13 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 >Bottom

Mountain Bike v35

pretty23
post Oct 29 2021, 09:52 AM

1,791 posts

QUOTE(doppatroll @ Oct 29 2021, 09:49 AM)
It can climb but slow only because it is heavy bike, actually i'm not aim do to championship climb...... at the end of the day, it is just leg power to bring you up the hill but also need to tackle to set used also....you can be putting 38T and expect to climb well
I dono how you set up your santa cruz but since you said you convert 2x SLX to single ring. Then how about the rear? still using 10 speeds 36T ?

So you expect people guess here and there for your bike set up and advise you how to climb is it?
pretty23
post Oct 29 2021, 10:02 AM

1,791 posts

QUOTE(doppatroll @ Oct 29 2021, 09:58 AM)
Fully revamp most of the old component to new one

Rear 11 Speed - 11-51T
Front single chain ring - 28T
like this should be ok.

Bike geometry for this bike not good for climb. But if you want then train stand ride in flat road first. See how long time you can stand.

After enough training then just train for up hill.
pretty23
post Oct 30 2021, 11:05 AM

1,791 posts

SR Raidon XC Boost RC L/O seem seem nice price. Around RM6xx.
pretty23
post Oct 30 2021, 12:28 PM

1,791 posts

QUOTE(skyblu3 @ Oct 30 2021, 12:15 PM)
Suntour good brand?
I think it already conquer all complete entry bike in Malaysia market.
pretty23
post Oct 30 2021, 08:24 PM

1,791 posts

QUOTE(coklatua @ Oct 30 2021, 07:03 PM)
Way better than cheap china brand.
But beware of fakes.
Especially SR Suntour Epixon model.
I have one Epixon bought from FB, the serial number is legit when check at SR Suntour website, but after I disassembly it for service, I found that the damper catridge is not from suntour and the air spring side is nothing like the original specs. The top seal also stiff as fu**..
Now the fork is dead. Doesn't move at all even after I change the damper catridge. Even my old coil spring suntour is better than my fake epixon.
LOL... pls share photo. Appreciate.

A lot of here not see how fake it is. outer casing is real suntour ? How about the Q-Lock TA?
pretty23
post Oct 31 2021, 04:01 PM

1,791 posts

QUOTE(coklatua @ Oct 31 2021, 03:50 PM)
Mine using small old QR.
Not TA.
thanks for sharing.

How long did you notice this after bought ?
pretty23
post Oct 31 2021, 08:23 PM

1,791 posts

QUOTE(coklatua @ Oct 31 2021, 04:20 PM)
On the very first ride.  dry.gif
Very harsh ride.
Even harsher than the old coil fork.

I thought it just need simple leg service to replace the oil.
But as soon I got to see the damper, I notice the damper is stuck, hard to move.
At that moment, I thought only the damper is faulty.
So I ordered new damper. After replace the damper, same thing happen. Harsh.
So, right now I think the seal also is fake. When I compare the seal with the coil fork, it is huge difference in term of softness.
The original coil fork seal is so much softer..
Thanks for sharing your experience here. We all will fall in this kind of trap anytime. From outlook there is same like legit but inside no body will know. You said that you bought from FB, so this mean seller is individual seller?
pretty23
post Oct 31 2021, 08:37 PM

1,791 posts

QUOTE(coklatua @ Oct 31 2021, 08:32 PM)
Yup.
But he said, he source it from shop also. sweat.gif
you lost how much ? The fork can repair or not ?
pretty23
post Oct 31 2021, 08:47 PM

1,791 posts

QUOTE(coklatua @ Oct 31 2021, 08:43 PM)
RM590.
Standard price I think around 700-900..
I think thats why it is so cheap, fake. sweat.gif

I think if I can change the top seal it will improve.
Ive bought cheapo top seal before, but it dont fit.
Need to find the legit Suntour ones..
This one really hard sourcing in malaysia.

