Proton X50 2020 v1, B-Segment killer

sanakim
post Oct 26 2021, 10:47 PM

57 posts

QUOTE(zero5177 @ Oct 26 2021, 10:39 PM)
Agree on this when ppf cost too much it is sort of pointless already.

Just leant that PPF will turn yellowish if regularly parked under hot sun, I do have that doubt earlier but seems it was indeed a problem, guess I'll just leave it bare and only do tinting probably from Irispro or 3M crystalline
16k better forget about it, even minor accident hurt you even more than it should..

Agree that frequent wash or just a simple Wash & Wax solution should keep the car look decent for long.
3M crystalline working great for me smile.gif Let me know if you looking for authorized applicator in northern region.

Protip: maybe don't need 3M CR on sunroof; after ~1 week, I really don't see upside aside from peace of mind. Furthermore, sunroof tint not covered by 3M warranty. So next time, I probably will take the "building tint" on sunroof instead.

Yeah, I asked about PPF and was advised to do at: 1) headlamp, 2) door handles, 3) side mirror as those are the parts that typically get impacted. If you want to do front bonnet also can but whether it's worth is up to you.

This post has been edited by sanakim: Oct 26 2021, 10:50 PM
sanakim
post Oct 26 2021, 10:55 PM

57 posts

QUOTE(zero5177 @ Oct 26 2021, 10:51 PM)
I'm from KL area so not decided on this yet, also due to the fact that Crystalline would not work with Smart Tag and don't like a small cut without tint/with different tint, I held back a little on this.

BTW how long it takes from the date SA register your details with chasis number available until you get your car?
Can't guarantee for you in all KL tolls but when I tried smart tag at Penang 2nd bridge, it worked well. Anyhow, I got RFID to avoid any smart tag issue; also RFID costs RM25-35 vs RM150 for smart tag device LOL. Also with RFID, you can direct debit to TnG wallet instead of manual TnG card top-up. Just hope the toll has RFID lah.

For me, it was a few days (maybe 3-4 days)? After you get chassis number, you can pay the downpayment (for loan) then wait for car to reach showroom, then they do pre-delivery inspection (PDI) then they can give to you.

FYI, you can track the car from tanjong malim using proton link once you get chassis number and proton link activated.

This post has been edited by sanakim: Oct 26 2021, 10:56 PM
sanakim
post Oct 27 2021, 05:18 PM

57 posts

I put the RFID on my upper left side of outer windscreen as I put PPF on headlamps, so can't put RFID there. Note that you can't reuse the RFID sticker; once you tear it (e.g. replace PPF at headlamp), need to buy a new one.

BTW, anyone figured out how to turn off "Hi Proton" voice activation?

This post has been edited by sanakim: Oct 27 2021, 11:56 PM
sanakim
post Oct 29 2021, 02:52 PM

57 posts

QUOTE(zero5177 @ Oct 28 2021, 11:33 PM)
Guys, what car cam you all bought and spent for this car?
Yep I got the 70mai A800s; cost ~RM500+ including rear cam RC06, SD card 128GB on Shopee and installation cost at shop (significant discount since I also did tint there).

I heard Thinkware is like RM1.4k or something.. out of range lah lol.
sanakim
post Oct 29 2021, 02:53 PM

57 posts

QUOTE(idkihavenoidealol @ Oct 28 2021, 11:03 AM)
You can request replacement FOC, but only once. If one wish to change RFID from old car to new car, just request replacement tag for free.

As for disabling Hi Proton, the only way is to unplug the mic as far as I know.
Any idea where's the mic? I really don't like the idea of continuous voice monitoring lol.
sanakim
post Oct 31 2021, 10:55 PM

57 posts

Sorry in advance for giant post.
QUOTE(contestchris @ Oct 31 2021, 04:49 PM)
Guys, can anyone confirm if the factory version comes with tinting? It looks to my naked eye like there is tinting.

My SA says no tinting whatsoever. Car workshop Uncle say got, and better just keep using it vs putting a cheap rm1.5k tint.

Any opinions? My budget for tinting around rm1.5k, and also must be JPJ compliant.

Thanks!
I'm quite sure no tint. I watched my tint being installed end-to-end and confirm no tint. FYI, Proton service center is planning to sell Llumar tint as an official add-on, price ~RM2.1k I think.

QUOTE(contestchris @ Oct 29 2021, 03:10 PM)
Guys, what kind of fuel economy are you all seeing for normal day to day driving?

