Insurance Talk V6!, Everything about Insurance

lifebalance
post Jan 27 2021, 10:59 AM

Licensed Financial Planner & Financial Adviser's Rep.
10,162 posts

QUOTE(dragonlady @ Jan 27 2021, 01:12 AM)
What AIA is doing is merely a marketing gimmick. Inside your policy it will state hospitalisation benefits. For example if you go to government you get for example rm60/day allowance. Or if you go to private hosp you get rm200 allowance. Now they just turn it around and say you get covid coverage. It’s a pay and claim basis coverage and SUBJECT to “reasonable and customary charges”. So if your bill is rm40k for instance but what is considered reasonable and subject to customary charges is only rm2k for example. So the other rm38k come out from own pocket la.

Always know what your financial rights are. Have an awareness of the timebombs in your policy.
Your scenario is alittle extreme.

The purpose of the reasonable and customary charges is so that the insurance company are not overcharged compared to the industry standard.

Example, a cost for surgery is average 10k to 20k but your doctor decides to charge 30k. Then the insurance company will definitely question.

Some doctors are even blacklisted by insurance company that they will not pay more than x amount if done by this doctor because of history of overcharging.

Your post is definitely not helpful but cause more unnecessary confusion and panic.
Ewa Wa
post Jan 27 2021, 03:59 PM

685 posts

What AIA is doing is merely a marketing gimmick. Inside your policy it will state hospitalisation benefits. For example if you go to government you get for example rm60/day allowance. Or if you go to private hosp you get rm200 allowance. Now they just turn it around and say you get covid coverage. It’s a pay and claim basis coverage and SUBJECT to “reasonable and customary charges”. So if your bill is rm40k for instance but what is considered reasonable and subject to customary charges is only rm2k for example. So the other rm38k come out from own pocket la.

Always know what your financial rights are. Have an awareness of the timebombs in your policy.
Are u an insurance agent and definitely not from A company hmm.gif

The fact is A company is covered for Covid hospitalisation which the only insurance company doing it. Which I think is very good thumbup.gif although I'm not representing this company. still give credit for this move in helping government to ease the covid situation.

taiping...
post Jan 27 2021, 04:22 PM

1,056 posts

QUOTE(Ewa Wa @ Jan 27 2021, 03:59 PM)
Are u an insurance agent and definitely not from A company  hmm.gif

The fact is A company is covered for Covid hospitalisation which the only insurance company doing it. Which I think is very good  thumbup.gif  although I'm not representing this company. still give credit for this move in helping government to ease the covid situation.
Really? No catch?
Cyclopes
post Jan 27 2021, 04:31 PM

474 posts

QUOTE(taiping... @ Jan 27 2021, 04:22 PM)
Really? No catch?
Consult your Life Planner if you do have medical coverage from AIA. They are adequately informed on what is claimable and how the process works. Not the time or forum to make unnecessary and uninformed comment.
taiping...
post Jan 27 2021, 04:34 PM

1,056 posts

QUOTE(Cyclopes @ Jan 27 2021, 04:31 PM)
Consult your Life Planner if you do have medical coverage from AIA. They are adequately informed on what is claimable and how the process works. Not the time or forum to make unnecessary and uninformed comment.
Errr its a valid question

U AIA agent?
Cyclopes
post Jan 27 2021, 04:46 PM

474 posts

QUOTE(taiping... @ Jan 27 2021, 04:34 PM)
Errr its a valid question

U AIA agent?
Yes, I am.
What I am saying is your agent would be the best person to advice you what course of action to take. Some comments I read are not necessarily true representation and this is where you make your money work for you too... get your agent to do the talking.
Ewa Wa
post Jan 27 2021, 04:57 PM

685 posts

QUOTE(Cyclopes @ Jan 27 2021, 04:46 PM)
Yes, I am.
What I am saying is your agent would be the best person to advice you what course of action to take. Some comments I read are not necessarily  true representation and this is where you make your money work for you too... get your agent to do the talking.
Kindly share ur information with us since you said "some comments you read here are not necessarily true" and u are representing the A company. Sharing is Caring bro to clear the doubt of us! really no catch? hmm.gif
Cyclopes
post Jan 27 2021, 05:14 PM

474 posts

QUOTE(Ewa Wa @ Jan 27 2021, 04:57 PM)
Kindly share ur information with us since you said "some comments you read here are not necessarily true" and u are representing the A company. Sharing is Caring bro to clear the doubt of us! really no catch?  hmm.gif
biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

"Here" I was referring to in general, does not mean this forum; there is another similar topic running in Kopitiam.

As a fellow agent you know the restrictions that we are subject too. However to address your comment, agents are informed/updated constantly on who, what kind of claims and how claims can be made if a policy holder is diagnosed with Covid-19.
lifebalance
post Jan 27 2021, 05:49 PM

10,162 posts

Really? No catch?
The hidden T&C is whereby, you sell your data to the insurance company/agent who register for you in return, they will solicit business from you after acquiring the data.

Unless your sole purpose is just to get the "freebie" from the insurance company without the agent blabbering anything to you, you can sternly tell them upfront not to waste their time if they're "helping" you.
yanniinnayy
post Jan 27 2021, 05:55 PM

QUOTE(lifebalance @ Jan 27 2021, 05:39 PM)
Hi boss, selamat petang.

Are you Allianz Agent or FAR?
What is FAR?

