Bump Topic Topic Closed RSS Feed New Topic New Poll

> Refund of broken stuff

ff7yta
post Jul 29 2007, 06:13 PM, updated 19y ago

Rookie
1,091 posts

I want to get some opinions on a sale that I have made. I will not mention who the buyer is yet because I need a few opinions.

I sold a stick of Samsung 256MB SDRAM which is in excellent condition. I have been using the ram all the time. The day I cod with 'buyer', I remove it fresh from my pc.

Before cod, I have tested the ram with SP2004 Othros for 6 hours and there was no error returned.

I sold the ram and one day later, he sms me saying that the ram is faulty. He states:
Can detect n run. But fail on several ramtester ive used. So, can get weird problem sumtime like fatal error or etc.

Now, he claims that my ram is faulty and he wants a refund. When maybe, he damaged it after I sold the ram to him.
Should I refund or not?

I do not have any pictures or proof showing that the ram was 100% functional before sending it out.

This post has been edited by ff7yta: Jul 30 2007, 08:08 PM
Andy0625
post Jul 29 2007, 06:16 PM

Certified Newbie
3,910 posts

Ask the buyer hand you the ram back and you test it on your pc again.

Refunding will be the last priority. wink.gif
ff7yta
post Jul 29 2007, 06:17 PM

Rookie
1,091 posts

QUOTE(Andy0625 @ Jul 29 2007, 06:16 PM)
Ask the buyer hand you the ram back and you test it on your pc again.

Refunding will be the last priority. wink.gif
I tell him that I need to test the ram with my own pc first before I can refund him? What happen if he damaged my ram when he was using it - mishandled drop, and when I test its faulty and is considered my fault?

It actually uses a lot of my time to cod with him. The day of sale already took 35 minutes as he was late.

This post has been edited by ff7yta: Jul 29 2007, 06:23 PM
CHIP CN
post Jul 29 2007, 06:23 PM

Tuned by CHIP CN
1,262 posts

ignore him... if kingston ask him rma himself, if not test back that ram maybe not comparetible with his pc
ff7yta
post Jul 29 2007, 06:28 PM

Rookie
1,091 posts

QUOTE(CHIP CN @ Jul 29 2007, 06:23 PM)
ignore him... if kingston ask him rma himself, if not test back that ram maybe not comparetible with his pc
Thats the worse solution I can have. I can consider it AFTER refunding him.

Plus, its samsung.
StratOS
post Jul 29 2007, 06:32 PM

Berries~ Mmmm~
20,901 posts

U can ask the buyer to send back the RAM to you for you to test and confirm whether its faulty or not.. Dont do any refund without knowing the condition of the actual stuff..
ff7yta
post Jul 29 2007, 06:36 PM

Rookie
1,091 posts

If I found out that the ram IS faulty after it comes back to me, how?
StratOS
post Jul 29 2007, 06:50 PM

Berries~ Mmmm~
20,901 posts

You COD rite...? And the buyer agreed the RAM in good condition after you last tested right? And normally RAM's are lfetime warranty. So ask the buyer go warranty him/herselves. After sales its none of your business unless you gave personal warranty to the buyer.

This post has been edited by StratOS: Jul 29 2007, 06:50 PM
ff7yta
post Jul 29 2007, 06:54 PM

Rookie
1,091 posts

We cod, but we didnt say anything. He was in a hurry to leave.

He did not state/agree/mentioned/questioned that the ram was in good condition during receival.

Based on my thread, I stated a personnal warranty of one week. Since we didnt talk, no warranty was mentioned.

Samsung ram, how to get warranty?

