Which bulb is legal in Malaysia 5000k? 6000k?

SUSFlyingVCLplayer
post Jun 30 2020, 09:54 AM, updated 6y ago

I don't know much about bulb.
Which one is legal? 8000k is legal?

Hid xenon type.
Boom Mortar
post Jun 30 2020, 09:54 AM

227 posts

over 9000
ju146
post Jun 30 2020, 09:56 AM

1,594 posts

want so bright do what?
SUSwilsonjay
post Jun 30 2020, 09:56 AM

6 Stars Social Justice Warrior
1,605 posts

You want so blueish for wat
amxpayne67
post Jun 30 2020, 09:58 AM

The Coon
718 posts

for vehicle, unker dunno why pipu like to use those HID white-blueish bulb. Really hurt my eye ever though not direct light, unker cannot even watch the reflection from my side mirror

zuozi
post Jun 30 2020, 09:58 AM

1,267 posts

QUOTE(FlyingVCLplayer @ Jun 30 2020, 09:54 AM)

Hid xenon type.
The only legal are stock bulb
Mooneyes
post Jun 30 2020, 09:59 AM

Time heals
2,731 posts

As long as not retrofitted. 8k or 6k as long same type bulb no problem
Lada Putih

214 posts

Hid xenon type.
Depends on where you use them
SUSFlyingVCLplayer

QUOTE(zuozi @ Jun 30 2020, 09:58 AM)
The only legal are stock bulb
My stock bulb is blue + white. Don't know what the kelvin temperature. 6500k?
iwubpreve
post Jun 30 2020, 10:00 AM

1,829 posts

as long as brand is Phillips Osram then is legal
Zot
post Jun 30 2020, 10:02 AM

7,938 posts

Hid xenon type.
It is not much about color temerature. Of course you cannot use Red or Orange for headlamp though laugh.gif

Some people use LED to replace the normal bulb and since it is not designed for reflector type headlamp, then the beam glares on coming vehicles. Those cars with LED light use projector type headlight.
woodentiger86
post Jun 30 2020, 10:05 AM

Budding DIY Detailer & Avid Gamer
2,414 posts

Osram Nightbreakers are good.

TS< try not to get too cheap bulbs otherwise run the risk of fusing or burn out. Happened before to my old E32 when I bought aftermarket bulbs from Brothers to replace the ones in my headlamps.

Brighter for awhile then kaput...
SUSrtk74
post Jun 30 2020, 10:06 AM

;"K]6pKBg;1]U)uSs!eF
1,151 posts

Please don't blind others
culain99
post Jun 30 2020, 10:08 AM

-----
765 posts

4300K should be ori
ben3003
post Jun 30 2020, 10:09 AM

10,859 posts

4300k is legal. apa lanciao u wan mod the temp is 4300k is legal.

This post has been edited by ben3003: Jun 30 2020, 10:10 AM
BuKeYi
post Jun 30 2020, 10:10 AM

Dame Dame
909 posts

https://www.jpj.gov.my/en/web/main-site/tek...mps-enforcement

HID Xenon should be illegal. Try LED instead
SUSFlyingVCLplayer
post Jun 30 2020, 10:11 AM

QUOTE(BuKeYi @ Jun 30 2020, 10:10 AM)

My stock car is xenon kek
fantasy1989
post Jun 30 2020, 10:11 AM

4,707 posts

if halogen bulb ..4.8k is the max

retrofitted HID is illegal

as for stock bulb that having >5000 kelvin must come with auto leveling
SUSFlyingVCLplayer
post Jun 30 2020, 10:12 AM

QUOTE(fantasy1989 @ Jun 30 2020, 10:11 AM)
if halogen bulb ..4.8k is the max

retrofitted HID is illegal

as for stock bulb that having >5000 kelvin must come with auto leveling
Me stock hid. What k is better.
fantasy1989
post Jun 30 2020, 10:12 AM

4,707 posts

QUOTE(FlyingVCLplayer @ Jun 30 2020, 10:11 AM)
My stock car is xenon kek
retrofitted illegal..but stock car is ok (usually it will come together with auto leveling)
upcars
post Jun 30 2020, 10:13 AM

95 posts

warm white
fantasy1989
post Jun 30 2020, 10:14 AM

4,707 posts

QUOTE(FlyingVCLplayer @ Jun 30 2020, 10:12 AM)
Me stock hid. What k is better.
my rx8 used 6.5k ..as for 508 still using stock bulb 6000 kot biggrin.gif
sanosizo
post Jun 30 2020, 10:15 AM

4,553 posts

Last I read max temp 4300K only
captain fast
post Jun 30 2020, 10:16 AM

50 posts

Hid xenon type.
Legal is no more than 4300K
AyamBlend
post Jun 30 2020, 10:19 AM

27 posts

QUOTE(amxpayne67 @ Jun 30 2020, 09:58 AM)
for vehicle, unker dunno why pipu like to use those HID white-blueish bulb. Really hurt my eye ever though not direct light, unker cannot even watch the reflection from my side mirror
The only way to deal with them is to brake check them so that the light will not flare to ur eyes.

