[V32] Lowyat.Net Mechanical Keyboard Club

ace-user
post Apr 5 2021, 03:53 PM

Easily Poisoned
2,154 posts

QUOTE(zeronova @ Apr 3 2021, 12:28 AM)
This hobby is killing me. Q2 just started and I'm already in 5 diff GB. rip wallet
same, joined the GMK nightshade GB, KBD67 Lite GB, a couple of deskmats GB here and there & bought the EPBT Kon Momo keycaps from someone on FB MM yesterday I swear to myself that's the last thing I'll buy......until the bauer lite gets announced tongue.gif
ace-user
post Apr 6 2021, 03:23 PM

Easily Poisoned
2,154 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Apr 6 2021, 11:32 AM)
ok haha

for key cap sets that don't have matching caps, i do the same also (for instance, recent double-shot pbt from capturers; they are fine for 65% and above)

--

recently, there are sad news about switches made by jwk. it affected certain switches released since feb 2021, related to either their sliders, or very tight top housings. (so far, reported switches are kiwi, tangerine, everglide's aqua king v3) the reported issues are key chattering, sluggish key travels, and sliders got stuck during debounce. rumors said announcements will be made for further actions, after the investigation by jwk.

as of now, to use them normally, possible 'fix' suggested by users are:
1. replacing the sliders;
2. relubing.

i have aqua king v3 37g and 62g. luckily mine are not having serious stuff like key chattering, or sliders got stuck, but few of them are experiencing relatively sluggish key travels. i will relube some of them and see if they can make it for a reference build hehe

worst comes to worst, i just use them as base for custom switches

edit: personally, i like aqua king v3. however, it might not be for you. a very tight tolerance in switches to minimize stem wobbles will have potential issues like sluggish key travels, due to increased frictions. just find the balance, and make adjustments accordingly.
i bought some tangerines from taobao 2 weeks ago and after seeing this news over the weekend I msg-ed the seller. They already took down tangerines from their store (instructions from factory according to them) and claimed that my order not affected since it's last year's batch. Not sure how honest they're being but I did realize one switch leaf very 'rough' and 'pingy', like when I press down I can see the stem legs making contact with the leaf and making like a 'click' noise, the movement is not smooth and feels & sounds like there's a tactile bump. Not too sure if it has anything to do with that issue but after lubing it issue is solved.
Because this is my first time trying tangies Idk how smooth they are supposed to feel or perform so i don't know whether the rest of my tangies consider okay or not sad.gif

This post has been edited by ace-user: Apr 6 2021, 03:36 PM
ace-user
post Apr 6 2021, 03:47 PM

Easily Poisoned
2,154 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Apr 6 2021, 02:20 PM)
haha yes maybe find one day, we join some friends, and syok sendiri together lol

hey hit me up if u're willing to sell some of ur accent keys from the kon momo set tongue.gif
I'm looking for:
1) Blue accent key from Anti Color Add-On
2) R1 Delete key from ICON
3) R4 End key from ICON

notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by ace-user: Apr 6 2021, 03:48 PM

Attached image(s)
Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
ace-user
post Apr 6 2021, 04:47 PM

Easily Poisoned
2,154 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Apr 6 2021, 04:39 PM)
er if they have old stocks, why did they need to take it down?

about smoothness, imo, stock tangerine is similar to stock jwk recolored. the difference is not obvious. the main difference is its sound profile, compared to nylon and pc housings. to me, it's more 'crispy' (that's the only word about the sound that i can come up with. please compare it to nylon and pc housings hehe)

if it's only one switch, and lubing can fix it, it's not a problem. to me, the problems are key chattering (sliders getting stuck during debounce might still be able to get fixed, by lubing, swapping springs or sliders)
don't la it's one of my collections that i wanna keep for a long long time biggrin.gif
Yeah I find the tangerines to be a bit high pitch compared to pc housings, but I really like the springs. Man lubing and filming them they honestly feels like butter!

haha it's fine, I'm just trying my luck to see if anyone wants to sell the Icon set & Anti color addons set or not hehe
ace-user
post Apr 23 2021, 03:02 PM

Easily Poisoned
2,154 posts

QUOTE(Lucifer @ Apr 23 2021, 02:47 PM)
[attachmentid=10856629]

Hello, since my venture into modding my razer 2 months ago, I have amassed a sizable collection of switches.
It is available for testing in my non-pc related shop in KL if anyone is interested.

I am normally there from 12pm to 6pm, shop close at 6pm.
holy, that is a loooot of switches collected in just 2 months ohmy.gif impressive! rclxms.gif

0.0424sec    0.18    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 01:14 AM