Waterproofing Water Leaking Problem v2, Ask me Water leaking, Waterproofing

TSDaang
post Jun 1 2020, 06:27 PM, updated 6y ago

14 posts

Continue from https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4374789/all

Hi guys, you ask me anything of Water leaking / Waterproofing. The more complicated the question is, the better thumbup.gif

Waterproofing is not an easy topic. Sometime the leaking situation is very tricky and complicated. Sometimes its very straightforward.

Just ask me anything and i will try my best to answer when i have time. And i like to learn from others too.

The more challenge the water leaking waterproofing situation is, the more adrenaline i get smile.gif Especially those who appointed few contractors to solve waterproofing water leaking problems and yet still failed to rectify the water leaking waterproofing.

Those common water leaking i can share about are below:
1. Waterproofing Problem / Waterproofing Materials
2. Water leaking / Plumbing (toilet, roof slab, wall concrete slab)
3. Concrete crack repair solution.

In general, There are few types of waterproofing chemical
1. Liquid applied PU waterproofing membrane
2. Cementitious waterproofing coating
3. Chemical PU injection waterproofing system
4. Exposed waterproofing system
5. Self adhesive waterproofing system

Nowdays there are a few improvement in waterproofing technology such as
Crystallization effect, epoxy coating, Silicone waterproofing, water repellent coating etc.

I believe Water leaking or Waterproofing problem is the most nightmare defects rectification work compare other defects. Worse still some contractors proposed wrong method solving the leaking matter or some contractor disappear after owner engage their service and many nightmare stories that i heard.

I will be very glad to share some of my experiences rectifying water leaking problems or waterproofing problems and share my knowledge the best solution to rectify it smile.gif

First of all, apologize for my English and please focus on my knowledge sharing here smile.gif

user posted image user posted image user posted image

Share me what is your water leaking & waterproofing problem here. Learn together and lets solve it.

This post has been edited by Daang: Jun 1 2020, 06:41 PM
TSDaang
post Jun 1 2020, 06:28 PM

14 posts

Reserve for typical waterproofing problem to discuss =)

This post has been edited by Daang: Jun 1 2020, 06:40 PM
TSDaang
post Jun 1 2020, 06:29 PM

14 posts

reserve for typical technical drawing waterproofing =)

This post has been edited by Daang: Jun 1 2020, 06:40 PM
TSDaang
post Jun 1 2020, 06:32 PM

14 posts

reserve
TSDaang
post Jun 2 2020, 08:29 PM

14 posts

[quote=moonhowler,Jun 2 2020, 04:49 PM]
hi Daang, thanks for taking over.

It is an honor! biggrin.gif

[quote=Zwean,Jun 2 2020, 01:25 AM]How much do you charge for a typical toilet waterproof work.

Retiling, can the old tiles be salvaged?

[/quote]

Rate is subject to the condition of the toilet area.
A proper investigation needed to identify the water leaking issue and using the right method to solve it for long lasting nod.gif

I guess many home owners experiences the water leaking was fix by contractors but the water leaking comes back after days, weeks, months....

Basically these are the method type of waterproofing repairs at toilet area depending the structural toilet floor condition.

1. PU injection chemical (no hacking)
2. Epoxy grout between the tiles joint (no hacking)
3. Epoxy flake coating (no hacking)
4. Water repellent chemical between the tiles joint (no hacking)
5. Hacking and redo everything new. New waterproofing, new screeding, new tiles.

To each method type waterproofing, there are advantages and disadvantages. nod.gif

_____________________________________________________________________________________________

Your question regarding retiling is absolutely necessary to change if hollow sound can be heard on tiles excl.gif
It must be replace as soon as possible because over time as moisture / water will be able penetrating into tiles and structural concrete. This will create big problem in future.

The present of moisture / water over time in concrete will result concrete deterioration that will encourage mold growth, bacteria growth and steel corrosion.
The concrete deterioration means weaker concrete strength and will eventually lead to structure concrete failure.
Structure concrete failure means massive crack inside the concrete.

That is the reason we always say be careful purchasing old house as massive repair needed to be done. Water leaking problem. Waterproofing problem. Crack everywhere. icon_idea.gif

user posted image mold growth

This post has been edited by Daang: Jun 2 2020, 08:35 PM
TSDaang
post Jun 4 2020, 01:36 AM

14 posts

1. PU injection chemical (no hacking)

Advantage rclxm9.gif
Fast job,
no hacking concrete,
filling up the concrete crack structure (inside the concrete)
effective and the most used at site construction repair.

Disadvantage
messy and dirty,
there is chance the water leaking find new exit point,
home owner require to patch up the new plaster ceiling.

2. Epoxy grout between the tiles joint (no hacking)

Advantage rclxm9.gif
Fast job,
no hacking concrete,
filling up the minor crack joint between the tiles joint surface (top surface)

Disadvantage
It did not solve the big crack inside the concrete.
If big crack exist inside concrete, the leaking will come back because epoxy grout mostly treated the top surface part.
The additional movement & vibration concrete, the epoxy grout will wear and tear out.
Many public unaware contractors using tiles joint filler or cement grout filler instead of epoxy grout filler.

