Anybody working at Nestle's MT program?
TSLeslee97
Mar 2 2020, 10:28 AM, updated 6y ago
Hi i would like to ask, anyone here is currently working for Nestle's management trainee program? I'm talking about the Nestle's HQ at mutiara damansara.
How's the working life there like? What do i expect to learn from there? Approximately how much is the salary there, can it be compared with the shopee's global leadership program as i heard from someone saying that they are paying around 6k per month. Can i learn everything there or just a particular stuff there?
Should i choose P&G or Shopee over Nestle?
boelat
Mar 2 2020, 10:37 AM
QUOTE(Leslee97 @ Mar 2 2020, 10:28 AM) Hi i would like to ask, anyone here is currently working for Nestle's management trainee program? I'm talking about the Nestle's HQ at mutiara damansara. How's the working life there like? What do i expect to learn from there? Approximately how much is the salary there, can it be compared with the shopee's global leadership program as i heard from someone saying that they are paying around 6k per month. Can i learn everything there or just a particular stuff there? Should i choose P&G or Shopee over Nestle? IMO Shopee > Nestle > P&G Global Leadership > Management Trainee For stress level FMCG > Ecommerce Been into both field.
TSLeslee97
Mar 2 2020, 11:01 AM
QUOTE(boelat @ Mar 2 2020, 10:37 AM) IMO Shopee > Nestle > P&G Global Leadership > Management Trainee For stress level FMCG > Ecommerce Been into both field. So the best is to choose shopee? What about the life at Nestle Mt program and also the salary?
boelat
Mar 2 2020, 11:09 AM
QUOTE(Leslee97 @ Mar 2 2020, 11:01 AM) So the best is to choose shopee? What about the life at Nestle Mt program and also the salary? Nestle MT programme is quite good, not sure about the salary. Even Unilever MT programme is good.
TSLeslee97
Mar 2 2020, 11:12 AM
QUOTE(boelat @ Mar 2 2020, 11:09 AM) Nestle MT programme is quite good, not sure about the salary. Even Unilever MT programme is good. Oh i see, as nestle is a mnc company i think the pay is also kinda high, because i heard that the shopee's glp program they only pick 2 people tho.
boelat
Mar 2 2020, 11:19 AM
QUOTE(Leslee97 @ Mar 2 2020, 11:12 AM) Oh i see, as nestle is a mnc company i think the pay is also kinda high, because i heard that the shopee's glp program they only pick 2 people tho. somehow I think the recruitment count is just a way to show prestige. Once you're in, its the same level playing field. Therefore, choose global than local.
TSLeslee97
Mar 2 2020, 11:20 AM
QUOTE(boelat @ Mar 2 2020, 11:19 AM) somehow I think the recruitment count is just a way to show prestige. Once you're in, its the same level playing field. Therefore, choose global than local. So in your opinion, you think that mnc is better when it comes to long term?
nexona88
Mar 2 2020, 03:13 PM
Personally I would go for Nestle... Their track record is quite good...
James1983
Mar 3 2020, 02:16 PM
I would go for Global MNC, rather than start up like Shopee, it gives your CV and edge. This is assuming the salary difference isn’t too big
P&G = Nestle > Shopee
TSLeslee97
Mar 6 2020, 02:05 PM
QUOTE(Yuuki1122 @ Mar 2 2020, 02:49 PM) In terms of pay for entry level/MT Shopee > P&G (no MT program, Sales Key Account Manager is the entry level role) > Unilever > Nestle But Nestle MT intake is the biggest among the above companies, each track (HR, Marketing etc) on average 4ppl per batch But shopee they only recruit only 2 people per year tho and it's very hard to get in.
TSLeslee97
Mar 6 2020, 02:06 PM
QUOTE(nexona88 @ Mar 2 2020, 03:13 PM) Personally I would go for Nestle... Their track record is quite good... You got any experience working there?
