Glucosamine - athritis
myremi
May 17 2009, 01:16 AM
QUOTE(ICC @ May 15 2009, 12:49 PM) With regards to the "sodium free". I did some research b4, in fact some of the glucosamine products contain sodium, however is jus a very little amount, would not affect much (unless for those sever high blood pressure patients, they need to strictly monitor). So for those people who have abit higher blood pressure, they are still fine, but they need to monitor their blood pressure and the sodium content from FOOD more! as the food that we taken contribute more sodium to our body instead of supplements! daily intake of sodium should b 3000mg/day. so do you think how much u ald get from instant noodles, fried food, preserved food? So for myself, sodium free glucosamine is not a big deal to elderly people, but for those who are under any medication, they should consult their family doctor but not the pharmacist outside as your family doctor understand your situation most! At the moment, different govts around the world and WHO cannot come to a common consensus about the daily intake of sodium. The US is recommending 2300 mg/day. Asian countries are 5000 mg/day. I think UK was something like 3000 mg/day. The reasons cited was that it will be too demanding a lifestyle change to do so. It is very hard to get rid of sodium in the medication that we see today. It's easier in the US because of the belief that lower sodium helps ppl with heart problems. WHO doesn't deny this either but they do not recommend the US limits for the reasons stated in the previous paragraph. I'm currently taking sodium-free glucosamine tablets. Don't want to aggravate my blood pressure atm while I'm trying to bring it back down.
myremi
May 18 2009, 05:47 PM
QUOTE(blo0dx @ May 18 2009, 01:09 PM) Glucosamine is considered to be below average in terms of controlling inflammation. Joint pains are commonly caused by inflammation. Of course, it is enough to control mild pain but not those severe and/or chronic ones. Taken by itself yes. But taken in conjuction with other antioxidants, it has been found to help with joint pains. But you'll have to take it for quite a long period of time. Perhaps only after 3-6 months of taking it, you'll see some improvements.
myremi
May 18 2009, 10:45 PM
QUOTE(blo0dx @ May 18 2009, 10:22 PM) Pain, commonly caused by inflammation as stated previously, is more effective in relieving + reversing the pain. Errr... u might want to correct this statement?
myremi
May 19 2009, 03:43 PM
LOL! I get like that too sometimes. Need to defocus a bit and relax.
There are a set of guidelines that I follow with my nutritional supplements but I'm not sure whether it's ok to post it up, since it's copyrighted and came from a book. When I compare the amount I'm taking to the recommended dosage on the bottle, it seem to be matching.
Part of the supplements, I take glucosamine and it's working for my knees. My cartilage was growing less but since then, haven't gone for another check although I feel less pain in the knees now.
myremi
May 19 2009, 06:19 PM
Read my post. I don't take glucosamine alone for the regeneration of cartillage. However, haven't verified if the cartilage is growing back as it needs an X-Ray scan to check if the bones are further apart or not.
Hmm...and I think it would be a good idea if you just come clean with the product that you want to sell. I.e. just tell us about it. I don't think the mods will lock the thread as long as the discussion is generic and it's not a sales pitch. The worst they can do is leave a shadow topic in H&F and move it over to the Trade section of LYN.
myremi
May 20 2009, 04:02 PM
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/971787If you could do it like this guy did, you wouldn't be crossing the policies and probably safe to talk about your products provided it's in a generic manner. This post is also stickied and never went down. jialat took the neutral stand and talk about the different products out there, including the ones that he sells. He was transparent about it and included a link on what kind of business he's doing. Admittedly, I had a gut reaction to your posting so I apologize for that. I realized I objected more to the way that you posted rather than the content. As well as the usage of words. This post has been edited by myremi: May 20 2009, 04:02 PM
myremi
May 21 2009, 11:44 AM
QUOTE(BuFung @ May 20 2009, 11:38 PM) me too taking Glucosamite + Condrotin.... knee start to have problem some years back.. because of sport.. badminton... ... I believe my cartilage are injured.... but didnt do any scan.... X-ray cannot tell if ur cartilage have problem.. it can only tell how close is the space between the up n low bone of ur leg... I saw an orthopaedic doctor lah. He was the one that ask me to take the X-Ray. That's when we saw how bad my knees were. The kneecap was touching the bone. He suspected that my cartilage was wearing thin or that my weight was the one making it worst. So losing weight now but need to help the knee abit. Taking glucosamine and condrotin.