3. Epoxy flake coating (no hacking)

advantage rclxm9.gif
no hacking concrete
instantly cover your dirty floor tiles
Create many design patterns

Disadvantage
Cover up existing beautiful tiles,
time consuming as it takes 2 – 3 days to fully cured
it did not solve concrete structure crack (inside the concrete)

4. Water repellent chemical between the tiles joint (no hacking)
Advantage rclxm9.gif
Fast job
no hacking
easily DIY yourself
economical

Disadvantage
The leaking coming back soon, the water repellent wont last long.

5. Hacking and redo everything new. New waterproofing, new screeding, new tiles.

advantage rclxm9.gif

The one time solution that solve everything.
Water leaking solved
concrete structure strengthens

Disadvantage
time consuming and may take up many days to complete
expensive
messy and noisy

The concrete structure is just like the center of human body. If the center of human body is not healed and let it slowly deteriorated (concrete structure crack). The whole thing will crumble soon and major fix repair is require. cool2.gif

TSDaang
post Jun 9 2020, 09:57 AM

14 posts

QUOTE(kennykck @ Jun 6 2020, 09:59 PM)
The upper floor shared bathroom ceiling has water mark during heavy rain (double storey house). What is the recommended method to repair it? Any recommended contact in klang valley?
Firstly need to identify the water leaking source, since you mention heavy rain only leaking,
1) it could be clogged drain that resulting water ponding, then overflow rainwater leak to the shared bathroom (this is not waterproofing problem)
2) if waterproofing problem, the need to study and access the condition. i) concrete surface (crack?) ii) the side of corner area (angle fillet) iii) does it have enough rainwater downpipe? iv) old waterproofing wear out?

You can PM for recommended waterproofing water leaking contact in klang valley. This will be good for lowyat waterproofing case study biggrin.gif

QUOTE(metalbod @ Jun 8 2020, 10:46 AM)

Hi sifus, i'm glad to have found this thread.

As you see in the image, i have a wall (between neighbour) that is moist at the bottom.  Neighbour terrace house is actually on a higher level (about 3 feet higher).  Our street is on a slope.  Wondering if there's any long-term solution that can be applied?

(Sorry I did not read the previous thread - not sure if similar problem has been addressed.)

Thanks in advance.
From behind
1) If you could somehow access the concrete wall behind, apply with fast setting mortar cement, best to hack alittle deep (U shape) into concrete wall before applying fast setting mortar cement. The bonding strength will be stronger.
2) Another option is applying epoxy sealer around the area.

From front
1) use PU grouting injection chemical to fill the porosity crack concrete.
2) many ppl scrap the painting wall / plaster wall and apply with epoxy coating or waterproofing coating. Then repainting back. It works and you wont see leaking patches however there is a possibility in future growth of mold inside the concrete as the water / moisture will still be there
TSDaang
post Jun 22 2020, 09:41 AM

14 posts

QUOTE(merci @ Jun 16 2020, 09:49 PM)
Hi Daang and sifus,

My masterbedroom bathroom is leaking to the lower floor. already did waterproofing using the solution but only last a few months and now starts to leak again. At the bottom of the stairs, there're water dripping from above.
Already asked quotation from a contractor. He suggested to do the whole bathroom.
What I'm not agree with him is the time taken. His proposal schedule:
1. hacking - 4 days for a 8x5.5' bathroom
2. Water proofing - 4 days( 2 days to cure and 2 days testing)
3. Tiling 4 days.

My question:
Is it really 4 days to do the water proofing?

I need shorter days coz I cannot take longer leave days.

24 hours or less for ponding test is good enough
The ponding test required 24 hours practice is good enough to determine good waterproofing or not.
The idea is like this, nobody showering more than 24 hours with the water ponding the whole floor. Each time ppl shower, the water discharge to the downpipe and dry within an hour.

2 days is possible with 2 coats waterproofing + 24 hours ponding test
Due to less ventilation in toilet, the 1st coating waterproofing may take longer to dry compare 1st coating at outside exposed to the hot sun.
It depends the your shower ventilation condition. To speed up the process get a standing fan blow it.
If your contractor able to time this work well, he can apply 1st coating on late evening (same day he completed concrete hacking), let the overnight 1st coating cure and proceed with 2nd coating the next day. In the end it just took 1 day only.

4 days (waterproofing + ponding test ) is possible subject to factors.
2 days (waterproofing + ponding test) with 2 coatings and 24 hours ponding test is possible too but with good planning.

Curious can you share what waterproofing solution did you use previously and the leaking return again after few months? You mention dripping, is it a continuous dripping even without using the shower?

QUOTE(PaintPals @ Jun 17 2020, 09:46 AM)
Do take note that it all depends on toilet size as well, a typical toilet re-waterproofing work that involves hacking would take up at least a week, the time consuming part are hacking and tiling and can get quite messy.  I wouldn't recommend those non-hacking waterproofing as it only delays the problem but not solving the root cause of it.
This is true, depend the toilet size, overall complete process it takes 6-7 days averagely for a typical size toilet.

