10 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Bottom

Travel To Japan V13, Everything you need for a Japan trip!

kenji1903
post Jun 30 2023, 11:05 PM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(amz_dreamz @ Jun 30 2023, 03:39 PM)
What is the procedure to bring medicines into Japan?
Like personal use medicines for hypertension and flu/cough syrup for kids.

Are they quite lenient about this?
I travelled in April/May and brought Zyrtec, Panadol liquid and about 30 Panadol adult tablets, eye drops, nasal spray and other medications, small quantities no issues
kenji1903
post Jul 8 2023, 11:12 PM

3,785 posts

My Kamikochi blog if anyone is interested, credits to taikor RegentCid for his info and feedback prior to our trip:
https://wlst-ourfirstjourney.blogspot.com/2...-kamikochi.html
kenji1903
post Jul 12 2023, 09:33 AM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(ZforZebra @ Jul 11 2023, 11:52 AM)
is mid apr an OK date to go japan for spring to avoid peak period?

march - early apr will be sakura season
end of apr-early may - golden week

or mid may will be better? but temperature will be rising as it gets near to summer.
tiring if walk whole day in malaysia temperature

somemore japan just opened its borders to tourists.
not sure how pack will it be.
would like to avoid super peak season to have a more pleasant trip.
Mid April onwards can go Tateyama Kurobe alpine route and Kamikochi… Japan every season also peak…
We went mid April to early May:
https://wlst-ourfirstjourney.blogspot.com/2...-route.html?m=1
https://wlst-ourfirstjourney.blogspot.com/2...ikochi.html?m=1

kenji1903
post Jul 13 2023, 11:57 AM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(Duckies @ Jul 13 2023, 11:23 AM)
All right. The Kawaguchiko area if I don't purchase the one day sightseeing pass.. I can still pay the bus per trip?
Might be cheaper to get the sightseeing pass, there are a few lines though, if you have time, take the blue/green one as it goes to the other lake

I took the red one, it covers the cable car and boat ride. But that route has nothing much to offer… The boat ride is worth it though, the cable car not so, so many people bangwall.gif
kenji1903
post Jul 17 2023, 10:48 PM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Jul 17 2023, 10:16 PM)
Do you recall whether the Takayama-Hirayu Onsen-Kamikochi Ticket accepts credit card or cash payment only? Thanks
Yup, Nohi bus station in Takayama accepts card
kenji1903
post Jul 20 2023, 06:07 PM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(amz_dreamz @ Jul 20 2023, 11:57 AM)
Same here, going to Japan with a 5 years old for 2 weeks in Nov. We will go to Nagoya, Kyoto and Osaka via Centrair (SIA).
Going to Legoland and USJ for this kids friendly trip.
Maybe we will cross our path smile.gif

For below 6 years old, the trains and buses fees will be free.
If I use my IC Card "manaca" with my kid, how should I pass the train gate? Just walk together? Or need to explain it to the staff at the train gate?
Most Japan train stations have a manual gate with a station master, you can ask them

Mine is 8 yo so he has his own kid’s Suica card
kenji1903
post Jul 31 2023, 07:44 PM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(ZforZebra @ Jul 31 2023, 04:55 PM)
I read from wise website. Their debit card can be used to withdraw from visa atm?

Can anyone confirm or did it before?

Cash withdrawals
You can also withdraw cash from most ATMs — except the countries specified above for US and non-US cards respectively. If you don’t know of any ATM near you, just use the Mastercard ATM locator or Visa ATM locator to find one.
confirm can withdraw from Seven bank ATM and Family mart ATM, done this in April and May 2023. There’s a withdrawal fee but forgot how much exactly. I written it down somewhere on my blog
https://wlst-ourfirstjourney.blogspot.com/2...anning.html?m=1
kenji1903
post Aug 4 2023, 08:19 AM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(greyshadow @ Aug 2 2023, 03:21 PM)
would 30K yen cash enough for 2 weeks in Osaka & Tokyo?
got additional 60k yen in a prepaid card that can withdraw at most ATM when needed as well
planning to use cards or alipay whenever possible hmm.gif
If hotels and entertainment is already paid for then, that should be enough.

But it depends on what you eat, how much you travel and how many temples you visit. Suica/Pasmo reloads and temple entrances are cash only. The rest can accept card

I budget 6000yen/day/pax for food… and spent a lot on transport and temples in Kyoto… Osaka and Tokyo wise, most places accept card
kenji1903
post Sep 9 2023, 09:21 PM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(getalong6165 @ Sep 8 2023, 12:04 PM)
Understood. Thats what been bugging me as i usually chug 3 litre water everyday. Keep looking for refillable station, even there is refillable water station at subway metro where there is water tap below the water fountain 😅
We bought water bottles from supermarkets as they are cheaper than kombinis
every night before returning to hotel we will buy 4 to 6 1.5L water bottles
kenji1903
post Sep 11 2023, 08:34 AM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Sep 10 2023, 10:00 PM)
kenji1903

Bro, while reading through your Kamikochi blog, I have one question. Did you make a bus reservation when you change bus at Hirayu Onsen, and also for the return leg? Or walk-in at the counter and wait for the next bus. Thanks

Hi bro

We bought return tickets in Takayama Nohi bus station which includes the bus change in Hirayu Onsen. There’s a photo in the middle of the blog with 3 tickets and time table?