fantasy1989
post Jun 30 2020, 10:20 AM

4,707 posts

QUOTE(sanosizo @ Jun 30 2020, 10:15 AM)
Last I read max temp 4300K only
that should be halogen bulb... because any stock white color bulb (like xenon or led) sure >5000 biggrin.gif

a lot old gen maivi beng like to retrofitted HID + reflector headlights ...mata sakit gila

This post has been edited by fantasy1989: Jun 30 2020, 10:21 AM
keyibukeyi
post Jun 30 2020, 10:21 AM

150 posts

if fitter with projector lens then its legal
amxpayne67
post Jun 30 2020, 10:21 AM

The Coon
718 posts

QUOTE(AyamBlend @ Jun 30 2020, 10:19 AM)
The only way to deal with them is to brake check them so that the light will not flare to ur eyes.
Sometimes the word sohai is applicable to you
Zaryl
post Jun 30 2020, 10:23 AM

Hardcore Casual Gamer
1,709 posts

Legal temp is 4300K.

Anymore than that illegal.

If JPJ didn’t catch you, the local rempits/local ricers will and they will smash your headlights and YOU.

So beware.
Strike
post Jun 30 2020, 10:37 AM

51 posts

richfags car not applicable

so..
wild_card_my
post Jun 30 2020, 10:45 AM

6,562 posts

i have seen both 5000k and 6000k in Ikea. I assume they are legal
pretty23
post Jun 30 2020, 10:48 AM

1,791 posts

StorMx
post Jun 30 2020, 10:49 AM

143 posts

4200 all LED are illegal unless its CKD/CBU from manufacturer, so whatever you're thinking is illegal
fantasy1989
post Jun 30 2020, 10:49 AM

4,707 posts

QUOTE(wild_card_my @ Jun 30 2020, 10:45 AM)
i have seen both 5000k and 6000k in Ikea. I assume they are legal
if your car stock bulb come with 6000k ..then is legal

mingyuyu
post Jun 30 2020, 10:50 AM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(Zaryl @ Jun 30 2020, 10:23 AM)
Legal temp is 4300K.

Anymore than that illegal.

If JPJ didn’t catch you, the local rempits/local ricers will and they will smash your headlights and YOU.

So beware.
while the rempits/ricers using LED bulbs in their reflector headlights

kek
Zack Styler
post Jun 30 2020, 10:56 AM

Things Happen for a Reason...
1,282 posts

QUOTE(fantasy1989 @ Jun 30 2020, 10:14 AM)
my rx8 used 6.5k ..as for 508 still using stock bulb 6000 kot  biggrin.gif
Wow RX-8..

Has been quite some time since I followed your thread..
fantasy1989
post Jun 30 2020, 11:00 AM

4,707 posts

QUOTE(Zack Styler @ Jun 30 2020, 10:56 AM)
Wow RX-8..

Has been quite some time since I followed your thread..
weekend syok sendiri toy car laugh.gif

used to be dream car when i was in high school
Zaryl
post Jun 30 2020, 11:01 AM

Hardcore Casual Gamer
1,709 posts

QUOTE(mingyuyu @ Jun 30 2020, 10:50 AM)
while the rempits/ricers using LED bulbs in their reflector headlights

kek
Jangan persoal bumi ini milik siapa.jpg
ZzZzz...
post Jun 30 2020, 11:02 AM

Art of Sleeping
1,787 posts

more bright the light, more horsepower it produce
LamboSama
post Jun 30 2020, 11:04 AM

769 posts

Getting your eye check is legal.
AyamBlend
post Jun 30 2020, 11:17 AM

27 posts

QUOTE(amxpayne67 @ Jun 30 2020, 10:21 AM)
Sometimes the word sohai is applicable to you
Luckily me sohai is sometimes.

THose who installed all these aftermarket stuff and create Difficulties to others , those deserve to get lifetime ban from driving
Relaxing work
post Jun 30 2020, 11:25 AM

167 posts

Only stupid Ah Beng retrofir their cars with blinding lights.
It is endangering other road users.
JPJ should step up to summons all these dangerous fittings.
sanosizo
post Jun 30 2020, 11:26 AM

4,553 posts

QUOTE(fantasy1989 @ Jun 30 2020, 10:20 AM)
that should be halogen bulb...  because any stock white color bulb (like xenon or led) sure >5000  biggrin.gif
a lot old gen maivi beng like to retrofitted HID + reflector headlights ...mata sakit gila
Surprisingly jpj didn't really care about them since no roadblock for this purpose being setup at night.

Nowadays got kapcai also fit these crazy bright led light, can blind you even during daytime
acid427
post Jun 30 2020, 11:26 AM

699 posts

Sekarang banyak bezza dengan lampu putih.
danielmckey
post Jun 30 2020, 11:27 AM

1,053 posts

Check Sirim. All approved.
SUSXXXOOOXXXOOO
post Jun 30 2020, 11:28 AM

1,471 posts

QUOTE(FlyingVCLplayer @ Jun 30 2020, 09:59 AM)
My stock bulb is blue + white. Don't know what the kelvin temperature. 6500k?
ur stock bulb is 4300k ... that is international standard
Zack Styler
post Jun 30 2020, 11:28 AM

1,282 posts

QUOTE(fantasy1989 @ Jun 30 2020, 11:00 AM)
weekend syok sendiri toy car  laugh.gif

used to be dream car when i was in high school
Manual or auto? how much the damage?