Non-hacking waterproofing not recommended as it delays the problem and not solving the root cause.
This is also true especially the water repellent waterproofing, sealing between the tile joint, and other marketing gimmick waterproofing products.
why?
Most of the chemical will eventual wear out, less effective after months or 1 - 3 years (depend the concrete structure, how frequent usage of shower area). It only serve as temporary solution.
Imagine the rain repellent chemical you apply on car windscreen.

It also subject to the contractor knowledge method how to solve the given problem.

QUOTE(billyboy @ Jun 20 2020, 09:30 AM)
a friend was sharing a water leak problem   bangwall.gif

- 5 storey walk up apartment
- bought the 4th floor unit

apartment has several 'stalactite' mineral deposit from the roof.  several inches from ceiling coming down.  ranting.gif

- found that the problem comes from the toilet upstairs.
- owner upstairs refuse to repair their toilet

my friend did PU injection however water flow now to a wall.  the wall looks like coloured.  if look carefully, probably got fungus / mold.  rclxub.gif

any suggestion how to fix the problem without upstairs help ?  notworthy.gif

tks so much   icon_question.gif
Only PU injection can fix from below.

Always be ready that PU injection might need 2 or 3 times to fix the leaking. This is important when you discuss the warranty term. Best to have the contractor to warranty the whole area. Example your leaking area is toilet, ask the contractor to give warranty the whole toilet area in the event new leaking appear.

I like to share a more technical knowledge about PU injection chemical. PU injection chemical has two types i) the common contractor use is Epoxy injection chemical (very rigid), ii) Flexible polyurethane PU injection (flexible and able cushion concrete movement)

The chance of a highly skilled people handling of PU injection could solve in one time is in fact high. It takes into account using the right chemical PU and able to analyze the hollow concrete while they see the PU foam (yellowish thing) appear.

This post has been edited by Daang: Jun 22 2020, 06:26 PM
TSDaang
post Jun 24 2020, 10:21 AM

14 posts

QUOTE(chriskk @ Jun 23 2020, 12:00 AM)
Hi Daang,

Thanks for all the good advice you've given here. I wish I actually found this thread or did some studying on roof repairs before I hired my contractor, but I've made many noob mistakes and is suffering now because of it. I trusted my contractor on everything he said - and yet now have serious doubts on his guarantee.

Initial problems:
1. There were ceiling holes and water leakage and yellow patches on my car porch and master room toilet ceiling at the front of the house.
2. there are further 3 random spots on upper floor ceiling that has yellow patches

My contractor came and review and advice me since the leaking are at different locations, to waterproof the roof to prevent future and more serious damage from the leakages. He also patched the ceiling holes.

Day 1 & 2 : Applying the bitumen coat. He did this during a cloudy and occasion rain condition. He mentioned that the little bit of rain will not affect the waterproofing.
Day 4 : He patched the ceiling holes.

My problem came 1 month after the repair with the patches that he did on the 2 biggest holes - they started cracking and big "flat" bubbles start forming.
My contractor said this is not a problem of leakage (because he said his warranty only guarantee any further leakages, but not the patching of ceilings), the cracks/holes he patch is already done to their best capabilities - he cannot guarantee that the patches will last.

I would like to ask your advice what are the possible cause of these cracks + bubbles - is there any way to proof that the issue is because of his bad handiwork so that he will fix the problems as part of the warranty? I have found out that i seriously overpaid him compared to market rate and felt deeply unsatisfied that issues are already popping up in just 1 month after the repair and he is now saying his warranty does not include fixing the ceiling patches, but only repairing the roof if it continues leaking.

Thank you and sorry for the long post.
Happy to help around. Happy to share what i know.

Your question what is the possible cause of these cracks + bubbles. There is dampness / moisture in the plaster ceiling he patches.
If his patching of ceilings has (crack + bubbles), there exist "trapped moisture" within the ceiling patches. As trapped moisture drying process and this will be the result of crack + bubbles.

[u]Few scenarios[/U]
1) The previous dampness plaster ceiling he patches over it (if it is damp, should not patch) instead replace new plaster ceiling?
2) the small leakage return (try touch it if there is any dampness)
3) he did not scrap off the old damage plaster fully and patches over it? (lower possibility)

It is true that many waterproofing contractor only do waterproofing and they are not so good in rectification work like plaster ceiling, skim coat, painting work.

eyes sore
Cracks + bubbles in plaster ceiling is really eyes sore, sorry to hear that, hopefully you can solve the matter.

Best Waterproofing contractor for home owner
To solve waterproofing problem at home, best to find the waterproofing contractor who has experience in all kinds of waterproofing chemical products AND also good in rectifying the plaster ceiling, painting works. You will experience less headache.

This post has been edited by Daang: Jun 24 2020, 10:45 AM

0.0723sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 11:56 AM