TSLeslee97
Mar 6 2020, 02:06 PM
QUOTE(James1983 @ Mar 3 2020, 02:16 PM) I would go for Global MNC, rather than start up like Shopee, it gives your CV and edge. This is assuming the salary difference isn’t too big P&G = Nestle > Shopee So in terms of the salary and the working culture, P&G has great benefits for both of them compared to nestle?
mohdhalimmm
Mar 7 2020, 01:56 PM

Never worked at any of these companies, but I feel like Shopee has a pretty good culture and it's young, up and coming. P&G is pretty big and established, so it will definitely have some good benefits.
Not sure about Nestle, but just my $0.02 worth
novblaze
Mar 9 2020, 02:35 PM
They will hire 100000000 people and pick a handful of it only.
Unless you willing to work 8 to 10 and 7 days.
Most likely you won't be able to get chosen
novblaze
Mar 9 2020, 05:01 PM
QUOTE(Yuuki1122 @ Mar 9 2020, 04:42 PM) I can assure you that this is fake news. Usually established MT programs will receive up to 1000 applicants, after filtering and online assessment, only about 100 will go through the group assessment/assessment centre and then they will hire anywhere between 5-15 MT each batch (depending on company) And no, you dont have to work 8am-10pm, 7days a week (for some companies like consulting maybe yes, but be assured that you'll be well compensated). Only Chinaman/SME will have culture like this. I was obviously exaggerating. But 5 to 15 MT hired out of 100 short list and from 1000 applicants. The odds are still very low. No. They don't require you to work from 8 am to 10pm, 7 days a week. But in order to get in the 5 to 15. What makes you think 70%of the applicants will not do that to get into the slot?
novblaze
Mar 9 2020, 06:26 PM
QUOTE(Yuuki1122 @ Mar 9 2020, 06:01 PM) Work smart > Work hard (altho both still important) Yes the odds are low, but that's no excuse to stop you from applying and going through the assessments It's all a good learning process Okay for fresh grad la. If not work half way go join in the end not elected. Hurt future prospects in resume
garlicpesto
Mar 9 2020, 09:17 PM

Shopee if you can get in. Pays the best amongst all by a significant proportion + global rotation (but workload is higher as you're driving a lot of strategic projects).
Unilever/P&G is my next
Nestle would be my last option. Went to career fair once and Nestle's MA were there - 80% of them looks very cincai.
But grab it even if you only got accepted to Nestle. IMO starting a career with one of these graduate programs was one of the best decisions I've made.
TSLeslee97
Mar 9 2020, 10:52 PM
QUOTE(garlicpesto @ Mar 9 2020, 09:17 PM) Shopee if you can get in. Pays the best amongst all by a significant proportion + global rotation (but workload is higher as you're driving a lot of strategic projects). Unilever/P&G is my next Nestle would be my last option. Went to career fair once and Nestle's MA were there - 80% of them looks very cincai. But grab it even if you only got accepted to Nestle. IMO starting a career with one of these graduate programs was one of the best decisions I've made. As i know shopee only picks 2 applicants in a year to enter the glp, and i think that they only pick the best among all, so i think the probability is very low And as for unilever and p&g they are both well established fmcg companies tho so i think the benefits is also great there. But in terms of benefit, i think nestle offers the best amongst them. But in terms of salary i'm not so sure about it.
TSLeslee97
Mar 9 2020, 10:54 PM
QUOTE(novblaze @ Mar 9 2020, 05:01 PM) I was obviously exaggerating. But 5 to 15 MT hired out of 100 short list and from 1000 applicants. The odds are still very low. No. They don't require you to work from 8 am to 10pm, 7 days a week. But in order to get in the 5 to 15. What makes you think 70%of the applicants will not do that to get into the slot? Will they look into the degrees that you have or the qualifications? For instance, a degree in a unique program such as business psychology?
TSLeslee97
Mar 9 2020, 10:54 PM
QUOTE(Yuuki1122 @ Mar 9 2020, 06:01 PM) Work smart > Work hard (altho both still important) Yes the odds are low, but that's no excuse to stop you from applying and going through the assessments It's all a good learning process Do you think if i have a degree in business psychology will come handy?