4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Insurance Talk V6!, Everything about Insurance

tyenfei
post Apr 24 2020, 02:22 PM

A Ku La Ma Tata
2,230 posts

QUOTE(farizmalek @ Apr 24 2020, 05:33 AM)
Thank you for your feedback. Yes, the medical insurance each covered for self, wife and my dotter.

The purpose of my posting is whether our current medical insurance is sufficient. We bought it in 2014 and that was one of the best at that time. Now i am 44 and to change to a new and better one will be expensive. Beside that o have already have illness although not that serious.

As a back-up, my wife is Pegawai Kerajaan and I have GL for government hospital (From my wife). Plus my sister (adik) is a specialist in UITM Hospital, Selayang (not hospital selayang). Plus without the GL from my wife, i am still covered for life for free from the government because I already donated blood more than 50 times to National Blood Center.

In term of life saving, as a seaman before and also working overseas,  currently I have cash: RM3,223,000 in my KWSP and ASNB. All my properties, land and cars were fully paid (No loans) and no credit card debt or personal loans.

I am still working.

My question is that, do i need to upgrade/change my medical insurance and also to get a life insurance from my condition above.
Sounds good for you.

Will suggest you look into critical illness coverage. Also wealth & legacy planing.
tyenfei
post Apr 25 2020, 04:19 PM

A Ku La Ma Tata
2,230 posts

QUOTE(smallikanbilis @ Apr 25 2020, 02:44 PM)
Hmmm I have always wondered why some agents ask us to buy medical insurance early to protect against escalating medical fees. Seems like there is no way to get a product that features fixed cost of insurance, guaranteed renewal, and no portfolio withdrawal clause
Start early protection mainly to cover against risk of illness.

For medical fees yes you can have affordable premium during young age. With the inflation increase you still be able to pay lower premium when age grow compare to those new join. Because system calculation for risk of age / illness are not same from time to time.

ILP medical good to start young as well.

You may get some quote to compare. Check the same sum assured and protection for young and old age.
tyenfei
post Apr 29 2020, 07:36 AM

A Ku La Ma Tata
2,230 posts

QUOTE(mackerelisgreat @ Apr 28 2020, 01:46 PM)
Hello, I’m new to the forum and need advice with the insurances I currently have. I would like to apologize in advance if my questions are very dumb. šŸ™šŸ¼

I have AIA Lifelink 2 and it comes with a medical card, these are the details:

A-LIFELINK 2
Coverage Amount: RM 100,000.00
Effective date: 17-DEC-2018
Expiry date: 17-DEC-2094
Premium: RM 200.00
Premium cease date: 17-DEC-2094

And then I bought another life insurance, the PB WealthElite:

PB WEALTHELITE 20PAY@70
Coverage Amount: RM 500,000.00
Effective date:24-JUN-2019
Expiry date: 24-JUN-2064
Premium:RM 266.25
Premium cease date: 24-JUN-2039

I’m a freelance translator and the company I worked with has terminated all translation work yesterday. I’m still in shock right now because that was my sole income. Right now, I would to have some money in my bank account in case of emergencies, so I’m thinking of cancelling the PB WealthElite. I’m not sure when this pandemic will be over and when I will have a proper job, so I would like to know if it is alright to cancel it or not, since I already have AIA Lifelink? I think both insurances have similar coverage (correct me if I’m wrong šŸ™šŸ¼), just that the coverage amount for PB WealthElite is higher. I need advice hahahah thank you! 😭
Like other suggest, try your best to keep the one with medical card.
Even if need to ask from family support ..if they affordable. Because the cost of hospitalization is high. Illness and accident are not predictable. Some more got covid19 extra benefit.

Mind to share your age and what kind of freelance job you in? Car / housing loan?
tyenfei
post May 12 2020, 03:42 PM

A Ku La Ma Tata
2,230 posts

QUOTE(zeigeist @ May 12 2020, 12:58 PM)
Many thanks for all sifu advice.
I want do it myself as my agent mostly will give alot "offer" to keep it run. But outbreak brad time, I memang can't continue.

