7 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 >Bottom

Wise (Transferwise) Malaysia Discussion, v1.0

CommodoreAmiga
post Mar 8 2023, 10:23 PM

3,864 posts

I would still use WISE over RHB. So far my Wise support is very good. This is more important. Whatever the small exchange rates is negligible. I don't trust RHB and has little faith in Bigpay(which I also have).

WISE for me.
CommodoreAmiga
post Mar 9 2023, 11:43 AM

3,864 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Mar 9 2023, 09:54 AM)
no need to be exclusive smile.gif i use whatever that is cheaper and/or less mahfan...
not entirely true... rhb is cheaper if you are sending big amount... and wise cannot send >RM 30k per day.... money park in rhb got interest... wise no interest... rhb paywave works properly... yada yada... lol...
It's not about exclusive. When you are overseas, you want the most reliable card that works and customer service that's response to you. Interest in debit card doesn't interests me...Its not like I will put 100k inside. What for? I will only put in enough for my use and ensure I can top up reliably online if needed when I am overseas.

Paywave is not a big issue. As long as PIN works, it doesn't bother me at all.
CommodoreAmiga
post Mar 10 2023, 02:51 PM

3,864 posts

Wise now partnered with Interactive Brokers and you can fund your account via through Wise in IBKR portal for faster transfer.

https://www.interactivebrokers.com/lib/csto...ntent/418894543

🙂🙂🙂
CommodoreAmiga
post Mar 23 2023, 08:26 AM

3,864 posts

QUOTE(ericlaiys @ Mar 22 2023, 08:16 PM)
Besides that apple pay, google play also can added. Yahoo! can use wise on these 2
Googlepay cannot. Others not sure.
CommodoreAmiga
post Mar 23 2023, 01:38 PM

3,864 posts

QUOTE(ericlaiys @ Mar 23 2023, 12:21 PM)
i have added. maybe coz my wise digital card is UK version. that why can add into both
Yes, UK can. Malaysia card cannot.
CommodoreAmiga
post Mar 28 2023, 05:22 PM

3,864 posts

Just withdrawn 10,000 yen from Seven Eleven Bank ATM. There is an additional 110 yen charge per 10k yen. If withdraw 20k, it's 220 yen charge.

This post has been edited by CommodoreAmiga: Mar 28 2023, 05:23 PM
CommodoreAmiga
post Mar 30 2023, 08:56 AM

3,864 posts

Yesterday and today used at 7-11 and Hotel in Japan. They cucuk the card in, not Wave, but don't need to key in PIN no. Straight approved. Hmm...
CommodoreAmiga
post Mar 31 2023, 03:00 PM

3,864 posts

QUOTE(ragk @ Mar 31 2023, 02:36 PM)
Got mine in 2 week, just got it last week

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I'm going to NZD soon, can I keep all my money in MYR and just use it right away?
Yes, it will auto convert if you don't have ready currency of the transactions.

CommodoreAmiga
post Apr 15 2023, 09:04 AM

3,864 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Apr 15 2023, 08:56 AM)
Injecting RM into your Wise account via bank transfer should be free. FX spread has widen to some 0.7% (no more 0.4%...). Foreign ATM withdrawal will always be expensive as the idea is to keep the funds within Wise and force you to spend it via Visa/Mastercard for them to earn the interchange/card fee. tongue.gif
For every 10,000 yen withdrawal in Seven ATM Japan, I kena charged 110 yen. 1.1%. Ok lah, not too bad. Rather than keeping so much cash, I can with draw only when I need more.

QUOTE(magika @ Apr 15 2023, 08:44 AM)
A question. If we inject RM into our account , there will be a 0.41% fees. Converting into foreign currencies another 0.41% bring to a total of 0.82%, which will be the costs for foreign retail spending. Foreign atm withdrawal will incur another RM5 + 1.75% cost. So is it still worth it for foreign retail and atm withdrawal?
Topping up RM is free and no charges. Foreign ATM withdrawal is free for the first X amount (can't remember) within the month. But of course ATM charges from foreign Bank applies for each withdrawal. Just use a combo of both. I pay with card wherever possible (example, all my big ticket item in Japan trip paid with card, like Hotels, Shinkansen(bought online prior), bus fares etc). So you don't really need so much cash. Unless you go to a country which is totally cash dependant.

This post has been edited by CommodoreAmiga: Apr 15 2023, 09:11 AM
CommodoreAmiga
post Apr 15 2023, 09:26 AM

3,864 posts

QUOTE(magika @ Apr 15 2023, 09:16 AM)
Thanks for all the replies.
I was thinking whether its worth changing at local money changer vs withdrawal once in foreign destinations via atm.
No matter how, always prepare some cash. You won't know for sure if you can withdraw successfully at foreign destination. Ex, in Japan ,you can withdraw from Seven Bank ( a big group of Seven Banks I think, somehow also linked with 7-11? Not sure...lol) and Japan Post office ATM. Other ATMs might not work. So research the country you are going to and see which ATM works and doesnt. WISE has info in their FAQs.

