[Interest Gauge] Overclocking Competition, Brought to you by TEAM K.O.C

TSSanko
post Aug 1 2007, 03:22 PM, updated 19y ago

Noob
1,436 posts

Hello Lowyat.NET OC Gurus and friends.

Team K.O.C finally decided to take the initiative to organise an OverClocking Competition for Malaysian PC Enthusiats after blindly waiting for one to materialize. Only the recent concluded Gigabyte Bearlake Overclocking Challenge 2007 as the final OverClocking Competition. Howerer, we are more into a Live OverClocking Competition. After some successful Silverstone/Autosurf Case Modding Lanparty and Lowyat ATE OC Demos, we guess it is the time for a bigger event specially pro Lowyat.NET forumers.

Initial plans for this event has already started. TEAM K.O.C has already gain some supports locally and even from abroad. There is possibility that some foreign teams will be invited to join this competition. Namely VR-Zone (Singapore), Speedtime (China), UnLimitPc (Thailand) and Benny and Gang (Indonesia). Therefore, in order to make sure the event is a success, we would like to do an Interest Check for those who are interested to join this event. Below are some of the competition details but nothing is final yet. It is still applies to changes.

Date: December 2007
Time: Whole Day Event
Entry Fee: Not more than RM50 / Free
Teaming: 2 person
Category 1: Air/Water Cooling
Category 2: Dry Ice Cooling
Benchmark: Super Pi, 3DMark, PCMark

To ensure the competition is fair and square, we try to provide all the hardwares necessary for the challenge. Participants only need to bring their cooling gadgets. We will also try to provide Dry Ice for the Extreme Cooling Category. If everything goes well, Entry Fee will be lifted.

For those who are interested please reply in this thread. While for parties who are interested to sponser this event, please PM Sanko or lolhalol. All the best and Pray for us.

This post has been edited by Sanko: Aug 12 2007, 12:28 AM
TSSanko
post Aug 1 2007, 03:22 PM

Noob
1,436 posts

Participants List

1. kuchingfight
2. extremeocer
3. kerryking
4. NightRaven (VR-Zone)
5. id86
6. gmail (after 4th December)
7. penapis
8. HaHaNoCluE
9. penapis
10. clawhammer
11. leslie0880
12. dreaming

Organising Committee List

1. ciohbu
2. bryanyeo87

This post has been edited by Sanko: Aug 18 2007, 06:19 PM
lolhalol
post Aug 1 2007, 03:32 PM

Showroom Skateboarding
1,823 posts

DO show ur support ... quickly register...

regards
team koc...

This post has been edited by lolhalol: Aug 1 2007, 03:36 PM
kucingfight
post Aug 1 2007, 03:37 PM

5,784 posts

YUP, i'm interested, but strictly to Air Cooling only biggrin.gif
mfcm
post Aug 1 2007, 03:42 PM

2,765 posts

haha another lanparty..must b there to c n meet others forumer..date not cmfirm yet? tongue.gif
TSSanko
post Aug 1 2007, 03:47 PM

Noob
1,436 posts

kuchingfight: hrmm.... better if you find another member to partner with you. it's simple, 1 tweaker 1 taking care of the setup. 2 in a team is always better. but if you want to do it alone i guess no problem also. one very useful tips, oc compy = chasing time. 2 is always better than 1. team with mcfc. hehe... and remember your team name.

mcfc: member punya pasal, you cannot come if you are not joining. lol

This post has been edited by Sanko: Aug 1 2007, 03:47 PM
kucingfight
post Aug 1 2007, 04:09 PM

5,784 posts

QUOTE(Sanko @ Aug 1 2007, 03:47 PM)
kuchingfight: hrmm.... better if you find another member to partner with you. it's simple, 1 tweaker 1 taking care of the setup. 2 in a team is always better. but if you want to do it alone i guess no problem also. one very useful tips, oc compy = chasing time. 2 is always better than 1. team with mcfc. hehe... and remember your team name.

mcfc: member punya pasal, you cannot come if you are not joining. lol
yeap Sanko, i've got some partners in mind already. Btw possible Aircooling is in a different category than WC?
kmarc
post Aug 1 2007, 04:24 PM

The future is here - Cryptocurrencies!
14,576 posts

Wuhuhu..... I can't join as I'm in Kuching... sad.gif

BTW, what is the meaning of this "To ensure the competition is fair and square, we try to provide all the hardwares necessary for the challenge. Participants only need to bring their cooling gadgets"?

You mean, you provide the rig while participants only bring their CPU heatsink? shocking.gif hmm.gif

This post has been edited by kmarc: Aug 1 2007, 04:26 PM
irangan
post Aug 1 2007, 04:24 PM

Lost Soul
1,201 posts

EDITED!!!!!!!!!

This post has been edited by irangan: Aug 1 2007, 10:31 PM
TSSanko
post Aug 1 2007, 04:25 PM

Noob
1,436 posts

kuchingfight: we will try our best. let's see how is the outcome of the participants list 1st. btw, your from sitiawan? Ayer Tawar guy here. lol

kmarc: yes.... everything will be provided. so that everyone will be clocking the same hardwares. so it's totally up to the luck which hardware you draft. some gems some not. luck do counts. that is what we are trying to do, nothing is final yet though. all depends on sponsers.

This post has been edited by Sanko: Aug 1 2007, 04:32 PM
kucingfight
post Aug 1 2007, 04:44 PM

5,784 posts

yeap from sitiawan, and there's 1 of the overclockers is from sitiawan too. * HINT HINT * nod.gif

Oh yeah, kinda missed the 1st AMD Athlon Overclocking competition @ midvalley some 5years ago..it's good that something is back now.

