4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

[Folding@home & COVID-19] Your PC Helps, Calling Powerful Card Member (Team 2999)

TSsaturn85
post Mar 6 2020, 11:51 AM, updated 3y ago

Folding@home
8,686 posts

COVID-19 is still the worldwide real threat, medical officer around the globe are fighting hard to rescue life. Instead of letting our PC to do nothing about it, I would want to bring up this program back alive, we can now help to find cure for the threat. Folding@home by Stanford University announced they are taking up the fight against COVID-19. Detailed articles are listed as following:
1.) Help Cure Coronavirus with Your PC's Leftover Processing Power
2.) FOLDING@HOME TAKES UP THE FIGHT AGAINST COVID-19 / 2019-NCOV
3.) World's Most Powerful Supercomputer Fights Coronavirus, Unleashing Supercomputer Horsepower Against 2019-nCov.
4.) FOLDING@HOME UPDATE ON SARS-COV-2 (10 MAR 2020)
5.) Nvidia Wants Gamers to Fight COVID-19
6.) NVIDIA GeForce Twitter Status
7.) CORONAVIRUS – WHAT WE’RE DOING AND HOW YOU CAN HELP IN SIMPLE TERMS
8.) TheStar ~ Covid-19: Crowdsourced virtual supercomputer revs up virus research (Credit to: Human Nature)
9.) Coronavirus Researchers Get Access to 16 Supercomputers
10.) Folding@Home Now More Powerful Than World's Top 7 Supercomputers, Combined. The fight against coronavirus goes nuclear.
11.) Folding@Home Network Breaks the ExaFLOP Barrier In Fight Against Coronavirus, Power from the people.
12.) NEW COVID-19 SMALL MOLECULE SCREENING SIMULATIONS ARE RUNNING ON FULL FOLDING@HOME!
13.) CAPTURING THE COVID-19 DEMOGORGON (AKA SPIKE) IN ACTION
14.) AMD and Nvidia Join Supercomputer-Powered Fight Against Coronavirus
15.) Radeon RX Twitter Status
16.) Using Your AMD Powered System to Help Researchers in the Fight Against Infectious Diseases
17.) Folding@Home Now More Powerful Than Top 500 Supercomputers Combined
18.) Folding@Home Now Has Dedicated Coronavirus Research Option
19.) NEW SIMULATIONS TO SEARCH FOR COVID-19 TREATMENT VIA REPURPOSING EXISTING NTP ANALOG DRUGS THAT TARGET VIRAL RNA REPLICATION
20.) NEW FOLDING@HOME SOFTWARE WITH THE OPTION TO PRIORITIZE COVID-19 PROJECTS
21.) Together we are Even More Powerful: GPU folding gets a powerup with NVIDIA CUDA support!

(Credit to: goldfries)

What is Folding@home?
Folding@home is a distributed computing program launch by Stanford University since the year 2000, aimed to study the folding of protein to find causes and cure for multiple diseases. The simulation of protein folding is a very computational heavy task. Instead of getting gigantic cost supercomputer, they distributed this program to the volunteers around the world to donate their PC resources to help. In return, donor will receive points for ranking purpose. [Folding@home Homepage]

Where shall I start?
Folding@home clients are available for download from their official website: [START FOLDING (Windows Client)][START FOLDING (Others Client)]

Installation guides: [Installation Guide (Windows Client)][Installation Guide (Others Client)]

A word of warning though: if you choose 'Express Install' the program will install in a manner that will automatically start it whenever your PC is running. If you are happy to donate a bit of power and your computer's reserves to solving this problem, go ahead and select that option. If you want more control over your power usage, be sure to select the custom install option and tick the boxes appropriate to your preferences.

Credit: Tom's Hardware

Setup Identity:
Name: For name, you can use any unique name to represent yourself, or a common name to remain anonymous.

Team: For team, you can fold for anonymous team, or join a team around the world. I would like to invite you all to join our country team, Folding@Malaysia, Team Number: 2999.

Passkey: Passkey is not a must, but I highly recommended you all to get one for yourself. Passkey is a unique key that identified it's you when two or more person uses the exact same name. In addition, using a Passkey granted you bonus point. All you need to do is fold 10 work unit with your Name & Passkey. After that, you will start to receive bonus point on your following work unit. [Passkey FAQ]

You can get your Passkey here: [Get F@H Passkey]
Note: The passkey request form is case sensitive. You will need an email for it, so don't lost your email.

