul 17 2020, 09:17 PM)
ok I have updated the latest bios F9c and applied the settings

but the result still the same, bios setting still don't get recognized, kindly advise

i wonder if it's some energy saving related problem. when u change ur multiplier to 47, can you go back into BIOS after the restart? see what clock speed ur CPU is running when inside BIOS. if it's running at 4700MHz in BIOS means the OC indeed did apply..
TSseanwms
post Jul 17 2020, 10:31 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(lolzcalvin @ Jul 17 2020, 09:45 PM)
i wonder if it's some energy saving related problem. when u change ur multiplier to 47, can you go back into BIOS after the restart? see what clock speed ur CPU is running when inside BIOS. if it's running at 4700MHz in BIOS means the OC indeed did apply..
yes after restart I went into bios, inside bios is showing 4.7ghz.
lolzcalvin
post Jul 17 2020, 10:55 PM

shibe in predicament
1,584 posts

QUOTE(seanwms @ Jul 17 2020, 10:31 PM)
yes after restart I went into bios, inside bios is showing 4.7ghz.
means BIOS actually did apply ur settings, but somehow boot into windows all settings get torn or sth..
using windows 10? if yes try to open ur power plan settings and set to high performance plan (newer win10 has another one called ultimate performance), then change its advance power settings, then under processor power management set the min state and max state to 100% and reboot
TSseanwms
post Jul 17 2020, 11:07 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(lolzcalvin @ Jul 17 2020, 10:55 PM)
means BIOS actually did apply ur settings, but somehow boot into windows all settings get torn or sth..
using windows 10? if yes try to open ur power plan settings and set to high performance plan (newer win10 has another one called ultimate performance), then change its advance power settings, then under processor power management set the min state and max state to 100% and reboot
I did bro but the result still the same mega_shok.gif

0.0168sec    0.76    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 01:27 PM