4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Glucosamine - athritis

Dannyl
post Mar 3 2009, 09:28 AM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(chengcheng @ Feb 7 2009, 08:50 PM)
I am taking Kordel's Glucosamine 550. It has higher strength and most of my pharmacist friend recommends it.

This is because some of the customers says that Live-well Glucosamine is not effective.

So far, Kordel's Glucosamine is pretty effective and I have been taking it for more than 6 months now. Most importantly, Kordel's Glucosamine 550 is sodium free. Sodium is bad and may cause high blood pressure and kidney stones.

Not sure about GNCs but it is really expensive. With the economic downturn... $$$ we have to find ways to save $$$$.  rolleyes.gif
Hello chengcheng, what conditions were you taking the glucosamine for? Did you see improvements? I'm currently have 'creaky' left knee and ankle and would like to try glucosamine/chondroitin and see if it helps. Now surveying for the brand. Thanks.
ICC
post May 15 2009, 12:49 PM

Hi All,

In fact just would like to share with you guys that GNC LiveWell and LiveWell & StayWell are both different brands.

GNC LiveWell is the largest supplements franchisee among worldwide as all of their products are manufactured in US. Livewell & staywell is own by Pahang Pharmacy, which is one of the local manufacturer. According to the pharmacist, Pahang pharmacy actually purchase the tablets from outside then repack theirselves.

In a laymen term, glucosamine helps to stimulate the cartilage regorwth (repairing the torn-off cartilage that caused by aging, always carry heavy weight or repeating movement). Chondroitin helps to stimulate joint fluid production. So in fact they 2 work together.

For those who have joint problem, researches shown that a daily intake of 1500mg glucosamine and 1200mg of chondroitin will significantlly help in cartilage repairing. This is the reason GNC always highlight they have higher dosage as for those who have joint pain they jus need to take 2 tablets/day then jus enough.

For kordel's and pahang pharmacy, i would say kordel's provide enough nutrients to joint. But for myself, i m actually one of the GNC supporter. Although their price is slightly higher, but i more believe into the quality as good quality nutrients only help more to the joints, and able to c results faster. Currently i purchase the glucosamine 750 chondroitin 600 for my mum. it is convinient also as old people dont like to swallow pills much, then one day take 2 tablets will do.

With regards to the "sodium free". I did some research b4, in fact some of the glucosamine products contain sodium, however is jus a very little amount, would not affect much (unless for those sever high blood pressure patients, they need to strictly monitor). So for those people who have abit higher blood pressure, they are still fine, but they need to monitor their blood pressure and the sodium content from FOOD more! as the food that we taken contribute more sodium to our body instead of supplements!

daily intake of sodium should b 3000mg/day. so do you think how much u ald get from instant noodles, fried food, preserved food? So for myself, sodium free glucosamine is not a big deal to elderly people, but for those who are under any medication, they should consult their family doctor but not the pharmacist outside as your family doctor understand your situation most!
tigerdog
post May 15 2009, 04:55 PM

my father is 60+ years old
having knee pain problem and he is taking glucosamine sulphate from Goldlife. i think it is also eco....but i dont know how good it works...bcz guys sholud know old man sometimes said good when he dont want us to worry abt him.
myremi
post May 17 2009, 01:16 AM

1,846 posts

QUOTE(ICC @ May 15 2009, 12:49 PM)
With regards to the "sodium free". I did some research b4, in fact some of the glucosamine products contain sodium, however is jus a very little amount, would not affect much (unless for those sever high blood pressure patients, they need to strictly monitor). So for those people who have abit higher blood pressure, they are still fine, but they need to monitor their blood pressure and the sodium content from FOOD more! as the food that we taken contribute more sodium to our body instead of supplements!

daily intake of sodium should b 3000mg/day. so do you think how much u ald get from instant noodles, fried food, preserved food? So for myself, sodium free glucosamine is not a big deal to elderly people, but for those who are under any medication, they should consult their family doctor but not the pharmacist outside as your family doctor understand your situation most!
At the moment, different govts around the world and WHO cannot come to a common consensus about the daily intake of sodium. The US is recommending 2300 mg/day. Asian countries are 5000 mg/day. I think UK was something like 3000 mg/day. The reasons cited was that it will be too demanding a lifestyle change to do so.

It is very hard to get rid of sodium in the medication that we see today. It's easier in the US because of the belief that lower sodium helps ppl with heart problems. WHO doesn't deny this either but they do not recommend the US limits for the reasons stated in the previous paragraph.

