Anyone tried semi slick tires on daily car?, Dangerous during wet?

hz428
post Jun 13 2020, 10:10 AM

1,056 posts

Not recommend to use semi slick for daily drive. U better go for wet Tyre in Malaysia.

have u tried Michelin pss?

Michelin ps4 is good for my car but the side wall kinda weak.

been using ps2 , ps3 and ps4, I think ps2 is more traction than the rest.
hz428
post Jun 13 2020, 03:54 PM

1,056 posts

QUOTE(azbro @ Jun 13 2020, 01:40 PM)
PS3 is not direct descendent for PS2.
Probably from Preceda 2

PS2 worthy successor is PSS during the PS3 era.
PS2 also got 2 type, difference is inside the tire.
But that needs another history lesson.

Problem with the PS2 was it don't last long.
The threads are thinner to offer best grip but in a short life.
Probably Michelin thinks for performance tires like it, once no grip, no point dragging its life.
ya is very true for ps2.

after hydroplane on highway, I will never change cheapo Tyre anymore. Safety first.
hz428
post Jun 13 2020, 06:17 PM

1,056 posts

QUOTE(drewn123 @ Jun 13 2020, 05:01 PM)
Actually cheaper tire do not directly mean higher chance of aqua-planning.

The width and type of tire, depth of water pool, speed and others affect more on ur chances of aquaplaning.

Imo, a kancil with achilles/linglong 155 width tire can go through water much faster than cars with michelins 245 width tires. A slimmer tires cut through water, fatter tires need huge water channel to cut the tire contact into patches to cut through the water. Bigger contact patch = higher chances of aquaplaning

But that said, a reputable tire brand definitely handle better with shorter braking distance and it get to operating temperature faster than those cheap tires compound that last forever

I had tried using premium as well as cheaper brands such as rovelo, achilles, nankang... to be honest, it work well as long as u dun push it to the extreme like u would push on a re003, ps4, fleva etc etc.
when near accident u are always on the edge. That small edge is life or death.

So I rather spend more on Tyre since this is the most critical part of the car.

0.4239sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 11:41 AM