UNIFIED SMART HOME - GOOGLE HOME AND APPLE HOMEKIT, Connected home with no compromises

razr_sped
post May 29 2020, 07:24 PM

393 posts

have been using no neutral aqara for almost a year already, so far still good, no neutral on my home phase and not doing reno soon
but i think main think terncy win like what you say 4gang n ethernet-connected hub if one required, plus point on region
but also important thing is unified frame work rather then brand loyalty is more important for swapping of device in future, and also local control
smart switches vs smart hub, i think for places like living hall i would have both if budget permits, but places like kitchen/bath/laundry can just use smart switches

QUOTE(blancpain4470 @ May 6 2020, 05:20 AM)
Interesting write-up. I have about 40 smart devices at home. Sonoff. Xiaomi. Alexa (4). Google. My unifi-provide tplink router was dying. So I upgraded my router to Asus mesh routers and connected my tplink to my main router and use the tplink dedicated to all my smart devices. It works like a charm and I can connect even more smart devices now without problem
its better to link up the devices to the hub and have the hub talk to the network, then your network will not be congested

my personal setup (current and planned) is per below
lights>>yeelight bulb on stand lamp no smart plugs, all dumb light with smart switches
smart switches >> aqara switch to control lights and fans (my fan i dont change speed anyway)
sensors >> aqara based
cctv >> aqara g2H (coming soon)
security alarm >> linking aqara sensor to trigger BT speaker (planning for homepod), currently the hub is the siren
AC control >>no idea yet, prefer aqara AC companion but it come in dif plug while tado seems not my cup of tea
vacuum >> still looking
auto gate>>iSmartgate but maybe will just macgyver it with switch module.
blinds>> i like how terncy planning to release just to motor module, but i seen hacks using the aqara curtain to "auto" sliding windows
dead bolt>> maybe will used august / level lock

no homekit hub yet, but budgeting for it

This post has been edited by razr_sped: May 30 2020, 09:11 AM
razr_sped
post May 30 2020, 09:06 AM

393 posts

my house already had old style cctv buit in, those using coaxial which im not keen to rewired it with PoE IP cable, there for will adding the G2H as extra as i can slot it as additional lens in the (locked) cctv casing.

2.4ghz wifi is ok, though not as big mine still have to covered 36oosqft but only 2 levels so that is alright. it was an issue earlier due to signal angle

good tip on homepod, will have a lookout for it

QUOTE(kokhoong0624 @ May 4 2020, 07:59 AM)
Control autogate (Terncy Switch Module) with Apple Home app, can use Siri and control outside from wifi network. TV and other home lightings  (Philips Hue Lightstrip) change color indicating gate has been opened (Terncy Door Sensor). Change back to original state after check TV is on or not (LG OLED B9) (white/off) when gate is closed.
https://youtu.be/UQV2US6nkb4
mind sharing how the switch module connect? i believe the terncy switch module is similar to the aqara wireless relay switch module, if so then perhaps i'll hook it as those are homekit certified too

razr_sped
post May 30 2020, 11:39 PM

393 posts

QUOTE(adamw @ May 30 2020, 05:08 PM)
There is EOC(Ethernet over coaxial) with POE available to replace analog to ipc. Been using more than 2 years no issue. Can even daisy chain to add in up to 7 ipc but max I tested was 4 only.
any recommendation, tried searching lazada/shopee macam no avail
thx for the info

QUOTE(kokhoong0624 @ May 30 2020, 09:56 PM)
[attachmentid=10505215]
This is how I connect mine. I think it's best to send your schematic to the official shop seller (either at Taobao or Shopee) and their engineer would work out and see how can yours be connected.
Keep in mind that they appear as switches instead of door in Homekit, but nonetheless worked quite well for me (able to open one door - left or right, two doors - which is not possible with ismartgate)
thx for the info, but i see there is suppose two physical switch how would it control left or right?
i suppose one switch should be one side, the the other switch is both side.
for ismartgate to control both gate, you need the pro version i suppose as the standard on have one switch for one door, pro has 3.
razr_sped
post Jun 1 2020, 05:06 AM

393 posts

QUOTE(hungrygodzilla @ May 31 2020, 09:09 PM)
Get the one with neutral wires right?

Also got the number of gang im a bit puzzled, for normal switch 1-4 gang related to the number of switch on the plate itself, but this product seems to only have the 4 switch design, meaning 1 gang = 4 switch on the plate that does 1 thing only? or is it they have diff switch for diff gang count?
get neutral if u have neutral, wont work with most house in Malaysia as its extra cost for contractor when building houses

0.0220sec    0.32    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 07:41 AM