Notice The bottom part of the long piece of ticket, you need to tear and pass to the bus driver for each station you hop on/off, the ticket is valid for 7 days from the date of purchase

If in doubt, there is a small counter inside Hirayu Onsen bus station, it was pretty empty when we went, just us and an angmo couple

Good luck and enjoy bro 😎

This post has been edited by kenji1903: Sep 11 2023, 08:36 AM
kenji1903
post Sep 12 2023, 08:23 PM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Sep 11 2023, 07:00 PM)
PRCs are back in force huh. My Sakura trip in Mar/Apr was quite pleasant cos I think that time they still not able to travel overseas (or something like that). But I guess it's only a matter of time.
I think it was mid/late May when Japan eased the China travel restrictions
Went Mid April to early May also not many Chinese, Disneyland longest ride wait time was the beauty and the beast castle, 45 mins…. The rest 10-15 mins only, so nice cos covered so many rides biggrin.gif
kenji1903
post Sep 19 2023, 08:03 PM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(1qaz1qaz @ Sep 19 2023, 03:05 PM)
Going to Osaka & Tokyo early November, need some advise/answer

Hows the weather (in person) ? from google is autumn between 8c - 20c
Like Genting/Cameron? normal sweater/jacket will do?
Pocket money mainly for food/daily transport etc, RM200/6500 yen +-
Enough for 1 day? (first time visit Japan) not sure on the price
Regarding shinkansen, from Osaka/Kyoto to Tokyo.
I plan to go Nara Park in the morning, maybe afternoon will travel to Tokyo via Shinkansen.
Need advise the following?
1) From Google, I need to buy ticket at Shin-Osaka Station? price is around 15k+- yen (not sure if price increased). Using Tokaido Shinkansen line
I need to buy a few day in advance? or is there cheaper option like buying online before traveling?

2) Should I take the Shinkansen from Kyoto Station? Direct after visit Nara Park
If yes, can i buy the ticket at any Station? or how?
I have written some notes on budgeting in my blog, not sure if it will help

It will make sense to get a JR pass if you are travelling a lot. I travelled from Tokyo-Nagano-Toyama-Takayama-Osaka-Kyoto-Himeji and back to Tokyo

During my stay in Osaka we took day trips to Nara and Kyoto and finally Hemeji
You might want to spend at least half a day in Nara, it’s a very nice place to walk around. Train from Shin Osaka to Tokyo is about 3.5 hours on a normal Shinkansen (Hikari/Sakura). You might reach Tokyo quite late if you’re on Nara in the first half of the day. There are ticket machines and manned counters at the JR stations

This post has been edited by kenji1903: Sep 19 2023, 08:26 PM
kenji1903
post Sep 20 2023, 09:39 PM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(1qaz1qaz @ Sep 20 2023, 12:45 PM)
Thanks will look into all the pass
But for JR i dont think is worth it? coz i will only take 1 time shinkansen from Osaka to Tokyo?
For JR pass worth it, and with the price increase? Coz my plan only Osaka > Kyoto > Nara > Tokyo.
I think will only take 1 Shinkansen from Osaka to Tokyo. And till now i still dont know how to tell which is JR train or other train loool
1 way ticket is for Osaka to Tokyo is RM500? but JF pass is RM 1000?

Ya plan to go Nara like early in the morning from Osaka maybe around 7/8am and spend half the day
Plan to walk around the park to see Deer and maybe go Higashimuki Shopping St and the famous mochi shop
And plan to go back Osaka maybe after lunch 1/2pm and take Shinkansen around 3pm to Tokyo and reach maybe around 6pm?
Do you think this is doable/viable? any advice is appreciated
Depends actually, you need to find out the tedious way
Use google map and individually add all the train fares then compare and see if it’s worth getting the JR pass… if not mistaken, all trains will increase price, not only JR pass, maybe @RegentCid kor can help confirm this smile.gif

Your Nara day trip plan sounds good 👍🏻

First time Japan travellers like myself also confused, cos the stations got segregate JR Shinkansen, JR metro and other non JR lines, just need to look for the correct platform. But the station masters are very helpful so don’t worry.
With JR pass you need to look for Hikari/Sakura, the Kodoma stops every station hence longer train ride, JR pass don’t cover Nozomi (few stops less compared to Hikari/Sakura). But if you are buying individual tickets, you can take Nozomi thumbup.gif
kenji1903
post Oct 6 2023, 07:17 PM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(Duckies @ Oct 5 2023, 09:38 AM)
Hi guys, I planned 4 days in Kyoto but most of the places I want to go is done in 3 days...I have extra 1 day left. After researching around, I've found the following places...which 1 are recommended ya? I am already going Nara so this is excluded.