Please specify if it is the FS or S/Exec/Prem model
For Flagship, I am getting ~10km/L average after 1,200km mileage. Driving mostly on eco with the ICC on.

I think only way to get the claimed 6-7L/100km is to really drive a lot on highway cruise where FC is ~ 3-4L/100km.

In urban city and short roads like Penang island, not really possible.

QUOTE(death_nite @ Oct 30 2021, 03:12 PM)
Just installed power boot at all cross fifty with leg sensor.

If u planned to install one make sure it is not universal model. Universal wont let u open/close boot from the unlock button at driver seat.
Did Proton service center confirm that installing power boot outside won't void warranty? RM2k is much cheaper than the RM3k they are quoting for power boot standlone without kick sensor.

QUOTE(zero5177 @ Oct 31 2021, 10:35 PM)
Got my FS today after a year of wait. to be precise somewhat 355 days

tried 100kph today and no weird high pitch wind noise or whatsoever, overall happy with the car.

May upgrade speaker to a better component set, hope accessory get to do without modding wires.
Congratulations!! smile.gif

Yeah, I think the wind noise is normal air resistance + tire rolling; quite good even at 110++ speeds.

For the speakers, I realize bluetooth amp got issue; try to play via USB/QD link/JOOX and sound quality improves a lot.

Please let us know and share which amp/speaker set you end up getting. Hopefully plug n play so no void warranty.

QUOTE(death_nite @ Oct 27 2021, 09:03 AM)
But best solution use rfid lah. Hopefully plus highway can implement it asap to all entry/exit point.
Just tested today, RFID pasted on upper left side on outer windscreen works perfectly with 3M Crystalline. Probably gonna skip Smart Tag unless toll on my work route doesn't have RFID.

This post has been edited by sanakim: Oct 31 2021, 11:09 PM
sanakim
post Oct 31 2021, 11:09 PM

57 posts

Any recommendation for car mat? Looking for the TPV / hard plastic kind and not coil mat/foam mat, so that easy to wash and dry.
sanakim
post Nov 6 2021, 12:41 AM

57 posts

QUOTE(RiriRuruRara @ Nov 5 2021, 09:14 PM)
Is there a reason why you guys don't use it?
What would your advice be for someone buying it for the main reason it can autopark?
Hi there,
I'm a big fan of autonomous tech and L2 autonomous driving was why I bought it over anything in the price range; but the autopark doesn't cut it. I have even tried it on higher end imported cars and it's mostly a hit and miss. For my X50, I feel its about 20%-30% success rate (anecdotally).

This is because it works 1) only when between 2 cars (i.e. doesn't work in empty parking garage), 2) most of the time it doesn't detect the lot fast enough and you have to drive quite a bit in front of the lot before the prompt comes up, 3) when attempting to autopark, sometimes it tries to park at a non-existent lot (e.g. between two poles/columns), or may give up in the middle of the autopark and ask you to take over.

So from this, the X50 reviewers are correct in that it's not very useful yet.

I would say this: if you are very patient and want the autopark to work, it probably will. If you prefer to park faster, then you will probably manual override. Would recommending testing in a showroom to find out.

Good luck thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by sanakim: Nov 6 2021, 12:43 AM
sanakim
post Nov 6 2021, 12:44 AM

57 posts

Anyone find out how to avoid the "clunk" noise when autohold takes over or the X50 auto brakes during ICC? It's quite obvious and jarring.. wondering if can put some sort of foam or tape to make it quiet..
sanakim
post Nov 6 2021, 09:56 PM

57 posts

QUOTE(RiriRuruRara @ Nov 6 2021, 07:25 PM)
Hi guys sorry to bother your again but would like to find out 1 more thing, is the 360 camera a useful must have tool for your x50?
I can't imagine living in a world without 360 camera now. All my future cars MUST have 360 camera; don't need autoparking but need 360. bruce.gif
sanakim
post Dec 8 2021, 01:40 PM

57 posts

QUOTE(contestchris @ Dec 8 2021, 10:52 AM)
Hi guys, is this the correct details and fee for the 1st X50 service (1,000km)?

Anything else I should be wary about with regards to the first service? I have an issue with my driver side door not closing properly, will get them to look at it.

