4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

OMG! AMD Quad Core PHENOM!

TSsilentsunami
post Jul 21 2007, 01:11 PM

891 posts

just some numbers of amd procs compare to intel procs. i know barcelona is make for server, but at least we can guess what will Phenom perform against intel quad procs.

really hope that amd can bring in the phenom with a lower price point, maybe at that time i can consider refresh my rig. tongue.gif tongue.gif
X.E.D
post Jul 21 2007, 05:29 PM

curmudgeonosorus emeritus
1,955 posts

If Phenom has anything to to, it will be keeping AMD users AMD users.
Sticking to unified voltage regulations is one of the best things I've heard on upgradability and mid-range performance (es. FP) should be very competitive (Kuma/X2) with older Core 2 Duos.

Barcelona might not push that far but Kuma could. They should've rolled out the less ambitious chips first as a buffer.
LExus65
post Jul 21 2007, 09:46 PM

Old Gezzer.....
1,995 posts

so what the advantage of phenom, saw a lot news but nothing really tells much about this new core design......

SlayerXT
post Jul 22 2007, 04:07 AM

PRIDE!
2,042 posts

AMD having too much trouble now. K10 yields for frequency more than 2.5GHz may be worse. I dont know if this also mean cant oc higher. But if they cant get mass production before penryn then they will be doomed. Maybe as Intel said unified quad core implementation was a suicide.
TSsilentsunami
post Jul 22 2007, 11:26 AM

891 posts

The Phenom processor in this rig is installed in an AMD reference RD790 chipset-based motherboard. This motherboard features an AM2+ socket (support for higher HT link speeds and split power planes) and true, dual PCI Express x16 graphics slots.

According to a AMD staff, Phenom is very good in gaming.

Source HotHardware

Just found it, Phenom logo on one of the ferrari driver.

This post has been edited by silentsunami: Jul 22 2007, 11:40 AM
SlayerXT
post Jul 22 2007, 01:14 PM

PRIDE!
2,042 posts

Hoho, they already reveal the logo.I wonder they still can sponsor Ferrari besides having financial crisis.
likito
post Jul 23 2007, 05:36 PM

1,468 posts

QUOTE(silentsunami @ Jul 22 2007, 11:26 AM)

The Phenom processor in this rig is installed in an AMD reference RD790 chipset-based motherboard. This motherboard features an AM2+ socket (support for higher HT link speeds and split power planes) and true, dual PCI Express x16 graphics slots.

According to a AMD staff, Phenom is very good in gaming.

Source HotHardware

Just found it, Phenom logo on one of the ferrari driver.

hmm! the driver is massa or kimi >?

This post has been edited by likito: Jul 23 2007, 05:37 PM
TSsilentsunami
post Jul 23 2007, 05:47 PM

891 posts

i think the driver should be massa. i saw the same logo yesterday on massa helmet. hehe
post Jul 23 2007, 06:30 PM

EimiFukada
14,242 posts

QUOTE(silentsunami @ Jul 23 2007, 06:47 PM)
i think the driver should be massa. i saw the same logo yesterday on massa helmet. hehe
Its kimi's helmet, If that is massa's helmet, there would some parts of helmet is painted by yellow colour.
Irresistible
post Jul 23 2007, 07:18 PM

3,283 posts

QUOTE(168257061 @ Jul 23 2007, 06:30 PM)
Its kimi's helmet, If that is massa's helmet, there would some parts of helmet is painted by yellow colour.
AMD Quad COre Phenomi can suit into AM2 Motherboard(Biostar Geforce 6100 I am using) , right??
post Jul 23 2007, 07:29 PM

EimiFukada
14,242 posts

QUOTE(Irresistible @ Jul 23 2007, 08:18 PM)
AMD Quad COre Phenomi can suit into AM2 Motherboard(Biostar Geforce 6100 I am using) , right??
I think suite into AM2+, not sure for AM2
SlayerXT
post Jul 23 2007, 09:35 PM

PRIDE!
2,042 posts

Maybe just need bios update. Just wait until official and check on Biostar website or email them.
toughnut
post Jul 24 2007, 10:41 AM

3,239 posts

nothing more than a few pictures. even can't verify whether than screen is showing actual stuff or just a photoshop'ed wallpaper lol
linkinstreet
post Jul 24 2007, 10:55 AM

Red Bull Addict
9,277 posts

QUOTE(§layerXT @ Jul 22 2007, 01:14 PM)
Hoho, they already reveal the logo.I wonder they still can sponsor Ferrari besides having financial crisis.
They have an agreement to how many years they have to sponsor the team. They can't pull out now. They have to pay more to pull out. And many other sponsors are deserting Ferrari because of Marlboro buying out the whole car and selling the sponsorship spaces at a higher price than usual. Vodafone even jumped ship to McLaren. Also Intel really use their relation to BMW.Sauber to the max compared to AMD with Ferrari. They even paid rFactor to make the car ingame for their simulator. go figure on who get the better coverage out of these 2 sponsors.
Bryan901010
post Jul 24 2007, 10:57 AM

45 posts

who say so?
AMD technology is still far behind Intel.
Intel do Quad core then AMD also want, AMD is always like a dog,ppl do ald only they do
The only advantages of AMD is that their are cheaper only
AMD is not good 4 games application,u know?It's their business strategy that make ppl thought that AMD is the better,but actually far behind Intel
linkinstreet
post Jul 24 2007, 11:05 AM

Red Bull Addict
9,277 posts

QUOTE(Bryan901010 @ Jul 24 2007, 10:57 AM)
who say so?
Intel do Quad core then AMD also want, AMD is always like a dog,ppl do ald only they do
AMD is not good 4 games application,u know?It's their business strategy that make ppl thought that AMD is the better,but actually far behind Intel
I found this hillariously funny and not true
ryanso85
post Jul 24 2007, 11:19 AM

VVIP
562 posts

who say so?
hey doggie r u sure wat u talking??
there is only intel or amd in ur brain...which is a brand...
bout technology i m sure u knw nothing like a dog...

even though intel is better..
do u think it can b better with AMD??
do u think u get the chance to touch the intel quad core without amd??
without a good competitor i don think intel will speed up the train and lower the price...

ooo no...u r so childish whistling.gif whistling.gif

This post has been edited by ryanso85: Jul 24 2007, 11:20 AM
Faint
post Jul 24 2007, 12:15 PM

Moving forward :)
2,474 posts

who say so?
What are you talking bout??? Talk cxck?? If what you mention is true, please prove it.
How understandable of you bout AMD ?!

This post has been edited by Faint: Jul 24 2007, 12:17 PM
linkinstreet
post Jul 24 2007, 12:34 PM

Red Bull Addict
9,277 posts

QUOTE(Faint @ Jul 24 2007, 12:15 PM)
What are you talking bout??? Talk cxck?? If what you mention is true, please prove it.
How understandable of you bout AMD ?!
ignore him. even tho I prefer intel, that is one mighty stupid post he did XD
Rithrade
post Jul 24 2007, 01:00 PM

360 posts

Loxl, Bryan sounds like he's a Kampung Baru kid trying to show off his underwear.

Come on man, if you are a tech geek, you'll know that mainstream goes for price/performance ratio. AMD was King till C2D came out.

Remember? *OMG! Laser gun shots! Pew pew!*XD

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0210sec    1.04    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 11:11 PM