If you have other foreign currecies which is widely accepted like USD, Euro, SGD etc. Bring them along as standby and convert if needed. I have found Pocket Machines in Japan which accept all the small notes (money changer won't accept) and I hentam all the small Euro, Won, SGD and convert it to credit to topup my Suica card (like TNG card there). Also changed all m Thai baht since dont intend to go there anytime soon anymore.

This post has been edited by CommodoreAmiga: Apr 15 2023, 09:29 AM
CommodoreAmiga
post Apr 15 2023, 09:31 AM

3,864 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Apr 15 2023, 09:30 AM)
I must have earned lots of interchange fees from you. laugh.gif
Eh...what? Tak faham...🤔
CommodoreAmiga
post Apr 15 2023, 09:46 AM

3,864 posts

QUOTE(gooroojee @ Apr 15 2023, 09:44 AM)
means he work in Visa/Mastercard
😂
CommodoreAmiga
post Apr 15 2023, 11:46 AM

3,864 posts

QUOTE(magika @ Apr 15 2023, 11:20 AM)
Pay with card ... means pay with credit card ?

So wise card not totally dependable for atm withdrawal ? Will be going overseas more often for holidays so weighing my options of needing moneychanger services .
I meant pay with the WISE debit card. I haven't use my credit card for any transactions in Japan. And yes, you must always do your research and see which ATM can withdraw with WISE in the country you are going to. Always plan your trip. Don't wait until there , then kelam kabut.

CommodoreAmiga
post Apr 16 2023, 09:58 AM

3,864 posts

QUOTE(Mattrock @ Apr 16 2023, 09:55 AM)
I just sold off a property in Australia and expecting to receive the proceeds in my AZ bank soon. My plan is to bring back the funds here as I am consolidating my assets. Preference is to maintain the funds in AUD instead of converting to MYR. I think Wise can only hold RM20k worth of money, so option to use Wise for transfer look not feasible as anything above 20k will be converted to MYR and deposited into local bank account. So now I am thinking of TT old fashion way to my local bank's Foreign Currency accounts instead and dump it to FD after. Hopefully not too many questions asked by bank where the funds are coming from...
Unless you are Helang like Najib, sure kena persoal. Better keep your funds in AUD and bring in partial small amount in batches.
CommodoreAmiga
post Apr 16 2023, 02:42 PM

3,864 posts

QUOTE(bokbokchai @ Apr 16 2023, 01:39 PM)

I can still change wor?
I think all those issued locally, accounts country are locked. Unless your WISE were issued elsewhere.
CommodoreAmiga
post Apr 16 2023, 03:36 PM

3,864 posts

QUOTE(bokbokchai @ Apr 16 2023, 03:06 PM)
got my card from malaysia. am unsure. maybe my case is exceptional?
Mine is blocked. Maybe they missed out yours...let me help you report this problem...brows.gif
CommodoreAmiga
post Apr 17 2023, 11:32 AM

3,864 posts

QUOTE(ericlaiys @ Apr 17 2023, 09:47 AM)
all charge
Small charge ok lah, better than carry tons of cash and gets mugged..
CommodoreAmiga
post Apr 18 2023, 10:58 AM

3,864 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Apr 18 2023, 07:54 AM)
des why have to pay for your decisions lor... find balance...

go atm often got higher risk of getting rob also... hahaha...
Depends where...Japan very safe. Thailand, I can't say.
CommodoreAmiga
post Apr 19 2023, 12:10 PM

3,864 posts

QUOTE(Super2047 @ Apr 19 2023, 09:58 AM)
Hi guys, just to check if I travel to Singapore and want to do ATM withdrawal there using Wise debit card, any charges for that? Thanks.
Ikely will have, just check at WISE FAQ or ask WISE support.
CommodoreAmiga
post Apr 19 2023, 11:01 PM

3,864 posts

QUOTE(Paradigmata @ Apr 19 2023, 09:57 PM)
Anyone can assist me?

I screw up my transfer.

Now 9k ringgit stuck in between

I used fpx using maybank not successful. So I use the manual bank in, using instant transfer to wise JPMorgan bank.

After that I cannot exit to main page without clicking cancel transfer in wise app navigation. I click cancel, all screw up.

The wise app detect I request to cancel the transaction. Now asking me to fill up my bank details to receive the refund
You use FPX to the transfer EPF self contribution? If I remember correctly, you can just use normal transfer from Maybank.
Anyway, nothing much you can do now, just follow Wise instructions. They are very efficient. Don't worry.

7 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 >Top

0.0945sec    0.58    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 09:46 PM