FKLI , Futures

json0324
post Sep 17 2011, 10:58 PM

57 posts

QUOTE(pchan84 @ Jun 25 2011, 05:43 PM)
Anyone interested in online futures trading? Pm me for the rate!
HI All,

a noob question here. just to check, if let's say we buy short FKLI for a contract ( eg spot-month).
Does it mean we can not sell it off before the end of month just like shares ?
In other words, we have to wait till month-end to know whether we make or lose?
is there any forum/blog for us to learn more about it ?

TQ
Disciple
post Sep 18 2011, 08:34 AM

Master of Disaster
2,272 posts

QUOTE(json0324 @ Sep 17 2011, 10:58 PM)
HI All,

a noob question here. just to check,  if let's say we buy short FKLI for a contract ( eg spot-month).
Does it mean we can not sell it off before the end of month just like shares ?
In other words, we have to wait till month-end to know whether we make or lose?
is there any forum/blog for us to learn more about it  ?

TQ
of course you can sell it before the expiry... if you make a gain, you can sell it straight, even intra day, to realise profit.

or touch wood, incur some losses, and you would want to cut loss, you can also sell it to cut loss.

you can even roll it up to the next month, as in sell spot month, buy next month in this case, if you want to hold it to the next month.
wongmunkeong
post Sep 18 2011, 08:58 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

Bros, Sis & Sifus,
any good books to recommend for KLCI Index Futures trading, for a greenhorn in KLCI Index Futures but experience "longing" stocks?

FYI - the reason i'm getting into KLCI Index Futures is for "shorting" but somehow, i still cant get the gist and calculations
eg.
4 types of contracts we can long or short
a. Current month aka Spot (right?)
b. Next Month
c. 3 months
d. 6 months

IF say KLCi is now 100 and i expect it to go down to 80 in 3 months
I'd SELL 1 or more
3 MONTHS contracts
for say 90 ie. above 80 and my target profit of 10 per contract?

OR

I'd BUY 1 or more
3 MONTHS contracts
for say 70 ie. below 80 and my target profit of 10 per contract?

OR totally something else?
My apologies for my blurness - just getting started and no books to refer to. Thanks in advance to all sifus and kind souls in leading me out of the fog notworthy.gif
BTW, i've signed signed up for Hong Leong's KLCI Futures platform - looks a bit alien to me but i heard that it can to trailing stop losses and stuff which normal stocks platform dont have (in MY lar).

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Sep 18 2011, 08:58 AM
json0324
post Sep 18 2011, 10:06 AM

57 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Sep 18 2011, 08:58 AM)
Bros, Sis & Sifus,
any good books to recommend for KLCI Index Futures trading, for a greenhorn in KLCI Index Futures but experience "longing" stocks?

FYI - the reason i'm getting into KLCI Index Futures is for "shorting" but somehow, i still cant get the gist and calculations
eg.
4 types of contracts we can long or short
a. Current month aka Spot (right?)
b. Next Month
c. 3 months
d. 6 months

IF say KLCi is now 100 and i expect it to go down to 80 in 3 months
I'd SELL 1 or more
3 MONTHS contracts
for say 90 ie. above 80 and my target profit of 10 per contract?

OR

I'd BUY 1 or more
3 MONTHS contracts
for say 70 ie. below 80 and my target profit of 10 per contract?

OR totally something else?
My apologies for my blurness - just getting started and no books to refer to. Thanks in advance to all sifus and kind souls in leading me out of the fog notworthy.gif
BTW, i've signed signed up for Hong Leong's KLCI Futures platform - looks a bit alien to me but i heard that it can to trailing stop losses and stuff which normal stocks platform dont have (in MY lar).
Hong Leong Futures? i was thinking to sign up as well since im using hle-broking.
BUt they still don't have online buy-sell features for futures right ? still need to call up the broker right?
Btw, whta's the initial margin desposit required per contact now ?

wongmunkeong
post Sep 18 2011, 10:09 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(json0324 @ Sep 18 2011, 10:06 AM)
Hong Leong Futures? i was thinking to sign up as well since im using hle-broking.
BUt they still don't have online buy-sell features for futures right ? still need to call up the broker right?
Btw, whta's the initial margin desposit required per contact now ?
Hey bro Json0324.
Hheheh - i thought as U did too since i was officially signed up with them when they started several years ago. However they now have an online platform (phew) thus, that's the thing i just signed up for. My apologies for my earlier miscommunication on "sign-up".

Per contract-wise, it's $6K if i remember (3 weeks back made a call to them) BUT me being a worry-wart, i asked them TECHNICALLY, how much should i apportion per contract to be on the safe side and i heard about $10K. Mind U, i'm getting on in my years (and ears tongue.gif), U better counter-check just in case.

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Sep 18 2011, 10:10 AM
weiho2902
post Sep 23 2011, 11:44 AM

19 posts

Hi Guys,

There will be a seminar on tomorrow 24/09/2011. Detail as below:
Feel Free to attend . Thanks

Date : 24 Sept 2011
Venue : Seminar Room 1

Tentatively, the program flow will be as below :

12.30pm - 1.00pm : Registration
1.00pm - 1.10pm : Opening speech by Bursa
1.10pm - 1.20pm : Introduction to Futures - FKLI/FCPO
1.20pm - 1.40pm : Introduction to Options by Bursa
1.40pm - 2.00pm : Golden Rules in Futures Trading
2.00pm - 2.30pm : Technical Indicator
2.30pm - 3.30pm : Invited speaker - Master Choong from WealthNexus

Above seminar shall me commented in Mandarin. Kindly take notes.
ngaisteve1
post Oct 12 2011, 02:07 PM

Software Engineer
6,779 posts

Hi all, cheapest brokerage fee for online futures trading is from hong leong futures?