This post has been edited by kucingfight: Aug 1 2007, 04:46 PM
kmarc
post Aug 1 2007, 04:49 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(Sanko @ Aug 1 2007, 04:25 PM)
kmarc: yes.... everything will be provided. so that everyone will be clocking the same hardwares. so it's totally up to the luck which hardware you draft. some gems some not. luck do counts. that is what we are trying to do, nothing is final yet though. all depends on sponsers.
That's a great concept!! Hope there's a lot of participants and sponsors. So winner can take back their own heatsink and the OC rig too aaa?? laugh.gif

QUOTE(kucingfight @ Aug 1 2007, 04:44 PM)
yeap from sitiawan, and there's 1 of the overclockers is from sitiawan too. * HINT HINT *  nod.gif

Oh yeah, kinda missed the 1st AMD Athlon Overclocking competition @ midvalley some 5years ago..it's good that something is back now.
Eh? I always assume you're from kuching seeing that you like to fight for Kuching people! biggrin.gif
sniper69
post Aug 1 2007, 05:07 PM

.: One Shot One Kill :. .+|Level 9 Type Shit|+.
7,173 posts

eh, old system can join aaaa whistling.gif whistling.gif whistling.gif
extremeocer
post Aug 1 2007, 05:40 PM

302 posts

i'm in....it's been some time since i last join any OC comp.
AceCombat
post Aug 1 2007, 06:05 PM

5,434 posts

I'm from Penang and still a student cry.gif how to go there cry.gif

why all the pc hardwares things never take part in Penang? cry.gif

i wish i can go there and take part....
kucingfight
post Aug 1 2007, 06:07 PM

5,784 posts

QUOTE(AceCombat @ Aug 1 2007, 06:05 PM)
I'm from Penang and still a student cry.gif how to go there cry.gif

why all the pc hardwares things never take part in Penang? cry.gif

i wish i can go there and take part....
relax la brother, it's jus rm54 bus ride to and fro.. laugh.gif
SlayerXT
post Aug 1 2007, 06:10 PM

PRIDE!
2,042 posts

The category can between Intel and AMD? Is the processor will be provided?
kmarc
post Aug 1 2007, 06:58 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(§layerXT @ Aug 1 2007, 06:10 PM)
The category can between Intel and AMD? Is the processor will be provided?
Yup.

@TS, you better state it clearly that the OC rig WILL BE PROVIDED (but cannot take back! doh.gif )!
Hyde`fK
post Aug 1 2007, 07:30 PM

D9s Killer
2,378 posts

As for Extreme Cooling Category, beside dry ice is provided, how about others insulation materials? Liquid electrical tape, dielectrical greaser, degreaser, insulation foam etc. I assume we have to bring out own pot as well right? biggrin.gif
extremeocer
post Aug 1 2007, 08:04 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(Hyde`fK @ Aug 1 2007, 07:30 PM)
As for Extreme Cooling Category, beside dry ice is provided, how about others insulation materials? Liquid electrical tape, dielectrical greaser, degreaser, insulation foam etc. I assume we have to bring out own pot as well right? biggrin.gif
Most probably, you'll hafta bring your own. Liquid electrical tape? or u meant brush-on electrical tape. Another alternative is using nail varnish. Dun think you'll need degreaser. But a bottle of varnish remover will be helpful. Insulation, you'll need neoprene, foam tape and cork tape.
Hyde`fK
post Aug 1 2007, 08:14 PM

D9s Killer
2,378 posts

Yea, but wanna know if those stuff are provided or not.

Asked arj, the surrounding can use nail polisher, as that's the only alternative me and tAmp0i have since we can get any dielectric greaser here, and KLIA rejected our package to be delivered from KL to Miri. The thing is arj mentioned the CPU socket have to use dielectric grease, is that a must?

Sorry, this shouldn't be a discussion thread. sweat.gif
extremeocer
post Aug 1 2007, 08:30 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(Hyde`fK @ Aug 1 2007, 08:14 PM)
Yea, but wanna know if those stuff are provided or not.

Asked arj, the surrounding can use nail polisher, as that's the only alternative me and tAmp0i have since we can get any dielectric greaser here, and KLIA rejected our package to be delivered from KL to Miri. The thing is arj mentioned the CPU socket have to use dielectric grease, is that a must?

Sorry, this shouldn't be a discussion thread. sweat.gif
I always use nail varnish...coz lacquer very troublesome and brush-on electrical tape hard to come by here. on the socket, dielectric grease or silicon grease is a must as u dun want condensation on the under side of the CPU unless you can make sure its 100% air-tight.
storm88
post Aug 1 2007, 09:13 PM

~UncleSam Ready to Rolls~
5,595 posts

QUOTE(irangan @ Aug 1 2007, 05:24 PM)
Can I join? smile.gif

@sanko
Anyway, if u need help in securing venue or sponsor in malaysia. i can help smile.gif
no problem man. more helper means more power!

Added on August 1, 2007, 9:14 pm
QUOTE(kmarc @ Aug 1 2007, 07:58 PM)
Yup.

@TS, you better state it clearly that the OC rig WILL BE PROVIDED (but cannot take back!  doh.gif )!
only EITHER one
parts will be provided, except cooling devices and tweaking tools.

This post has been edited by storm88: Aug 1 2007, 09:14 PM
casperito
post Aug 1 2007, 10:47 PM

662 posts

wah... must attend this one... but as an audience onli laa...
TSSanko
post Aug 1 2007, 11:23 PM

Noob
1,436 posts

§layerXT: it really depends, as for now we are only doing interest gauge. if there are not much ppl joining, might atself call it off. but i guess we can only pick 1, either intel or amd. i don't think both of them wants to be together as sponsers.

kmarc: as i said earlier, nothing i final yet. i will try our best to provide everything so that he oc compy will be fair. everyone clocking the same system. if you want to take it back, that's definately ok if you pay for it.

Hyde`fK: yeap, you are correct. only Dry Ice provided (not final yet). others will be taken care by participants. whether if you need to pay if you burnt the hardware, it's still a question mark.

This post has been edited by Sanko: Aug 1 2007, 11:24 PM
ciohbu
post Aug 2 2007, 12:02 AM

Group: Senior Member
2,104 posts

hehe..can join as working commitee ar?..tongue.gif interested in OC but havent reach the level of competition..so go there learn learn lor.

