5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

Anyone tried semi slick tires on daily car?, Dangerous during wet?

drewn123
post Jun 13 2020, 05:01 PM

101 posts

QUOTE(hz428 @ Jun 13 2020, 03:54 PM)
ya is very true for ps2.

after hydroplane on highway, I will never change cheapo Tyre anymore. Safety first.
Actually cheaper tire do not directly mean higher chance of aqua-planning.

The width and type of tire, depth of water pool, speed and others affect more on ur chances of aquaplaning.

Imo, a kancil with achilles/linglong 155 width tire can go through water much faster than cars with michelins 245 width tires. A slimmer tires cut through water, fatter tires need huge water channel to cut the tire contact into patches to cut through the water. Bigger contact patch = higher chances of aquaplaning

But that said, a reputable tire brand definitely handle better with shorter braking distance and it get to operating temperature faster than those cheap tires compound that last forever

I had tried using premium as well as cheaper brands such as rovelo, achilles, nankang... to be honest, it work well as long as u dun push it to the extreme like u would push on a re003, ps4, fleva etc etc.

This post has been edited by drewn123: Jun 13 2020, 05:06 PM
ianrpf
post Jun 13 2020, 05:16 PM

119 posts

Don't do it please. Even my friend's dad who uses semi slicks on his Porsche would get the driver to come pick him up wherever he is when it rains. It's really suicide to run semi slicks when the roads are wet even after it has stopped raining.
ianrpf
post Jun 13 2020, 05:18 PM

119 posts

Some of the best all weather tires are GY F1 Asy2 and F1D5
quartre88
post Jun 13 2020, 05:19 PM

251 posts

baguslah contribute more aksiden
ianrpf
post Jun 13 2020, 05:23 PM

119 posts

QUOTE(drewn123 @ Jun 13 2020, 05:01 PM)

The width and type of tire, depth of water pool, speed and others affect more on ur chances of aquaplaning.

Imo, a kancil with achilles/linglong 155 width tire can go through water much faster than cars with michelins 245 width tires. A slimmer tires cut through water, fatter tires need huge water channel to cut the tire contact into patches to cut through the water. Bigger contact patch = higher chances of aquaplaning

But that said, a reputable tire brand definitely handle better with shorter braking distance and it get to operating temperature faster than those cheap tires compound that last forever

I had tried using premium as well as cheaper brands such as rovelo, achilles, nankang... to be honest, it work well as long as u dun push it to the extreme like u would push on a re003, ps4, fleva etc etc.
Achilles is really rubbish, used it before. Should take a look at Kumho PS31...for the price it's not too bad both in dry and rain.
hz428
post Jun 13 2020, 06:17 PM

1,056 posts

QUOTE(drewn123 @ Jun 13 2020, 05:01 PM)

when near accident u are always on the edge. That small edge is life or death.

So I rather spend more on Tyre since this is the most critical part of the car.

blaze_spirit
post Jun 13 2020, 07:26 PM

305 posts

QUOTE(Balanced @ Jun 13 2020, 12:54 AM)
Anyone drive around daily with semi slick tires? How was it?
Example potenze re003
Hankook v720
Accelera 651 sport.
[attachmentid=10515004]

Today boring boring go hunt for tires. Ingat want to change to potenza re003. Mana tahu my tire size dont have pulak..195/50/16.

I cant go up to 205 because it will rub my fenders (now already roll fender, so now cun cun only).
I cant go down to size 15 where there are a lot more tire sizes because my brake caliper too big..minimum need 16 inch rims with positive offset..

Only tires ngam my car is the accelera 651 sport. But this brand macam not so famous.

Dilemma betul aiii...
All the tyres mentioned are not semi-slick doh.gif

This post has been edited by blaze_spirit: Jun 13 2020, 07:27 PM
kcchong2000
post Jun 13 2020, 07:28 PM

189 posts

16 inch? Lol. That size tyre like limited edition.
TSBalanced
post Jun 13 2020, 07:46 PM

876 posts

QUOTE(blaze_spirit @ Jun 13 2020, 07:26 PM)
All the tyres mentioned are not semi-slick  doh.gif
I dunno mang. The shop tire guy told me one. So these tires can use as daily?
TSBalanced
post Jun 13 2020, 07:47 PM

876 posts

QUOTE(kcchong2000 @ Jun 13 2020, 07:28 PM)
16 inch? Lol. That size tyre like limited edition.
Ya lor. But i got no choice...
THE CLASS OF 13
post Jun 13 2020, 07:49 PM

171 posts

QUOTE(Balanced @ Jun 13 2020, 12:54 AM)
Anyone drive around daily with semi slick tires? How was it?
Example potenze re003
Hankook v720
Accelera 651 sport.
[attachmentid=10515004]

Today boring boring go hunt for tires. Ingat want to change to potenza re003. Mana tahu my tire size dont have pulak..195/50/16.

I cant go up to 205 because it will rub my fenders (now already roll fender, so now cun cun only).
I cant go down to size 15 where there are a lot more tire sizes because my brake caliper too big..minimum need 16 inch rims with positive offset..

Only tires ngam my car is the accelera 651 sport. But this brand macam not so famous.

