[Interest Gauge] Overclocking Competition, Brought to you by TEAM K.O.C

TSSanko
post Aug 1 2007, 03:22 PM, updated 19y ago

Noob
1,436 posts

Hello Lowyat.NET OC Gurus and friends.

Team K.O.C finally decided to take the initiative to organise an OverClocking Competition for Malaysian PC Enthusiats after blindly waiting for one to materialize. Only the recent concluded Gigabyte Bearlake Overclocking Challenge 2007 as the final OverClocking Competition. Howerer, we are more into a Live OverClocking Competition. After some successful Silverstone/Autosurf Case Modding Lanparty and Lowyat ATE OC Demos, we guess it is the time for a bigger event specially pro Lowyat.NET forumers.

Initial plans for this event has already started. TEAM K.O.C has already gain some supports locally and even from abroad. There is possibility that some foreign teams will be invited to join this competition. Namely VR-Zone (Singapore), Speedtime (China), UnLimitPc (Thailand) and Benny and Gang (Indonesia). Therefore, in order to make sure the event is a success, we would like to do an Interest Check for those who are interested to join this event. Below are some of the competition details but nothing is final yet. It is still applies to changes.

Date: December 2007
Time: Whole Day Event
Entry Fee: Not more than RM50 / Free
Teaming: 2 person
Category 1: Air/Water Cooling
Category 2: Dry Ice Cooling
Benchmark: Super Pi, 3DMark, PCMark

To ensure the competition is fair and square, we try to provide all the hardwares necessary for the challenge. Participants only need to bring their cooling gadgets. We will also try to provide Dry Ice for the Extreme Cooling Category. If everything goes well, Entry Fee will be lifted.

For those who are interested please reply in this thread. While for parties who are interested to sponser this event, please PM Sanko or lolhalol. All the best and Pray for us.

This post has been edited by Sanko: Aug 12 2007, 12:28 AM
TSSanko
post Aug 1 2007, 03:22 PM

Noob
1,436 posts

Participants List

1. kuchingfight
2. extremeocer
3. kerryking
4. NightRaven (VR-Zone)
5. id86
6. gmail (after 4th December)
7. penapis
8. HaHaNoCluE
9. penapis
10. clawhammer
11. leslie0880
12. dreaming

Organising Committee List

1. ciohbu
2. bryanyeo87

This post has been edited by Sanko: Aug 18 2007, 06:19 PM
TSSanko
post Aug 1 2007, 03:47 PM

Noob
1,436 posts

kuchingfight: hrmm.... better if you find another member to partner with you. it's simple, 1 tweaker 1 taking care of the setup. 2 in a team is always better. but if you want to do it alone i guess no problem also. one very useful tips, oc compy = chasing time. 2 is always better than 1. team with mcfc. hehe... and remember your team name.

mcfc: member punya pasal, you cannot come if you are not joining. lol

This post has been edited by Sanko: Aug 1 2007, 03:47 PM
TSSanko
post Aug 1 2007, 04:25 PM

Noob
1,436 posts

kuchingfight: we will try our best. let's see how is the outcome of the participants list 1st. btw, your from sitiawan? Ayer Tawar guy here. lol

kmarc: yes.... everything will be provided. so that everyone will be clocking the same hardwares. so it's totally up to the luck which hardware you draft. some gems some not. luck do counts. that is what we are trying to do, nothing is final yet though. all depends on sponsers.

This post has been edited by Sanko: Aug 1 2007, 04:32 PM
TSSanko
post Aug 1 2007, 11:23 PM

Noob
1,436 posts

§layerXT: it really depends, as for now we are only doing interest gauge. if there are not much ppl joining, might atself call it off. but i guess we can only pick 1, either intel or amd. i don't think both of them wants to be together as sponsers.

kmarc: as i said earlier, nothing i final yet. i will try our best to provide everything so that he oc compy will be fair. everyone clocking the same system. if you want to take it back, that's definately ok if you pay for it.

Hyde`fK: yeap, you are correct. only Dry Ice provided (not final yet). others will be taken care by participants. whether if you need to pay if you burnt the hardware, it's still a question mark.