If not wrong you in InxxL right? brows.gif
SUSSKY233
post Jun 30 2020, 11:37 AM

u x sukak u keluar
875 posts

QUOTE(Boom Mortar @ Jun 30 2020, 09:54 AM)
over 9000
andrewhtf
post Jun 30 2020, 11:45 AM

1,583 posts

Allow me to make some clarification

1. Any headlamp modifications that deviate from factory standard is illegal under JPJ rule. If your stock headlamp is halogen reflector, you can only pakai balik halogen bulb in a reflector housing. Doesn't matter apa lanjiao halogen bulb you change, as long as it is still halogen bulb in stock reflector housing, you are safe. If you retrofit hid/led bulb into stock halogen headlamp, salah. If you put projector unit into your reflector housing, doesn't matter u use halogen led or hid bulb, salah. Even if you do total headlamp replacement as in switching out your halogen headlamp into custom made led/hid headlamp system. It doesn't matter that even if they made it perfect cut-off la, no glare la etc etc, as long as it is not the same as out of factory, also salah. JPJ/Traffic mau saman, they are correct.

2. If your headlamp already is using projector unit in headlamp from factory, then although it is still salah under the law, you can still get away with swapping between halogen/led/hid bulbs because it isn't very noticeable to the eye of opisers manning the roadblock. Meaning if your stock factory headlamp is using halogen projectors, you swap the bulb to hid/led is not very noticeable. Unless if the opisers is a car nut and knows your car spec like the back of his hand and he'll flag you for it. Otherwise, you get away.

3. HID con-lan-firm have to use projector system because that's what it was designed for from the start, it is not meant for reflector housing, so sohais who put hid bulb into reflector housing are the one making the glare all over the place.

4. LED in the earlier days, and even nowadays especially for those cheapo ones, also gave out unnecessary glare because no thought were given to proper design. Only recent years that they start pay attention and design the led chip placement to mimic a halogen, so it can be used in a reflective housing and to provide a similar beam shape and pattern to a halogen. Although they're still not perfect but with the extra lumens output watt for watt, it kind offset lah.

5. The colour temperature of halogens are between 3k to 4300k usually, depending on the filament material composition, gas, filament winding and last but not least, the bulb tint. The so called whiter lights on halogen are usually by applying blue tinting on the bulb glass. For all its intent, a tinting is actually a filter and actually you lose some lumens from the light output. Counter productive.

6. The good thing with HID/LED is that they provide colour choices, from 3k all the way to 9k, even higher if you are willing to buy, but at higher temp colour it is just for show and had no practicality in road illumination. As mentioned, if you use led/hid bulb replacing stock halogen, is salah, but if you choose colour temp of 4300 and below, it would seem as if you're still on halogen at a glance, hence reducing the chance of getting flagged down. Less risky lah. You can try pushing it at 5k as it is still abit yellowish there. However if you use 6k-6.8k colour temp in reflector housing, then it is super obvious already. If opiser wan to kacau, u kena. That's all.

Pilihan di tangan anda.
MrBaba
post Jun 30 2020, 11:50 AM

2,506 posts

One punch man balk 1000000000k can walk on street no police come tangkap pun
nuvi
post Jun 30 2020, 11:53 AM

27,992 posts

If retrofit apa k also illegal.

Except /k
Revamperz
post Jun 30 2020, 11:54 AM

im freaking IN! â„¢
5,164 posts

pakai stock sajalaa

u want those nice nice hed led laser whatever

just buy the car
SUSXXXOOOXXXOOO
post Jun 30 2020, 11:55 AM

1,471 posts

QUOTE(andrewhtf @ Jun 30 2020, 11:45 AM)

1. Any headlamp modifications that deviate from factory standard  is illegal under JPJ rule. If your stock headlamp is halogen reflector, you can only pakai balik halogen bulb in a reflector housing. Doesn't matter apa lanjiao halogen bulb you change, as long as it is still halogen bulb in stock reflector housing, you are safe. If you retrofit hid/led bulb into stock halogen headlamp, salah. If you put projector unit into your reflector housing, doesn't matter u use halogen led or hid bulb, salah. Even if you do total headlamp replacement as in switching out your halogen headlamp into custom made led/hid headlamp system. It doesn't matter that even if they made it perfect cut-off la, no glare la etc etc, as long as it is not the same as out of factory,  also salah. JPJ/Traffic mau saman, they are correct.

2. If your headlamp already is using projector unit in headlamp from factory, then although it is still salah under the law, you can still get away with swapping between halogen/led/hid bulbs because it isn't very noticeable to the eye of opisers manning the roadblock. Meaning if your stock factory headlamp is using halogen projectors, you swap the bulb to hid/led is not very noticeable. Unless if the opisers is a car nut and knows your car spec like the back of his hand and he'll flag you for it. Otherwise, you get away.

3. HID con-lan-firm have to use projector system because that's what it was designed for from the start, it is not meant for reflector housing, so sohais who put hid bulb into reflector housing are the one making the glare all over the place.

4. LED in the earlier days, and even nowadays especially for those cheapo ones, also gave out unnecessary glare because no thought were given to proper design. Only recent years that they start pay attention and design the led chip placement to mimic a halogen, so it can be used in a reflective housing and to provide a similar beam shape and pattern to a halogen. Although they're still not perfect but with the extra lumens output watt for watt, it kind offset lah.