Dilemma betul aiii...
semi slick bukan mcm r888r ke? below 180tw.
patienceGNR
post Jun 13 2020, 07:52 PM

♥ Ride All Day ♥
2,058 posts

QUOTE(Boy96 @ Jun 13 2020, 12:10 PM)
Feels grippier than my last advan fleva both wet n dry
I didn't try 701... Next wanna try ad08r but they're not too suitable for my use (higher treadwear). Might go with 701 for a run next. I think my tyres will last me another 10k or so only.

QUOTE(dickybird @ Jun 13 2020, 12:22 PM)
TR1 compared to the oem Goodyear Excellence, stiffer sidewall (better steering precision)  higher rolling resistance (lower fuel economy), tyre drone (noisier than oem).
Only done 10k, so we will wait and see about treadwear.
Definitely noisier because of the thread design.

I've clocked more than 30k on them. I honestly forgot to record down the mileage properly because halfway through I swapped engines (including cluster). So I lost track of the mileage. But I'm sure more than 30k.

Engine swap: 123k miles. Now 143k miles. I have done, I believe, 2 oil change before engine swap, so that's about 14k miles.

Rotated the wheels in January. Mileage berapa that time I need to check back my log. But it was about 137k or so back then.

QUOTE(asuka16 @ Jun 13 2020, 01:19 PM)
I use tr1 don't u cibai. Better than mc5. Langgar lubang xda hal. Mc5 langgar skit dah kena tkar satu baru.
I also using. Don't quite like it. Went up genting, first corner after polis post terus understeer. Knn.
drewn123
post Jun 13 2020, 09:37 PM

101 posts

QUOTE(ianrpf @ Jun 13 2020, 05:23 PM)
Achilles is really rubbish, used it before. Should take a look at Kumho PS31...for the price it's not too bad both in dry and rain.
I say can use. Never meant it is good... haha
grixis
post Jun 13 2020, 09:38 PM

82 posts

QUOTE(viosturbo500hp @ Jun 13 2020, 05:57 AM)
this tayar not bad in wet (can't compare to ps3 wet performance, but adequate if you're a decent driver), enough for me to use 2years for daily + weekend genting  laugh.gif
too noisy rite?
after 1.5 year i changed to cheaper tire coz want to sell the car, suddenly feel handling like shit, but very comfort no noise laugh.gif
asuka16
post Jun 13 2020, 09:42 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(grixis @ Jun 13 2020, 09:38 PM)
too noisy rite?
after 1.5 year i changed to cheaper tire coz want to sell the car, suddenly feel handling like shit, but very comfort no noise  laugh.gif
U win some, u lose some
drewn123
post Jun 13 2020, 09:42 PM

101 posts

QUOTE(hz428 @ Jun 13 2020, 06:17 PM)
when near accident u are always on the edge. That small edge is life or death.

So I rather spend more on Tyre since this is the most critical part of the car.
There are various driving behaviours, for those chill driver and never pushes to the limit. These cheaper options are good enough for them.

If u are the kind that barrel down the road at 110-120kmh regardless of the road conditions, definitely choose better tires la. Simple as that.

My friends operates tires shops and many ppl uses those cheap tires on their expensive cars. Like i said, it really depends on the person behind the wheel.

Do u believe that rovelo made better tires than silverstone or falken? Bridgestone with the batch issues where swelling happen. Michelins with the peeling issues after 1yr. Well, qc issues still happen even for the premium tires brand

This post has been edited by drewn123: Jun 13 2020, 09:49 PM
asuka16
post Jun 13 2020, 09:48 PM

28 posts

I also using. Don't quite like it. Went up genting, first corner after polis post terus understeer. Knn.

[/quote]

I use almost 20k now. Naik genting no prob, Gua Musang no prob, Grik road no prob. During raining i didn't even notice the spedo is about 120km/h.
boonwuilow
post Jun 13 2020, 09:50 PM

Diesel rocks
3,836 posts

RE003 is not "semi slick" only the outside shoulder looks aggressive only. I m using it now, coming from PS4, I would say the dry performance of RE003 is better than PS4 and on top of that the sidewall of RE003 is harder than PS4, giving the sensation where the tyre don't flex as much as PS4 under hard cornering. But when it comes to wet, cannot compare with PS4, PS4 much much better in wet condition especially if there is water puddle. RE003 just can't give me the confidence on wet road.
drewn123
post Jun 13 2020, 09:55 PM

101 posts

QUOTE(boonwuilow @ Jun 13 2020, 09:50 PM)
RE003 is not "semi slick" only the outside shoulder looks aggressive only. I m using it now, coming from PS4, I would say the dry performance of RE003 is better than PS4 and on top of that the sidewall of RE003 is harder than PS4, giving the sensation where the tyre don't flex as much as PS4 under hard cornering. But when it comes to wet, cannot compare with PS4, PS4 much much better in wet condition especially if there is water puddle. RE003 just can't give me the confidence on wet road.
RE001-003 = always is inclined towards dry road conditions

PS3/4 = more towards overall. (Comfort, grip, wet and dry)
grixis
post Jun 13 2020, 09:59 PM

82 posts

QUOTE(asuka16 @ Jun 13 2020, 09:42 PM)
U win some, u lose some
P ZERO win all wub.gif

5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0226sec    0.57    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 11:37 AM