If the seller is honest then may be the bike shop is the root cause but no body know which one is trustworthy.
pretty23
post Nov 2 2021, 09:01 AM

1,791 posts

shimano introduce new 220mm rotor.

+10% more stopping power than 203mm.

Seem like change rotor more cheap than change brake set. LOL
pretty23
post Nov 2 2021, 04:51 PM

1,791 posts

QUOTE(Jimsee @ Nov 2 2021, 01:16 PM)
any tips for hillclimb for MTB.  i just bought a computer bike + cadence + heart rate sensor . Newbies here.
QUOTE(doppatroll @ Nov 2 2021, 01:23 PM)
ask pretty23....I still noob
pretty23
post Nov 3 2021, 10:45 AM

1,791 posts

QUOTE(Mavik @ Nov 3 2021, 10:24 AM)
Actually, for our terrain here and trails here, it is very rare that we need 220mm rotors unless you are riding your eMTB DH. If you are heading to Chiang Mai and riding down Doi Suthep and are a bit heavier set and tend to brake a lot, then yes, these 220mm rotors would help especially with brake fade.
actually with this new standard release, the fork manufacture sure will try to adapt and make compatible for DH fork. There is nothing we can do nor we can ignore. This is business trend.
pretty23
post Nov 3 2021, 11:24 AM

1,791 posts

QUOTE(Mavik @ Nov 3 2021, 11:11 AM)
I don't get what you are trying to explain here. "Fork manufacture sure will try to adapt and make compatible for DH fork" ?????
After it become main stream will change accordingly. Like boost standard.
pretty23
post Nov 3 2021, 01:55 PM

1,791 posts

QUOTE(Mavik @ Nov 3 2021, 01:50 PM)
What becomes mainstream? DH forks? What are you referring to the fork manufacturers that it will become mainstream?
you see.. now DH fork you want buy non boost also not available anymore. You get it or not?

So if 220mm become main steam, direct mount for DH fork do you think still will make 203mm standard anymore?
pretty23
post Nov 3 2021, 02:11 PM

1,791 posts

QUOTE(Mavik @ Nov 3 2021, 01:59 PM)
Oh, you are referring to standards. I think you got the standards confused right? Because boost is the sizing in terms of the gap. But even with forks, with boost and non-boost you have fork travels from 100mm all the way to 220mm.

The same with rotor sizes, from small all the way to large size. From thickness differences (thicker for ebike standards) but at the end of the day, the standards by which the rotors are usually used when mounted is either you use a 6 screw or a center lock.

So again, how do you take rotor sizes going mainstream in comparison to the boost standard? Because whether it is non-boost, boost and super boost, the fork travel will have different varying sizes based on the style of riding. Similar for rotor size, different people will have different uses for it. Nothing wrong with choosing the one that suits you the most.
that mean it is business talk. They force you to change.

imagine you use previous DH fork non boost. Now you want replace but no more brand new for non boost now.

Imagine in future one day brand new DH fork come with 220 direct mounting hole, but you got brand new 203mm rotor, how your feeling? I believe this gonna happen in future.

So what I mean is when a new standard release, when it become main stream, those manufacture will do something change on their product.
pretty23
post Nov 3 2021, 02:29 PM

1,791 posts

QUOTE(Mavik @ Nov 3 2021, 02:24 PM)
Of course, they are a business not a fcking charity. They want you to change but you as the consumer have the right not to change. But first and foremost let me tell you a secret, you don't mount the rotor to the fork.
now spare part less and less for old standard. Especially those common brand which many people like to use.

need to resist a change also not so easy.
pretty23
post Nov 3 2021, 02:37 PM

1,791 posts

QUOTE(Mavik @ Nov 3 2021, 02:32 PM)
Sorry for you bro, btw SuperBoost is already on its way. The new Evil bikes already sport SuperBoost standards especially for the rear

https://bikerumor.com/2020/12/08/2021-evil-...ach-new-angles/
this is why my wheelset still OOS. Chase supplier almost 1 month already.
pretty23
post Nov 4 2021, 02:50 PM