TSSanko
post Aug 2 2007, 12:05 AM

Noob
1,436 posts

ciohbu: Thanks really appreciate it. we will inform you once the full committee is up.
ciohbu
post Aug 2 2007, 12:08 AM

2,104 posts

QUOTE(Sanko @ Aug 2 2007, 12:05 AM)
ciohbu: Thanks really appreciate it. we will inform you once the full committee is up.
hehe..welcome welcome...really hope can work with all the top guns in malaysia..tongue.gif
*remember to inform me ya..hahaha.

anyways..hope this event will come true~
sniper69
post Aug 2 2007, 12:19 AM

7,173 posts

no one reply tongue.gif, it's ok la... but i think i'll attend as a amatuer photographer whistling.gif whistling.gif whistling.gif
TSSanko
post Aug 2 2007, 12:25 AM

Noob
1,436 posts

sniper69: i didn't know you are asking question. if you read carefully, we try to provide the oc rig. therefore high/mid/low doesn't matter. everyone will be using the same
coolice
post Aug 2 2007, 12:29 AM

Team OCD!
1,857 posts

hey guys..show ur interest..this might help us in making it to be true smile.gif
NightRaven
post Aug 2 2007, 12:39 AM

122 posts

hey guys! if u guys can do it. i'll do my best to make it down for BOTH days smile.gif support u guys!

first post here!
coolice
post Aug 2 2007, 12:45 AM

Team OCD!
1,857 posts

QUOTE(NightRaven @ Aug 2 2007, 12:39 AM)
hey guys! if u guys can do it. i'll do my best to make it down for BOTH days smile.gif support u guys!

first post here!
haha..good to see u here bro..the champion tongue.gif
NightRaven
post Aug 2 2007, 12:50 AM

122 posts

haha thanks bro. now just looking around!
sniper69
post Aug 2 2007, 12:52 AM

7,173 posts

hmm.gif, air cooling... sounds good, i think i have to find another guys la like this... blush.gif...
ciohbu
post Aug 2 2007, 01:03 AM

2,104 posts

ya..i think air cooling gonna be a interesting part...all the different manufacturer gonna grab this chance to prove their heatsink is one of the best...
NightRaven
post Aug 2 2007, 01:09 AM

122 posts

haha Dry Ice sounds good! can test my new gpu pot from Poland! biggrin.gif
TSSanko
post Aug 2 2007, 02:01 AM

Noob
1,436 posts

NightRaven: first of all, welcome. nice to see you here even we haven't officially contant vr-zoners. let's just hope that we can successfully organise this event. with Singapore Asus OverClocking Champion shown interest, that will definately boost the compy status. lol

sniper69: sure sure, waiting for your answer. so far interest list is not promising. we need more then only sponser will come in. the more ppl joining it shows that the event is a good for marketing purposes.
kerryking
post Aug 2 2007, 09:43 AM

553 posts

Should be a very fun event..
Anyway i would like join but as a team up with extremeocer hehe
Participants can join both category?
extremeocer
post Aug 2 2007, 09:51 AM

302 posts

QUOTE(kerryking @ Aug 2 2007, 09:43 AM)
Should be a very fun event..
Anyway i would like join but as a team up with extremeocer hehe
Participants can join both category?
Think can only choose one cat....either air or DI
TSSanko
post Aug 2 2007, 12:09 PM

Noob
1,436 posts

kerryking and extremeocer: hrmm... for the category wise, it's still undecided, if the compy is 2 days, then day 1 will be air/water category. then day 2 will be DICE. the way of this compy is very similar to the recently concluded Singapore Asus Championship to be honest. if the categories is being separatly contest, then can join both. you got me? my english sucks. lol

This post has been edited by Sanko: Aug 2 2007, 12:10 PM
NightRaven
post Aug 2 2007, 12:18 PM

122 posts

haha but anyway guys. try to start getting good sponsors and all now yea smile.gif start to impose a limit of participants like 20 team or something.

then must help overseas peeps check out where to stay or something smile.gif
TSSanko
post Aug 2 2007, 12:26 PM

Noob
1,436 posts

NightRaven: sure, if this is really opened to foreigner, we would definately get accomodation for you all. but if we couldn't get 10-15 teams from Lowyat.NET, then we might drop this planning. it's all depend on them now. and one more thing, i hope with such early announcement, Lowyat.NET forumers will equip themselves with tweaking skills so that we can put up a fight with foreigners. i hope that K.O.C can handle everything accordingly. i can't help much as currently i'm in singapore. lol

This post has been edited by Sanko: Aug 2 2007, 12:27 PM
NightRaven
post Aug 2 2007, 12:27 PM

122 posts

i got confidence in u and lowyat man! Team K.O.C also! i know u guys can make it fly smile.gif
extremeocer
post Aug 2 2007, 03:31 PM

302 posts

This compy gives good reputation to lowyat too. Make it happen. We are all here to give full support.
SlayerXT
post Aug 2 2007, 03:59 PM

PRIDE!
2,042 posts

I am confident this will success. Hope this comp will be held around November-December so more time of preparation and more ppl will participate .
empire23
post Aug 2 2007, 04:06 PM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

Can an OCer modify the boards that he is given?

And is IHS slicing a valid technique?
tagteam
post Aug 2 2007, 04:06 PM

Come to Malay and beeing humiliated by u guys sad.gif

It's already under discussion now & hopefully can join u guys! icon_rolleyes.gif
HaHaNoCluE
post Aug 2 2007, 04:35 PM

628 posts

looks very very fun indeed... i'll fly there to see...
Lodewijk
post Aug 2 2007, 06:51 PM

85 posts

nice... Sanko... we will discuss about this, and hope we can join.
NightRaven
post Aug 2 2007, 06:53 PM

122 posts

hey i would love to see Team Indo again! nice fellas! thanks for the dielectic grease again! Team Indo very gracious and generous smile.gif great guys!
extremeocer
post Aug 2 2007, 08:53 PM

302 posts

Not only Team Indo, all others from the Asus compy should be here too.

