Credit Cards MBB x Shopee / MBB x Grab Credit Card Thread, |MBB xShopee/Grab Cobrand CC Discussion|

xyb0rg
post Aug 19 2020, 10:57 PM

36 posts

I can't seem to add the digital card in grab. maybank2u status is pending new card activation.
Do we need to activate the digital card as well?
xyb0rg
post Aug 20 2020, 12:15 AM

36 posts

QUOTE(ericlaiys @ Aug 19 2020, 11:38 PM)
yeah! yeah!... after i sent them email (3h) later to ask why bank decline my application? Now, on maybank2u new portal , i saw my mastercard grab is available and pending activation. Saw my digital number and cvv as well. All this process without any question ask by bank. (had AMEX & Mastercard-2 in 1 card). Planned to terminate this card since i hardly use on AMEX and hard to see any merchant use it.
Are you able to add your card to Grab app?
xyb0rg
post Aug 20 2020, 01:54 AM

36 posts

QUOTE(ericlaiys @ Aug 20 2020, 12:29 AM)
digital card cannot yet. it require OTP activation. Physical card also not yet get it and activate. Where can get OTP? Wait tomorow and see if OTP activate or not. Without it, cannot get sms code.

by the way, i notice my new card expire date follow my old card - 05/22. Not Aug/22.my m2u mobile app has appeared grab card.
Card delivery use which postal? tomorrow public holiday, dont think will get the physical card .

Everyone get the same result (follow old card expire date)?

My grab now is Platinum till 30 Jun 2021. Let see if they extend to end of 2021.
Yes follow old card expiry.
Hmm...defeats the purpose of offering a digital card if I still need to wait for the physical card before activating. Oh well...

xyb0rg
post Aug 20 2020, 10:36 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(ericlaiys @ Aug 20 2020, 01:23 PM)
this card earned grabpoint rather than TP.

Well the PDS did say there will be 1x TreatsPoints for utilities, education, EzyPay and insurance. hmm.gif

Anyway to update my case, I called customer service as you all suggested, finally able to get MSOS code, but still can't add card to Grab App.
Then tried to top up grab wallet without adding the card, was successful. But after that still unable to add card to Grab app.
Have contacted both maybank and grab customer service, both clueless. shakehead.gif
xyb0rg
post Sep 4 2020, 02:18 PM

36 posts

Has anyone gotten the GrabRide and GrabFood vouchers yet after spending RM300? Wondering what it the expected timeline to get it.
xyb0rg
post Sep 4 2020, 02:44 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Sep 4 2020, 02:22 PM)

Ok noted and thanks. Just wondering whether anyone has already gotten it as of now?
xyb0rg
post Dec 5 2022, 06:04 PM

36 posts

I am only getting 2x points when using Maybank Grab card with Grab app overseas (non-ringgit currency). Is this normal?
I thought all transactions should be getting 5x points within Grab app regardless of currency, no?

Anyone tried this before?

xyb0rg
post Dec 6 2022, 09:00 AM

36 posts

QUOTE(GymBoi @ Dec 5 2022, 11:11 PM)
How u pay with grab app overseas?

Edit: Exchange rate ok ke?
Im using grabcar overseas, then select maybank grab card as payment method.

Exchange rate seems normal, standard credit card rate i guess, didn't really compare.
xyb0rg
post Dec 6 2022, 09:08 AM

36 posts

QUOTE(chemistry @ Dec 5 2022, 06:18 PM)
nothing wrong, because your transaction falls within THIS category.
[attachmentid=11330633]

5X points is only when you topup GrabPay using the Maybank-Grab card.
**5 GRP will be rewarded for every 1 Ringgit Malaysia spent on GRAB & GRABPAY (including GRAB e-wallet reloads).

im using grabcar overseas, then select maybank grab card as payment method, it is still on Grab app so I thought i should be getting 5x points.