5. The colour temperature of halogens are between 3k to 4300k usually, depending on the filament material composition, gas, filament winding and last but not least, the bulb tint. The so called whiter lights on halogen are usually by applying blue tinting on the bulb glass. For all its intent, a tinting is actually a filter and actually you lose some lumens from the light output. Counter productive.

6. The good thing with HID/LED is that they provide colour choices, from 3k all the way to 9k, even higher if you are willing to buy, but at higher temp colour it is just for show and had no practicality in road illumination. As mentioned, if you use led/hid bulb replacing stock halogen, is salah, but if you choose colour temp of 4300 and below, it would seem as if you're still on halogen at a glance, hence reducing the chance of getting flagged down. Less risky lah. You can try pushing it at 5k as it is still abit yellowish there. However if you use 6k-6.8k colour temp in reflector housing, then it is super obvious already. If opiser wan to kacau, u kena. That's all.

Pilihan di tangan anda.
1. not all halogen is legal to use, for car max out put 60w anything above that is illegal.

3. HID doesn't means for projector only, there is S (projector) and R (reflector) series.
first gent HID d2S Projector n d2r reflectop.
latest D1/d3/d4 come with igniter.

6. 3000k = gold color.
4300k 65% white and 35% yellowish.
6000k 80% white n 20 yellow. (which use for one bulb replacement for color matching).
Color Temp = Kelvin.
Lowest temp = shorter WAVE length which means better penetrate n less rebound. (that why many think higher /K is bright).

bongah
post Jun 30 2020, 12:02 PM

116 posts

retrofit tips: anything 4300k color temp is useless especially in rain
metaled
post Jun 30 2020, 12:03 PM

273 posts

Hid xenon type.
I have been doing this for the last 15 years.

Disregard the law, lets talk about what is being practice in real life. Whats legal depends on the car you are driving, and the type of headlamp you are using.

Projector headlamp is deem legal for anything that is below 6000K.

Reflector headlamp please make sure your car have glare shield installed, ie FD2R, or those found in R34, or on some newer 2005 Caldina, basically it means imported vehicle, and usually if your car is cheap looking or "kereta panas" you will get stopped.

6000k above is illegal, say 7 out of 10 times in a roadblock. And HID is pretty useless once it is 6000K and above. Sweet spot is between 4300k and 6000k. 4300K for the 2010 look, 6000k for the 2020 look if your car does not comes stock with LED.

And for god sake, please adjust the beam height of headlamp accordingly. Please do not installed in Saga or anything that does not run projector headlamp. If you can, please buy a vehicle that comes with factory fitted LED headlamp, HID Xenon have been retired from newer car.

If you have to, spend more on your conversion kit, the more expensive they get, the more accurate their color temperature is and also brighter because the bulb and ballast is higher quality hence more efficient. And yes. those D2S D1S factory fitted HID will always produce better result, because their projector is design for this.
andrewhtf
post Jun 30 2020, 12:05 PM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(XXXOOOXXXOOO @ Jun 30 2020, 11:55 AM)
1. not all halogen is legal to use, for car max out put 60w anything above that is illegal.

3. HID doesn't means for projector only, there is S (projector) and R (reflector) series.
first gent HID d2S Projector n d2r reflectop.
latest D1/d3/d4 come with igniter.

6. 3000k = gold color.
4300k 65% white and 35% yellowish.
6000k 80% white n 20 yellow. (which use for one bulb replacement for color matching).
Color Temp = Kelvin.
Lowest temp = shorter WAVE length which means better penetrate n less rebound. (that why many think higher /K is bright).
1. legal or illegal belakang cerita. u put a 100w bulb from the stock 55w, over long term wiring fried, headlamp melt. in the end ppl wont want to use that if they have to do repairs and replacement often. so no worry there.

3. not gonna argue on that but how many ppl are willing to study and then pay for a proper one? especially here in Msia?
jmas
post Jun 30 2020, 12:36 PM

I can edit title???
830 posts

QUOTE(andrewhtf @ Jun 30 2020, 12:05 PM)
1. legal or illegal belakang cerita. u put a 100w bulb from the stock 55w, over long term wiring fried, headlamp melt. in the end ppl wont want to use that if they have to do repairs and replacement often. so no worry there.

3. not gonna argue on that but how many ppl are willing to study and then pay for a proper one? especially here in Msia?
many times even workshop also lazy, as long customer satisfied n profit good
can see many car on road, one side glare, one side ok
guest54321
post Jun 30 2020, 12:37 PM

186 posts

U want to install in your car or fun fair?
SUSXXXOOOXXXOOO
post Jun 30 2020, 12:39 PM

1,471 posts

QUOTE(andrewhtf @ Jun 30 2020, 12:05 PM)

i'm not discuss how other POV,capability, competency or anything, i telling your point have some flaw .... is not correcting you but just add extra info.
SUSXXXOOOXXXOOO
post Jun 30 2020, 12:40 PM

1,471 posts

QUOTE(jmas @ Jun 30 2020, 12:36 PM)
many times even workshop also lazy, as long customer satisfied n profit good
can see many car on road, one side glare, one side ok
u think workshop know everything ?
jmas
post Jun 30 2020, 01:09 PM