This post has been edited by Sanko: Aug 1 2007, 11:24 PM
TSSanko
post Aug 2 2007, 12:05 AM

Noob
1,436 posts

ciohbu: Thanks really appreciate it. we will inform you once the full committee is up.
TSSanko
post Aug 2 2007, 12:25 AM

Noob
1,436 posts

sniper69: i didn't know you are asking question. if you read carefully, we try to provide the oc rig. therefore high/mid/low doesn't matter. everyone will be using the same
TSSanko
post Aug 2 2007, 02:01 AM

Noob
1,436 posts

NightRaven: first of all, welcome. nice to see you here even we haven't officially contant vr-zoners. let's just hope that we can successfully organise this event. with Singapore Asus OverClocking Champion shown interest, that will definately boost the compy status. lol

sniper69: sure sure, waiting for your answer. so far interest list is not promising. we need more then only sponser will come in. the more ppl joining it shows that the event is a good for marketing purposes.
TSSanko
post Aug 2 2007, 12:09 PM

Noob
1,436 posts

kerryking and extremeocer: hrmm... for the category wise, it's still undecided, if the compy is 2 days, then day 1 will be air/water category. then day 2 will be DICE. the way of this compy is very similar to the recently concluded Singapore Asus Championship to be honest. if the categories is being separatly contest, then can join both. you got me? my english sucks. lol

This post has been edited by Sanko: Aug 2 2007, 12:10 PM
TSSanko
post Aug 2 2007, 12:26 PM

Noob
1,436 posts

NightRaven: sure, if this is really opened to foreigner, we would definately get accomodation for you all. but if we couldn't get 10-15 teams from Lowyat.NET, then we might drop this planning. it's all depend on them now. and one more thing, i hope with such early announcement, Lowyat.NET forumers will equip themselves with tweaking skills so that we can put up a fight with foreigners. i hope that K.O.C can handle everything accordingly. i can't help much as currently i'm in singapore. lol

This post has been edited by Sanko: Aug 2 2007, 12:27 PM
TSSanko
post Aug 2 2007, 10:09 PM

Noob
1,436 posts

extremeocer and §layerXT: thanks, just hope for the best. btw, we really hope that Lowyat would be the main forum organising this compy. to be honest, 1 foreign forum is willing to assist K.O.C full force to organise this event. so in the end of the day, it might be something like XtremeSystems Malaysia OC Competition, for example. leaving Lowyat behind. that's what we are trying to avoid. but it really depends.

empire23: this will be confirm in future. we definately hope that participants can modify anything to push to the limit. especially voltage modding. however, the percentage of a fried hardware is higher after modding. it's all depend on the sponsers.

tagteam and Lodewijk: walao... still kidding with us. Team Indonesia reputation has leap to a higher level after the Singapore Championship where we, Lowyat.NET oc-er has much homework to do in order to be on par with you all. just wait for our official invitation. we will definately like Indonesia be part of the compy if it's possible.
TSSanko
post Aug 3 2007, 02:22 PM

Noob
1,436 posts

extremeocer: true, Lowyat.NET being the front runner of this compy is our top priority. we will be summiting the proposal to the administrator in no time. it's up to them to decide. however, do take note that the foreign forum who intend to support us has already given their nod prior to oral discussion only, no proposal needed.

ciohbu: that's the only way to gain sponsership. the event will benefit sponsers marketing their product. however, it seems the interest rate of participantion is really low. i'll leave it open until september. if there's still no sign of 10 teams interested, then we will drop this event. seems like m'sia overclockers are not ready of oc compy yet.