I've got to find a replacement for my Anabond. might not be good for DI.
TSSanko
post Aug 2 2007, 10:09 PM

Noob
1,436 posts

extremeocer and §layerXT: thanks, just hope for the best. btw, we really hope that Lowyat would be the main forum organising this compy. to be honest, 1 foreign forum is willing to assist K.O.C full force to organise this event. so in the end of the day, it might be something like XtremeSystems Malaysia OC Competition, for example. leaving Lowyat behind. that's what we are trying to avoid. but it really depends.

empire23: this will be confirm in future. we definately hope that participants can modify anything to push to the limit. especially voltage modding. however, the percentage of a fried hardware is higher after modding. it's all depend on the sponsers.

tagteam and Lodewijk: walao... still kidding with us. Team Indonesia reputation has leap to a higher level after the Singapore Championship where we, Lowyat.NET oc-er has much homework to do in order to be on par with you all. just wait for our official invitation. we will definately like Indonesia be part of the compy if it's possible.
extremeocer
post Aug 2 2007, 11:07 PM

302 posts

i agree that lowyat got to be on the front line for this event. Plus point to reputation. If possible, why not makeit a 2 day event OC cum BYOC lanparty...48hrs lanparty compy. Those who last thru the nite will get a prize. ....Sure to be crowd puller.
lolhalol
post Aug 3 2007, 10:08 AM

Showroom Skateboarding
1,823 posts

QUOTE(empire23 @ Aug 2 2007, 05:06 PM)
Can an OCer modify the boards that he is given?

And is IHS slicing a valid technique?
this will depend on teh hardware providers... whistling.gif maybe we can get ES peryn samples.. whistling.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

QUOTE(NightRaven @ Aug 2 2007, 07:53 PM)
hey i would love to see Team Indo again! nice fellas! thanks for the dielectic grease again! Team Indo very gracious and generous smile.gif great guys!
haha yeah , friendly guys... and theres a chance that TEAM india will be coming... dunno if u remember them form teh asoc ...

QUOTE(extremeocer @ Aug 3 2007, 12:07 AM)
i agree that lowyat got to be on the front line for this event. Plus point to reputation. If possible, why not makeit a 2 day event OC cum BYOC lanparty...48hrs lanparty compy. Those who last thru the nite will get a prize. ....Sure to be crowd puller.
bro this would be taken intoconsideration, but it would be very messy and dificult to manage... and the venue needs to be big enough... adn then tehre are the securitie measures needed to protect teh byoc comsputers, and the venue sponcer might not even let us run 48 hrs straight.. but interesting idea none the less... will be discussed when TEAM KOC meet for meeting.. thx for the idea...

This post has been edited by lolhalol: Aug 3 2007, 10:09 AM
ciohbu
post Aug 3 2007, 10:48 AM

2,104 posts

hmmm..i am thinking..mayb we can include few booth for the sponsor to display their high end and ready-to-overclock product..hehe..i think this would add more color to the event as well as we provide a chance for the sponsor to promote their product, after all this is wat they want when they sponsor certain event..tongue.gif
NightRaven
post Aug 3 2007, 02:01 PM

122 posts

QUOTE(lolhalol @ Aug 3 2007, 10:08 AM)
this will  depend on teh hardware providers... whistling.gif maybe we can get ES peryn samples.. whistling.gif  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif
haha yeah , friendly guys... and theres a chance that TEAM india will be coming... dunno if u remember them form teh asoc ...
bro this would be taken intoconsideration, but it would be very messy and dificult to manage... and the venue needs to be big enough... adn then tehre are the securitie measures needed to protect teh byoc comsputers, and the venue sponcer might not even let us run 48 hrs straight.. but interesting idea none the less... will be discussed when TEAM KOC meet for meeting.. thx for the idea...
haha yes team India. harshal nice fellas smile.gif sat opposite us during day 1
TSSanko
post Aug 3 2007, 02:22 PM

Noob
1,436 posts

extremeocer: true, Lowyat.NET being the front runner of this compy is our top priority. we will be summiting the proposal to the administrator in no time. it's up to them to decide. however, do take note that the foreign forum who intend to support us has already given their nod prior to oral discussion only, no proposal needed.

ciohbu: that's the only way to gain sponsership. the event will benefit sponsers marketing their product. however, it seems the interest rate of participantion is really low. i'll leave it open until september. if there's still no sign of 10 teams interested, then we will drop this event. seems like m'sia overclockers are not ready of oc compy yet.

This post has been edited by Sanko: Aug 3 2007, 02:24 PM
kucingfight
post Aug 3 2007, 02:45 PM

5,784 posts

Yeap it's kinda sad to c the low participation interest with the strong organising support and sponsors willing to chip in. Wonder where are the overclockers hiding. Used to be some great overclockers last time around here, eg clawhammer, etc etc.. that era has passed sometime ago
lolhalol
post Aug 3 2007, 03:35 PM

Showroom Skateboarding
1,823 posts

guys support this event lah.. dun worry whether u noob or pro... dun mater. its a great way to make new friends and get experience.... and all u have to do is bring ur cooling contraption, so there is almost no costs involed( providing ur using ur existing cooling stuffS) as u are not required to buy hardware....
ciohbu
post Aug 3 2007, 05:12 PM

2,104 posts

guys..i goin for holiday for one weeks starting this weekend..if anything then let me know ya...i will pm my phone number to Sanko

*to sanko..check ur pm..thanz..hehe
SlayerXT
post Aug 3 2007, 10:43 PM

PRIDE!
2,042 posts

Maybe we have to survey who are having free time to participate. Furthermore by the end of the yr could've participate especially who r still student. hmm.gif
kingmaker_20
post Aug 5 2007, 02:04 AM

" t3H 1337(tm)"
3,159 posts

Nice event here!Btw,phase change allowed? rolleyes.gif
SlayerXT
post Aug 5 2007, 02:24 AM

PRIDE!
2,042 posts

Sure can, in extreme overclocker side. thumbup.gif Anyway, its up to organizer.
extremeocer
post Aug 5 2007, 04:17 AM

302 posts

QUOTE(kingmaker_20 @ Aug 5 2007, 02:04 AM)
Nice event here!Btw,phase change allowed? rolleyes.gif
Dun think so, if allowed...i'll bring along my cascade. tongue.gif
TSSanko
post Aug 5 2007, 04:24 AM

Noob
1,436 posts

kingmaker_20: at the mean time, the answer is NO.

anyway, guys... i have answer lots of questions but still, not much changes for the list. as far as i remember, all the names on the list registered since DAY 1 this thread was opened. how come?
SlayerXT
post Aug 5 2007, 01:03 PM