I can edit title???
830 posts

QUOTE(XXXOOOXXXOOO @ Jun 30 2020, 12:40 PM)
u think workshop know everything ?
when the workshop is confident to fix my car, I would expect them to do it correctly
SUSXXXOOOXXXOOO
post Jun 30 2020, 01:11 PM

1,471 posts

QUOTE(jmas @ Jun 30 2020, 01:09 PM)
when the workshop is confident to fix my car, I would expect them to do it correctly
modern car even worst, what they know, Plugin -> scan and tell you what is wrong than change and pay, fix or not ? that is different story....
SUSWayCock
post Jun 30 2020, 01:15 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(amxpayne67 @ Jun 30 2020, 09:58 AM)
Because they are asshole
Cibai Kia, mom never teach them, bobo
I hate them
samjet
post Jun 30 2020, 01:17 PM

190 posts

/k all 20k per month also using
1. Mercedes multibeam LED
2. BMW laser light
3. Audi laser light
4. Porsche PDLS+ light
fantasy1989
post Jun 30 2020, 01:23 PM

4,707 posts

QUOTE(Zack Styler @ Jun 30 2020, 11:28 AM)
Manual or auto? how much the damage?

If not wrong you in InxxL right?  brows.gif
biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

ok la..hobby lo ..mainly spend on engine transplant ,ECU tuning for bolt on turbo and complete re-paint whole car with custom color brows.gif brows.gif

6 speed manual

This post has been edited by fantasy1989: Jun 30 2020, 01:24 PM
SUSskyblu3
post Jun 30 2020, 01:35 PM

157 posts

Hid xenon type.
Why the hell you want to use 8000k?
Just for the looks?

Silly.
SUSskyblu3
post Jun 30 2020, 01:35 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(ju146 @ Jun 30 2020, 09:56 AM)
want so bright do what?
8000k is the colour temperature

Not brightness.... Not lumen

Dr Jan Itor
post Jun 30 2020, 01:36 PM

82 posts

QUOTE(Boom Mortar @ Jun 30 2020, 09:54 AM)
over 9000
SUSskyblu3
post Jun 30 2020, 01:37 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(BuKeYi @ Jun 30 2020, 10:10 AM)

Why is that?

Xenon illegal.. But LED is not?

SUSskyblu3
post Jun 30 2020, 01:47 PM

157 posts

You can call me an arsehole

When I ride during daytime, and when I lane filtering during traffic jam....I will ride with my highlights.

Based on my 20 over years experience of riding , this will definitely catch other road users attention and have their awareness of me

No choice. Too many idiots don't check properly before switching lane.

Daytime I will use the highlights full time.

ze2
post Jun 30 2020, 01:50 PM

319 posts

QUOTE(skyblu3 @ Jun 30 2020, 01:47 PM)
You can call me an arsehole

When I ride during daytime, and when I lane filtering during traffic jam....I will ride with my highlights.

Based on my 20 over years experience of riding , this will definitely catch other road users attention and have their awareness of me

No choice.  Too many idiots don't check properly before switching lane.

Daytime I will use the highlights full time.
Hahaha
chaics85
post Jun 30 2020, 02:03 PM

698 posts

been using philips 6000k LED with stock reflector headlight for few years dy. no opposite car highlight me before and go by roadblock also no problem.

i assume it is ok to use?
SUSskyblu3
post Jun 30 2020, 03:36 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(chaics85 @ Jun 30 2020, 02:03 PM)
been using philips 6000k LED with stock reflector headlight for few years dy. no opposite car highlight me before and go by roadblock also no problem.

i assume it is ok to use?
Branded led are well designed to emit light the same way as the halogen bulb.

You can always compare the beam pattern on the wall. Cut off should be the same as halogen beam.
SUSXXXOOOXXXOOO
post Jun 30 2020, 03:41 PM

1,471 posts

QUOTE(skyblu3 @ Jun 30 2020, 01:37 PM)
Why is that?

Xenon illegal.. But LED is not?
finally they update that act from 1987 to 2007 smile.gif
2007 still don't have led yet, wait till 22027 they update led and street use laser beam tongue.gif
Zack Styler
post Jun 30 2020, 04:12 PM

1,282 posts

QUOTE(fantasy1989 @ Jun 30 2020, 01:23 PM)
biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif
ok la..hobby lo ..mainly spend on engine transplant ,ECU tuning for bolt on turbo and complete re-paint whole car with custom color  brows.gif  brows.gif

6 speed manual
got drills?
shirohamada
post Jun 30 2020, 04:21 PM

944 posts

Hid xenon type.
Mak kau biru 8000k
TheOnly
post Jun 30 2020, 04:24 PM

87 posts

this is as stupid as ricers who change exhaust, do cat delete, puncture their mufflers or even straight pipe their cars, motherfuckers doesn't realize a car sound depends on engine config, any inline-4 (90% of otr car) will sound like shit no matter what exhaust you put.

so change light, buat apa lanciao again? so you can be fking annoying to other road user? you're not impressing anyone, tell me have you ever seen a car headlight glares so bad because they don't know how to adjust the projector or uses the wrong bulb for their projectors, and you go "wah that car so power la, my idol la"? now tell me, have you?

