Intel® Core(tm)2 Duo/Quad Overhauled Rev. 3, The journey continues....

a1098113
post Dec 25 2007, 05:24 PM

~Retired~
3,119 posts

[attachmentid=366098]

this is my OC results

Setup:
Core 2 Duo E6750 (G0 Stepping)
Team Elite ddr2 800 @ 5-5-5-15
ATI Radeon 2600XT 256MB DDR3
ABit IP-35E
Silverstone Strider ST400
Dram:Fsb = 1:1
Overclocking Results for E6750
Ghz Fsb Mult Vcore Vmch
3.20 400 8 1.35V 1.25V
3.28 410 8 1.39V 1.30V
3.36 420 8 1.41V 1.33V
3.44 430 8 1.45V 1.33V
3.52 440 8 1.49V 1.33V

Vdroop in the IP35E is unbearable.. damn sweat.gif cry.gif

This post has been edited by a1098113: Dec 25 2007, 05:31 PM

a1098113
post Dec 28 2007, 12:09 AM

~Retired~
3,119 posts

i have an issue of stability with 3.6Ghz but i can do tasks and even run super pi. i just cant run occt.. need help.
a1098113
post Dec 28 2007, 11:18 AM

~Retired~
3,119 posts

err bro, u have to run a stability test first, and if it is not stable then reduce your OC.. till its stable. then run the test, after its stable, run super pi
a1098113
post Jan 2 2008, 11:50 PM

~Retired~
3,119 posts

make sure ur dram:fsb is 1:1 for stability.. and when u do high speed OC, make sure u add the NB voltage and the Vcore.. because ur playing with the CPU and the FSB.. well hmm sniper abang, i think urs is celing la.. coz like mine... it wont move at all, when i run orthos.. it hangs lol.
a1098113
post Jan 4 2008, 02:47 PM

~Retired~
3,119 posts

i am looking at penryns too. No point having the quaddies now.. still too hot for overclocking..
a1098113
post Jan 4 2008, 06:27 PM

~Retired~
3,119 posts

well never said that current quaddies cant be OC-ed, in fact it can, but not all batches can give you low load temps, there are two batches of q6600, and both in fact have high TDP(Thermal Design Power), 95W for the G0 stepping and 105W for the B3 stepping. this is relatively high compared to my e6750 which is 65W.

All i am trying to say is, for extreme air cooling without any burning i would wait for the 45nm procs which will give out lesser heat/core speed achieved.
a1098113
post Jan 6 2008, 08:57 AM

~Retired~
3,119 posts

hmm yes my E6750 can also go up to 410*8 at stock Vcore but it doesnt pass the OCCT test. So i notched the Vcore one higher. Also to note that my motherboard has a Vdroop of 0.02V, take that to count too.

a1098113
post Jan 7 2008, 07:21 PM

~Retired~
3,119 posts

by the way bro irangan, the wolfsdale E8*** which has the same clock as the E6750 but a higher cache, is it better than E6750, without taking count to the 45-65nm difference in architecture. Would it be alright to run the e6750.. ? Do u find any difference whatsoever?
a1098113
post Jan 7 2008, 09:39 PM

~Retired~
3,119 posts

QUOTE(clawhammer @ Jan 7 2008, 08:13 PM)
I think the wall mostly exists on older processors. If we see the current/newer ones, many tend to get a good OC out of it. I believe getting a wolfdale would be the right choice biggrin.gif
so bro claw claw, lets challenge e6750 and wolfsdale lor.. see who win brows.gif the only difference is architecture and cache size.. by 2MB.. brows.gif
a1098113
post Jan 7 2008, 10:40 PM

~Retired~
3,119 posts

hmm talking about limitations to the board, i cant help decide whether to let go of my abit ip35e or just get a better processor, theres a lot of Vcore increases and Vmch etc increase i have done but it just stops at 460Mhz(FSB).

Fair enough it does share the same clock but the cooling would be better figuring that its a 45nm assembly and benchmarking would be tad better than the e6850 dur to the cache.. hmm price.. how much is it now? is it worth getting it or is it better to wait for the Yorkfield instead..
a1098113
post Jan 8 2008, 08:42 PM

~Retired~
3,119 posts

so i guess id sell my conroe and go for the wolfsdale instead. hmm, thanks irangan bro and cstkl1:) hehe.

Hmm so this DFI board, anyone here got any experience with the X38s? coz my eyes are on either the EVGA or Asus

This post has been edited by a1098113: Jan 8 2008, 08:42 PM
a1098113
post Jan 8 2008, 09:49 PM

~Retired~
3,119 posts

damn thats a damn low voltage lolol. By the way whats the mulitplier range for the wolfsdale series?
a1098113
post Jan 8 2008, 10:15 PM

~Retired~
3,119 posts

nice.. with a little touch of 0.5 lolol. hmm what board is perfect for this wolfsdale?
a1098113
post Jan 16 2008, 08:27 PM

~Retired~
3,119 posts

well mine runs fine at 3.44Ghz with 1.50V.. can be lower but my 4 phase mobo dont help me much
a1098113
post Jan 16 2008, 10:12 PM

~Retired~
3,119 posts

@priest

hmm that you should ask dell, coz dell is very picky about this things.. worth asking though
a1098113
post Jan 16 2008, 10:18 PM

~Retired~
3,119 posts

sorry if i might have added the same post coz i forgot di sweat.gif

but ill post this again, so TS can add me in the list of the fastest e2140 around.

a1098113
post Jan 17 2008, 08:29 AM

~Retired~
3,119 posts

@master

nice voltage and super pi man, u should aim for the 13 second benchmark of pi. And also cant help notice that ur timings for ram, why dont u play with tighter timings?
a1098113
post Jan 17 2008, 09:12 AM

~Retired~
3,119 posts

@abang sniper

thanks man brows.gif

Anyone here knows which is a good 6-phase board for below rm800? Just a query, dont spam this question or ill get into trouble for this brows.gif
a1098113
post Jan 17 2008, 07:38 PM

~Retired~
3,119 posts

yeah do let me kknow man.. ram timings makes alot of diff ** just a tip** brows.gif
a1098113
post Jan 17 2008, 08:59 PM

~Retired~
3,119 posts

have u pumped some Vdimm for the ram? remember, that if u overclock your proc(especially higher ends), certain oc abilities can disappear, unles u have good ram. Play with LOOSER timings bro.. first.

0.0394sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 11:44 AM