I called customer care and they said can submit surrender form by email and copy of IC is enough.
For the witness sign, I asked them and they ok for leave it blank @_@. Maybe special case for MCO time all branch close?
Good to know can do it online.

My friend still waiting at Taman Shamelin now. After more than 1 hour still long queue ..

**not same company with you.
tyenfei
post May 16 2020, 07:30 PM

A Ku La Ma Tata
2,230 posts

QUOTE(ajin999 @ May 16 2020, 06:42 PM)
Hi, i never take any insurance before.

Been quote this from AIA(life link). Is it ok?

Pampasan kematian - 500k
Pampsan TPD - 500k
Pampasan penyakit kritikal accelerated 250k
Age limit 70
Cash value at 70 : 16k
Waiver and save : inclusive

Monthly : 300
Halo friend,

seems ok to me. can't comment much without knowing your age/ occupations.
for me I'll check more on fund history. waiver type is it inclusive TPD & CI waiver.

Btw, as you mentioned "never take any insurance before" .. I'll strongly suggest you get medical plan coverage 1st if no extra budget hmm.gif
tyenfei
post May 17 2020, 12:18 AM

A Ku La Ma Tata
2,230 posts

QUOTE(ajin999 @ May 16 2020, 08:23 PM)
Hallo sir. Currently only ride on company medical benefit.
age 28 and executive.

Could you elaborate on the fund history? do i need to select the fund or what?

Sorry noobies here

Tq
Suggest you find out the different having own medical plan compare fully rely on company medical benefit.

My opinion, always get own medical coverage in 1st place. Next will be life & critical illness protection.

If the life plan quoted for you is investment link plan, you may ask the agent explain for you. What fund selected, and why suggest it.
Another way is google the fund name in the quotation.

Fund performance will affect the cash value. Which is the one age 70 estimating 16K.
If fund not perform well .. your policy may not sustain till age 70. (depending product type)
tyenfei
post May 17 2020, 09:15 AM

A Ku La Ma Tata
2,230 posts

QUOTE(darkueki @ May 17 2020, 12:49 AM)
Hi , I would like to seek answer what my agent said is true or not.About one week ago, my agent contacted me and said the insurance company doing offer by let me change the current policy from prulife ready to pruwithyou with medical no waiting period.As my existing policy was only 1 million for life time, then I agreed to shift to new policy.
Currently there are 2 policy , one old and one new, the old policy premium revised to lower.
Then I asked my agentĀ  , do I still need to pay for old policy, she said no need but I afforable , I can pay it and the cash value will be more.
I felt weird why to keep the old policy as she mentioned my medical benefit transfer to new .
She answered me it is better to keep and the surrender value will just reduce a bit when I surrender 2 years later.
Can I have advise if I dont pay the old policy premium , will it really be like what my agent said, the surrender value will just reduce a little as only cost of insurance charges.
I attached screenshot but as she replied in ChineseĀ  so hope got people can help.

Halo friend, from what i see your agent really taking care of you.

1st, for me 1 Million lifetime quite a risk for young people. Technology and medical fees keep on raising. Certain treatment is long terms process. Easily use up large amount from lifetime limit.

2nd, telling to keep the exiting and explain is a must. May be from phone whatsapp text can't elaborate clearly. Suggest you give a call and try meet your agent in future. I'm sure he/she can give further explaination.

What I can try .. give example. Your old medical plan inforce long time ago. new one inforce by MAY2020.
If one year later you got serious stomach issue and consult doctor, if doctor diagnose saying that your illness started at least 1 year ago .. in this case most likely your new medical plan can't cover you. Then your old medical will save you.