also colour temp does not matter, u get la 2.7k candlelight, 4.3k stock, 6.5k light blue tint or 8k blue tint light - noone will care as long as YOUR LIGHT HAS A SHARP CUTOFF BEFORE ANYONE'S SIDEMIRROR.

ps-want bright, means the highest lumen output - get 4.3k, getting 6k or 6.5k just drops your lumen, 8k is even worst, you can't see shit.
Cruxs
post Jun 30 2020, 04:31 PM

826 posts

The problem of glare is about level of light dispersion. Even u use 4000k also can glare other people.
Cruxs
post Jun 30 2020, 04:33 PM

826 posts

QUOTE(TheOnly @ Jun 30 2020, 04:24 PM)
this is as stupid as ricers who change exhaust, do cat delete, puncture their mufflers or even straight pipe their cars, motherfuckers doesn't realize a car sound depends on engine config, any inline-4 (90% of otr car) will sound like shit no matter what exhaust you put.

so change light, buat apa lanciao again? so you can be fking annoying to other road user? you're not impressing anyone, tell me have you ever seen a car headlight glares so bad because they don't know how to adjust the projector or uses the wrong bulb for their projectors, and you go "wah that car so power la, my idol la"? now tell me, have you?

also colour temp does not matter, u get la 2.7k candlelight, 4.3k stock, 6.5k light blue tint or 8k blue tint light - noone will care as long as YOUR LIGHT HAS A SHARP CUTOFF BEFORE ANYONE'S SIDEMIRROR.

ps-want bright, means the highest lumen output - get 4.3k, getting 6k or 6.5k just drops your lumen, 8k is even worst, you can't see shit.
This thumbup.gif
fantasy1989
post Jun 30 2020, 04:35 PM

4,707 posts

QUOTE(Zack Styler @ Jun 30 2020, 04:12 PM)
got drills?
it look like darker soul red at night . bright red under sunlight ..but certain camera when snap will turned to orangish red smile.gif

This post has been edited by fantasy1989: Jun 30 2020, 04:36 PM
SUSLord Randall Voldemort
post Jun 30 2020, 07:18 PM

38 posts

Use Xiaomi smart light. Can use phone to control the lights too. Even Philips also got
MR_alien
post Jun 30 2020, 07:48 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,581 posts

4300k is the legal limit
anything over is basically betting, if u kena saman..u argue also useless
Zack Styler
post Jun 30 2020, 08:40 PM

1,282 posts

QUOTE(fantasy1989 @ Jun 30 2020, 04:35 PM)
it look like darker soul red at night . bright red under sunlight ..but certain camera when snap will turned to orangish red  smile.gif

looks good the paint.. when you mentioned engine transplant, can't the current rotary engine be fixed? apex seal rosak? or you dropped in 1jz hehe..

paging balanced.. probably can do some drag session lol..
fantasy1989
post Jun 30 2020, 08:43 PM

4,707 posts

QUOTE(Zack Styler @ Jun 30 2020, 08:40 PM)
looks good the paint.. when you mentioned engine transplant, can't the current rotary engine be fixed? apex seal rosak? or you dropped in 1jz hehe..

haha..no la ..my car is show car ..not for aggressive vroom biggrin.gif

still 13b-msp brows.gif err..ori engine from previous owner having low compression ..rebuild is expensive ..in the end managed to source 1 good engine that pass compression test ..ship and transplant is cheaper biggrin.gif

if this engine rosak again ..will go for bridgeported smile.gif

but this is not a fast car ..unless u drag your rpm all the way up... starting can feel the kick ..but now cant satisfied liao biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by fantasy1989: Jun 30 2020, 08:47 PM
Zack Styler
post Jun 30 2020, 08:52 PM

1,282 posts

QUOTE(fantasy1989 @ Jun 30 2020, 08:43 PM)
haha..no la ..my car is show car ..not for aggressive vroom  biggrin.gif

still 13b-msp  brows.gif  err..ori engine from previous owner having low compression ..rebuild is expensive ..in the end managed to source 1 good engine that pass compression test ..ship and transplant is cheaper  biggrin.gif

if this engine rosak again ..will go for bridgeported  smile.gif

but this is not a fast car ..unless u drag your rpm all the way up... starting can feel the kick ..but now cant satisfied liao  biggrin.gif
good to hear that.. enjoy then..

will give you a beep if i bumped into you in my rusty kelisa lol..
Balanced
post Jun 30 2020, 08:56 PM

876 posts

QUOTE(Zack Styler @ Jun 30 2020, 08:40 PM)

Wah his car so nice wor. Usually nice cars won't kacau me so I no kacau them. Only when they kacau me I go "challenge accepted"
fantasy1989
post Jun 30 2020, 09:08 PM

4,707 posts

QUOTE(Zack Styler @ Jun 30 2020, 08:52 PM)
good to hear that.. enjoy then..

will give you a beep if i bumped into you in my rusty kelisa lol..
sure bro biggrin.gif

QUOTE(Balanced @ Jun 30 2020, 08:56 PM)
Wah his car so nice wor. Usually nice cars won't kacau me so I no kacau them. Only when they kacau me I go "challenge accepted"
just drive as usual thumbsup.gif

in be4 rx8 x laju pun sweat.gif sweat.gif

This post has been edited by fantasy1989: Jun 30 2020, 09:14 PM
SUSHalp
post Jun 30 2020, 10:11 PM