Himeji Castle
Kobe
Nagoya
Hiroshima
Totally recommend himeji castle, some notes on my blog at the bottom of the page
https://wlst-ourfirstjourney.blogspot.com/2...-osaka.html?m=1
kenji1903
post Oct 7 2023, 04:26 AM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(kienhuia @ Oct 7 2023, 04:03 AM)
some question for the wise one smile.gif

Wise card -
You have 2 free withdrawals each month - does operate base on calendar date -(ie reset every 1st of the month) - presume the normal standard is to convert to yen and withdraw at ATM in Yen when arriving Japan at appox 30k yen per transaction (given anything over that will be charge additional 1.75%)

question - onward to third transaction, there will fees associate with the withdrawal, will each yen be charge at 1.75% on top of the fees ?

Since I will be travelling between 28 and 2 of the month, presume I will be able to withdraw 120k yen. will that be sufficient cash for the stay of 4 days ?

Presume we can use wise card as debit visa for other payment in yen when available (understand that will be the best option to avoid cr card transaction fees)

Wondering if it is possible to convert extra yen on card to other currency after the trip?
Not a wise one just a wise card user 😂

Note that the 2 free transaction from Wise is totalling 30000 yen, not two separate 30000 yen transactions, the local Japanese ATMs do charge a small fee. I have some note on my blog:
And Wise info here:
https://wise.com/jp/pricing/card-fees?sourc...P&targetCcy=EUR

It’s by calendar month, my last trip was crossing from Apr to May and I did one 30000 yen withdrawal upon arrival in mid Apr and another 30000 yen withdrawal in early May

You can covert JPY back to MYR or into any other currency supported by the card

You don’t need large amounts of cash if you are in Japanese major cities, you can tap your Wise card in most shops, just like a local debit card, no credit card fees

This post has been edited by kenji1903: Oct 7 2023, 06:46 AM
kenji1903
post Oct 9 2023, 05:21 PM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(Duckies @ Oct 9 2023, 10:09 AM)
I might go for Funaya...my girlfriend is not very keen on castles or temples hmm.gif

On side note, any recommended places to eat for lunch and dinner in Kyoto for 3 days? I know Nishiki market and Fushimi Inari market only.
ah ok, same with my wife but she enjoyed Himeji 😂

Then she might get bored in Kyoto… there’s nothing much aside from temples and shrines in Kyoto… very commercialised/touristy too, wasn’t lucky when it comes to food, not as good as Osaka from personal experience.

Maybe master RegentCid can help smile.gif

This post has been edited by kenji1903: Oct 9 2023, 06:45 PM
kenji1903
post Oct 19 2023, 09:10 PM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(RafaBenites @ Oct 18 2023, 11:31 PM)
Sorry about the noobish question, i tried searching for electrical point or plug but no one seem to talk about this. the voltage in japan is different to msia right? does it affect the charging time for devices? and need to bring along adapter right?
Phone/device chargers nowadays are dual voltage, just need an adaptor to convert Malayan 3 pin to Japan 2 pin plug

I charged iPad, iPhone, Sony a6000 and 20000mAh power bank with iPad charger no issues… charge timing is similar

It’s things like kettle or hair dryer if you bring from Malaysia then cannot use in Japan, voltage too low
kenji1903
post Oct 21 2023, 08:52 PM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(crazycrazyman @ Oct 21 2023, 02:38 PM)
Hi hi,

First time traveler to Japan Osaka/Kyoto in Mid November

Travelling with wife and a child.

Would like to seek for some pro advice here on how to purchase JR pass or JS pass, been googling about the differences but still no clear enough.

I'll reached at kansai airport on the 10th and go to Kyoto for a 4d3n stay, there after going to Osaka on the 13th till 18th.

Planning to visit Osaka aquarium (1day) and USJ (1day)

Any great itinerary and where can I make purchases for the tickets?

Any advices are greatly appreciated.
Osaka and Kyoto only not worth getting any pass, just buy train tickets

I have Osaka aquarium link in my blog:
https://wlst-ourfirstjourney.blogspot.com/2...d-planning.html

Can consider Nara park also, my son loves it smile.gif
kenji1903
post Oct 30 2023, 08:37 PM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Oct 30 2023, 05:42 PM)
Stairs, I cannot. cry.gif No lift? I don't mind walking further so long there are lifts or escalators.
Lifts you need to find, they are located at random places

I travelled with 6 pax few months back, 6 large suitcases, very inconvenient as the stations are huge… worse when you need to rush into Shinkansen… But there are a lot of travellers in trains so you won’t feel awkward with large luggage

Usually it’s only tourist and families with strollers use lifts
kenji1903
post Nov 27 2023, 09:18 PM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(kueks @ Nov 26 2023, 10:59 PM)
ic

wow 14 days lol why create such card?

i got suica back in 2015 , last used 2019
icoca back in 2018, last use 2019

4 years inactivity still can use right ? xD
Welcome Suica is 28 days, I used it for 20 days in my April trip no issues
There’s no deposit hence no need to return the card, but you have to finish the credit else all burn

https://www.jreast.co.jp/multi/en/welcomesu...lcomesuica.html

This post has been edited by kenji1903: Nov 27 2023, 09:20 PM

10 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.1095sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 10:10 AM