So .. ask your agent explain further smile.gif

Usually we will advise user to keep exiting old medical card at least 6 months to 1 year depending their condition. Advise to keep more than 1 year if affordable and got significant illness record among family members. All this by own risk, agent can only explain and advise.

QUOTE(rebornyama @ May 17 2020, 07:18 AM)
Hey guys,

I got laid off a while back and my extended medical coverage benefit will soon expires. Looking at the options available online, it seems like most medical card only covers hospital visits?

Are there takaful/insurance plan that covers GP/private clinic visit? Not really concerned about hospital visit tbh since worse case scenario still got govt hospital, but visiting govt clinic for the occasional flu/ailments is too much of a hassle.

tldr: need coverage for GP/clinic visits
Good day friend,

Believe your exiting is standalone medical plan right?

It seems like you have different view and objective taking medical plan smile.gif is ok no right or wrong.

Just sharing, normally reason people need medical card to cover unexpected high medical cost need out of sudden. Also to enjoy free medical coverage if serious issue occur and waiver benefit opt in.
Illness / Injured case can handle by clinic usually cost can be handle as well.

Even govt hospital not all cost free. Yes it look like free for small matter and senior citizen check up.
Try refer to GH website for ward charge
http://www.hkl.gov.my/index.php/advanced-s...ospital-charges

and medical cost reference compare by Ringgitplus 2 years ago
https://ringgitplus.com/en/blog/insurance/g...eally-cost.html

You can't use medical card in govt hospital, anyhow can still claim under paid and claim basis.

Any medical plan that cover clinic visit, have to look detail into the product policy terms. It won't be any visit any time can be claim.

For your need. looking for medical plan cover ONLY GP/CLINIC Visit .... May be general insurance / commercial group policy got hmm.gif

This post has been edited by tyenfei: May 17 2020, 09:17 AM
tyenfei
post May 17 2020, 12:35 PM

A Ku La Ma Tata
2,230 posts

QUOTE(adele123 @ May 17 2020, 10:24 AM)
Ever wonder why your agent ask you surrender after 2 years and not anytime before that? your agents have indirectly asked you to buy a new policy, pay MORE premium, PAY her COMMISSION AGAIN and now you end up with 2 policies. the reason she asked you to surrender the old one after 2 years is because she will get to enjoy commission on PruWith You (PWY). if you surrender within 1 year, she will get nothing.

There is always one warning by insurance companies whereby insurance is meant for long term and switching is costly because of high initial cost. Based on this statement you really have to study whether do you really need this PWY or not.

your existing lifetime limit of 1 million is comparatively low in the market, but still more than enough. My own policy 120k per year, 720k per life, i haven't upgraded it yet but i'm planning to upgrade soon. However, if you do want to upgrade, you can upgrade. there are usually 2 options, upgrade existing or buy new policy.

Upgrade existing is cheaper, buy new policy is usually more expensive. but i do have to admit, sometimes there's a limit to how much you can upgrade in your existing but my point is, this probably wasn't presented to you by your agent and you buta-buta sign up new policy and getting weird comments like, then the old one no need to pay can only surrender after 2 years. of course you can surrender anytime  cool2.gif

Without knowing the details it will be hard to judge whether you need (choice of word is 'need' not should) paying for the old one but your agent has misled you by asking you buying a new one and simply asking you not to pay the old one. maybe she did the calculation but she was not transparent. your current policy is prulife or prulink one? how old is it?
short answer: GP and private clinic visits not covered. too high risk and too easy to abuse. I'm sorry for your laid off. Just try to stay healthy and dont get sick for normal flu.
WAH? AGENT TAKING OF YOU? Of course take care, NEW COMMISSION wo, sure take care one.

you deserve what i'm throwing at you. I know agent susah cari makan, saying things like this putting you in the same lousiness as you and her. protect yourself and show your professionalism, dont sit in the same dark side.
Halo adele123,

Not sure what experience you face with agents before.