This post has been edited by ff7yta: Jul 29 2007, 06:55 PM
wKkaY
post Jul 29 2007, 06:57 PM

misutā supākoru
6,008 posts

I would expect these from the two parties:

Buyer
1) musn't overclock his computer while testing
2) must run the memory tests with existing hardware first, and then with the new hardware added

Seller
1) Prime95 isn't a memory tester. When you receive the memory from the buyer, run it through something like memtest86.
2) should have the right to refuse a refund if the memory is physically dodgy.
pal33x
post Jul 29 2007, 07:27 PM

379 posts

2) should have the right to refuse a refund if the memory is physically dodgy.

i sold a ide hardisk to a pakcik
then tomorrow he said 1 pin patah
and ask for refund
don wan argue with a pakcik
just refund him

if the ram is physically farkap
no refund
easy
ff7yta
post Jul 29 2007, 08:40 PM

Rookie
1,091 posts

I'm the seller.

But how am i going to prove if the mem is physically imperfect AFTER the transaction if the pictures i have before is unclear?

This post has been edited by ff7yta: Jul 29 2007, 08:41 PM
amirsubhi
post Jul 29 2007, 09:03 PM

The Power Is IN Your Hand!
1,472 posts

okay..da day u cod.he check all was fine right..

thats the key in this case if the ram was physically damaged....

ff7yta
post Jul 29 2007, 09:05 PM

Rookie
1,091 posts

QUOTE(amirsubhi @ Jul 29 2007, 09:03 PM)
okay..da day u cod.he check all was fine right..

thats the key in this case if the ram was physically damaged....
laugh.gif he didnt check at all. He just take it, pay and walk off.
KilJim
post Jul 29 2007, 09:51 PM

^-_-^ ZzzZzZzZzzz....
4,424 posts

Meet up and check the rams yourselves
If it looks like it was when you had it, then you should refund
If it looks physically damaged, then no refund

That would be my policy at least when selling items
AceCombat
post Jul 29 2007, 10:21 PM

5,434 posts

sometimes,this is very unfair for both parties.

maybe the ram is really not good when he recieved it,or maybe he spoilt it,we dont know too right?

so bro ff7yta,u have to check the condition and if can,test it on the spot so that u can prove that the ram is ok,sometime maybe his pc is got problem so cause the ram got problem and then this is the buyer problem liao.

Samsung giving lifetime limited warranty,that's mean after the ram discontinue then it will be no more warranty.
but if not mistaken,Samsung DDR is discontinued liao,no more warranty.
ff7yta
post Jul 30 2007, 08:09 PM

Rookie
1,091 posts

I have PMed the buyer to know the existance about this thread. smile.gif

This post has been edited by ff7yta: Jul 30 2007, 11:13 PM
sephirothvr
post Jul 30 2007, 10:33 PM

625 posts

zz, now onli u tell me about this thread.. here's my situation... bought 256mb ram for my old pc. my pc got 384sdram, 2 bank which is 256 n 128 running on 3t n 133mhz.. i got his ram, then put in in my pc, weird problem such as fatal error, bsod, n etc. tried memtester n failed. i took off his ram, everything ok. then try onli his ram w/o other ram, failed to boot to winxp at all. sms him regarding it, n he says he will test it, n he BLAMING ME for the faulty ram. btw, the seller also nice since he refunded me, so i see no problem till now this thread arises, whats ur problem bro ? i DIDNT BREAK the ram and i DIDNT overclock. plz stop blaming me n STOP saying im trying to cheat u..

if the ram got lifetime warranty, i still prefer the seller go rma rather than me doing it myself.

btw,

- it is not pyshically damaged (return to seller with the original wrapper, LOL)
- i tested it, and imform him already.
- run memtest n i leaved it for the night, sadly due to bad ram, it keep restard the windows.

i don wan make a big case out of it since u refunded the money, so its no problem to me.. im sorry if i offense u in any manner but seriously, stop blaming me trying to cheat u..

This post has been edited by sephirothvr: Jul 30 2007, 10:37 PM
ff7yta
post Jul 30 2007, 11:19 PM

Rookie
1,091 posts

Problem solved.
I wasnt blaming the buyer at all. Just wanted opinions on what I should do if it breaks. Oh well, much misunderstanding here.

Cheers to the buyer. smile.gif

0.0162sec    1.48    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 11:14 PM