Also, I read people say the fuel consumption will improve after first service, any truth to that?
Mine was also free.. booked in Nov 2020 and number 19xxxx. Do check with service center if you are eligible for free first service.
sanakim
post Jan 6 2022, 12:05 AM

57 posts

QUOTE(zero5177 @ Jan 5 2022, 10:21 PM)
Little update here, I got my car at end of Oct, went to first service at Nov notice my car entitle for Free service include parts for first round and the remaining 4 times free labour, assuming my car is within the early bird promo, so insisted for Joox VIP with SA, after about 1 month half finally he got me the 1 year free VIP code for Joox.

Conclusion if u entitle for free service include parts for 1st round + 4 times free labor service, you should entitle for free 1 year Joox VIP

Sound quality is much better when play directly from Joox although I only select medium quality.
+1 JOOX direct SQ is better than bluetooth music or QDlink via iPhone. Tried and tested. The sound range just sounds fuller.
JOOX > QDlink > Bluetooth just FYI.
sanakim
post Jan 7 2022, 12:14 AM

57 posts

QUOTE(PseudoWoodo @ Jan 6 2022, 10:09 PM)
The thing is, after the 1 year free of JOOX VIP, would you still want to use the service? Horrible library, horrible UI (both on phone and on GKUI itself), horrible playlist management. The list goes on.

Got my car since last Feb, can count using own fingers how many times I use it, including first setup.

Using Spotify/YT Music through Android Auto (via QDLink) is so much better. Sound quality wise, I think the difference is negligible.
Depends on you. Maybe QDlink works better with Android but with iOS it kinda sucks as it's basically screen mirroring and can't use fullscreen.

For me, I use 4G hotspot from phone then play from playlist. Yes, the UX sucks vs iPhone apps but I like using the steering wheel controls and SQ is similar to QDlink although on certain tracks I perceive JOOX to be better. IMO, the bluetooth SQ on stock sound system is not good as the treble and bass is quite compressed/not full sounding.

BTW, I paid for Joox..RM60 for 1 year and free one month promo. Not bad lah for RM5/month. Only issue is music library is less comprehensive than Spotify. So depending on the track, I switch between both smile.gif

Good luck!

QUOTE(death_nite @ Jan 6 2022, 12:52 PM)
who said ADAS doesnt work? Lol.
3 months+ driving my FS and ADAS works as intended.

AEB ✅ - save my ass few times. car infront sudden braking during highway cruise.
FCW ✅ - it gave warning before it hit brakes and activate aeb
ICC/ACC ✅ - After several months using it, i can say i turn it on most of the time during highway cruise or traffic jam.
Lane Keep Assist ✅ - but depending on road marker.
Lane Departure Warning ✅ - and annoying
Blind spot ✅ - and annoying
Auto High Beam ✅ - tested so far ok. must be very dark then only it will turn on. if there is lamp post or cars in front will turn off as intended.

Drove 7 hours from Penang to Kl last sunday. Traffic jem almost all the time. Relaxing (but still tiring sbb lama sangat duduk dalam kereta) and ICC save my foot. Lol.
And i feel no regret choosing FS over other cars that doesnt have ICC.

Auto Park ni jer yg I agree doesnt really work. Lol. Actually it works but must be between cars cuma not really work sbb slow. manual park is faster. Lol

I used 3M that have the highest rejection on heat. put it on all windows.
not that hot. my friends even compliment the car still not that hot despite park under the sun for several hours. kerusi pun boleh duduk. just feel warm.
+1 can confirm the L2 ADAS is my fav feature of the car. IINM, no car in the price range can touch it. Myvi, Ativa, City RS, Corolla Cross ACC only works at higher speeds (30km/h) and doesn't support traffic jam assist.

+1 AEB saved me ~3 near misses in 3 months and very useful

I personally don't use the auto parking as where I live, the lorongs is not very suitable for this. Also with the 360 camera, parking is basically a breeze. Car is also not very long vs competitors like Civic, Corolla Cross, etc and can fit on roadside parking lots easily.

Hope this helps smile.gif

This post has been edited by sanakim: Jan 7 2022, 12:20 AM
sanakim
post Jan 7 2022, 12:19 AM

57 posts

QUOTE(lk_chin @ Jan 6 2022, 08:57 PM)
Did you hear any tak tak sound when using acc? When it’s break and start moving time
Unfortunately, it's normal. It's due to the auto braking feature. If you turn it off (press the ((A)) button in center console), then ICC/ACC won't work but the sound will be gone.

This post has been edited by sanakim: Jan 7 2022, 12:22 AM
sanakim
post Jul 20 2022, 01:36 AM

57 posts

@xeon1989, thanks again for this awesome contribution smile.gif Really simple to add ES and the remaining APKs.