Anyhow.. Yes i mean it in term of plan protection.
I have no right to comment on commission part like you said without more info.

it is agent's duty to explain the new plan. pros & cons. it is user right to choose upgrade or not

is it wrong for agent to intro new plan to client?
is it wrong when agent ask to get new plan?
All depending what policy user holding is it worth to keep or not.
We can't judge base on few paragraph of "facts" here

Sounds like choose between Sedan and MPV, is user call after sales person introduction.

Btw, I do agreed with you some may give advise base on self interest only. Example fight for new com then hard sales to user. Which I strongly against it.

Just don't mix up the concept ... is agents right to get commission when they do their job and responsible to it. This is how the whole system work.
Same with any other marketing sales out there.

Everyone doing something for earning. We pay something someone make profit.
Just make sure the right way.

tyenfei
post May 25 2020, 11:43 AM

A Ku La Ma Tata
2,230 posts

QUOTE(jaredtay1994 @ May 25 2020, 10:45 AM)
Hi all, I am planning to get a life insurance with savings plan to maximise my tax relief. My friend recommended Great Eastern Flexi Plus. Do you guyz think it’s a good plan? Is there a better alternative? Thank you
Great Flexi Plus is similar to Great Flexi Wealth Plan. Both are saving plane.
The different, Great Flexi Plus come with waiver options.

Yes these plans got TPD/ accident dealt extra benefit.
But not under tax relief LIFE or MEDICAL portion .. assuming you refer to LHDN .. right?

This post has been edited by tyenfei: May 25 2020, 11:46 AM
tyenfei
post May 25 2020, 12:35 PM

A Ku La Ma Tata
2,230 posts

QUOTE(responsible poster @ May 25 2020, 12:10 PM)
hi guys, for life insurance i realised that the total payout is much cheaper for a 5 year plan instead of a 20-30 year old plan.

for example the yearly pay is higher on 5 years for example RM10k for 500k coverage, but RM4k for 20 years. however 10k for 5 years is only RM50k, while RM4k for 20 years is RM80k.

is it actually much more beneficial to get a shorter payment term?
If you taking RM500K sum assured for minimum 20 years coverage (sounds like GE SWP20 for me)
You have the options to pay by 5 years/ 10 years / 20 years.

System will calculate the annual premium need to sustain your coverage.
If you choose to pay 5 years, for sure annual premium higher.
If you choose to pay in 20 years, for sure annual premium can go lower.

The different will be the projection cash value by year 20th.

Then why paying 20 years total cost higher in your case?
One of the reason, waiver benefits. Insurer need to calculate the cost to cover your premium if waiver benefit kick in.

You can't count every single cent try to earn the maximum when deal with insurance against risk.
Understand the formula, choose within your conformable budget.

This post has been edited by tyenfei: May 25 2020, 12:36 PM
tyenfei
post Jun 4 2020, 02:45 PM

A Ku La Ma Tata
2,230 posts

QUOTE(Oklahoma @ Jun 4 2020, 01:38 PM)
Premium: RM135/month, RM1650/year
Premium payable term: 36 years or 60 years old, maturity in 2055.

Allianz Life + Medical ILP (Alliance PowerLink + MediSafe Infinite + Optional Benefit)

Insured: RM5,000 only (I dont plan to insure a lot since no dependant yet, but planning to increase to around RM500k if I found 'the one'  biggrin.gif ) Can someone work out if I plan to increase to RM500k how much premium would that be? That'd be great too.

Medical: Plan 200
R&B - RM200
Annual limit - RM1.5mil
Lifetime - No limit

hmmm was wondering if this plan I have is optimal? I plan to get a separate term life insurance and separate medical card instead of a single ILP that combine life and medical, would it be cheaper if I get term life and medical card separately?
It is common mindset even for some elder one.