You would have some control on the web control user interface:

User interface for advanced user:

More about energy efficient folding: [Green Folding@home]

Where could I find my contribution statistics?
You could find our country team summary statistics here: [Folding@Malaysia]

You can also put a statistics image on your signature: [Signature Image Guide]

Here is one of my customization for example:

Check here for more colourful customization examples with code: [Signature Image Examples]

Things to know before start folding:
1.) This is a beta program, you might encounter bugs, hang, restart, or even BSOD while folding. Don't panic, if you find your PC is not stable for it, just stop it.
2.) Since it uses your idle CPU, or GPU, or both CPU & GPU resources, it can heat up your PC, and raise your electricity bill.
3.) It might not necessary to get a work unit related to COVID-19 for you, but other diseases. In other word, you were still contributing your effort towards other diseases.

It's all about volunteering. Okay, don't get discourage, we have member folding strong here (our team is generating 9M points per day (PPD), when I'm writing this post). You are welcome to reply this thread if you have any question or facing any problem. Please share this news among your PC hardware enthusiast member to join force. Happy folding, thank you. smile.gif

This post has been edited by saturn85: Dec 9 2022, 04:58 AM
TSsaturn85
post Mar 6 2020, 08:14 PM

Folding@home
8,686 posts

Yeah, bro kherel77, life is getting harder. Ya, I notice it as well. For now, please select "any disease" according to the main article.

By downloading Folding@home here [LINK] and selecting to contribute to “Any Disease”, you can help provide us with the computational power required to tackle this problem.
Source: [FOLDING@HOME TAKES UP THE FIGHT AGAINST COVID-19 / 2019-NCOV]

I guess you might still getting random work unit, but certainly there is a chance to get something related to the new threat.
TSsaturn85
post Mar 7 2020, 05:28 PM

Folding@home
8,686 posts

World's Most Powerful Supercomputer Fights Coronavirus, Unleashing Supercomputer Horsepower Against 2019-nCov.

TSsaturn85
post Mar 9 2020, 12:14 AM

Folding@home
8,686 posts

Fold strong. flex.gif
TSsaturn85
post Mar 10 2020, 11:54 PM

Folding@home
8,686 posts

Welcome everyone. flex.gif

QUOTE(jesseclane @ Mar 10 2020, 11:08 AM)
Start Folding using my unused vpn. 367 pts only hahaha
Do you use a passkey?
TSsaturn85
post Mar 13 2020, 08:47 PM

Folding@home
8,686 posts

FOLDING@HOME UPDATE ON SARS-COV-2 (10 MAR 2020)

After initial quality control and limited testing phases, Folding@home team has released an initial wave of projects simulating potentially druggable protein targets from SARS-CoV-2 (the virus that causes COVID-19) and the related SARS-CoV virus (for which more structural data is available) into full production on Folding@home. Many thanks to the large number of Folding@home donors who have assisted us thus far by running in beta or advanced modes.

TSsaturn85
post Mar 14 2020, 10:52 AM

Folding@home
8,686 posts

First post is updated with:

List of Current COVID-19 Projects (Updated on 28.04.2020) [[FAQ] SARS-CoV-2 (COVID-19) projects]

This post has been edited by saturn85: Apr 28 2020, 07:57 PM
TSsaturn85
post Mar 15 2020, 02:45 PM

Folding@home
8,686 posts

Nvidia Wants Gamers to Fight COVID-19

NVIDIA GeForce Twitter Status

Nvidia owner, show your folding power. Join us and our friends at Folding@Malaysia in supporting Folding@home and donating unused GPU computing power to fight against COVID-19! flex.gif
TSsaturn85
post Mar 15 2020, 08:14 PM

Folding@home
8,686 posts

Welcome everyone. flex.gif

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Mar 15 2020, 03:13 PM)
Wish I can join but my room is already damn hot. Don't need another space heater.
Ya, the weather is very hot these days. sweat.gif

QUOTE(x800 @ Mar 15 2020, 07:09 PM)
Haven't folded for almost a decade. Getting back in now. Btw where's the old F@H subforum?
I also don't know where is the F@H forum goes. hmm.gif

QUOTE(ojassed @ Mar 15 2020, 07:27 PM)
Me too... But running CPU temps at 95c for hours on my working laptop sounds like a bad idea. Gotta korek and fire up my old 2011 pc to help.
95'c, I guess it is not recommended to run folding on it. shocking.gif
TSsaturn85
post Mar 16 2020, 08:16 PM

Folding@home
8,686 posts

Welcome and folding strong everyone. flex.gif

QUOTE(x800 @ Mar 15 2020, 07:09 PM)
Haven't folded for almost a decade. Getting back in now. Btw where's the old F@H subforum?
Bro x800, get a passkey if possible. thumbsup.gif

QUOTE(-pWs- @ Mar 15 2020, 09:38 PM)
Back in Folding@Home helping.

