SONY TV 2020 available for order

Andrewtst
post Aug 4 2020, 08:36 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,764 posts

Wow! This Sony X90H really is something! For half price of OLED but you get something very closed to it awesome quality!

Full array is awesome! I will consider this for upgrade my home town TV to 65". biggrin.gif
I can't afford 2nd unit OLED some more in 65" OLED, also my family mostly watch Astro where OLED is something better to avoid.

This post has been edited by Andrewtst: Aug 4 2020, 08:37 PM
Andrewtst
post Aug 4 2020, 08:41 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,764 posts

QUOTE(sonyman @ Aug 4 2020, 08:17 PM)
I was looking at it just now.  55 inch.  Can't really tell the difference between x8000h . Probably too small.  I also don't see any eArc  only arc.  4 hdmi but no. Hdmi 2.1
I also just check in both model, it is huge differences. X8000h look ok but they is no way near the quality output from X9000h.
Andrewtst
post Aug 4 2020, 08:43 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,764 posts

QUOTE(sixshot @ Aug 4 2020, 08:41 PM)
Ikr. I was watching some review on black level the other day between oled, qled n this sony x90h.

Oled win, but sony came a close second. Meanwhile, qled sux lol.
OLED confirm win because OLED black is exact black, no light coming out.

But this X90H is wah! frank speak very closed to OLED already, freaking awesome!

QLED - sorry to said I never like it, lower model QLED quality is very suck, higher model QLED price too much, I rather pick OLED for that price.

This post has been edited by Andrewtst: Aug 4 2020, 08:44 PM
Andrewtst
post Aug 4 2020, 09:28 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,764 posts

QUOTE(kohho @ Aug 4 2020, 09:26 PM)
Yeap, my gf just got back from senheng bukit indah (JB) . They said stock in coming Monday.
Original price was RM 10,499.00, possible Senheng give wrong information? This is brand new model, discount RM 1,500 a bit hard to believe. Haha!

Unless Sony itself put wrong price at website as the 85" now had no price. Haha!

This post has been edited by Andrewtst: Aug 4 2020, 09:29 PM
Andrewtst
post Aug 4 2020, 10:33 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,764 posts

QUOTE(sonyman @ Aug 4 2020, 09:41 PM)
I was looking at a 55inch x9000h Vs a 65 inch . If both maybe can tell the difference. But motion I feel x9000 better.
Not only motion, the viewing angle, the black and etc. Every part none X8000H can win. The extra money is worth the invest for X9000H. smile.gif

This post has been edited by Andrewtst: Aug 4 2020, 10:34 PM
Andrewtst
post Aug 5 2020, 12:29 AM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,764 posts

QUOTE(Convael @ Aug 4 2020, 10:47 PM)
I don't think a VA TV can contest with an IPS TV in any way when it comes to viewing angles though . Not even close .

Only the X950H has special optical filter for wide viewing angles ; the X90 doesn't though .
I seen the X8000H 1st, I found it very nice but when I walk away I notice viewing was quite obvious color change.

This is not the case with X9000H.

This post has been edited by Andrewtst: Aug 5 2020, 12:34 AM
Andrewtst
post Aug 5 2020, 09:13 AM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,764 posts

QUOTE(kohho @ Aug 5 2020, 07:59 AM)
Nevertheless, i'll ask her to go re-check next week once stock is in. And if it is ...  drool.gif  i'll just purchase it and update ya'll.
Hopefully it's Sony site wrong.

For price of 8K for 85" is very nice. biggrin.gif
Andrewtst
post Aug 5 2020, 11:41 AM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,764 posts

QUOTE(Convael @ Aug 5 2020, 11:18 AM)
Maybe they finally have a VA model for the TV ,  the 55" and 65 " I was looking at are IPS though which is consistent with rtings .
I not sure what panel they use, can't find any information from official site.

It looks freaking black, maybe is VA.
Andrewtst
post Aug 5 2020, 01:31 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,764 posts

QUOTE(mufihamid @ Aug 5 2020, 01:20 PM)
Can anyone confirm if the x80h in malaysia is indeed a VA panel?I know its definitely IPS in the US. Planning to get a 49 inch tv for dark room viewing. It would be awesome if it is V
I think X80H wise is IPS.

It cost not much extra for X90H, why don't just getting the X90H straight, it look better from design to screen quality.

This post has been edited by Andrewtst: Aug 5 2020, 01:32 PM
Andrewtst
post Aug 5 2020, 01:57 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,764 posts

QUOTE(mufihamid @ Aug 5 2020, 01:41 PM)
I would but the X90H comes in 55 inch smallest. I was looking for a sub 50 inch tv for my bedroom. It was either X80H or the Q60T. Guess ill have to go for the samsung then.
Frank speak Samsung Q60T quality look like shit, Samsung shouldn't release Q60 series as this total destroy it QLED brand on quality.

Samsung only Q80 and above series looks nice.

That 5" differences did not make any huge different. Wonder why you need 50" but had issue with 55". Hmmm...