This post has been edited by ngaisteve1: Oct 12 2011, 02:08 PM
post Oct 24 2011, 07:57 AM

QUOTE(ngaisteve1 @ Oct 12 2011, 03:51 PM)
i have sent you an email. thanks.
Hi may I know what's your company name? do you have company in Penang? my email address gwisdom1378@gmail.com

Added on October 24, 2011, 8:03 amHi, Yesterday I watched news regarding on EURO crisis plan.
Do you think today waht is the support & resistance index will be reached.
It is good for study & brianstorming biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by 1378: Oct 24 2011, 08:03 AM
oksrich
post Jun 4 2012, 10:43 PM

FKLI, look big earning on it. Need some advise from all forum friend,thanks.
john123x
post Jun 4 2012, 11:06 PM

3,019 posts

not worth it....

because bursa will manipulate the index....

like sell down a lot, but u cant buy at that price.

last minute end of the day 100 unit sell down...

slampdung
post Jun 4 2012, 11:59 PM

84 posts

can you tell me more?
candlestar
post Jun 6 2012, 05:45 PM

42 posts

actually you can just combine Fundamental and Technical analysis to predict the price movement
kueyteowlou
post Jun 6 2012, 06:06 PM

4,093 posts

FKLI need TA...

do you know about TA?
anep
post May 2 2014, 10:10 AM

OverClocker (Retired)
2,027 posts

QUOTE(yhzell @ May 28 2010, 09:51 AM)
Hi Guys,

I aware that we can Short sell Futures market when the market is bearish without any uptick rules. There was a huge sell off for this month alone and it was known as the very beginning of down trend. Anyone been riding the recent sell off on our index Futures ?

*Now market is recovering, go Long again because it is likely to fill the 2nd gap ? So confusing  rclxub.gif  !
sorry for posting in the archive thread. was looking for futures historical data. yhzell is this from Bloomberg?
yenboy
post May 8 2014, 11:53 PM

1,155 posts

QUOTE(anep @ May 2 2014, 10:10 AM)
sorry for posting in the archive thread. was looking for futures historical data. yhzell is this from Bloomberg?
ohmy.gif ohmy.gif
ohemmgee
post Aug 1 2014, 12:15 PM

144 posts

Can anybody help me clear my doubts here ?
If I buy RM2,000 contract for FKLI and then if the price drops to RM1,900. Do I need to cover back the RM100 ?

What is the minimum deposit required to trade futures ?
sayuriko
post Aug 1 2014, 01:23 PM

QUOTE(ohemmgee @ Aug 1 2014, 12:15 PM)
Can anybody help me clear my doubts here ?
If I buy RM2,000 contract for FKLI and then if the price drops to RM1,900. Do I need to cover back the RM100 ?

What is the minimum deposit required to trade futures ?

RM2000 contract for FKLI mean total contract value of RM2000 or 40 contracts?

If you have enough margin in your account, you don't need to pay extra.

The minimum required to trade futures depends on which product you trade, if FKLI mean RM4000, if not mistaken.

ohemmgee
post Aug 1 2014, 06:07 PM

144 posts

QUOTE(sayuriko @ Aug 1 2014, 01:23 PM)

RM2000 contract for FKLI mean total contract value of RM2000 or 40 contracts?

If you have enough margin in your account, you don't need to pay extra.

The minimum required to trade futures depends on which product you trade, if FKLI mean RM4000, if not mistaken.

Total contract value of RM2000.
If my account has exactly RM2000 and it drops to RM1900.
What if don't pay to cover the losses ? What's going to happen ?

Where can I learn from A-Z about futures trading in Malaysia ? Any books and so on ?

This post has been edited by ohemmgee: Aug 1 2014, 06:08 PM
sayuriko
post Aug 3 2014, 03:27 PM

QUOTE(ohemmgee @ Aug 1 2014, 06:07 PM)
Total contract value of RM2000.
If my account has exactly RM2000 and it drops to RM1900.
What if don't pay to cover the losses ? What's going to happen ?

Where can I learn from A-Z about futures trading in Malaysia ? Any books and so on ?

You have to maintain a minimum amount of margin (RM4000) in your account, so you won't get margin call, unless it drop below the minimum. If let say you have an amount of RM6000 in your account, it can have a maximum loss of RM2000.

Let put it in this way (example),

Let say now FKLI is 1880, and after awhile in drop 10 points to 1870.

You have Long the position at 1880 but it moves against you now.

Calculation: 10 points x RM50 x 5 contract (let say you bought 5 contracts)
=RM2500 (loss)

So which mean that you need to top up another RM500. *you will receive a margin call*
[RM6000 - RM2500 = RM3500 (which is not enough of margin in your account, thus you need to top up another RM500)]

smile.gif Cheers
Bonescythe
post Aug 3 2014, 04:37 PM

One Quarter In...
28,187 posts

Now after hari raya, 1 contract is rm4000.

so you might want to put more than rm4000 to avoid margin call/force sell

12 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 >Top

0.0266sec    0.30    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 03:45 PM