-pWs-
thumbsup.gif

QUOTE(fluotone @ Mar 16 2020, 01:29 AM)
Nice will set this up tomorrow biggrin.gif
thumbsup.gif

QUOTE(justnits @ Mar 16 2020, 01:56 AM)
i've been getting stuck at "Updating" message recently, and i tried uninstalling and reinstalling it, now i get stuck at "Connecting" message.
Do you have any screenshot or log file on the problem? hmm.gif

QUOTE(anasnomous @ Mar 16 2020, 03:04 AM)
edited: nvm, didn't see the team number in 1st post. i'll join
thumbsup.gif
TSsaturn85
post Mar 16 2020, 10:43 PM

Folding@home
8,686 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Mar 16 2020, 09:14 PM)
old dog here wave.gif
bionc better for rig without gpu?
I'm not sure about this, but I believe the native F@h client work best instead of going through BOINC platform.

QUOTE(justnits @ Mar 16 2020, 10:27 PM)
ini macam stuck lidat after i reinstall
Any information from the log tab? Do you removed the whole folder while uninstalling? Do you open the FAHControl through a shortcut or somewhere else?
TSsaturn85
post Mar 17 2020, 11:33 PM

Folding@home
8,686 posts

QUOTE(x800 @ Mar 17 2020, 07:33 PM)
found it. the subforum was deleted back in 2017, inactive https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4270335
requested a passkey on sunday, still havent gotten them. looks like the servers are overloaded, since the same issue is reported in their forums. cant get my QRB for now
Edit: just requested the passkey using my yahoo mail, and got the passkey already. something is wrong with gmail, it didnt even got into the spam folder
seems like a lot of people are jumping in to help for COVID-19 these past few weeks, and the server ran out of WU(Work Units)/tasks to assign
So it's deleted. bye.gif

Glad to hear that, and passkey is bound to email.

The responses from worldwide seem really overwhelming from their Twitter status.

https://twitter.com/foldingathome/status/1239673282565214208
Why has my machine not received any work units (WUs)?

We have been overwhelmed with support and donations, so our servers had to suddenly accommodate a large number of returned WUs. We are working on expanding our memory. Please bear with us as we address this surge.(3/8)

https://twitter.com/foldingathome/status/1239673285375332358
Where is my passkey?

Passkeys are being sent out as soon as possible to your email address, thank you for your patience. (5/8)

https://twitter.com/foldingathome/status/1239264870111105024
Thank you for bringing this up. Why you might ask? We are sending so many passkeys out that @Yahoo and @Google are treating us as a spam email server. It's also in the FAQ

TSsaturn85
post Mar 19 2020, 09:22 AM

Folding@home
8,686 posts

QUOTE(x800 @ Mar 18 2020, 06:27 AM)
Now this makes sense, last time (years ago) I used my yahoo mail to retrieve the passkey.

Getting my QRB now flex.gif
Strong PPD there. flex.gif
TSsaturn85
post Mar 21 2020, 01:27 AM

Folding@home
8,686 posts

Welcome everyone and folding strong. flex.gif

QUOTE(jesseclane @ Mar 19 2020, 11:35 PM)
Glad to see my vps still running. now adding my gaming rig into F@H
thumbsup.gif

QUOTE(kherel77 @ Mar 20 2020, 04:03 PM)
[attachmentid=10453330]

A little help with mediocre specs... sweat.gif
Good enough. thumbsup.gif

QUOTE(zstan @ Mar 20 2020, 04:51 PM)
signed up. hope i'm doing it correctly.
thumbsup.gif
TSsaturn85
post Mar 21 2020, 01:21 PM

Folding@home
8,686 posts

QUOTE(fluotone @ Mar 21 2020, 10:35 AM)
heh set this up now and standing by for WU's flex.gif
thumbsup.gif

QUOTE(aliesterfiend @ Mar 21 2020, 11:40 AM)
AMD CPU+GPU can?
Yes, can. thumbsup.gif
TSsaturn85
post Mar 21 2020, 11:29 PM

Folding@home
8,686 posts

Since the issue is mentioned, we would want to follow a greener route and fold efficiently.

