Python For Newbie

TSderjeng
post Mar 5 2020, 12:04 PM, updated 6y ago

Is there anyone learn Python from online course like Udemy?

halmsx
post Mar 5 2020, 12:08 PM

108 posts

hav u tried the one in w3schools?
jackoats.my
post Mar 5 2020, 12:21 PM

122 posts

I quite like the book "Data Science from Scratch, 2nd Edition" by Joel Grus.

Learn Python + Data Science at the same time. Very challenging!

QUOTE(derjeng @ Mar 5 2020, 12:04 PM)
TSderjeng
post Mar 5 2020, 12:33 PM

QUOTE(halmsx @ Mar 5 2020, 12:08 PM)
hav u tried the one in w3schools?
Nope. I just start learning from Udemy https://www.udemy.com/course/complete-python-bootcamp/ taking this course.

jackoats.my
post Mar 6 2020, 10:31 PM

122 posts

Can I share with you some of my experiences about learning from video courses?

1. Pause the video and type out the codes in your favorite editor. In my case, I just used the (floating) text editor that comes with Ubuntu.

2. Don't worry about getting your codes to work. In fact, just type out very quickly the codes, while listening to the video. I find that I can learn quickly this way.

3. Courses with codes in Github will be most useful, in case your codes really cannot work.
mmweric
post Apr 25 2020, 02:08 AM

156 posts

QUOTE(derjeng @ Mar 5 2020, 12:33 PM)
Nope. I just start learning from Udemy https://www.udemy.com/course/complete-python-bootcamp/ taking this course.
I find this book quite good https://nostarch.com/pythoncrashcourse2e

As it has programming exercises at the end of each chapter. If you finish the book and all the exercises you should be quite good by the time you finish the book.
ZerOne01
post Apr 25 2020, 05:21 PM

124 posts

I certainly did learn Python from Udemy before, and several other resources like https://automatetheboringstuff.com/ and https://python-guide.readthedocs.io/en/latest/

If you want a quick reference, Learn X in Y Minutes is always a good website
ws1988
post May 2 2020, 05:19 PM

85 posts

QUOTE(derjeng @ Mar 5 2020, 12:33 PM)
Hi bro, may i know your feedback for the course? i'm thinking to learn python as well. i've a lot free time now. sad.gif
FlierMate1
post Jun 15 2022, 07:48 PM

Validating
139 posts

I think I prefer to learn Python from W3Schools, and also by looking at other people's code on GitHub.
soonwai
post Sep 13 2022, 04:13 AM


11,460 posts

Started learning Python last Weds.

Here're a few places for tutes.

https://www.py4e.com/
https://www.fullstackpython.com/
https://docs.python-guide.org/#getting-started-with-python
https://automatetheboringstuff.com
https://www.freecodecamp.org

...and their corresponding YouTube channels though I prefer text based since you go as fast as you can read and understand.

Take some time initially to setup your environment nicely. First 2-3 days for me was just googling about how to setup Sublime Text and my computer for Python, learning how to use pipenv, etc...

I also think it's good if you have a simple objective. Perhaps a simple python script that does something for you. That's what I did. I wanted a script to send me Telegram notifications when the kids or their friends join our Minecraft server.

After a few days, came up with this.
https://github.com/soonwai/log-to-telegram
FlierMateI
post Sep 13 2022, 03:24 PM

Validating

QUOTE(soonwai @ Sep 13 2022, 04:13 AM)
Started learning Python last Weds.

Here're a few places for tutes.

www.py4e.com
www.fullstackpython.com
docs.python-guide.org/#getting-started-with-python
automatetheboringstuff.com
www.freecodecamp.org

...and their corresponding YouTube channels though I prefer text based since you go as fast as you can read and understand.

Take some time initially to setup your environment nicely. First 2-3 days for me was just googling about how to setup Sublime Text and my computer for Python, learning how to use pipenv, etc...

I also think it's good if you have a simple objective. Perhaps a simple python script that does something for you. That's what I did. I wanted a script to send me Telegram notifications when the kids or their friends join our Minecraft server.

After a few days, came up with this.
github.com/soonwai/log-to-telegram
Thanks for sharing, you learn faster than me.

Is Python your first programming language? Now you have become a programmer. I see your 11-year-old GitHub account now hails its first code repo. laugh.gif
15cm
post Sep 18 2022, 04:03 PM

423 posts

guggle je
kitsunegeisha
post Sep 26 2022, 03:10 PM

250 posts

very easy python. Can learn fast if u have basic C
boo1977
post Oct 16 2022, 12:30 AM

Validating
17 posts

I use Thonny Python IDE (identical to the one in Raspberry Pi OS) which comes with Python 3.10, and it is quite good.

thonny.org

What Python IDE you guys use?
angch
post Oct 16 2022, 11:35 AM

636 posts

QUOTE(boo1977 @ Oct 16 2022, 12:30 AM)
What Python IDE you guys use?
vscode, for everything. pylance is pretty good (closed though). jed on the dev servers, if I can't vscode can't remote in.
alexa
post Nov 6 2022, 10:42 AM

Big Boss
1,456 posts

easy to learn
15cm
post Nov 7 2022, 12:08 AM

423 posts

thread 2020 kena bump wtf
FlierMate
post May 30 2023, 10:55 PM

Validating
543 posts

I got the same Python program that work in Linux (WSL) but not in Windows.

The error in Windows thrown by python3:

CODE
Traceback (most recent call last):
 File "C:\Users\BOO\Projects\xx\xx.py", line 309, in <module>
   xxFileLines = f.readlines()
                 ^^^^^^^^^^^^^
 File "C:\Program Files\WindowsApps\PythonSoftwareFoundation.Python.3.11_3.11.1008.0_x64__qbz5n2kfra8p0\Lib\encodings\cp1252.py", line 23, in decode
   return codecs.charmap_decode(input,self.errors,decoding_table)[0]
          ^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
UnicodeDecodeError: 'charmap' codec can't decode byte 0x90 in position 5: character maps to <undefined>

The characters in question is Unicode characters, it cannot be processed in Windows. However, using python3 in Linux to read Unicode characters is OK wor.
FlierMate
post May 30 2023, 11:24 PM

Validating
543 posts

QUOTE(15cm @ Nov 7 2022, 12:08 AM)
thread 2020 kena bump wtf
I started too many threads on first page on Codemaster (since I am the most active here in these 2 years), so it is embarrassing to start another thread for conversation.
yukkit1026
post May 31 2023, 10:57 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(derjeng @ Mar 5 2020, 12:04 PM)
I have several unfinished courses from udemy..........

0.0219sec    0.47    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 07:20 AM