Spotify is working really well but Waze is a bit cacat for me. I tried v4.80.0.1 and v4.84.90.901 both are Android 5.0+ compatible but it seems really laggy and if I switch to spotify and switch back to Waze, most of the time it crashes and needs to restart Waze app. Has anyone found a stable version?

Also, is there a way to close recent apps to clear memory? Tried the stock "Cleanup" but it closes ALL apps in the background so not quite helpful.

Thanks!
sanakim
post Aug 8 2022, 11:21 PM

57 posts

QUOTE(hantu08 @ Aug 8 2022, 07:49 AM)
just remind to SC.....tell him don't update.....recently i just remind him when i send 3rd service....then relieved.....no update
Boss, did you remove all the old apps etc before sending for car service? Worried about warranty issue if they spotted Spotify, Waze etc hahaha
sanakim
post Sep 10 2022, 01:29 AM

57 posts

QUOTE(zero5177 @ Sep 7 2022, 02:24 PM)
Sunroof not included in part of windscreen insurance?

Personally I think pointless to PPF Sunroof as the impact of stone enough to chip the glass would be the one at front windscreen, you seldom have object crashing from above directly, even if there is such threat, that kind of impact will most likely be enough to shatter your Sunroof even with PPF installed, like example your car turn turtle.

Please enlighten me if you view this differently.
1. Sunroof is included as part of windscreen coverage - see Endorsement 89: Cover for Windscreens, Windows and Sunroof
In consideration of the additional premium that You paid Us for this endorsement, We agree that the insurance provided under Section A of this Policy will cover the cost to replace or repair any glass in the windscreen, window or sunroof of Your Car that is accidentally damaged including the cost of lamination/tinting film (if any) provided no other claim is submitted for this Incident. The maximum amount that We will pay under this endorsement is the amount mentioned in the Schedule under the heading ‘Endorsement 89’.

2. For Proton Insurance Program, can still get benefits if you change insurance as long as you buy from Proton website/service centre + one of the 6 panels (https://www.proton.com/en/shopping-tools/proton-insurance-program). Based on my recent survey, Am General was the lowest cost FYI.

Disclosure: I'm just regular X50 owner - not working for proton or insurance company lol..
sanakim
post Sep 13 2022, 01:28 AM

57 posts

QUOTE(mynewsin @ Sep 11 2022, 09:11 PM)
went to the RFID fitment center. They told me if install 3m tinted and ppf will caused RFID no signal. not sure if it is true
No issues with 3M Crystalline + RFID based on my experience. Been 1 year since I'm using 3M Crystalline tint with RFID sticker on outer windscreen (upper left from driver perspective). Never had RFID fail on me. Just make sure you install on the outer windscreen and not inner windscreen (which will then be blocked by the 3M tint IR rejection!)

Not sure how ppf will affect anything unless you install on LED headlamp - in which case just install RFID on windscreen.

I recall my friend at the workshop said RFID's bonnet design has a lip which covers part of the LED headlamp and may interfere with RFID. Can't confirm cos I installed on windscreen but maybe others can comment.
sanakim
post Sep 22 2022, 12:03 AM

57 posts

QUOTE(holypredator @ Sep 21 2022, 01:26 AM)
Hi guys.... just wanted to do a quick survey on fuel consumption...

Can anyone here tell me what is X50 flagship average fuel consumption??? particularly driving in the city and stuck in highway traffic congestion like federal highway???
10L/100km average. Range from 9-12L/100km depending on driving speed. Best mileage for me at 60-90km/h.

sanakim
post Nov 19 2022, 10:21 AM

57 posts

Happy election day all smile.gif

Just sharing some result on my Carlinkit + Carplay: bought the CPC200-CCPA from Shopee and initially the Autokit didn't work and HU would crash after 3-5 seconds of working. Contacted seller and they asked me to update to this version: http://121.40.123.198:8080/AutoKit/AutoKit....06.27.1555.apk

Now, it works great for wired - Waze and Spotify are fantastic although kinda sad CarPlay limits to so few apps only. I love the vibrant colors too smile.gif

For wireless, it works fine but Spotify song/audio tends to drop out intermittently once or twice a minute. It's not a major issue but it's quite annoying - has anyone found a setting to work around this issue?

So-what: For RM150+ and able to use Carplay on our X50 HU is really worth it smile.gif Makes the car feel so premium now! Highly recommend.

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0372sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 06:55 AM