I'm Allianz Agent. Not doing any advertisement here.
Just sharing a free benefit to all since I saw people are concerned on medical expenses on COVID.
Please let me know if you think I have post anything inappropriate.
MUM
post Jan 27 2021, 05:58 PM

14,861 posts

QUOTE(lifebalance @ Jan 27 2021, 05:49 PM)
The hidden T&C is whereby, you sell your data to the insurance company/agent who register for you in return, they will solicit business from you after acquiring the data.

Unless your sole purpose is just to get the "freebie" from the insurance company without the agent blabbering anything to you, you can sternly tell them upfront not to waste their time if they're "helping" you.
sweat.gif sweat.gif for that ..... in return of
Cash relief upon diagnosis of COVID-19 & hospitalisation: RM1,000
Death benefit due to COVID-19: RM8,000 lump sum

Allianz Non-Customers may have willing surrenders the data unknowingly...for something that may have a possibility of happening....
(number of m"sian population vs the cases diagnosed...what are the %? for RM1000 or number of m'sian population vs the number of death,...what are the %? for Rm8000)

https://www.allianz.com.my/we-care/non-customers
lifebalance
post Jan 27 2021, 05:58 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(yanniinnayy @ Jan 27 2021, 05:55 PM)
What is FAR?

I'm Allianz Agent. Not doing any advertisement here.
Just sharing a free benefit to all since I saw people are concerned on medical expenses on COVID.
Please let me know if you think I have post anything inappropriate.
Kindly remove your avatar "Financial Advisor" if you're not one.

• Financial Adviser is a restricted word under section 139 of the FSA. No
person shall in its name, description or title uses such word, unless such
person is approved under this Act to carry on financial advisory
business.
• Any person who contravenes this section commits an offence and shall,
on conviction, be liable to imprisonment for a term not exceeding eight
years or to a fine not exceeding twenty-five million ringgit or to both.

Thank you.
lifebalance
post Jan 27 2021, 06:02 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Jan 27 2021, 05:58 PM)
sweat.gif  sweat.gif for that ..... in return of
Cash relief upon diagnosis of COVID-19 & hospitalisation: RM1,000
Death benefit due to COVID-19: RM8,000 lump sum

Allianz Non-Customers may have willing surrenders the data unknowingly...for something that may have a possibility of happening....
(number of m"sian population vs the cases diagnosed...what are the %? for RM1000 or number of m'sian population vs the number of death,...what are the %? for Rm8000)

https://www.allianz.com.my/we-care/non-customers
Here I screen cap from their T&C website on privacy, refer to d.

yanniinnayy
post Jan 27 2021, 06:09 PM

Thanks for informing!
MUM
post Jan 27 2021, 06:11 PM

14,861 posts

QUOTE(yanniinnayy @ Jan 27 2021, 06:09 PM)
Thanks for informing!
thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

just an added note...

the use of the term "financial adviser" will be restricted to the holders of a Financial Adviser licence and exempted entities under the Insurance Act.
The restriction on the usage of the term "financial adviser" will instill consumer confidence that the financial advice is from an entity that is licensed by Bank Negara Malaysia.

Introduction of Financial Advisers
https://www.bnm.gov.my/-/introduction-of-financial-advisers
ckdenion
post Jan 27 2021, 09:05 PM

Financial Practitioner
2,866 posts

QUOTE(wykoh2 @ Jan 22 2021, 04:15 AM)
hi wykoh2, yeap basically they will cover expenses if admitted to private hospital due to COVID. reason being is because their medical cards do not have this exclusion clause that excludes "communicable disease that requires quarantine by law"

COVID-19 falls under this exclusion. so without this exclusion clause, there is no right AIA can reject the claim due to exclusion. but there are a few TnC applies.
- from what I know, you cannot just simply want to seek treatment for COVID from private hospital. you need to go to government hospital and if government hospital refers you to private hospital, then only this treatment can be submitted for claims.
- there is no cashless claim facility for admission due to COVID-19. in another words, you must pay all the bills incurred then only submit it to insurance company to claim (subject to Reasonable and Customary Charges). for example certain items wont be cover like doctors PPE suit, face mask face shield and etc...

hi dragonlady, I wont say that AIA is doing marketing gimmick. more like agents are the one who use this point to do marketing. AIA has to cover because of the reason above i stated to wykoh2

Really? No catch?
hi taiping... not to say catch... more to TnC. can refer to my reply above.

This post has been edited by ckdenion: Jan 27 2021, 09:10 PM

anhydrous
post Jan 29 2021, 06:51 AM

45 posts

hi experts,

is it normal for Prudential to suddenly increase your monthly premium for medical card stating that they are revising the prices due to changes in cost of health care bla bla bla (price increase almost 20%.
MUM
post Jan 29 2021, 07:20 AM

14,861 posts

QUOTE(anhydrous @ Jan 29 2021, 06:51 AM)
hi experts,

is it normal for Prudential to suddenly increase your monthly premium for medical card stating that they are revising the prices due to changes in cost of health care bla bla bla (price increase almost 20%.
from what i read from past postings,...not only Prudential,....and some is even higher than 20%

there is an active thread about it in lyn
medical insurance cost sudden increase 29%, normal !?
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4753108

This post has been edited by MUM: Jan 29 2021, 07:23 AM
anhydrous
post Jan 29 2021, 07:25 AM

45 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Jan 29 2021, 07:20 AM)
from what i read from past postings,...not only Prudential,....and some is even higher than 20%

there is an active thread about it in lyn
medical insurance cost sudden increase 29%, normal !?
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4753108
thanks for the link

lifebalance
post Jan 29 2021, 09:28 AM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(anhydrous @ Jan 29 2021, 06:51 AM)
hi experts,

126 Pages « < 123 124 125 126 >Top

0.0967sec    0.39    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 01:46 PM