Money in EPF vs Unit Trusts

Ramjade
post Jun 20 2024, 12:46 AM

24,427 posts

QUOTE(lola88 @ Jun 19 2024, 11:34 PM)
When u mentiOned most bloggers bought the stocks when the price are low, for the current situation when most of the stocks are over valued, it’s still sensible to DCA into QQQ OR SP500 ETFs right?

Also the Rm100k which u intend to put into SG banks, are u gonna put all Rm100k at one go to SG banks by this year or u gonna wait till the price drop?
Most of them practice market timing. They use technical analysis (which I don't do). They don't buy when overvalued. There are 2 schools of thoughts. One is buy when valuation is cheap. Notice I didn't say price. Eg Nvidia is actually cheap even though price is expensive (if they can sustain current demand). Another is buy at any price. Look at Amazon and Costco, never go on sale. What is expensive now is actually cheaper in the future. Same with ringgit. I started my journey when RM Vs 3.0 Vs SGD and 4.0-4.2 Vs USD. You need to pick your camp. I am both camp. I practice market timing. Something I just buy regardless of price.

That's the beauty of being flexible. No need die die buy sg banks. Buy other quality companies that are on sale.

I already did my purchases early this year. Maybe this is new thing I said, the RM100k I can always divert elsewhere if no good deals. Not die die must buy sg banks. Must learn how to be flexible. My 100k already allocated into sg banks early this year when price was still low.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jun 20 2024, 07:10 AM
Ramjade
post Jun 20 2024, 08:44 AM

24,427 posts

QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Jun 20 2024, 08:11 AM)
scare will be like interpac dana sufi only
All funds will not perform eventually. Need to monitor. Also I od t touch anything shariah.
Ramjade
post Jun 28 2024, 08:42 AM

24,427 posts

QUOTE(torres09 @ Jun 27 2024, 11:27 PM)
Hi sifu's here. I have a few questions here regarding my investments with Public Mutual from my EPF account 1.

1. How do you know if the returns from PM is lower or higher than what you would've got if you had kept the money in EPF account 1?
2. My way of calculation is (since I didn't touch my EPF account 2), I take my current account 2 balance as 30%, and assume how much should my EPF account 1 70% should be. For example, if I have 30k in my account 2 now, my account 1 should have 70k, if I did not withdraw to EPF. Is this method correct?
3. I am very confused with how PM show the fund performance in PMO app. The returns are shown as total unrealised P/L from the total investments into the fund. For example, I might see a return of 70% which seems great, but considering it has been more than 10 years without top up, it actually isn't that great. In 10 years considering an average of 5% EPF dividend, my money would've doubled! Isn't this misleading?
Hopefully someone can enlighten me as I am not invested in other unit trust funds except PM.
Try this excel on the first page.
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4193169

Not sure if you can get the fund code from public mutual. If cannot get, you cannot use the excel file.

Also don't use app. Use desktop where possible.

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.0299sec    0.87    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 12:10 PM