PRIDE!
2,042 posts

Maybe u should do a bit research about their constraints that make them hardly to participate in this awesome event.
storm88
post Aug 5 2007, 07:19 PM

~UncleSam Ready to Rolls~
5,595 posts

LYN is abit low in OC "temper"
btw, i would layup with Hardwarezone, and ARJ to see whether can heat up anot
horphi
post Aug 7 2007, 06:48 PM

266 posts

wow this is cool....

i might join the event but not joining the competion tongue.gif

This post has been edited by horphi: Aug 7 2007, 06:48 PM
TSSanko
post Aug 7 2007, 09:15 PM

Noob
1,436 posts

judging from the way it goes, i doubt that this event will ever take place. so far only 3 teams shown interest. anyway, i'll hold up till the 3rd week of august or beginning of september. if there's still no changes then K.O.C will most likely drop this event.
extremeocer
post Aug 7 2007, 09:42 PM

302 posts

This really disappointing. Come on guys, show us some OC spirit.

Sanko, perhaps showing the prizes might help... tongue.gif But then again, sponsors won't come in unless there is good response.
lolhalol
post Aug 9 2007, 10:55 AM

Showroom Skateboarding
1,823 posts

QUOTE(extremeocer @ Aug 7 2007, 10:42 PM)
This really disappointing. Come on guys, show us some OC spirit.

Sanko, perhaps showing the prizes might help... tongue.gif But then again, sponsors won't come in unless there is good response.
exactly.... btw why so many just come to watch not join in? hardware is provided..all u need to do is bring ur cooling contraptions... be it air cooling, water chilling, and pots.... and if there is high responce there is no need of an entry fee... so all those that will be spectating...join in the fun... doesnt mater if u lose... there is no last place.......
emilz
post Aug 9 2007, 01:12 PM

1,377 posts

wow oc competition what ar the time n i hope not clash with my test period lar tongue.gif
id86
post Aug 9 2007, 01:47 PM

GG
1,052 posts

Im willing to join...

but have to wait for my Tuniq Tower to arrive thumbup.gif

and hope not clashed with my class also sweat.gif
kerryking
post Aug 11 2007, 12:48 AM

553 posts

Come on guys ..show some gd support..
a very gd learning experience..
tagteam
post Aug 11 2007, 04:58 PM

@KOC Team:

No mean to act like a smart as*, but the way we organize some OC event in Indo is like this:

- Try to find a place, time, date, etc
- Try to find a sponsors (u guys must make a proposal about the event to prospective sponsors)
- Try to make a rulez, regulations, etc

After all done, then we will open place for people join

It's really hard in the beginning to organize event like this, but once it goes, I bet many sponsors will try to look after u guys to organize next event! rclxms.gif

To be honest, KOC team spirit must have a great applause! rclxms.gif thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by tagteam: Aug 11 2007, 04:59 PM
TSSanko
post Aug 11 2007, 10:00 PM

Noob
1,436 posts

tagteam: hehe... thanks for you advice. here is the explanation

actually it's like this, the reason i do a interest gauge is to gain the feed back 1st. this competition is actually meant for local Lowyat.NET forumers. it's not like the Singapore Asus Compy as it's a asean region championship where the focus is for foreigners to take part. the main point is that if there's not much Lowyat.NET members taking part while lots of foreigners are keen to take part, we will drop the event anyway. the main purpose is for malaysian oc-er.

while the sponsers and organisation of the event, i would be quite confident to state here it's 60% final. the proposals are already done but we dare not to approach any parties yet becuase of the respone is like this. that's our way. we dare not to take any risk as we are only a TEAM of OC geeks. not a company or Lowyat.NET admistrator. initial talks with the sponsers indicated that we need to show them the participants crowd 1st. that's why we do a interest gauge 1st. if we state there's estimate of 20 participants from malaysia but in the end only 5-6 teams, then it's too late.

for the Singapore Asus OC Compy, Team K.O.C only had 1 week time to decide whether joining or not without knowning the specs, rules and so on but we still eventually joined, based on our interest and keen to gain experience and knowledge. maybe our approach is not practical here for Malaysian OC-ERs.

This post has been edited by Sanko: Aug 12 2007, 12:24 AM
Hyde`fK
post Aug 11 2007, 10:39 PM

D9s Killer
2,378 posts

Also something to consider, Malaysia is big, so many ppl from elsewhere beside KL will have difficulty finding suitable time to attend such event, like me for example. tongue.gif
gmail
post Aug 11 2007, 11:17 PM

Trolling Level
2,597 posts

if the event is after 4th of december, i sure can join coz after spm liao brows.gif
TSSanko
post Aug 12 2007, 12:26 AM

Noob
1,436 posts

Hyde`fK: ya. understood. the only thing we bet is the the interest would actually exceed any other obstacles. like K.O.C, we traveled to Singapore for our 1st competition with all our own financial support. coolice is from penang, me from perak, jeffrey who didn't join us in the compy but finally managed to go for a peek also from perak.

gmail: i'll keep in mind of that. thanks for your interest.

This post has been edited by Sanko: Aug 12 2007, 12:27 AM
HaHaNoCluE
post Aug 13 2007, 03:15 PM

628 posts

actually for ppl outside kl to join, u nid to provide a firm date... so that we can buy air ticket... we like to join but no date how to confirm leh??? need to apply off from work somemore...
lolhalol
post Aug 13 2007, 07:11 PM

Showroom Skateboarding
1,823 posts

QUOTE(HaHaNoCluE @ Aug 13 2007, 04:15 PM)
actually for ppl outside kl to join, u nid to provide a firm date... so that we can buy air ticket... we like to join but no date how to confirm leh??? need to apply off from work somemore...
bro not to offend u or anything, but to provide that date, we need the interest levels we are hoping for... u dont need to buy an air ticket to say that ur interested.. just say that ur interested and will be happy to join, and we will provide a date as soon as possible...