Life assure not only cover when death incident.
TPD cover under Life coverage as well. This is the moment you lost of income and need extra care assistant.
tyenfei
post Jun 4 2020, 04:28 PM

A Ku La Ma Tata
2,230 posts

QUOTE(Oklahoma @ Jun 4 2020, 02:49 PM)
Hi is CI and TPD separate riders? What is the rule of thumb for TPD and CI to insure? Yea you're right CI and TPD kinda important regardless of depandant or not
Amount of coverage either follow guideline according to your income times year need .. or base on your available budget.
Some cases the formula show need 1 million but only affordable for half a million at the moment, so how? Go low better than zero.

Most of the Life policy come with TPD (not all, kindly check the terms)
Coverage of TPD may be different age. Example till age 60 / 65/ 70

Critical Illness optional to add in. Term life also can add.

Currently GE got one relaunch plan Great Generation Care, cover Death/TPD/45 CI ALL IN ONE.
- Free cover for future children CI as well

Take a look brochure here :
https://www.greateasternlife.com/my/en/pers...ation-care.html

tyenfei
post Jun 9 2020, 06:21 PM

A Ku La Ma Tata
2,230 posts

QUOTE(LostAndFound @ Jun 9 2020, 04:28 PM)
Hi all, I (36M) currently have a GE plan (investment linked):-

life coverage 150k
critical illness 150k
medical RM150/990k annual limit

Paying RM325 a month. My wife (35) is uninsured except for work insurance. We just paid off our home so now looking at medical/life insurance for both. 2 children (4/6 yrs).

Annual net income is about 85k for me and 45k for my wife.

I'm comfortable with my medical coverage, but my life coverage seems quite small. Does it make more sense to:-

1. Increase my life coverage with current provider (GE) either by topup or buying separate life plan?
2. Buy a life coverage plan with another provider (fi.life?)

At my current age, 20 year term seems a bit short (although it will cover the most 'dangerous' part of life in terms of expenses la). How much should I expect to pay to top up to 1 million (meaning +850k) full life coverage?

Frustrating that there's no way to compare ringgit-for-ringgit coverage between the providers.

Also for my wife's insurance needs, at the very least I want to get about 1 million medical plan for her (life coverage not sure yet), is it better to stick with current provider or should I diversify to other provider?
It seems ok your current medical plan.
Anyway, better double check with your agent the CI sum assured shared with Life or separated.

Suggest next move to cover both kids & wife with medical plan. Most important with payer waiver benefits. (assuming you going to pay for them)
I know your life coverage important as main income protection. But their medical plan are priority at the moment. If any bad incident / illness happened may cause them not eligible for medical anymore.

Like other suggested, increase your life sum assured with Critical illness base on how much you need. .. Or available budget at the moment

Cheers
tyenfei
post Jun 17 2020, 01:20 AM

A Ku La Ma Tata
2,230 posts

QUOTE(responsible poster @ Jun 16 2020, 05:49 PM)
did anyone get the same for GE?

previously the agent showed a minimum quotable premium increase on June 1 2020

im just wondering for people who hold the policy before the increase, will they still get the old price or will the new price be enforced?
For policy before Jun20 (By May20) they will enjoy the current premium for 1 year.

The increase of premium is COI. All medical policy will be affected. From what I know company will issue letter inform the premium raise 1 year later.

Other old policy depending the premium & riders in policy. Not everyone been inform to raise.
As you all know it actually depending how much cash value you got to sustain.

If you get the plan by lowest entry premium. Letter to raise issue to you faster.
tyenfei
post Jun 17 2020, 06:14 PM

A Ku La Ma Tata
2,230 posts

QUOTE(responsible poster @ Jun 17 2020, 10:53 AM)
ahh so new policy holders before the increase will only get to enjoy the old rates for 1 year.

old policy holders will be issued with letters

but i think all policy holders should be informed on the COI increase no matter how much cash value is in the account right?
Partly yes. I'm not sure start from when (need time to search the document) in 2020 till 31May2020 policy holder get to enjoy the current premium for 1 year.
Anyhow, the COI increase still apply to them. Same will affect the sustainability like other explained.