1,791 posts

QUOTE(Guyver @ Nov 4 2021, 02:15 PM)
It's been a long time since my last input, how's every dai-gor and si-fu? notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif

A little bit of update for my bike hunt.
I'm going to get a Polygon T7 (Closed some sales, got a bit extra on the commission), deposit paid now waiting for stock to come, seller said estimated it will arrive by Feb 2022. wacko.gif  wacko.gif

In the mean time, I had got myself a 24" fat bike, it is for getting myself into shape before the new T7 reach. It's a China made fat bike that not really fit my geometry, but that's what a RM800 bike get you, right? wink.gif
After getting the bike, I had changed some component, e.g. stem, handlebar, F & R derailleur & shifter (although still China made, but a length better then the one comes with the bike), saddle and a dropper post (Short legs blush.gif  blush.gif ).

After 20years, I can say that I'm totally out of shape, my 1st ride doesn't even last for 15mins.... sweat.gif  sweat.gif  sweat.gif

Well that's warps up my updates.

Happy riding!!
Good luck have fun.

Normally year end buy bike same like year end buy car. Got discount on old model. But how come you need wait so long till Feb 2022?
pretty23
post Dec 10 2021, 09:53 AM

1,791 posts

QUOTE(Xefron @ Dec 9 2021, 07:05 PM)
After watching too many bike restoration and upgrade videos on Youtube, I have decided to upgrade my 27 years TREK 850.

Original specs:
Frame TREK Oversize Cro-Moly
Fork  TREK Cro-Moly
Headset Tange-Seiki OV-850
Handlebar Alloy
Stem Cro-Moly
Shifters Shimano Alivio RapidFire Plus
Brake Levers Shimano Alivio
Grips Trek Kraton
Brake Shimano Acera-X
Crankset Shimano Alivio
Pedals Wellgo LU945
Front Derailleur Shimano Alivio Top Swing
Rear Derailleur Shimano STX GS
Freewheel Shimano IG50
Chain Shimano IG30
Bottom Bracket Shimano BB-LP25
Hubs Shimano Acera-X
Rims Araya GP710
Tires Trek Big Kahuna
Tubes Shchraeder valve
Spokes Stainless
Saddle Trek Hi-Density Foam
Seat Post SP242 Alloy Quick Release
Seat Binder Cro-Moly Quick Release
New specs:
Frame TREK Oversize Cro-Moly
Fork TREK Cro-Moly
Headset Tange-Seiki Falcon FL270C
Handlebar UNO Alloy Handlebar
Stem UNO Alloy STEM
Shifters Shimano Shifter ST-EF500-7R4A
Brake Levers Shimano Shifter ST-EF500-7R4A
Grips ODI Elite Pro Handle Grip v2.1
Converter Threadless Converter
Brake Tektro V-Brake
Cable and Housing Jagwire Cable Housing
Crankset Shimano FC-TY301
Pedals Promend
Front Derailleur Shimano Tourney FD-TY500-TS6
Rear Derailleur Shimano Alivio M3100
Freewheel Shimano MF-TZ31
Chain KMC HVC
Bottom Bracket Shimano BB-UN101K
Rear Derailleur Hanger
Front Derailleur Shim
Hubs No Brand
Rims Foxster
Tires Chaoyang
Tubes Chaoyang
Spokes Stainless
Rim Tape Kenda
Saddle Velmia MB Seat
Seat Post EVO Kalloy Seat Post
Seat Binder No Brand

I regret most ditching the original wheelset too early.  sweat.gif
why choose TY-301 crankset? how much you buy this ?
pretty23
post Dec 11 2021, 09:06 PM

1,791 posts

QUOTE(Xefron @ Dec 11 2021, 06:52 PM)
it is cheap, only RM75. biggrin.gif I plan to make this bike a city bike.
I see. Because that crank can not change chain ring.

RM75 can get hollowtech M522 without chain ring or full set m4000 crankset.

13 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 >Top

0.0698sec    0.26    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 03:23 AM