_________________________________________________________________________________________________________

for us <TEAM KOC>, we decided almost last minute... and sacrificed alot of time and canceled alot of our commitments.... its nt about the timing of competitions nor the costs of transportation. its all bout the passion and eagerness to learn and experience, these are traits that many of us are lacking... y all just want to go and be spectator. can always join in... there are no losers...there are oc events to gain experience... and to meet people... then there are those who are scared to join coz of lack of experience or no hardware... there is no need to bring any hardware... at all... just ur cooling contraptions.. and that most of u all probably have,.... doesnt matter if u have a crappy one or a stock cooler... its all bout teh fun....

also what most of us are lacking is a sense of adventure... most of us are more happy in our comfort zones at home being a "screen shot overclocker" ... and many of us are scared to try out exotic methods of cooling, hardware modifications and so on... u might say that its expensive, lets say, to make a dry ice pot, but to tell u the truth that is not true.. only that u need some time to do some digging and u can find materials and the tools u need to make one...

on hardware modifications, alot of u all are scared to try it, not to say that u have to but isn't this what overclocking is all about,... pushing the limit... whats the point to run at speeds that everyone can run at... all this is hurting this forums in a huge way... i cant even remmeber the last time someone other than koc members posted result thats worth posting, or someone trying out vmods, even trying insane but cool , no pun intended , methods of cooling... those that are posting at the moment are guys which lyn is not their primary forums..

to name a few are night raven , extremeocer (both whom are from vr-zone)and all teh guys from team indo ... to name a few local guys who are active are koc members , acecombat, hananoclue, kucingfight, kvmcom, hyde.kf and tampoi . there are more of u guys... i dont need to mention u guys, u know who are salute to u guys and all the guys ive mentioned notworthy.gif notworthy.gif ....

this lack of teh mentioned traits are really hurting the over clocking communities in Malaysia... come on guys show some initiative, not just post spam like posts of congrats and asking dumb little questions, i know all us are guilty of this but its what u have contributed is what counts.... so start taking the initiative... show the world that Malaysia can also have top class overclockers... then maybe the corporate sponcer's will start coming in... hu knows we could find another kingpin or opb.

basically wahat im saying is that there is a lot of talk but no show...

warm regards

reggie

This post has been edited by lolhalol: Aug 13 2007, 08:16 PM
TSSanko
post Aug 13 2007, 08:11 PM

Noob
1,436 posts

okok... do cool things down. first of all i would like to apologise to everyone here becuase the way i chose to organise this event. after some thoughts and critiques, i realize that this interest gauge is not practical for Lowyat.NET forumers becuase of work, studies, assignments, etc have to be taken into consideration before showing commitment.

basically this interest gauge has only one purpose. to tell/show us whether this event is really worth to organise or not. worth it = lot's of participants, not worth it = not enuff participants. if since the beginning, the target market is not up to expectation, company usually will drop the event/effort/ect. that's what we are trying to do. a survey 1st before putting all our effort into it.

let us think for one more week and please give us some feedback. advice me a better method. but if still no changes, there for we will drop this event and better concentrating the Penang LanParty AceCombat intend to organise. thank you.
lolhalol
post Aug 13 2007, 08:15 PM

Showroom Skateboarding
1,823 posts

QUOTE(Sanko @ Aug 13 2007, 09:11 PM)
okok... do cool things down. first of all i would like to apologise to everyone here becuase the way i chose to organise this event. after some thoughts and critiques, i realize that this interest gauge is not practical for Lowyat.NET forumers becuase of work, studies, assignments, etc have to be taken into consideration before showing commitment.

basically this interest gauge has only one purpose. to tell/show us whether this event is really worth to organise or not. worth it = lot's of participants, not worth it = not enuff participants. if since the beginning, the target market is not up to expectation, company usually will drop the event/effort/ect. that's what we are trying to do. a survey 1st before putting all our effort into it.

let us think for one more week and please give us some feedback. advice me a better method. but if still no changes, there for we will drop this event and better concentrating the Penang LanParty AceCombat intend to organise. thank you.
boss its nt ur fault... its what i mention in the post above... teh commitment is not the important thing... just give a post and say that interested but not confirm atleast we have a rough number...
penapis
post Aug 13 2007, 10:17 PM

114 posts

put me in as DRY ICE SUPPLIER can aa??

and possible that i'm gonna join with my own pot.

Liquid nitrogen can??

TSSanko
post Aug 13 2007, 11:41 PM

Noob
1,436 posts

noted penapis. thanks thanks. nope, no LN2. hehe..
Hungry_Wolf
post Aug 14 2007, 12:48 AM

836 posts

if can get a c2d now to try then might consider to join...
HaHaNoCluE
post Aug 14 2007, 01:06 AM

628 posts

ok ok i'm in as long as i got enuf time to notice for off days... (2 weeks to 1 month earlier is better)... but me alone can ar??? i bring my wc kit along oso... book me 1 slot... tq...
SlayerXT
post Aug 14 2007, 01:12 AM

PRIDE!
2,042 posts

They will provide all those hardwares. U need to bring only cooling device and tools to do hard mod.
lolhalol
post Aug 14 2007, 01:52 PM

Showroom Skateboarding
1,823 posts

QUOTE(Hungry_Wolf @ Aug 14 2007, 01:48 AM)
if can get a c2d now to try then might consider to join...
bro we are providing al the hardwares... no need to bjuy one....

Added on August 14, 2007, 4:02 pma quote from the famous kyosen from team japan.. it explains my previous post to a P...

"........... nowdays a lot of motherboards do not need tto be modified and high voltages can be chosen from the bios, but i think its no fun. it's not only to OC, but to "challenge the limit ", without this , i think people may not trully understand the full value and fun of overclocking and life............"

great guys.. great overclocker ...