This post has been edited by Sanko: Aug 3 2007, 02:24 PM
TSSanko
post Aug 5 2007, 04:24 AM

Noob
1,436 posts

kingmaker_20: at the mean time, the answer is NO.

anyway, guys... i have answer lots of questions but still, not much changes for the list. as far as i remember, all the names on the list registered since DAY 1 this thread was opened. how come?
TSSanko
post Aug 7 2007, 09:15 PM

Noob
1,436 posts

judging from the way it goes, i doubt that this event will ever take place. so far only 3 teams shown interest. anyway, i'll hold up till the 3rd week of august or beginning of september. if there's still no changes then K.O.C will most likely drop this event.
TSSanko
post Aug 11 2007, 10:00 PM

Noob
1,436 posts

tagteam: hehe... thanks for you advice. here is the explanation

actually it's like this, the reason i do a interest gauge is to gain the feed back 1st. this competition is actually meant for local Lowyat.NET forumers. it's not like the Singapore Asus Compy as it's a asean region championship where the focus is for foreigners to take part. the main point is that if there's not much Lowyat.NET members taking part while lots of foreigners are keen to take part, we will drop the event anyway. the main purpose is for malaysian oc-er.

while the sponsers and organisation of the event, i would be quite confident to state here it's 60% final. the proposals are already done but we dare not to approach any parties yet becuase of the respone is like this. that's our way. we dare not to take any risk as we are only a TEAM of OC geeks. not a company or Lowyat.NET admistrator. initial talks with the sponsers indicated that we need to show them the participants crowd 1st. that's why we do a interest gauge 1st. if we state there's estimate of 20 participants from malaysia but in the end only 5-6 teams, then it's too late.

for the Singapore Asus OC Compy, Team K.O.C only had 1 week time to decide whether joining or not without knowning the specs, rules and so on but we still eventually joined, based on our interest and keen to gain experience and knowledge. maybe our approach is not practical here for Malaysian OC-ERs.

This post has been edited by Sanko: Aug 12 2007, 12:24 AM
TSSanko
post Aug 12 2007, 12:26 AM

Noob
1,436 posts

Hyde`fK: ya. understood. the only thing we bet is the the interest would actually exceed any other obstacles. like K.O.C, we traveled to Singapore for our 1st competition with all our own financial support. coolice is from penang, me from perak, jeffrey who didn't join us in the compy but finally managed to go for a peek also from perak.

gmail: i'll keep in mind of that. thanks for your interest.

This post has been edited by Sanko: Aug 12 2007, 12:27 AM
TSSanko
post Aug 13 2007, 08:11 PM

Noob
1,436 posts

okok... do cool things down. first of all i would like to apologise to everyone here becuase the way i chose to organise this event. after some thoughts and critiques, i realize that this interest gauge is not practical for Lowyat.NET forumers becuase of work, studies, assignments, etc have to be taken into consideration before showing commitment.

basically this interest gauge has only one purpose. to tell/show us whether this event is really worth to organise or not. worth it = lot's of participants, not worth it = not enuff participants. if since the beginning, the target market is not up to expectation, company usually will drop the event/effort/ect. that's what we are trying to do. a survey 1st before putting all our effort into it.

let us think for one more week and please give us some feedback. advice me a better method. but if still no changes, there for we will drop this event and better concentrating the Penang LanParty AceCombat intend to organise. thank you.
TSSanko
post Aug 13 2007, 11:41 PM

Noob
1,436 posts

noted penapis. thanks thanks. nope, no LN2. hehe..
TSSanko
post Aug 17 2007, 12:41 PM

Noob
1,436 posts

NightRaven: our target is actually 15-20 teams to start this compy.
TSSanko
post Aug 18 2007, 06:26 PM

Noob
1,436 posts

On behalf of TEAM K.O.C, i would like to announce that we are dropping this compy. there are few reasons that affected this decision. after a meeting, we took the decision because:

1. The expected participants list is not sufficient to organise a oc competition we intended.

2. With aproximately around 6 teams at the mean time showing interest, we feel that a OC LanParty is more than enough.

3. AceCombat is on his way organising a OC Competition as well and it seems that the progress has been very promising, therefore it's is better to concentrate one competition at one time as the mission K.O.C organising a compy is just and initiative effort to make a compy happen in Malaysia for local oc-ers. Thus AceCombat compy has met our mission.

If there's any question regarding this compy please do PM me, Sanko for more information. I'll not close this thread. Thanks for the support shown so far. We would like to extend our appreaciation to all. Thanks once again.

This post has been edited by Sanko: Aug 21 2007, 11:32 PM

0.0177sec    0.41    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 09:21 PM