nvr tried using grabcar/food in malaysia yet while selecting maybank grab card as payment method. I should be getting 5x points also I assume, and not categorized under local spend category. anyone can confirm?
xyb0rg
post Dec 6 2022, 02:53 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(chemistry @ Dec 6 2022, 12:52 PM)
well i have no idea how do Grab define "overseas".
Screenshot the transaction details and ask Grab customer service.
Thanks. Already did, to Maybank customer service. Will wait for their reply.
xyb0rg
post Dec 7 2022, 01:41 AM

36 posts

QUOTE(gooroojee @ Dec 7 2022, 01:13 AM)
Actually the card benefit states overseas transactions are 2X points. The point of contention is whether using the same Grab app's services overseas are considered Grab -or- overseas first.

Just my opinion, but the card is a Malaysian card and the benefits would apply based on us using the Grab app within the limits of Malaysia, regardless of whether the app has become a global/ regional app or not.

If you use Grab overseas and it qualifies for 5X then we would end up with a gray definition/conflict across two distinct categories, and if that was the case Maybank would have needed a legal disclaimer to explain "2X points on overseas spend (excluding Grab which still earns 5X)", and "5X on all Grab spend (including overseas)". But the legal team that pore over T&Cs are there to make sure it's MECE.

Same applies for cards with benefits revolving around overseas spend - usually a one liner encompassing all overseas spend without specific exclusions.

Plus all overseas spend are billed and recorded in foreign currency including within the Grab app. It's only converted to RM to reflect the bank's own exchange rate applied and the amount the bank will bill you as a result.
Good explanation. But if this is the case, they should give me 2x points for overseas transaction, and then 5x points because I used it in Grab. lol
xyb0rg
post Dec 8 2022, 10:29 AM

36 posts

QUOTE(gooroojee @ Dec 7 2022, 03:05 PM)
I don't think Grab uses MY payment gateway in their respective countries hahaha... I've used in Vietnam, Thailand, Singapore and Indonesia.. all localised
QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Dec 7 2022, 05:54 PM)
How do u know its using the respective country gateway? Its not transparent to user.

Im not sure how Grab decides which gateway to use. Can try ask Grab or check with Bank after made payment.
Previously no max coin earning?
Its quite good for me 5000 coins is equivalent to RM50
Should be localized gateway.
Below are the merchant names when paying for grabcar/food directly with Maybank Grab Card in Grab Malaysia, top up Grab Malaysia e-wallet, and using grabcar/food overseas respectively.

I am only getting 5x points for those whereby the gateway is in Malaysia, eventhough all their FAQ / terms mentioned I should be getting 5x points in "Grab app".

xyb0rg
post Dec 16 2022, 02:41 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(gooroojee @ Dec 12 2022, 11:08 PM)
I paid about 10 ringgit for ghost deliveries in Bangkok and Singapore last week to test it out, and managed to confirm your assumptions below when using Maybank Grab card:

1. Using Grab in Singapore only gives 2X points.
2. Using Grab in Thailand gives 5X points.

If it is Maybank's system that is crediting points into our Grab accounts, then Maybank's knowledge/understanding of whether the transaction is Grab or not, probably depends on how it inteprets merchant name, merchant code, and payment gateway?
QUOTE(hown @ Dec 13 2022, 10:12 PM)
i can confirm i got 5x points from Thailand grabfood and grabrides
QUOTE(gooroojee @ Dec 13 2022, 10:17 PM)
Yeah so far what's shared is 2X in Singapore and Vietnam, and 5X in Thailand.
Good info, thanks. Maybank finally did call me, and they said will look into the issue.
xyb0rg
post Jan 16 2023, 07:29 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(gooroojee @ Dec 7 2022, 11:17 PM)
Do keep us posted. Note that all bonus Grab Points awarded by Maybank (not those directly from Grab) will be posted as Grab X Maybank Points a few days later.
FYI, Maybank finally gave the 5x points for my grabcar transactions in Vietnam, more than 1 month after complaining. shakehead.gif

0.0312sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 11:50 AM