This post has been edited by Andrewtst: Aug 5 2020, 01:59 PM
Andrewtst
post Aug 5 2020, 03:42 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,764 posts

QUOTE(mufihamid @ Aug 5 2020, 02:49 PM)
No space. I place my tv in between 2 wardrobes and its fixed. The distance between the 2 wardrobes is just enought to accomodate a 50 inch tv. 55 inch cannot fit. I did the measurements.
Oh I see. Maybe can consider do some renovation, now very hard to get 50" TV already.
Andrewtst
post Aug 5 2020, 10:41 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,764 posts

QUOTE(stasio @ Aug 5 2020, 05:52 PM)
X80H....IPS panel
X90H....VA panel
This tell why X90H looks greater a lot. biggrin.gif
Andrewtst
post Aug 20 2020, 11:23 AM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,764 posts

QUOTE(songwillie @ Aug 20 2020, 10:03 AM)
Hmmm... can show me what does a high speed cable means?
Saw optical cable HDMI 2.1 that is capable of 48Gbps.
Also HDMI 2.0 that is capable of 18Gbps...

Either one works? If I get the HDMI 2.1 (optical cable) but my amplifier doesn't support HDMI 2.1, will it still work?

Anybody knows?
48Gbps is the latest HDMI 2.1 cable, just go for this, it is fully backward compatible and future proof.

This post has been edited by Andrewtst: Aug 20 2020, 11:24 AM
Andrewtst
post Sep 15 2020, 05:05 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,764 posts

QUOTE(norazwan79 @ Sep 15 2020, 02:32 PM)
Do u mean x90h has poor local dimming?
have you tried setting like the video below? 
many ppl were satisfied with the setting.
They told no more blooming issues.

QUOTE(norazwan79 @ Sep 15 2020, 02:46 PM)
Did u face any blooming issues? Especially when turn on subtitles.
QUOTE(songwillie @ Sep 15 2020, 04:35 PM)
No issue with subtitle on SDR movies, only a bit annoying on HDR movies.
For OLED subtitle in black bar no blooming issue in HDR but still too bright if subtitle is in white color.

Lucky player I use can choose Light Grey for subtitle and this will eliminate the issue.

This post has been edited by Andrewtst: Sep 16 2020, 02:38 AM
Andrewtst
post Sep 19 2020, 12:12 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,764 posts

QUOTE(fick @ Sep 19 2020, 07:56 AM)
What player are you using?
I using Infuse Pro in my Apple TV 4K, the most customizable subtitle apps I ever found.

I don't play KODI, that thing is troublesome in every platform and I never like it.
Andrewtst
post Sep 20 2020, 02:26 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,764 posts

QUOTE(fick @ Sep 20 2020, 02:15 PM)
I thought you were talking about 4k Blu-ray player 😅
I have Apple TV 4k and hundreds of 4k movies in iTunes. I never use Infuse. What is for?
Infuse Pro is for personal collection movies. I use together with Plex where Plex as database catalog.

I REMUX all my Blu-ray collection, too lazy to insert disc already nowadays. Once you get use to browse directly, you would never want to insert disc.

For 4K Blu-ray player, I use Panasonic DMP-UB400 UltraHD Blu-ray. I can't REMUX myself 4K yet as I don't have 4K Blu-ray drive for PC.

Actually all mentioned in my signature. If you view from mobile, you need to choose desktop mode just can seen. Haha!

This post has been edited by Andrewtst: Sep 20 2020, 05:48 PM
Andrewtst
post Sep 21 2020, 01:10 AM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,764 posts

QUOTE(fick @ Sep 21 2020, 12:53 AM)
I can see that now 😂
I ordered Panasonic UB820 from Amazon and it’s arriving here tomorrow or Tuesday  😁. I have around 200 4k Blu-ray. Super excited to have that UB820
Congratulate, this is a better player with support of Dolby Vision and HDR10+.
Andrewtst
post Sep 24 2020, 01:50 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,764 posts

QUOTE(shinchan^^ @ Sep 24 2020, 10:55 AM)
possible to scale the down image  size when playing SD/HD on the nefflix?
Scale down... doh.gif

You can do this in your Netflix account, or just subscribe to SD if you want to scale down... ... ... ...

This post has been edited by Andrewtst: Sep 24 2020, 01:51 PM
Andrewtst
post Sep 25 2020, 03:01 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,764 posts

QUOTE(shinchan^^ @ Sep 25 2020, 11:19 AM)
oh what i mean is when i view SD on 4K screen
it got scale up with a lot of noise >.< wonder can see in scale down ver.
also  can we set the subtitle size?
some subtitle the size really annoying
Netflix had very little SD film to bother about.
Means very little movie is scale up to HD as it is normally at least HD.

If your subscription only can view SD, nothing much can help here.

For noise wise, as long not color noise, it is very ok as it is supposed like this especially older film which origin is analog. DNR is very bad and majority not accept it, that why you seen nowadays new Blu-ray remastered or 4K remastered, the noise is maintain.

As for subtitle, it depends on device. So far I don't like subtitle from TV, it is very big and very bright. At least it is for LG and Panasonic.

It just nice in Apple TV 4K box.

This post has been edited by Andrewtst: Sep 25 2020, 03:05 PM
Andrewtst
post Oct 8 2020, 05:00 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,764 posts

QUOTE(501-Elite @ Oct 8 2020, 12:56 PM)
Andrewtst Sifu ! Please advice  icon_question.gif
I don't own Sony TV.

But I play before Android TV box where can change overall subtitle at setting. I believe it is same for Sony TV since Sony TV is Android TV OS.

0.0626sec    0.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 05:23 PM