This post has been edited by lolhalol: Aug 14 2007, 04:02 PM
clawhammer
post Aug 14 2007, 06:26 PM

///M
8,788 posts

This is good stuff. I wish I can still join, lol.
extremeocer
post Aug 14 2007, 09:37 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(clawhammer @ Aug 14 2007, 06:26 PM)
This is good stuff. I wish I can still join, lol.
yes you can....the more the merrier. The more people joining, will attract more sponsors. In future wanna organize such OC events also easier.
NightRaven
post Aug 15 2007, 01:51 AM

122 posts

wow i got my name mentioned. i am indeed honoured!

anyway i'm just a nobody. i just go try and give it my best shot. u never know till u try. we all started out knowing now. i was way worst than team koc for their first oc competition. haha back then i didnt even know anything. i just went to try and feel and experience. n tts where its got me. i didnt win in the first compy. in fact i didnt win much even now at all! winning dosent mean ur the best cuz there's always better. but losing dosent mean ur the worst. it means ur learning something!

haha so come on guys. i think low yat and malaysia can do better than that! if i'm willing to go down from Singapore. i'm sure u guys in malaysia would find it much easier! just check ur costs and come on down. nvm win or lose. thing is experience smile.gif

if a lot of ppl join and show interest maybe sanko and gang can even talk to some sponsors for goody bags! everyone goes home with something!

oh n guys who never touch the platform b4.. nvm! the last Asus Championship team koc went was ddr3 memory. haha neither i or many of the guys ever touched ddr3! we just go and whack and do our best. u can do it! smile.gif

lolhalol
post Aug 15 2007, 12:21 PM

Showroom Skateboarding
1,823 posts

bro where got u never win anything... whistling.gif second day champion is what.. lol... haha
yeah what nightraven said is right.. very few of us had ddr3... or even if we had.. the first gen ones were crap... but it was all bout meeting people... if it wasnt for the singapore oc event.. team koc wouldnt have been formed or even we wouldnt be even platyign with dice...also if we didnt go we wouldnt have been able to meet such freindly guys.. and teh top clockers in teh workld..
NightRaven
post Aug 15 2007, 12:33 PM

122 posts

haha bro when i first started i didnt win anything! haha that was like 3 years go i thinnk when i joined my first compy. and before tt i clocked for 6 years somemore. now just still learning. so come on fellas! we need to make this happen!

Added on August 16, 2007, 2:58 amguys how many ppl u need to start one? 10 to 20 teams?

This post has been edited by NightRaven: Aug 16 2007, 02:58 AM
ciohbu
post Aug 17 2007, 03:24 AM

2,104 posts

come on everyone, this is gonna be a historical event if we manage to organize it..hehe..so come and support ya ~~~..too bad i cant find a partner, if not i would like to join as participant also..smile.gif
toughnut
post Aug 17 2007, 09:46 AM

3,239 posts

i wish i have money to pay for flight ticket... that alone cost the same as my saving for purchasing camera T_T

those in KL and surrounding area should join just for the sake of support and OC scene in Malaysia.

btw, how to become KOC member? any test? haha
sup3rfly
post Aug 17 2007, 10:10 AM

Techno Slave
1,561 posts

QUOTE(toughnut @ Aug 17 2007, 09:46 AM)
i wish i have money to pay for flight ticket... that alone cost the same as my saving for purchasing camera T_T

those in KL and surrounding area should join just for the sake of support and OC scene in Malaysia.

ya if u are near to the venue of the event come and join la...dun shy shy.... nothing one ma.... lose also nvm just join for the experience....trust me u will learn a lot.... i did learn a lot during the compy in spore smile.gif
toughnut
post Aug 17 2007, 11:33 AM

3,239 posts

nope, no even near. i'm in Sarawak. unless u guys can organize it before 31 August, i will start my Malaysia "Boleh" expedition to KL by pedaling boat, SOLO, with a desktop !
HaHaNoCluE
post Aug 17 2007, 11:47 AM

628 posts

QUOTE(ciohbu @ Aug 17 2007, 03:24 AM)
come on everyone, this is gonna be a historical event if we manage to organize it..hehe..so come and support ya ~~~..too bad i cant find a partner, if not i would like to join as participant also..smile.gif
me oso no partner... maybe i'll ask rlhc17 if he's free... just cincai hentam lar... if i still no partner maybe just grab a fren to help me carry things lor... hahahaha... list ur name then find a fren... easier than mix n match...

QUOTE(toughnut @ Aug 17 2007, 09:46 AM)

QUOTE(toughnut @ Aug 17 2007, 11:33 AM)
nope, no even near. i'm in Sarawak. unless u guys can organize it before 31 August, i will start my Malaysia "Boleh" expedition to KL by pedaling boat, SOLO, with a desktop !
bro, me here from sabah... can i tumpang ur boat??? lol... anyway, errr try buy air asia lor... if the date isn't too near, then air asia flight oso not that bad mar... rm400 to rm500 return ticket... to be a member of team KOC, u must know how to make ABC (ais kacang) out of dry ice n eat them... hahahaha... jk, dun try at hum... laugh.gif
toughnut
post Aug 17 2007, 12:04 PM

3,239 posts

QUOTE(HaHaNoCluE @ Aug 17 2007, 11:47 AM)
bro, me here from sabah... can i tumpang ur boat??? lol... anyway, errr try buy air asia lor... if the date isn't too near, then air asia flight oso not that bad mar... rm400 to rm500 return ticket... to be a member of team KOC, u must know how to make ABC (ais kacang) out of dry ice n eat them... hahahaha... jk, dun try at hum...  laugh.gif
wow sabah.. hmmm, will consider hmm.gif

but making ABC from DI really make me a KOC, KO then C (dead)...

btw, this competition allowed any types of cooling?
TSSanko
post Aug 17 2007, 12:41 PM

Noob
1,436 posts

NightRaven: our target is actually 15-20 teams to start this compy.
ciohbu
post Aug 17 2007, 01:29 PM

2,104 posts

QUOTE(HaHaNoCluE @ Aug 17 2007, 11:47 AM)
me oso no partner... maybe i'll ask rlhc17 if he's free... just cincai hentam lar... if i still no partner maybe just grab a fren to help me carry things lor... hahahaha... list ur name then find a fren... easier than mix n match...
bro, me here from sabah... can i tumpang ur boat??? lol... anyway, errr try buy air asia lor... if the date isn't too near, then air asia flight oso not that bad mar... rm400 to rm500 return ticket... to be a member of team KOC, u must know how to make ABC (ais kacang) out of dry ice n eat them... hahahaha... jk, dun try at hum...  laugh.gif
hahaha...if u cant find partner , then mayb we can form a group.. tongue.gif tongue.gif
HaHaNoCluE
post Aug 17 2007, 02:16 PM

628 posts

can oso... no prob... just have fun mar... we can buy cola n pringles n try our luck... hahaha...
ciohbu
post Aug 17 2007, 04:41 PM

2,104 posts

Added on August 17, 2007, 4:43 pm
QUOTE(HaHaNoCluE @ Aug 17 2007, 02:16 PM)
can oso... no prob... just have fun mar... we can buy cola n pringles n try our luck... hahaha...
hahhaha..ya ya..just like those LAN party in europe country, the most important thing for them in the party is glucose.. cool2.gif cool2.gif

see first lar, coz currently i am in the comittee list, if stil kurang one or two group to make it full, then put me in the participant list lor..tongue.gif..can right sanko?