Insurance company will issue letter black & white to inform customer. Because insurance policy is legal matter.
tyenfei
post Jun 18 2020, 10:47 PM

A Ku La Ma Tata
2,230 posts

QUOTE(Kilohertz @ Jun 18 2020, 08:39 PM)
how much difference between smoker or non smoker policy? How about someone has quit smoking 10 years ago, can declare as non smoker?
Basic factors explained.

I just add one more. I have seen some life policy quote no different smoker & none smoker.
But when you add in Critical Illness coverage. It will be big different especially covering huge amount.
tyenfei
post Jun 21 2020, 06:15 PM

A Ku La Ma Tata
2,230 posts

QUOTE(GagaRemix @ Jun 21 2020, 12:29 PM)
Is there any Disability Income Insurance product in Malaysia?

According to LIAM, this type of insurance covers a portion of the income in the event that the policyholder is displaced from work when stricken with an illness or an injury.
For GE you can add IL Great Income Rider in Medical Plan. For TPD event at least more than 6 months.
If sum assured RM100K, then you get RM10K every year till age70.

QUOTE(smokymcpot @ Jun 21 2020, 02:20 PM)
I got a quotation from Prudential as I wanted a plan which has minimal investments and more towards hospitalization. This is what I got quoted.

RM 360/month premium. Age next birthday 26, class occupation 1, smoker.

Is this on the high side or normal to pay so much at such a young age?

I don't see it pay "so much" base on benefits. Calculation by insurance company system & data key in. You can request reduce benefits if not comfortable with the premium.

Main reason believe is "smoker" with RM100K CI .

This post has been edited by tyenfei: Jun 21 2020, 06:16 PM
tyenfei
post Jun 24 2020, 10:02 PM

A Ku La Ma Tata
2,230 posts

QUOTE(honsiong @ Jun 24 2020, 12:19 AM)
Life: 1M
CI rider: 300
Whole life start 26 yo for 40 years, no ILP.

$100/month, good deal?

I feel like cancelling life insurance tbh, no plan to get married knock someone up at the moment.
Super delicious offer.

btw ... "$" mean USD or RM

If the plan is real, T&C acceptable . Can intro?? blush.gif
tyenfei
post Jun 29 2020, 10:43 PM

A Ku La Ma Tata
2,230 posts

QUOTE(jacsotong @ Jun 29 2020, 10:38 PM)
I'm 33 years old, just married second year & no kid yet. Existing got ILP with 70k life insured only.

Am thinking to add more protection on life insurance. Should i go for whole life or term plan? am considering the GE Great Term Direct plan....
Better to add CI in life plan.

Term life minimum coverage 5 years. Can add in CI
Less benefit compare with ILP life plan.

Anyway no right or wrong after you learn the different and make the choice. Depending your available budget.
tyenfei
post Jun 30 2020, 12:14 AM

A Ku La Ma Tata
2,230 posts

QUOTE(angyte @ Jun 29 2020, 11:46 PM)

I am currently age 27, and my medical policy started more than 3 years ago on nov-2016.

My medical policy covered until age 100, under GE which the premium is 200 monthly, with 990k yearly and unlimited lifetime medical cost, 50k on life/tpd/CI and 20 years premium waiver.

Recently I checked on the GE portal, it show that my policy can sustain until end of policy term.
Can I know:
1. Is it really rm200/m can sustain until age 100?
2. How trustworthy is the projection on the sustainability? Where can I get the info how the project it?
Sustainable base on current COI.
You need to know what fund choosing in your ILP. Study is it performing well. It will be quite safe if is Lion Fixed Income Fund.

You can always check the actual TIV(total investment value) with the illustration table in your policy. Above mean good, below mean shorter sustainable.
Anyhow still depending how your plan been design.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.1407sec    0.78    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 04:04 AM