I'm currently taking sodium-free glucosamine tablets. Don't want to aggravate my blood pressure atm while I'm trying to bring it back down.
blo0dx
post May 18 2009, 01:09 PM

49 posts

Glucosamine is considered to be below average in terms of controlling inflammation. Joint pains are commonly caused by inflammation. Of course, it is enough to control mild pain but not those severe and/or chronic ones.
myremi
post May 18 2009, 05:47 PM

1,846 posts

QUOTE(blo0dx @ May 18 2009, 01:09 PM)
Glucosamine is considered to be below average in terms of controlling inflammation. Joint pains are commonly caused by inflammation. Of course, it is enough to control mild pain but not those severe and/or chronic ones.
Taken by itself yes. But taken in conjuction with other antioxidants, it has been found to help with joint pains. But you'll have to take it for quite a long period of time. Perhaps only after 3-6 months of taking it, you'll see some improvements.
blo0dx
post May 18 2009, 10:22 PM

49 posts

The use of antioxidants for pain, which is an acute condition may not be proper depending on the condition. Pain, commonly caused by inflammation as stated previously, is more effective in relieving + reversing the pain.
Therefore, anti-inflammation food/supplements is more important.
myremi
post May 18 2009, 10:45 PM

1,846 posts

QUOTE(blo0dx @ May 18 2009, 10:22 PM)
Pain, commonly caused by inflammation as stated previously, is more effective in relieving + reversing the pain.
Errr... u might want to correct this statement?
blo0dx
post May 19 2009, 12:07 PM

49 posts

ROFLMAO i cant believe i wrote that.... my bad.

*Pain, commonly caused by inflammation as stated previously, should be treated with anti inflammation supplements to relieve + reverse the condition.*

This post has been edited by blo0dx: May 19 2009, 12:10 PM
myremi
post May 19 2009, 03:43 PM

1,846 posts

LOL! I get like that too sometimes. Need to defocus a bit and relax.

There are a set of guidelines that I follow with my nutritional supplements but I'm not sure whether it's ok to post it up, since it's copyrighted and came from a book. When I compare the amount I'm taking to the recommended dosage on the bottle, it seem to be matching.

Part of the supplements, I take glucosamine and it's working for my knees. My cartilage was growing less but since then, haven't gone for another check although I feel less pain in the knees now.
blo0dx
post May 19 2009, 05:25 PM

49 posts

Cartillage wearing off cannot be resolved by Glucosamine as it only controls inflammation. Its a matter of time where the pain, probably from the same spot, strikes you again.

The permanent solution should be the regeneration of the cartillage.
myremi
post May 19 2009, 06:19 PM

1,846 posts

Read my post. I don't take glucosamine alone for the regeneration of cartillage. However, haven't verified if the cartilage is growing back as it needs an X-Ray scan to check if the bones are further apart or not.

Hmm...and I think it would be a good idea if you just come clean with the product that you want to sell. I.e. just tell us about it. I don't think the mods will lock the thread as long as the discussion is generic and it's not a sales pitch. The worst they can do is leave a shadow topic in H&F and move it over to the Trade section of LYN.
blo0dx
post May 20 2009, 02:42 PM

49 posts

I am not and will not sell any product in here due to policies.
I am just suggesting how would i solve the problem if i face it.

Sometimes you dont need to think too much. Imagine yourself from my point of view... its really funny to see people saying that i try to sell my products. I never even mention anything about products. Stereotyping is not for everyone.

This post has been edited by blo0dx: May 20 2009, 02:53 PM
myremi
post May 20 2009, 04:02 PM

1,846 posts

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/971787

If you could do it like this guy did, you wouldn't be crossing the policies and probably safe to talk about your products provided it's in a generic manner. This post is also stickied and never went down.

jialat took the neutral stand and talk about the different products out there, including the ones that he sells. He was transparent about it and included a link on what kind of business he's doing.

Admittedly, I had a gut reaction to your posting so I apologize for that. I realized I objected more to the way that you posted rather than the content. As well as the usage of words.

This post has been edited by myremi: May 20 2009, 04:02 PM
BuFung
post May 20 2009, 11:38 PM

8,407 posts

me too taking Glucosamite + Condrotin....

knee start to have problem some years back.. because of sport.. badminton... ... I believe my cartilage are injured.... but didnt do any scan....

X-ray cannot tell if ur cartilage have problem.. it can only tell how close is the space between the up n low bone of ur leg...
blo0dx
post May 21 2009, 11:17 AM

49 posts

Is it very difficult to believe that i will NOT sell any products in here?

myremi
post May 21 2009, 11:44 AM

1,846 posts

QUOTE(BuFung @ May 20 2009, 11:38 PM)
me too taking Glucosamite + Condrotin....

knee start to have problem some years back..  because of sport..  badminton... ...  I believe my cartilage are injured....  but didnt do any scan....

X-ray cannot tell if ur cartilage have problem..  it can only tell how close is the space between the up n low bone of ur leg...
I saw an orthopaedic doctor lah. He was the one that ask me to take the X-Ray. That's when we saw how bad my knees were. The kneecap was touching the bone. He suspected that my cartilage was wearing thin or that my weight was the one making it worst. So losing weight now but need to help the knee abit. Taking glucosamine and condrotin. tongue.gif
felicious
post May 24 2009, 02:48 AM

1,438 posts

Something wrong if a 21 year old girl has creaking knee since 13?

Not only creaking knee, but arm as well.
basSist
post May 24 2009, 09:58 AM

Don't look at my stars
3,567 posts

QUOTE(felicious @ May 24 2009, 02:48 AM)
Something wrong if a 21 year old girl has creaking knee since 13?

Not only creaking knee, but arm as well.
She feels pain when creaking?
felicious
post May 24 2009, 11:47 AM

1,438 posts

QUOTE(basSist @ May 24 2009, 09:58 AM)
She feels pain when creaking?
Nope, no pain smile.gif

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top