QUOTE(Lord Randall Voldemort @ Jun 30 2020, 07:18 PM)
Use Xiaomi smart light. Can use phone to control the lights too. Even Philips also got
this
rudduan
post Jun 30 2020, 10:12 PM

37 posts

8000k blue oredi nothing useful
narf03
post Jun 30 2020, 10:14 PM

4,547 posts

gov no longer allow you to play with your car lamp, its hurting others eyes.
kurangak
post Jun 30 2020, 10:16 PM

certified /k addict
1,170 posts

instead of opting for colder colour, why not opt for higher lumens?

beside, cold color light has a strong glare during rain/fog, both for oncoming traffic and yourself
shaniandras2787
post Jun 30 2020, 10:26 PM

drugged coordinator
2,309 posts

QUOTE(kurangak @ Jun 30 2020, 10:16 PM)
instead of opting for colder colour, why not opt for higher lumens?

beside, cold color light has a strong glare during rain/fog, both for oncoming traffic and yourself
factory standard wiring doesn't allow for anything more than 55w/60w and in order to get more lumens using standard halogens, the only way is to pump up the wattage and in order to achieve that, a relay is required.

higher wattage bulbs burnt out faster so replacements can become an issue especially when it comes to costings, a good 100w bulb can easily cost you twice the price of a 50w/60w performance bulb - not to mention the additional heat that it generates.

be it cold or warm, if the light is aligned to hell, it will glare.
Feugo
post Jun 30 2020, 10:28 PM

111 posts

lol our authorities really dont care
use whatever u want
botak91
post Apr 14 2022, 03:33 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(woodentiger86 @ Jun 30 2020, 10:05 AM)
Osram Nightbreakers are good.

TS< try not to get too cheap bulbs otherwise run the risk of fusing or burn out. Happened before to my old E32 when I bought aftermarket bulbs from Brothers to replace the ones in my headlamps.

Brighter for awhile then kaput...
Are the nightbreakers legal? Looking to replace my stock bulbs that seem a bit dim but don't want to blind others or run the risk at roadblocks.

QUOTE(andrewhtf @ Jun 30 2020, 11:45 AM)

1. Any headlamp modifications that deviate from factory standard  is illegal under JPJ rule. If your stock headlamp is halogen reflector, you can only pakai balik halogen bulb in a reflector housing. Doesn't matter apa lanjiao halogen bulb you change, as long as it is still halogen bulb in stock reflector housing, you are safe. If you retrofit hid/led bulb into stock halogen headlamp, salah. If you put projector unit into your reflector housing, doesn't matter u use halogen led or hid bulb, salah. Even if you do total headlamp replacement as in switching out your halogen headlamp into custom made led/hid headlamp system. It doesn't matter that even if they made it perfect cut-off la, no glare la etc etc, as long as it is not the same as out of factory,  also salah. JPJ/Traffic mau saman, they are correct.

Pilihan di tangan anda.
Based on what you said, the Osram Nightbreakers would be acceptable as they are halogen bulbs? And any thoughts on the Philips LEDs? I run a stock 2014 Iriz 1.3
andrewhtf
post Apr 14 2022, 06:53 PM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(botak91 @ Apr 14 2022, 03:33 PM)
Are the nightbreakers legal? Looking to replace my stock bulbs that seem a bit dim but don't want to blind others or run the risk at roadblocks.
Based on what you said, the Osram Nightbreakers would be acceptable as they are halogen bulbs? And any thoughts on the Philips LEDs? I run a stock 2014 Iriz 1.3
Yes, they're legal. Osram Nightbreaker is still a halogen bulb. no issue at all. no change to glare & beam shape.

what set it different from a normal halogen is that the inner fillament is wounded much more closely and hence longer/more filament material in a single bulb so made it seem brighter. However this way it sort of reduced the lifetime of a single bulb because, more filament = more heat and stress. but then again, in normal usage, nobody gives a fark lah, pakai saja. burn, tukar baru.

at the same time they also applied light blue tints around the bulb glass in order to make the yellow halogen light appear whiter/brighter. it's just a little trick.

overall, despite the numbers of difference % it quotes on the sales package, all those can be ignored. in actual use, the improvement is only minor. but better than nothing lah.

Philips LED, i have not used it myself before so i cannot comment. plus i am not sure which model you refer to as there are a few in the market. but looking at the shape of those recent Ultinon models, they did place the emitter to mimic halogen filament positioning so to a certain extent i can say in regard to glare and cut-off they would be similar to a standard halogen. as to whether it is brighter or not, i cannot coment.

Personally i am a cheapskate and used china-dunno-what-brand LED. same principle of emitter positioned mimicking halogen, i have used 3 bulbs over 2 bikes and in my experience it is an improvement. that is because my kapchai headlamp are only running on 35watts halogen so the switch to an LED the difference is very apparent.

meanwhile on my family car, i have a pair of 5000k led put in and i can only see minor improvement in the brightness. the colour temp is almost similar to nightbreakers i used in the past, & it doesnt change the beam shape & distance of the light throw because those are the governed by the reflector housing. Anyway, standard halogen runs on 55 watts, and when you replaced it with a common 40 watt led bulb, you get power savings, and choice of light colour temperature. perhaps if your current stock halogen is dying (being the cause of the dim) then you might see immediate improvement after swapping. anyway i am unsure if iriz 1.3 headlamp runs on reflectors or projectors. and what is the stock bulb, h4 or H7 or any other denomination?