This post has been edited by ciohbu: Aug 17 2007, 04:44 PM
extremeocer
post Aug 17 2007, 05:05 PM

302 posts

Can a non-lyn forumer join? I have a friend who wants to tag along with me.
lolhalol
post Aug 17 2007, 05:43 PM

Showroom Skateboarding
1,823 posts

of course bro... nebody can join... that will end up increasing the lyn member numbers ...especially oc forums...
NightRaven
post Aug 17 2007, 11:26 PM

122 posts

haha who say i got partner man?

Added on August 17, 2007, 11:27 pm
haha who say i got partner man?

Added on August 17, 2007, 11:32 pm
QUOTE(extremeocer @ Aug 17 2007, 05:05 PM)
Can a non-lyn forumer join? I have a friend who wants to tag along with me.
haha ya i also non lyn forumer smile.gif

This post has been edited by NightRaven: Aug 17 2007, 11:32 PM
t3chn0m4nc3r
post Aug 18 2007, 12:57 AM

Teh Necron Lord
4,139 posts

any update on equipments and sponsors yet...? i can get u scanart's contact... brows.gif or Ban Leong... brows.gif
leslie0880
post Aug 18 2007, 09:09 AM

728 posts

i m noob..... may join ??
haha
baok
post Aug 18 2007, 09:23 AM

737 posts

erm... if all hardware and necessary software included, i want to join smile.gif

our own cooling?? that's okay with me tongue.gif

thinking of peltier... is it allowed?? drool.gif brows.gif

This post has been edited by baok: Aug 18 2007, 09:26 AM
extremeocer
post Aug 18 2007, 10:15 AM

302 posts

QUOTE(baok @ Aug 18 2007, 09:23 AM)
erm... if all hardware and necessary software included, i want to join smile.gif

our own cooling?? that's okay with me tongue.gif

thinking of peltier... is it allowed??  drool.gif  brows.gif
Wah lau...never read ka??? Info at first page.
TSSanko
post Aug 18 2007, 06:26 PM

Noob
1,436 posts

On behalf of TEAM K.O.C, i would like to announce that we are dropping this compy. there are few reasons that affected this decision. after a meeting, we took the decision because:

1. The expected participants list is not sufficient to organise a oc competition we intended.

2. With aproximately around 6 teams at the mean time showing interest, we feel that a OC LanParty is more than enough.

3. AceCombat is on his way organising a OC Competition as well and it seems that the progress has been very promising, therefore it's is better to concentrate one competition at one time as the mission K.O.C organising a compy is just and initiative effort to make a compy happen in Malaysia for local oc-ers. Thus AceCombat compy has met our mission.

If there's any question regarding this compy please do PM me, Sanko for more information. I'll not close this thread. Thanks for the support shown so far. We would like to extend our appreaciation to all. Thanks once again.

This post has been edited by Sanko: Aug 21 2007, 11:32 PM
TSSanko
post Aug 21 2007, 11:32 PM

Noob
1,436 posts

First of all, i would like to apologise to K.O.C as well as fellow forumers. Seems there's a miscommunication.

1. I'm sorry to speak on behalf of K.O.C cancelling this compy.
2. This is the last time i'm speaking on behalf of K.O.C on this matter, so far K.O.C still interested or organising this compy.
3. I open this thread back and after this storm88 and lolhalol will follow up with all parties regarding this event.

This post has been edited by Sanko: Aug 21 2007, 11:35 PM
HaHaNoCluE
post Aug 22 2007, 12:09 PM

628 posts

so the KL compy is back on??? keep my name in the list, tq...
ciohbu
post Aug 22 2007, 03:25 PM

2,104 posts

glad to hear that it is open back...so where is storm88 and lolhalol ?..hehe..this comp need organizer leh. tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif

This post has been edited by ciohbu: Aug 22 2007, 03:29 PM
lolhalol
post Aug 22 2007, 10:40 PM

Showroom Skateboarding
1,823 posts

this comp is still under discussion by the team members...will post uopdates asap...
ahsiah
post Aug 25 2007, 07:53 AM

Asus ROG Fan
875 posts

I would like to come and see you guys overclocking. Noob here. Mind?
t3chn0m4nc3r
post Aug 26 2007, 01:47 PM

Teh Necron Lord
4,139 posts

yeah... another OC noob here... interested in joining also but dunno layak not... laugh.gif
Vtec(Rock)
post Aug 26 2007, 03:37 PM

500 posts

ver interest to join it
rickdiz88
post Sep 1 2007, 02:58 PM

17 posts

Wuhuhu..... I can't join as I'm in Malacca... sad.gif
id86
post Sep 8 2007, 11:12 AM

GG
1,052 posts

senior,im not confirm yet.

i still waiting my Tuniq to arrive.

can ar?
xixo_12
post Sep 8 2007, 12:18 PM

i!Retired!i
7,318 posts

love to join.. but have alot of work, :sad:
pahala
post Sep 12 2007, 10:51 AM

where... I can buy dry ice???? and I won join the competision..... sorry I from indonesia...
cstkl1
post Oct 1 2007, 10:06 AM

6,799 posts

interested in 3dmark..

whats the rulez for hardware??

proc/gpu
need to prep and do some scouting and testing

hello?? i want to join...

interested in beating night raven... kekeke.. my aim..

This post has been edited by cstkl1: Oct 3 2007, 12:13 AM
CityLife
post Oct 4 2007, 06:42 PM

325 posts

Nice thread
IcEMoCHa
post Oct 5 2007, 08:24 PM

~本田~
1,988 posts

What are the prizes? biggrin.gif
HaHaNoCluE