Refer to the following blog if anyone is interested to know and get some idea from the author on how to fold greener.

Green Folding@Home ~ Energy Efficient Computing

(Credit to: goldfries)

This post has been edited by saturn85: Mar 28 2020, 09:26 PM
TSsaturn85
post Mar 22 2020, 01:21 PM

Folding@home
8,686 posts

Beware of the phishing email that pretend itself as Folding@home. excl.gif

RedLine Info-Stealing Malware Spread by Fake Folding@home Phishing Email, Scammers take advantage of a good thing
A new phishing email is trying to take advantage of the Coronavirus pandemic and the race to develop medications by promoting a fake Folding@home app that installs an information-stealing malware.

TSsaturn85
post Mar 23 2020, 12:19 AM

Folding@home
8,686 posts

QUOTE(Ree73 @ Mar 22 2020, 05:26 PM)
I am also start to fold...have some hiccup to get the GPU to fold covid case... but manage to solve it.... select full on GPU, after that it will assign a server...
Welcome and glad to hear that. Probably ran out of work unit for awhile. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(ronnie @ Mar 22 2020, 06:32 PM)
1. How do I choose to help with the COVID-19 related projects ?
To help in the fight against COVID-19, you need to select
- Webcontrol : "Any disease" in the list "I support research fighting"
- Advanced Control/FAHControl : Configure > Advanced, select "Any" in the list "Cause Preference"

The COVID-19 related projects are on top priority and will be assigned automatically.
thumbsup.gif

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Mar 22 2020, 10:29 PM)
Nice one. thumbsup.gif
TSsaturn85
post Mar 23 2020, 04:19 PM

Folding@home
8,686 posts

QUOTE(honsiong @ Mar 23 2020, 12:59 PM)
K took a good while to setup on my Ubuntu PC via command line.

GPU running at 82c 90w, giving my GPU a good exercise now.
Probably need more cooling in long run. flex.gif

QUOTE(dickybird @ Mar 23 2020, 01:34 PM)
Will run it on my pc when I get home tonight
thumbsup.gif

QUOTE(keretapir @ Mar 23 2020, 03:33 PM)
lol i forgot my passkey. their passkey retrieval system is on cooldown
no WU assigned for both CPU & GPU so far
The response worldwide is overwhelming, frequently ran out of work unit.
About the passkey, is your old client files still around?

QUOTE(Current Events guy @ Mar 23 2020, 03:41 PM)
How much impact would this have on your electricity bill?
It can be roughly estimated from the hardware that run folding. Let's take a GTX 1060 rated at 120W for example. When you fire up GPU folding on it at full load, additional 120W is drew from PSU. (Assumed it really draw 120W power at full load. In real scenario, power draw can be different.) And let's assumed your PSU is rated at 80% efficiency, when it supply the additional 120W into the PC component, additional 150W is drew from the wall electric socket. Let's assumed you run folding 6 hours everyday, a total of 180 hours in one month. 150W x 180 hours = 27kWh, so additional 27kWh of electricity on folding. Let's assumed the 27kWh hit the [201-300kWh] range which cost 33.40 sen/kWh, 27 x RM0.334 = RM9.10.

RM9.10, so this figure is the rough estimation that impact your electricity bill. icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by saturn85: Mar 23 2020, 04:23 PM
TSsaturn85
post Mar 23 2020, 05:10 PM

Folding@home
8,686 posts

QUOTE(Current Events guy @ Mar 23 2020, 04:21 PM)
Thanks for breaking it down. I'll look at the power rating for my GPU and calculate it from there.
You are welcome. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(keretapir @ Mar 23 2020, 05:02 PM)
hah. i've changed my pc hardware pretty much since. so, old client dated 2011 onwards are no longer with me.
that being said, i've found my passkey. after digging through my inbox. so, bonus PPD easy-peasy...

CPU still unassigned, but running GPU at 470+k PPD.
Glad to hear that, good PPD there, fold strong. flex.gif

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0369sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 07:31 PM