Since these china led bulbs are cheap (basically same price for what i pay for nightbreakers) i would say it doesnt hurt to give them a try instead of the nightbreakers itself.
narf03
post Apr 14 2022, 06:57 PM

4,547 posts

QUOTE(botak91 @ Apr 14 2022, 03:33 PM)
dude, please dont dig out threads so many years ago, even the TS has been sus-ed, not even sure if hes still alive or in malaysia. let them RIP.
botak91
post Apr 14 2022, 07:17 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(andrewhtf @ Apr 14 2022, 06:53 PM)
Yes, they're legal. Osram Nightbreaker is still a halogen bulb. no issue at all. no change to glare & beam shape.

what set it different from a normal halogen is that the inner fillament is wounded much more closely and hence longer/more filament material in a single bulb so made it seem brighter. However this way it sort of reduced the lifetime of a single bulb because, more filament = more heat and stress. but then again, in normal usage, nobody gives a fark lah, pakai saja. burn, tukar baru. 

at the same time they also applied light blue tints around the bulb glass in order to make the yellow halogen light appear whiter/brighter. it's just a little trick.

overall, despite the numbers of difference % it quotes on the sales package, all those can be ignored.  in actual use, the improvement is only minor. but better than nothing lah.

Philips LED, i have not used it myself before so i cannot comment. plus i am not sure which model you refer to as there are a few in the market. but looking at the shape of those recent Ultinon  models, they did place the emitter to mimic halogen filament positioning so to a certain extent i can say in regard to glare and cut-off they would be similar to a standard halogen. as to whether it is brighter or not, i cannot coment.

Personally i am a cheapskate and used china-dunno-what-brand LED. same principle of emitter positioned mimicking halogen, i have used 3 bulbs over 2 bikes and in my experience it is an improvement. that is because my kapchai headlamp are only running on 35watts halogen so the switch to an LED the difference is very apparent.

meanwhile on my family car, i have a pair of 5000k led put in and i can only see minor improvement in the brightness. the colour temp is almost similar to nightbreakers i used in the past, & it doesnt change the beam shape & distance of the light throw because those are the governed by the reflector housing. Anyway, standard halogen runs on 55 watts, and when you replaced it with a common 40 watt led bulb, you get power savings, and choice of light colour temperature. perhaps if your current stock halogen is dying (being the cause of the dim) then you might see immediate improvement after swapping. anyway i am unsure if iriz 1.3 headlamp runs on reflectors or projectors. and what is the stock bulb, h4 or H7 or any other denomination?

Since these china led bulbs are cheap (basically same price for what i pay for nightbreakers) i would say it doesnt hurt to give them a try instead of the nightbreakers itself.
Thanks for your comment. Wasn't aware about the orientation of the LEDs but I was referring to the Pro9000 that seem to be the closest to 4800K which is the legal limit, price is quite high so I guess I'm just educating myself. On the nightbreakers, do you think its not worth the upgrade? I understand that you can't comment on the brightness which is my reason that I'm even considering it now.

QUOTE(narf03 @ Apr 14 2022, 06:57 PM)
dude, please dont dig out threads so many years ago, even the TS has been sus-ed, not even sure if hes still alive or in malaysia. let them RIP.
Got you to reply though =) I'll be more aware of these things next time.
andrewhtf
post Apr 14 2022, 07:47 PM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(botak91 @ Apr 14 2022, 07:17 PM)
Thanks for your comment. Wasn't aware about the orientation of the LEDs but I was referring to the Pro9000 that seem to be the closest to 4800K which is the legal limit, price is quite high so I guess I'm just educating myself. On the nightbreakers, do you think its not worth the upgrade? I understand that you can't comment on the brightness which is my reason that I'm even considering it now.
No i just cant comment on the philips led. but Nightbreakers i have used it on a Versys about 8-9 years ago, H7 bulbs. apart from less yellow colour, i dare say it doesnt have any difference compared to the stock it replaced so yeah not worth the price. eventually when my NB burnt off i switched to osram rallye 65watts, it is still yellow like usual halogen but the lumens is definitely brighter. too bad this bulb is discontinued after 2017.

anyway on the bike, since i wanted more lights to shine road, i added a pair of spotlights. it gave me all the light spread and throw i wanted which cannot be done on a headlamp bulb swap.

so for your car, you might want to consider adding a pair too if you feel like you want some bright lights during some special situation. sure it might look ugly on the iriz but this is just my POV. i am at the age where looks dont matter, as long as things works to fulfil my purpose. again, adding spotlights may be illegal under JPJ but as long as you're not turning it on all the time causing glare to others, still can bawak bincang. only turn it on when absolutely needed.

anyway if your iriz headlamp is projector, then i think you can use up to 6500k LED. very low chance of getting kacau by JPJ lah.

only those reflectors more apparent and easier to target so for those gotta keep to 5000k and below.

0.0355sec    0.95    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 12:25 AM